Review of TEFL in Prague

Get TEFL certified and teach English for the largest private education company in the Czech Republic or anywhere in the world!

The intensive TEFL in Prague Course is a four-week, full-time, intensive course in initial teacher training that includes 120 hours of in-class sessions and 6 hours of observed teaching practice (8 x 45 minutes). It provides highly practical knowledge in the areas of methodology, classroom techniques, and language awareness. By the end of the course, you will be able to independently plan and successfully conduct a variety of ESL lessons. For those who cannot or do not want to take the intensive course, we run Part-Time 4-month TEFL courses.

TEFL in Prague is internationally accredited by IATQuO.

We also offer:
– job guarantee at the largest education company in the Czech Republic
– job guidance & post-course assistance
– visa assistance
– housing assistance
– experienced trainers & observers
– state-of-the-art facilities & resources
– free Czech lessons
– leisure activities, networking & community
– perfect location

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Additional Features: Part Time Option

Location of Courses

Czech Republic

Accreditations and Affiliations

IATQuO (International Accreditation of TESOL Qualifying Organisations)
Overall Rating4.744.744.744.744.74
Course Content4.794.794.794.794.79
Practice Teaching4.844.844.844.844.84
Quality of Feedback4.214.214.214.214.21
Lesson Plan Guidance4.534.534.534.534.53
Instructor Competency4.894.894.894.894.89
Job Placement4.584.584.584.584.58
Facilities/Resources4.374.374.374.374.37
Map of Main Campus
Address:
U Půjčovny 2
Prague
Czech Republic
110 00
Founded in: 1992
Phone: +420 739 540 390
Social Media Links
Follow TEFL in Prague on Facebook Follow TEFL in Prague on Google Plus Follow TEFL in Prague on Twitter
Applicant Requirements
- be at least 18 years old
- be a native speaker of English or have a high proficiency in English
- have the ability to do university-level coursework
- want to teach English!

19 Customer Reviews of TEFL in Prague

Review by Nicola, July 25, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Although stated in my application, I still found the course very intense. The tutors were very approachable and helpful, which meant I never felt overwhelmed by the course work.

I enjoyed staying in the TEFL house and sharing the commute with my classmates.

Veronika and Adela were always available to help and lighten the mood.

Review by Tristen, May 26, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course helped me grow so much, not just as a teacher but as a person. I chose to take this course before going to college so I could have a better idea of what I want to do for the rest of my life and I learned so much more than I anticipated. The knowledge I gained here is knowledge I will keep and use for the rest of my life. I know now 100% that I want to be a teacher and that this is a career that I not only love , but I am good at. All of the trainers were amazing and brought their own unique styles, techniques and opinions. I think that their feedback of the teaching practices were incredibly valuable and is the reason that I have grown so much.

Review by Amy Marie, October 27, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Before I took this course, I had very little experience with teaching/tutoring and absolutely no experience in a classroom. The instructors taught me every facet of teaching English, from lesson planning to handling multilingual vs. monolingual students, and the coordinators helped with every step of the way (from visa assistance to job placemen.) This course equipped me to teach here in Prague or anywhere in the world, really, and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience! Highly recommend this course!

Review by Kartik Shekar, October 27, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had many self doubts about my ability to be able to teach but after completing this course I feel like I have the necessary skills to teach. The amount of teaching knowledge that one gains in just 4 weeks is quite astounding. What I really liked about the course was the teaching practices during the later half of the day. We were told to create lesson plans for students and although these lesson plans needed to include some key components of teaching there was also room for chopping and changing a few things and we were encourage to use our creativity and not just stick to the text books for our lesson plans. This is what I feel separates this course from other courses; although one must plan a lesson within certain structures there is also room for creativity which I really enjoyed. I would highly recommend this course to anyone thinking of joining up for a TEFL course.

Review by Maegan McConnell, October 27, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Out of many TEFL programs in Prague, I couldn’t be happier to have chosen TEFL in Prague by EDUA Group. After speaking to teachers who graduated from other courses, it has become clear that this was the right way to go. The course was challenging and intense, but I learned everything I needed to know in order to be a successful teacher; that I am sure of. The teaching practices are extremely helpful in gaining confidence at the front of a real classroom. The trainers are highly-qualified, know what their talking about, and know how to convey it to the trainees. They give great constructive criticism and make sure you learn from mistakes so you don’t make them out in the real world. For anyone looking into living and teaching English in Prague, I definitely recommend getting your certification through this program!

Review by Trent Pray, October 4, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I had little to no teaching experience prior to completing the TEFL course at TEFL in Prague. The course is intense and requires a lot of you at times, but in the end, it is worth it. After the course, I feel very prepared to teach and I am happy that I gained so much valuable experience. Also, the TEFL team is always there for you if you have any questions, even after completing the program! I’ve made great friends and have met amazing people through the connections made at TEFL in Prague as well, and I would recommend this program to anyone looking to live and teach in Prague.

