TEFLCourseReview.com will be offline for scheduled updates Tuesday, June 19th from 1pm to 7pm EDT.

Review of TESOL Trainers

TESOL Trainers, Inc. is an Education Consulting company that specializes in helping educational institutions achieve excellence in teaching and excellence in learning.

TESOL Trainers provides consulting, professional development, and teacher training to any educational institution (K-23) that works with non-native English Speakers, has students that struggle to achieve their potential, and schools that just want to provide their teachers with the best, most empowering professional development experience.

We offer the SIT TESOL Certificate Course in Santa Fe, New Mexico and overseas.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Courses: Professional Development
Additional Features: Part Time Option

Location of Courses

USA
Overall Rating55555
Course Content4.74.74.74.74.7
Practice Teaching4.74.74.74.74.7
Quality of Feedback55555
Lesson Plan Guidance4.94.94.94.94.9
Instructor Competency55555
Job Placement4.24.24.24.24.2
Facilities/Resources4.64.64.64.64.6
Are you the owner of TESOL Trainers? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

10 Customer Reviews of TESOL Trainers

Review by Keith Gant, June 8, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Wonderful training and very engaging. John was great facilitator and explained each process in detail. I left the training with a different outlook. Great Job John.

Review by Ingrid Morales, August 17, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I attended John’s training in Albuquerque, New Mexico on August 16, 2017. He trained us on the gradual release of students’ responsibility during communicative activities in the classroom. It was a very productive session. I walked away with new ideas and perspectives on how to encourage students to take responsibility in communicative tasks. John’s passsion and commitment with English teaching was vital since we had fun while we are learning really important information. He provided us with many ideas and innovative ways to enhance the impact we make on our students.
In addition, teachers’ speaking time was reduced and students’ speaking time was powerful. Also, he showed us how to develop activities recycling material. To finish, I strongly recommend you to take part in any workshop or training with John, he is very professional and I’m sure he’ll do his best to help you improve your skills as an English teacher.

Review by Cory Abrams, January 23, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I was a student in the Jan ’12- April ’12 SIT TESOL course led by John Kongsvik. John’s focus, preparedness, and generous feedback during the course are unparalleled. Under John’s guidance, the course provided me a substantial foundation of the dynamics of teaching English as well as broader teaching philosophies. John’s teaching philosophy and emphasis on student-driven learning are both demonstrated in how he leads classroom instruction, as well as how he encourages us to lead our practice teaching sessions. John’s passion for learning and teaching are reflected through his commitment to creating an dynamic, warm, and comfortable learning environment. What was most beneficial to me as a student and learner in John’s classroom, was the number of opportunities I had to engage in and apply the curriculum. John’s teaching style and modules are both dynamic and inspiring. John’s dedication to feedback provides another layer to help the student assess their understanding and improve their understanding of the curriculum and its application. This course not only provided me with an excellent foundation and skill-set for teaching language, it also gave me many skill sets that can be applied in many areas of life. I highly recommend John’s SIT TESOL course, it is an experience and opportunity well worth the investment!

Review by Sheryl Leonard, April 12, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Excellent – no, I mean EXCELLENT, SMOKIN’, TOP DRAWER, SUPERIOR, FIRST-CLASS TESOL Certification course that offers practical experience that is directly linked to theoretical explorations and professional growth. The course is rich and varied and the course content accessible, educational and professionally sound. My cohorts and I spent three months immersed in observing, reflecting, connecting and practicing good teaching. We studied the material, we were given exemplary modeling, we practiced during classes, we taught ESOL classes and we reflected with peers on our successes and challenges. And then we did it again. John Kongsvik is a master teacher, always a hundred yards ahead of his class. With his years of experience teaching and training teachers internationally, John doesn’t just talk the TESOL talk, he walks the TESOL walk. [He also does a bit of dancing, joking and singing along the way, too – all with an international flair! ] Both John and the SIT program challenged me as a teacher but thoroughly supported me throughout the learning and training process. If you decide to take this course, prepare to be tremendously engaged and hugely challenged. Prepare to learn how ESOL should be taught. Prepare to become a truly great teacher.

Review by Maxine Swisa, March 8, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

John Kongsvik is a gifted and inspiring teacher. The TESOL certification course that he offers is a wonderful way to acquire the necessary skills for teaching TESOL. John provides a dynamic and supportive environment. I would highly recommend John and the TESOL certification program.

Review by J. Sprague, March 3, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took John Kongsvik’s month-long intensive TESOL certification class. This was an excellent learning experience, combining helpful content from John in the workshop sessions with classroom teaching experience. John is an enthusiastic teacher who offers an amazing toolkit of strategies for working with all levels of language learners. He provides supportive guidance during feedback sessions, focusing on the development of student-centered learning opportunities. John’s sense of humor, dedication, and sensitivity to all learners create a wonderful classroom environment. I highly recommend John’s course.

Review by Robin Reider, March 2, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

John Kongsviek was my teacher for TESOL, during a 3 month course. He was, and is, truly an inspirational teacher full of positive energy toward the teaching profession, toward the student-teacher relationship, toward success and motivation in the classroom. With his joy of sharing education radiating to both the students and the teachers, I was able to watch, practice and learn how to go out into the world, in my 60’s, to Vietnam, Africa, New Mexico and now South America and successfully teach English to all ages and types of students.

Review by K. Abrams, February 11, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

If you have the opportunity to take this class with John Kongsvik, do not hesitate. He is a phenomenal trainer with great insight, humor, teaching tips and just the right amount of push to help you take your teaching to the next level. Due to the intensive nature of the course, you are able to immediately apply the constructive feedback you receive. The classes are hands on, engaging and John goes out of his way to create a warm class environment.

Review by Marsha Scarbrough, February 11, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

John Kongsvik’s mastery was obvious the minute he began to address the class in Bambara, the indigenous language of Mali, thus putting us in our students’ experiential shoes. I took his one-month intensive, and it was indeed intense. I worked hard, laughed a lot, slept little and learned so much. Not only did I learn how to teach English to speakers of other languages, I learned how to teach anything, and more importantly, I learned how to facilitate student-centered learning. The opportunity to immediately apply theory in an actual classroom situation is invaluable, but it’s Kongsvik’s extraordinary energy and sincere caring that transform this educational course into a memorable life experience. My only suggestion for improvement would be to warn students to completely clear their schedules during the intensive because it requires total focus.
After I earned my SIT TESOL certificate and was exploring the job market, I discovered that Kongsvik is nearly legendary among TESOL Teacher Trainers. I think the fact that I studied with him gave me an edge over equally-qualified candidates. With my certificate from TESOL Trainers, I’ve landed paying jobs as a TESOL instructor.

Review by Lisa Smith, February 8, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I was part of a cohort of teachers that went through TESOL Trainers iCOACH program for two years. During that time, I was able to be a part of this incredible experience of connecting with colleague, connecting with what I loved about teaching, and becoming a better teacher.

John Kongsvik was the person who directed the whole thing. I can’t tell you how suspicious all of us were when our principal told us we were going to be observed by our peers while teaching and give one another feedback.

As scary as it was, John’s guidance really helped us drop our barriers and focus in on what helps and hinders learning (as he always says). By the end of the year, I think we all grew as teachers.

John put everyone at ease, was an expert at giving feedback, and so skilled at facilitating the whole process. Whether you’re a novice or experienced teacher, you can always do better.

If you get the chance, get TESOL Trainers to help you develop learning communities. We’re now three years past the first time we met John, and, if he’s out there, I want him to know that we are still doing iCOACH and still improving our own teaching practices.

Write a Review of TESOL Trainers | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.