Review of UK-TEFL

Since it began in 2007, UK-TEFL has progressed to become the UK’s leading TEFL trainer. Our courses are taught by exceptional trainers, all with extensive experience of teaching EFL both in the UK and overseas, so they can give you invaluable guidance and recommendations. The experience you gain from the courses gives a great foundation to teach English as a foreign language in the UK and overseas.

UK-TEFL provide intensive Standard and Advanced classroom based courses, suitable for those with no teaching experience to teachers wishing to turn their qualification into a TEFL one. Here at UK-TEFL, we believe it is more beneficial to complete a classroom based course as not only do you receive an internationally recognised certificate upon passing, but you also become conscious and aware of lesson planning within a given time frame and gain the confidence to teach in a classroom environment. For those who need some additional training, we offer a 30 hour online grammar course and 120 hour online TEFL course.

Completing either the Standard, Advanced, 30 hour grammar course, 120 hour TEFL course, or a combination of these, would make you well prepared to go out into the world of EFL teaching!

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL CoursesOnline TEFL Courses
Length: Mini Courses (<30 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Courses: Grammar

Location of Courses

England, UK
Overall Rating3.673.673.673.673.67
Course Content3.673.673.673.673.67
Practice Teaching3.783.783.783.783.78
Quality of Feedback3.783.783.783.783.78
Lesson Plan Guidance3.333.333.333.333.33
Instructor Competency4.564.564.564.564.56
Job Placement2.882.882.882.882.88
Facilities/Resources3.443.443.443.443.44
Are you the owner of UK-TEFL? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

14 Customer Reviews of UK-TEFL

Review by Ramsay MacDonald, March 25, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I attended the UK-TEFL Advanced Course in July 2013. More than anything I would say that it was fun and enjoyable. Everybody got on well and encouraged each other throughout the training. The trainer, Michelle, was skilled at making people feel at ease and encouraging the rapport in the group to develop. I also learnt a lot of useful tips I could use in my own teaching.

Review by Jamie Phillips, February 26, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I recently completed the weekend standard course and have just booked onto the advanced course in London. My trainer, Stewart, was AMAZING! Very inspiring and thoroughly enjoyed every second of it. I wasn’t sure what do expect but with his encouragement I have now chosen to take the weekend advanced course in addition just so I can have a few extra days before I head out to Italy this summer.

Review by Rosie, June 29, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 22222

I attended a 2 day standard TEFL course, which was very compact, but provided enough to get a taster and insight into this area. The tutor was very good, but my apprehension was that 2 days was not sufficient to enable an individual to go on and teach. I have opted to do a CELTA, which is internationally recognised, which this course does not provide (although, UK-Tefl would like you to believe this, please don’t as it appears all they are concerned about is taking your money).
When I contacted UK-Tefl, and subsequently bought a standard and advanced course, I got no further information regarding course details, content or location. A few days later, I had to contact them to get this. Further, they then told me I had to pay to get the certificate, which provides the accreditation element, but were unable to clarify why I was having to pay for a certificate, even though I was attending the course to achieve this. They were also unable to tell me when I would actually get my certificate (it’s been 3 weeks since I attended the course and each person I speak to, says something different, showing an increased lack of consistency). After the course, I received the reference letter, which provided the wrong teacher trainer name, leading me to think that all comments are generic, and not individually based, considering me and another girl on the course got more or less the same rhetoric… Finally, I was unable to attend the advanced course due to a funeral and was told I would have to pay £75 to rearrange this. UK-Tefl were unable to tell me what the cost related to and when I explained that I had not been eligible for the “two week” terms/conditions, as I had booked the course very late, I was informed that this was irrelevant, however they were unable to explain, why they would charge me in accordance to this term, yet would not accept it was not applicable in my circumstance and unwilling to even consider my reasoning. I even spoke to Lachlan, the supposed director, who was a complete waste of time. I was told to put my complaint in writing, but the answer would be the same. Just another way to make more money. If you do go ahead and attend a course – when booking ask them about the terms and conditions, especially in relation to amending a date. Do a CELTA course, if you’re serious about teaching, although it hard and you need to be dedicated, you are more likely to get a job with this qualification and its internationally recognised!!!!!

Review by leslie jenkins, January 14, 2013

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I recently completed the two day advanced course. I thoroughly enjoyed it,and found it very informative. The teacher was excellent and very professional. I previously had completed a standard TEFL course with a another school which was also excellent. I would recommend UK TEfL the course has given me so much confidence.I have now started as a private teacher from home,and would like to say a big thank to UK TEFL.

Review by Rob, November 25, 2012

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 44444

The course was really informative, the instructor was very knowledgeable and her advice was very helpful. However, my main disappointment with UK-TEFL is their after care. It seems once you have passed the course all they are interested in is your money. Before you enrol it may be worth knowing that after an initial trial period of a month, you have to pay a subscription of around £50 a year to apply for jobs. All said however, I thoroughly enjoyed the weekends course and credit to the organisers as it was an experience to remember.

Review by Claire, July 10, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

excellent course and great trainer 🙂 it was a brilliant chance to meet lots of new people, pick up some new knowledge and get a qualification at the end of it.
I looked into a CELTA but couldn’t afford the £1000, but as it turns out the TEFL was perfect for what I needed. UK-TEFL help you out with jobs after the course (you get a month of unlimited applications to all their vacancies for free) which was enough time for me to be offered a job in Thailand!

When your month is over, they will still help you with contacts and volunteer jobs, and you can pay a bit more for a year’s membership if you want more time to apply for things – I’m probably going to do this when my contract is nearly up in Thailand so i can start looking for my next job.
I still might consider the CELTA in the future when I’ve got some experience (on checking it seems that this is needed to work in a language school in the UK) but if you are on a budget and want to work abroad then the UK-TEFL course is the best one for you.

