Review of Vantage TEFL Certification

Bangkok-based Vantage established in 2007. 120-hour, American accredited, in-class TEFL course. Externally moderated. Observed teacher practice. Earn three college credits. Expert job support. Coaching services. Visa & arrival assistance. Innovative course that prepares teachers for tomorrow’s classroom.

They also offer a 120-hour Combined Course, which blends online study with live classroom teaching.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Combined TEFL CoursesOnline TEFL Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL

Location of Courses

Thailand
Overall Rating55555
Course Content4.84.84.84.84.8
Practice Teaching55555
Quality of Feedback55555
Lesson Plan Guidance55555
Instructor Competency55555
Job Placement4.894.894.894.894.89
Facilities/Resources4.84.84.84.84.8
Are you the owner of Vantage TEFL Certification? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

10 Customer Reviews of Vantage TEFL Certification

Review by Cerah, June 22, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course covers the methodology and techniques in English teaching–from the ABCs of grammar to training new students in phonetics.

Vantage first taught us to develop an effective lesson plan. Then the lead trainer would give each trainee a private consultation on their plan before they stepped into the classroom. At first I had to make a number of revisions, but after a week or so I got this down pretty well.
The feedback I got after each practice class really help me determine how good my lesson plan was. And the feedback on my teaching was priceless. It helped me immeasurably in my development as a professional teacher.

Vantage really excels in job preparation. We had separate Jobs Coach who showed us how to develop a Power Resume. He also trained us in effective interviewing techniques like how to detail our past successes to a new situation. With his guidance, we crafted a great resume cover letters that showcased my skills. We also produced a video how I could be an asset to my future students in any institution.

I had a number of offers in the first few weeks after graduation even from schools who said they only wanted native speakers.

The bottom line was that Vantage’s program was a great facilitator in making my successful career change. They are a highly coordinated and professional team. I would recommend Vantage without hesitation.

Review by Michael Charur, June 19, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The first part my class was completed online back in the States, where I studied teaching theory and methodology. I then came out to Thailand to do my ‘practicum’— the six classes of observed teaching practices—in real classrooms with real Thai students.

The online part of my “Combined Class” did allow me to learn to my schedule. This part of the course is pretty extensive and covers a lot of theories on language teaching. The videos of experienced teachers were also viewed in this part of the class.

Having said that, studying online didn’t give me the real confidence I need to stand in front of a class and teach. I arrived in Bangkok still anxious about doing the real teaching.

Vantage invited me to join the current In-Class course, not just for reviewing the book material, but to participate in the peer teaching activities of the class. They use peer teaching as a first step before stepping into a live classroom. And this part wasn’t just teaching, I also had to observe and take detailed notes on my co-trainees performance. I learn quite a bit from doing this.

The practicum itself was a fantastic experience. Thai students are great to teach as they are both very attentive and polite. The feedback I got from the Vantage trainers and insights from my co-trainees were invaluable in the development of me as a professional teacher.

Review by Amy, June 15, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Throughout the course, I learned new things every day. The instructors were excellent and always available for any help. Although there was so much to cover in a very short period of time, I was being guided step by step. After each lesson plan and teaching, I was given feedback and that really helped me improve in my ways. Overall, I am very satisfied. I feel much more ready to teach now than I was before I joined the course. I would also highly recommend taking this course to anyone who is interested in teaching. Even if you may not want to teach English, the best thing is that the course just covers so many topics all about teaching skills that you will be able to use for teaching any subject to anyone.
Chris was my course lecturer and he is just amazing. The way he taught each unit and gave feedbacks was very effective.
Ryan taught me some Thai language and culture. He is so genuine and also so good at teaching foreign language.
Kevin gave me guidance for job employment. He talked personally with me about my interest and gave me ideas about a powerful resume.
The practical teaching at the nursing college was the best thing about this course. Teaching real students with my lesson plan gave me a good practice. Each time I got a different feedback and experience that helped me make changes to better my skill.

Review by Jay Pillay, June 15, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

Thank you to all the staff at Vantage for your friendly approach. lacked confidence when it came to standing in front of the class to deliver a speech, however doing the English teaching course as made me realise that I don’t have to be an extrovert to have everyone focus their attention on me. The teaching practice at the nursing college was great and the feedback given by Chris after every lesson was really valuable. The is very intense, interesting and can be exhausting but the end results are rewarding. Thank you Chris, Kevin and Ryan for your patience, guidance and help throughout the course. I have already recommended this course to a few of my friends.

Review by Melica Ceh, June 3, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

In my entire life, I had never stood in front of a class. I had no confidence as a “public speaker.” At first, I really thought I couldn’t do it.
However, after I did the first of my first peer teachings—and got good feedback from my co-trainees—I began to realize that those so-called ‘butterflies’ were only in me. They couldn’t be seen by my class.

The direction, guidance, and advice I got into developing individual class lesson plans was the second boost of confidence I got. I now had a plan on how to address and teach each class.

My next milestone was delivering a real live class to real Thai students.
The stage fright was soon forgotten, the lesson went smoothly and the students were involved and eager to learn. This was one of the most beautiful days of my life!

The professional observations and subsequent feedback we got after each observed class helped us immeasurably and we all steadily improved. I’m now looking forward to starting teaching English within a couple of weeks.

Thank you Vantage for your patience, your sense of humour and directing me into my new life as a teacher.