Review by Kira Adamo, October 4, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I went into this program with no teaching experience whatsoever and only one month later had acquired the skills I needed to start my career as an English teacher in the Czech Republic. The concepts covered in the course were highly relevant and have been instrumental to my teaching thus far. All of the instructors were very knowledgeable, experienced, and helpful, and the TEFL staff went above and beyond to assist me in settling into my new life in a foreign country. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested to earning their TEFL Certificate and teaching in the Czech Republic. It has been the experience of a lifetime. Plus, you get free cookies and coffee!

Review by Malorie, November 16, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

Overall I think the TEFL in Prague course does a good job preparing you to progress into a teaching career abroad. It is a very thorough and intensive course, providing participants with many opportunities to practice their teaching skills and receive relatively helpful feedback. TEFL also provides some services at an extra cost throughout the program that are very helpful if you are trying to live and work here after the program. Everyone who works there was very nice and helpful throughout the course as well. I would recommend this program to anyone looking to teach and work abroad in Prague!

Review by Melissa Griffis, November 12, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

At TEFL in Prague i was able to learn the techniques required to successfully teach in the Czech republic. I had the resources I needed for lessons, knowledge and guidance my first month in Prague. I am very pleased with how much outside help we received to help adapt to our new change along with our Visa requirements. I enjoyed attending activities that the school held, including he scavenger hunt and graduation party. I am very pleased with my overall experience with TEFL in Prague.

Review by Liana, September 13, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Choosing between doing Celta course or TEFL I did the second one and have no regrets about it at all. The course provided by teflinprague was a challenge for me. However, I had a teaching experience before the program I learned a lot from it. The intensive month was a push in my teaching career, opened my eyes to some very helpful methods and techniques using which I am significantly improving the quality of my lessons. I would like to thank the trainers whose teaching experience, competency, and knowledge of the subject are indisputable. Being role-models we looked at, they shared teaching tips with us, gave us fair feedbacks, and were there to help with any advice.
Overall the teaching facilities were good. I just loved the choice of course books in the library wishing to have at least half of it at the place where I work now. The coordinators of the course were great and always ready to answer any question.

Review by V.G., September 8, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

The course was thorough and a little longer than most standard TEFL courses at 140 hours. In addition, there was the option for more observation. In the mornings, there were two 90 minute sessions which were usually interactive lessons on teaching methodology as well as demo lessons. In the afternoons, they had teaching practice. The library, resources, and student support was excellent.

Take the course seriously, and if you feel like you need help, ask your instructors and the coordinators immediately. I didn’t believe it at first, but you will be asked to leave the course if the instructors think that you don’t take it seriously. Just because you paid doesn’t guarantee you a pass. As far as the job guarantee goes, it’s pretty unlikely you’ll get the grade needed to be gifted a job. You’ll have to apply like everyone else, but the school does provide a lot of support for whatever you need, so you shouldn’t limit yourself to just their school.

Overall, I found the course to be properly rigorous, and I would recommend it to people who are serious about gaining language teaching skills and finding a job. However, if you really want to find a job in Prague, make sure you have a decent savings to start off with because there’s no guarantee of full-time work (as a teacher) after you pass.

Review by Alexandra, August 26, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I really enjoyed my time in Prague while doing TEFL course. Apart from a solid base of theoretical and practical knowledge which is drilled into your head you acquire a valuable experience of teaching and communicating with different people as well as living in one of the most beautiful cities in Europe.
I think that the whole idea of TEFL course is extremely clever:

1. In the morning you get an intensive shower of teaching methods and practices. You are taught by experienced teachers who put you in the position of a student where you “study English” and you really love the process of it. You dance and sing and brainstorm together with your group mates just to realize that the process of studying can and should be fun and joy. You start feeling inner motivation of getting into this or that topic because it becomes personal to you. And the next moment you are gently reminded that you are here to study techniques of making people just as interested and motivated as you were a moment ago. But somehow you are already filled with cleverer and brighter ideas and answers before you hear the questions. Very soon you learn to single out the parts of any lesson and some time later you write lessons of your own!

2. In the afternoon you get an opportunity to teach a group of model students. You try to be encouraging and motivating and attentive to them. You create your own rhythm and content and general atmosphere in the class. Somehow you know exactly what to do and what to say, where to slow down and where to have a laugh since all these little nuances have been drilled into your head. And as a bonus you are filled with desire to make your lesson really interesting and motivating.

After every lesson you get reviews of your strong and week parts. It is very useful to hear the reviews of your group mates as well as the coach’s. And even more useful to see the lessons of others and compare them with your own ideas and behavior.

