Review of Will-Excel TESOL

The WILL-EXCEL TESOL Diploma Program prepares our trainees for the booming demand for exemplary TESOL instructors world-wide, specifically targeting those wanting to work in China.

The WILL-EXCEL TESOL Institute is in partnership with a private language school: California Sunshine International Language Center (Harbin). This partnership means that you will gain a lot of experience teaching real language learners of all ages and levels.

Throughout the course’s teaching practice sessions, you will teach classes with three distinct age-groups: children, teenagers and adults. This type of experience is not offered by other certification programs and is a unique feature of WILL-EXCEL TESOL.

The WILL-EXCEL TESOL Certification Program’s intensive course incorporates classroom knowledge and practical teaching experience with professional development projects.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL Courses
Length: Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL

Location of Courses

China
Overall Rating4.774.774.774.774.77
Course Content4.734.734.734.734.73
Practice Teaching4.774.774.774.774.77
Quality of Feedback4.734.734.734.734.73
Lesson Plan Guidance4.814.814.814.814.81
Instructor Competency4.854.854.854.854.85
Job Placement4.544.544.544.544.54
Facilities/Resources4.544.544.544.544.54
Are you the owner of Will-Excel TESOL? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

28 Customer Reviews of Will-Excel TESOL

Review by Alex, October 6, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 22222

I finished this program half a year ago. I thought the classes were fairly decent. The practice teaching I had was only with one level of students while still undergoing the course, so that was rather unfortunate. The one-on-one, high school, and university lessons are much more difficult because standards are rather vague, as are discipline methods. Can’t exactly get a class of high school students to behave with the removal of stickers.

My most serious issue is with management. I have been finished with the course for over six months but have yet to see my TESOL diploma.

Review by Jonelle, August 4, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Will excel is by far one of the best courses around; it teaches you how to teach different ages, teaches you about the history of china and how to live here with Chinese.
Because the course is in china for the first month you’re here you get to become apart of the culture.
Before you come to china you will have been given a job for either 6 or 10 months and its all your choice.
You are also give mandarin lessons while doing your course which helps a lot while your here.
I would recommend will excel to anyone who wants to do TESOL because you have real life experience teaching, you have a job once finished your course and your teachers go above and beyond to help you with everything that you need!!
Will excel is by far the best course around

Review by Vincent Mc Grath, August 1, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Firstly, to anybody reading this review Just a few short months ago I was exactly like you. Constantly researching for a decent TESOL course, not knowing whether it was a marketing gimmick or everything would be as advertised upon arrival. I say without hesitancy that Will-Excel TESOL are amazing.

I was on this very site reading reviews and of course Will-Excel’s website and eventually decided to choose them above the rest. RIGHT decision, the course covers all methodologies, approaches and areas of TESOL that will be relevant to you as a teacher wherever you decide to go upon completion (not just China) The advantage of real teaching practice, which is identical to the real classes done here is excellent. By the time you finish the certificate and begin the diploma ( 6 months of teaching ) you are more than ready to step into the classroom.

The staff are intelligent, experienced and highly motivated to mould you into teacher material in the time given (which is more than enough) I would recommend this course to anyone looking to make their start in the field of TESOL and also to experience and truly understand the Chinese culture. China is an excellent place to begin ESL teaching as the market is strong.

By the end of my diploma I will have pre school, middle school, and more than likely university level teaching experience completed and added to my CV. Honestly, if you are just like I was and reading these reviews as a research and a decision making tool then do not hesitate, go with will-excel TESOL you won’t be disappointed.

If you are truly motivated and want to become a real ESL teacher, this is the right move and TESOL provider for you. This review is 100% voluntary, however I felt it was only fair to give credit where it was due.

If you want to make your start in TESOL look no further, go to
will-exceltesol.com and put in your application NOW.

Review by mounir, April 18, 2013

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Will-Excel is a really good school. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the course prepares you to start working in the classroom of both children and adults. The staff put me at ease while living in China and made me feel at home. The accommodations are modern and they provide students with two meals a day. The Chinese lessons are really good and very helpful. The course is a lot of work, so be prepared to study, but it is all worth it. The staff is willing to answer any questions you have about teaching English. Even though the program is located in China, the course prepares students for teaching English in any country they choose, I highly recommend Will-Excel.