Review by Gefeng BAI, May 13, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The instructors here are very helpful to us. They know that I come with a tight budget, so they assist me with finding an economic apartment on the first day i arrived in Bangkpk and later the days, as for transportation to the nurse’s school for TP(Teaching Practice), they were so kind to cover most of my travel expense.They would also recommend some places to me where i can have the cheap meals for the whole month during my staying. If you come here with low budget, it won’t be a problem for you to survive in the city.
And I also really appreciate what they’ve done to help me to modify my resume to apply for a teaching job in Bangkok. They are professional on modifying resumes as I can tell from the perfect one that they’ve made for me and give me a lot of suggestions on job interview. We just graduated from the TEFL Course on May 12th. As a Chinese passport holder, i can stay in Thailand for 90 days which is long enought for you to finish the one month course and it also provided enought time for you to get some job interviews for the rest of the days. Following the 2 weeks, i will have at least 2 intervtews to catch. Therefore, aii i need to focus on are gaining more confidence by practicing job interview skills.
Trust me, you could definitely have a wonderful journey once you choose Vantage in Bangkok!

Review by Jae Ho Chung, May 12, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

First and foremost, I want to thank Chris for teaching me to teach and giving me so much valuable information about teaching and what life is pike for English teachers. I must warn those interested in taking the course that the one-month, in-class course is quite intense and much work is required to get to the finish line. I’m glad I have made it. The Vantage program for me was quite interesting as I am not a native English speaker trying to teach English to non-native speakers who are like myself. The course taught me two important things: first, it taught me that The English language is super complex so I must study quite hard, and second, it taught me that even though I do not know everything, teaching English could be done. Actually, not only could it be done, I think I can oneday become a decent enough teacher who can enrich the lives of students. I will return to my country in a week, and I will return not just with a TEFL certificate but also with confidence and motivation. So yes, I recommend this program for anyone who wants to become or is considering to become an English teacher.

Review by Meryem Tugba Yetimakman, April 16, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Hi, I am Meryem. I am already a kindergarten teacher at an international school. I teach different subjects in kindergarten, English is one of them. Kindergarteners mostly learn a language by being exposed to the language, so as teachers, they see for hours in a day, our role is very important. I registered the course to stregnthen my teaching skills. I found the course very beneficial and I really enjoyed the course although it was fairly intensive. Course content was very good and I believe I also improved my own English as a non-native speaker. Course materials were very clear and easy to use. I am really thankful to Mr. Chris and Mr. Kevin, for they were really kind, friendly and helpful throughout the course. They are really prossional. Their energy made us a great group of trainees. We made good friends. Practicum was very good I practiced teaching with older groups. Mr. Kevin gave good tips on resume preparing and job interviewing. I highly recommend everyone to take the course at Vantage. I believe I learnt lots of things which I will apply in my class. Thank you.

Review by WF TAYLOR, April 14, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

The course was excellent and the Vantage instructors and staff were professional and friendly. Chris, the main course instructor was knowledgable in the grammar review, assisted in developing our classroom management skills, gave one to one help with lesson plans as well as offered helpful feedback for the teaching practicum. He has some real world insights and practical “what to expect” for teaching for Business English with corporate clients, private tutoring and teaching into Thai schools. Overall Chris was very professional, helpful and dedicated to getting your best work out of you. Kevin, the Managing Director presented some great overviews on Cambridge testing for language levels. He offered some great on the ground knowledge of local area of Bangkok which was helpful to many in my class. Kevin also presented a a few lectures on resume building and the job interviewing/ job search success. He was dedicated to helping the students move on from the course to finding a job. Ryan the testing specialist at Vantage offered a few classes on Thai language and Thai culture workplace do’s and dont’s. Ryan was knowledgable and friendly and always willing to help answer questions. Overall the Vantage staff was professional, friendly and dedicated to the students success. I would highly recommend the ITTT Bangkok TEFL / TESOL certification offered at Vantage. The instructors are professional / friendly, the course content excellent (grammar review very helpful) and the teaching practicum at the Nurse’s College gives you some real in the classroom experience which is so valuable. Two thumbs up to Chris, Kevin, Ryan, Peach and Dao and all the Vantage team. They made it all run smooth and fun for the fairly intensive 1 month program. The course handbook and content was well presented and easy to read. I highly recommend the ITTT training /certification experience with Vantage. I am an experienced art teacher from the USA and the Vantage staff knows how to help you build on your experience, to bring out your best. They seem very dedicated to your success and are very personable. Note to would be students: Be sure to keep up your student portfolio as you go through the course as that is a big part of the program.

Review by Jansi John, March 3, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Wonderful approach to re-learning a lot of things and learning innumerous ways to teach every aspect of what you’ve learnt in the simplest of ways. I am a Training Team Manager at a KPO in India and, I found the TEFL experience absolutely fantastic. Of course, this is not for the faint hearted. You do need to put in a lot of hard work and dedication to achieve your goal. I’ve been very lucky to have a super amazing teacher – Chris, you rock \m/. Anybody would be proud to be trained by such an experienced person who has a great deal of patience and calibre. Our brain storming sessions were really a mind opener. Kevin is such a down to earth career counselor and guide. Has immense knowledge and knows exactly what you’re looking for, where you’d fit in and how to guide you. Ryan gave me the best insight on Thai culture and how to pick up words and numbers from a different language very easily. Besides this, the teaching practise sessions at the nursing college for the teachers and students gave me a completely different outlook on how to teach people from different learning backgrounds and language levels possessed. Chris’ feedback after every session was extremely valuable and this helped me to better my teaching until I reached a point where I was considered good. I would definitely recommend this training to anyone who has the passion to learn.

Write a Review of Vantage TEFL Certification | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.