My TEFL course was really very intensive and informative. I used to spend evenings in their library working on my lessons, talking to other students and young teachers, surfing the Internet and feeling happy and occupied.
We also did a lot of group work after studies. The weekends allowed some free activity like walking around Prague, meeting with new friends. shopping and cooking.

The whole thing was a real challenge for me and I am very happy that it happened in my life. And then – it was right before Christmas and the magic was all around!

Review by Glen Bentley, August 25, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

This TEFL program is good and the foundations are solid. They use modern equipment and the instructors are very knowledgeable and experienced in the field. Their method of teaching is overall excellent and the course has very good real world applications, and the teachers demand excellence but it is a very rigorous course. There is so much to take in and so little time, only 4 weeks so 14 hour days are common, if not longer depending on your background, learning speed, prior experience, etc.

The teacher’s resource center is great, and the computers do have Office, but you are working around the current teaching staff which is quite large. I recommend getting there early.

I did not find the teaching practicals that useful because, at the time of my class, we were only given 45 minutes to teach what easily could and should have been 90 minute lesson plans so how you condensed the material became the real challenge. My group was also rather large. Also do to the fact that each instructor evaluates for different things and each has their own particular style I spent the first 2 and a half weeks trying to understand how they wanted me to condense the lesson and what they, again individually, wanted. By the time I had the handle on that my teaching practicals were all but finished.

If you do not finish in the highest percentile of the class just understand that work and income will probably come slowly, and you may have to wait longer before realizing a sustainable income. They do a marvelous job of trying to help you find work even if you do not decide to work with their school, which is their intent, but again you’re probably not going to make it big in whatever manner you decide to work, as a complete freelancer or with whichever school at the start of your career.

Review by Kelly, August 25, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course with TEFL in Prague provided me with a great deal of knowledge. In the morning there are two sessions in which the instructors teach you methodology. There are lessons on teaching young learners, technology in the classroom, how to teach reading, writing and grammar. These sessions along with the projects and afternoon teaching sessions allowed me to feel prepared to enter and teach successfully in an ESL classroom. I was able to develop a confidence in my abilities as a teacher because of the things I learned in this TEFL course. I honestly can’t imagine taking a different course because of how well it was designed!

The facilities could be a little bit more updated. The only reason I say this is because of the lack of Microsoft Word on the computers. There is another program you can use to type up documents though.

The TEFL course coordinators are absolutely amazing! The women are very helpful before, during and after the course. I couldn’t have asked for nicer people to deal with!

Review by EMB, August 25, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I was really happy with my experience – all the staff involved are very supportive, helpful, approachable and encouraging. It was a great way to find my feet in the city and it opened lots of doors for my TEFL career! Thank you 🙂

Review by Anastasiya Tsoy, August 25, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Though I had had an experience of teaching before the course, it was really helpful. While teaching you mostly don’t have a chance to be observed by other, more experienced colleagues but during the course trainers can see and show you all your errors that can definetely be in methodology aspects etc., can show other more proper, developed and modern ways of teaching that can be more useful.
Another wonderful reason for visiting the course is a great chance to visit Prague, one of the most beautiful cities in Europe!

Review by Allison Irvin, May 6, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

The course was very thorough and I feel prepared as a teacher. The trainers were all great, encouraging and helpful. The classroom equipment was very efficient and useful. The TEFL house was a great benefit while taking the course and overall, I did enjoy my time in the course and feel like I have learned so much from it.

Review by Paul Cain, February 23, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

TEFL in Prague has been one of the most worthwhile experiences of my life. It is impossible to comprehend the amount of knowledge I have gained throughout the 4 weeks. The teachers are top class, and the coordinators are there to help you when needed. The course in planned superbly and I now feel confident to call myself a teacher. I highly recommend embarking on the journey that is TEFL in Prague! 🙂

Review by Isaac, July 25, 2013

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

Before I took this course, I did not have any experience teaching. Now, just a couple months later, I am teaching students of my own. This 4-week intensive course really helped me develop my skills as an educator.

The course contained two workshops a day that each focused on a specific area of teaching English, taught by well-qualified instructors. These same instructors also observed our afternoon teaching practice and provided feedback after each lesson. I found the feedback to be very fair and constructive.

As far as job placement, I was very pleased with how it was handled in the end. It was a bit confusing at first, but after my first week things began to smooth out. I started work just one week after the program finished.

The only thing I gave less than four stars were the facilities. The teacher’s rooms do have copy machines, printers and computers, but the computers lacked valuable software such as Microsoft Office. But, don’t let that keep you away from the course! The library is full of very helpful material and the staff is always around to help as well.

This is a program that will challenge you, give you the practice and feedback you need, and provide you with important tools to begin your career as a teacher.

P.S. The coordinators are the most friendly and helpful people you will ever meet! If you aren’t in contact with them yet, shoot them a message!

Write a Review of TEFL in Prague | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.