Review by Zoe Byrne, March 12, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I’ve just done the course that started in Jan 2013. It was a great course. I did lots of research before I chose it and was really nervous about getting a good course as I had no real previous teaching experience (only a degree in Genetics). But this course was great.

The grammar is taught in a clear and understandable way. We got loads of help and feedback with lesson planning which was invaluable when prepping for lessons.

Methodology was taught well and we practised it constantly in the lesson planning and teaching.

The instructors are all experienced and were really good. The practice teaching was great. It covered a range of ages from 4-5 to 11-12. We also did some one to one teaching.

The accommodation is great and the free food of good quality.

We had a stand in Mandarin teacher as the last one quit really recently to get married, so the Mandarin lessons weren’t so great. We got some good pronunciation practise and listened to a native speaker use tones but there was a lot of reading pinyin without comprehension.

By the time I had finished the course I felt much more ready and able to teach. I am so glad that I picked a classroom based course. Whatever you do pick – pick a classroom based course. I would have been lost with an internet TEFL course.

Will-excel is a great way to get started teaching English and a great way to start living in China.

Review by Peggy Ivie, March 5, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I attended Will-Excel TESOL Institute in Spring 2010. It was a great experience. The instructors were very knowledgeable and patient. The school also offers a daily class in basic Chinese. The teaching assignments were ideal. Our teaching practice was with actual English classes. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. Be prepared to do homework and a lot of work but it is worth is all.

Review by Katie, December 27, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I found out about Will Excel through friends who came to China about 8months before us and they couldnt say anything but good things about it so when i looked it up online I thought it was just too good to be true.
The course covers everything you need to know about teaching in China and also about living here! The course leaders are fantastic, friendly and help you every step of the way!
You teach your first lesson quite early on in the course and you would feel abit thrown in at the deep end if it wasnt for the fantastic support from the expirenced teachers and also your course mates- you see the benefit of starting early, when you leave you really feel you have had a good amount of practice!
For me the only down side was that we chose to leave and go to another school in another part of China, which Will Excel helped us to do- I just wish I could have stayed longer with them!

Review by Aaron Cameron, December 22, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I know my review is a little late, but I went through Will Excel TESOL in 2009 and have never regretted it. I got sponsorship and stayed in China teaching for two years. It was one of the best experiences of my life and most certainly my favorite job, and though I’m now traveling in Australia, when I’m done my world tour I am strongly considering returning to China to continue teaching.

Will excel helped prepare me for all aspects of English teaching with a more specific focus of teaching in China. Not only did we study how to teach and get practical experience teaching in a classroom, but they also helped new expats by providing an overview of Chinese culture and history and how it differs from what we know in order to help us prepare to live in a new country.

If you are considering teaching English in China, you will not regret going with Will Excel.

Review by Eric Z, November 26, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Life begins at 60. I made a decision to do my TESOL course at Will-Excel rather than in Australia because it was cheaper and quicker even with the cost of the flight included. I was qualified in a month and had a contract before I finished my course. The course was thorough and there was a real camaraderie between the classmates and me and the teaching staff. I worked in Harbin where I did the course and have never looked back. I am now in Nanjing and able to save $AU1,000 per month. Thanks for setting me up Will-Excel.

Review by Joel, November 22, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The Will-Excel course is excellent. The instructors know what they are doing both within the classroom and living in China. The sponsorship option is great – the schools are guaranteed to be good as Will–Excel will not accept sponsorship arrangements with schools that treat foreigners badly. Other in-country-training courses (especially large western based ones) offer a very unfair deal which equates to a teacher paying to work for six months. Will–Excel arranged sponsorship for me that has allowed me to save and travel within my job. I have recommended Will-Excel to friends back home, two of which decided to come to China and have recently graduated from the course.