Review by Jane, June 21, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I have just passed my UK-TEFL course and wanted to share my experiences!

For those of you who are new to TEFL (like I was!) the courses are designed to give you the skills, knowledge and understanding of what an EFL class is all about. On my course we covered grammar and lesson structures, followed by practice tasks and a language lesson where the trainer taught us in a foreign language (Czech!). Aside from being hilarious, it was a real eye opener to realise that in half an hour I was able to string a sentence together in Czech and it gave me a real buzz about teaching. The course progressed onto lesson preparation and teaching practice, where we got to bring our own creativity into it and test out our skills. By the end of the two days, although I was exhausted I was genuinely surprised by how much I’d learnt and how confident I had become. I felt ready to go off and teach, and the general consensus from my fellow students indicated that all agreed.

For anyone looking into teaching abroad, UK-TEFL courses are great! They give you the skills, knowledge and confidence to begin your TEFL career, and the job opportunities and support to help you to go off and get experience wherever you fancy! The rest is up to you – if you are passionate about teaching and up for a challenge, there is nothing stopping you from making TEFL into your dream career. And for £200 I really couldn’t ask for more! Thank you UK-TEFL!

Review by Mel, April 23, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I am very, very disappointed with UK Tefl as I paid for the advanced course and when the 2 dates I wanted to do were already sold out they refused to refund me the £180. They were completely unsympathetic to my situation when I explained I couldn’t afford to lose the £180 I had paid by saying I had left it beyond the 7 days required for a refund. I did the basic 2 days course in London and found it intense but adequate – just. The teacher was great and very professional but it’s a lot to take on board in only 2 days and if you are not as confident as some of the other people on the course, you will struggle. I am very disappointed that UK Tefl have decided to keep the money I paid and not even consider refunding half of the amount. Such a shame when they are clearly making a lot of money since their courses are very popular.

Review by Ms. M., January 4, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I did a 2-day Advanced UK TEFL course in November 2011. I already have some TEFL experience and basic training, and a PGCE too – but my skills are quite rusty. I wanted a refresher course, and to see what was new in the TEFL world. I was very impressed with the tutor’s enthusiasm, and with how much she packed into two days.

You need to know what you want to get out of these short TEFL courses. Do your research! Some countries don’t require CELTA-level qualifications. Some employers will train you on the job (especially if they have their own preferred ‘method’) but doing a 2 or 3-day course will give you some idea of what’s in store, and it might make your CV a bit more attractive. If you’re already a qualified school teacher, you should know about classroom management already, so you might only need to get up to speed with basic TEFL principles in order to find a job. You might want to concentrate on giving private lessons, or volunteering, which don’t require extensive qualifications.

Obviously, if you want to get a paid TEFL job anywhere in the world, and have the pick of the best jobs, or you want a long term career in TEFL, a CELTA is the best thing. But CELTAs are very expensive, so you need to be quite committed, and have a clear plan of action.

Review by lowe, December 5, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

If you are completely new to teaching then a weekend course will offer just about a rudimentary ‘taster’ session before taking a recognised qualification. However, weekend course will hardly scratch the surface of English Language Teaching and in my opinion will not properly prepare you for teaching. You may be better off saving your £££ put this towards an internationally recognized qualification (see below).

Cambridge CELTA or Trinity CertTESOL both cover the basics of what you need to become a teacher of English as a Second Language. Both are Level 4, externally validated and include teaching practice with real students from different backgrounds (you get to teach 2 different levels, e.g. Intermediate and Advanced) Most other courses do not cover all these and are not recognised by the British Council.

I enrolled on a UK – TEFL weekend course a year ago and completed it gaining an alleged internationally recognised Certificate (which I do not believe is the case).

That said I recently completed the Cambridge CELTA and would thoroughly recommend it without hesitation!

In short my advice is if you are serious about gaining an an internationally recognised teaching English qualification only consider either the Cambridge CELTA or Trinity CertTESOL. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON ANY OTHER COURSE!

Good luck!

Review by BarbaraF, October 4, 2011

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 22222

The course is interesting but it doesn’t lead to any job opportunity.
I applied for many vacancies they had on their website but after requesting some documents they never came back to me.

From last month they also started this VIP JOBS CLUB VACANCY, you have to pay to actually be able to apply for the vacancies they advertise.

If you really want to teach abroad better choose a more reliable and professional company.

Review by Maddies, March 24, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Recently completed the three day course in Cambridge. There was 20 in the group, of varying abilities. Some of the group had never taught before or even thought they would have the courage to stand in front of a class of peers and present a short teaching practice, but they did.

This was due to the excellent tutor, she made sure she reached every learner to get the most out of them.

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to gain confidence, friends and most of all how to Teach English as a Foreign Language.

Review by Andy Irving, July 7, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

The Course was amazing the trainers name was Steve and i think he was brilliant in every way. Made all feel wlecome and i am from a totally non teaching background.

If you want my advice go for it

Review by Ryna, April 25, 2010

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

Having recently completed a weekend TEFL course through UK-TEFL, I would just like to say it was an absoloutely worthwhile and great experience! The course was structured very well, the tutor was friendly, informative and very helpful! There were approximately 19 students on this particular course, they were absoloutely wonderful, friendly, talkative and we all worked very well together.

I am now in the process of applying for jobs abroad. I contacted UK-TEFL after the course in order to be placed in a teaching post abroad (hopefully). They are prompt in replying and most friendly! Hopefullyy through this, I shall be able to find a job abroad, fingers crossed.

For anyone wanting to complete this course, i’d definitely recommend it! It was great and I met some lovely people :o)

Write a Review of UK-TEFL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.