Review by Roy, November 5, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

PROS
Free meals
Free housing
Full scholarships are available
Fully furnished housing
Ran by westerners
Covers topics applicable to the job as well as adjusting to the country
Located in a low cost city that loves foreigners (Russian Size-free drinks)
Hands on experience during training with real classes

CONS
Early morning class times

Overall, it is something that I would recommend that people go through if they are wanting to get a decent break in the ESL industry with minimal hassle. I went through the program and I am still in China and you can be too!

Review by Lisa cooper, November 4, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

My name is Lisa cooper, I completed my Will-Excel course in November 2011.it was brilliant.The trainers there are so helpful.IF I had any problems whatever time I could always call the trainers.kyle was very helpful and was always around if you needed a chat or had any problems doing the lesson plans.The lesson plans seemed very daunting at first, but they explain to you in very clear detail what you have to do.they provide you with a Chinese teacher called Alex who is very patient when teching you Chinese.The classes were always fun and interesting and it made you want to learn. The job place,ent service is very handy, so you don’t have to worry about coming to china and having no job once the course is completed. I believe it was the best thing I have done signing up for Will-Excel they were. Very helpful and gave you an insight into what living in china is about.I would recommend this teaching program to anyone who is serious about teaching English in china.

Review by Terence, September 16, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I didn’t do a very good job during my video testimonial today, so I thought I might take another crack at it online where I can edit my words. I have absolutely no regrets about attending this course at all. I can feel good in the fact that I am helping young people prepare for a tougher world by mastering a second language. Also, I hope I am suitably motivated by the fact that the parents of these children are counting on me to provide the education their children need to succeed. I graduated from the course today and have many great memories even though the course went by so quickly. Four weeks isn’t much when you’re having fun. I am now onto my school tomorrow where I will be teaching for the next 10 months and getting paid to travel as well. Take the initiative and just start.

Review by Mark - recent graduate, June 5, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Excellent course. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to teach English. The teachers are professional and approachable, they deliver what they promise and you have a guaranteed job at the end (if you signed up for the sponsored option). The pay may not be great straight away, but your tuition fees are covered, accommodation is provided for 100% and you get a generous lunch and dinner allowance which I rarely use all of. Best of all it’s accredited by the government and you get a diploma, not just a certificate!

Review by Recent Graduate, May 6, 2010

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 22222
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 22222

Good place to get an introduction to teaching in China, but very poor professionalism and the positions they offer you are very low pay….you can do better on your own

Review by Sandy, March 10, 2010

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I would recommend studying TESOL in China if you attend to work in China or an Asian country. The course offers teaching practice and Mandarin lessons. If you cannot pay for the course upfront you cant get a sponsored school and pay through your wages every month. If you dont have a sponsored school the school will help you find one.

Review by Lesley, September 8, 2009

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

These guys are inspirational. The course was fabulous, and the continued support has been fantastic, even though we obtained jobs elsewhere in China. I am certain our new school (my husband and I both completed the course) is very happy with the quality of their teachers. The instructors are top-notch, and also the support given to newcomers to China, as we learn about the culture, and deal with culture-shock and lack of the language. We chose well, and believe we could not have chosen better, in coming to Will-Excel to do our TESOL.

Review by Dave, April 16, 2009

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I’ve just finished the teaching term portion of the course and have to say that overall this course was great. I got a lot more than just four-weeks of training, I also got six months worth of support and feedback. I strongly recommend this course to anyone serious about both getting a good foundation in experience as well as a higher qualification.

Review by Stephen, January 8, 2009

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I researched for nearly a year before choosing this course to enter into a teaching career. Why so long? Well, this course looked to be head and shoulders above the others on offer and it sounded too good to be true – hence my hesitation.
To get paid while training and to gain a higher qualification without having to put out over $1000 of my own money! No job search at the end either.
All the claims were true, fantastic training which really sets you up to be a confident and effective teacher. A great job at the end and a wonderful company to work for who really look after you in a foreign environment.
Would I recommend Will-Excel TESOL to everyone? If you’re serious about wanting to teach then I have no hesitation – I`m still here and going nowhere!

Review by Chris, January 7, 2009

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

WillExcel’s motto ‘Training Unforgettable Teachers’ is perfect, the program is student-focused so you take your strengths as far as possible; first as a student, then on into the classes you teach. This path becomes a documented record of achievement in theory, experience and success. At some point along this path also, you realize that you are a ‘student focused’ teacher equipped with the highest level of training and the most rigorous experience. I came to WillExcel as an English Major, with a TEFL Diploma and had worked in Asia as a teacher before, and WillExcel’s standards of training far exceeded my expectations. So much so in fact, that I’m studying for WillExcel’s Masters level Diploma. When I got home to Ireland, the Department of Education (through ACELS) recognized my diploma, giving me professional recognition as an ESL teacher in any European Union state. The WillExcel package is so strong, you will not find a better route into English Language Teaching.

Review by MikeB., January 7, 2009

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Will-Excel was, a dream come true, for me. It not only gave me the skills needed to be highly marketable in the teach profession in China, but it also gave me a new outlook on my future. The course provided me with the tools I needed to take control of my future goals, and provided me with a career. One which allows me to stay in China, and continue doing what I love. Imparting tomorrow’s leaders with knowledge today. If you ever get the privilege to take the TESOL, or the Masters Course it is a choice you will never regret.

Review by Andy, January 7, 2009

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This was my first choice for a school to teach at in China.

A TESOL Diploma, teaching experience, earning money while getting the accreditation and a guaranteed teaching job at the completion of the course, what more could you ask for?

The help and information provided with lesson planning has been extremely useful for my classes. Both the foreign and Chinese staff involved with the school and the TESOL are fantastic and will help with any questions or problems you might have.

I have recently graduated the program and have already extended my contract to stay with the school.

This course has given me a skill and a qualification that I can use in the future as I continue travelling.

I highly recommend Will-Excel to anyone wanting to expand their horizons and get out and experience life in a different culture.

Review by Caz, November 19, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I came to China specifically to complete this diploma and I’m more than impressed with the course. Professionally structured and organised to meet each teachers style; whether experienced or not, this course makes for a great standard to work from.

Review by Daniel, November 19, 2008

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I’ve been in Harbin now for four months. I’m still under my contract with the school Will-Excel partnered me with. I can say up to this point and until my next, this has and will be a fulfilling and amazing experience.

The opportunity to teach right off the bat is quintessential for this program. You begin teaching within the second week of the course. Its part of your training and the most important aspect of becoming a teacher; teaching itself. “Trial by fire” to some, but this is greatest aspect of the job. Why not get right into middle of it and continue the learning experience at the same time?

This company and it’s network are of sound stature. You get questions answered and you’re taken care of. Being someone who’s taken a great deal of caution in trying to find the right place, school and experience, I can say I feel great here. The staff is great, the students are great and best of all; the job is FUN.

Earn money, learn, have fun, go home happy and secure after work. What’s missing? Let me know if you’ve got something.

Review by Charlie, November 18, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

It’s hard to beat getting paid to get your TESOL certification. As far as the course goes, it’s about a month long; a good mix of general information about TESOL teaching as well as some China-specific stuff, class observations and actual teaching time. After that, it’s 6 months of real, evaluated teaching with students at all different age and ability levels. The instruction is great; I can’t imagine a TESOL course being much better than this one. My only complaint is that the chairs in the classroom they use for training can get uncomfortable if you sit in them for long periods of time.

Review by Alexander Stephens, November 18, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The Will-Excel TESOL course was just what I needed. Not only did they teach me how to become an unforgettable teacher, but they also taught me about China and how to adjust to living here. They made the transition from west to east simple and educational. I couldn’t be happier with the choice I made!

Review by Uncle Bob, November 17, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

If you want to teach in China, there’s no better way to start. You will get the training you need, and you will have the experience of all age groups exactly as Will Excel promises. Whether you have prior experience or not, this is a good course to take if you are considering working in China. I’m certainly glad I did it!

Review by Eyrick, November 17, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Will-Excel TESOL prepared me for success. I’ve enjoyed teaching so much that I’ve been in China ever since. Their diploma has qualified me for the best jobs available. I’m not in Beijing working for an international university making over 20,000 RMB a month!

I also enjoyed their course so much that I’m now taking their Master of TESOL program!

You can’t go wrong with these guys!

Write a Review of Will-Excel TESOL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.