Review of Stafford House International

Stafford House has been delivering language related courses for over 60 years. With schools in the UK, the US and Canada, we have a reputation for quality, excellent customer service, and attention to detail, and we pride ourselves on being able to meet the individual needs of students and trainees.

Our Central London school offers the CELTA course, accredited by Cambridge English Language Assessment, part of the University of Cambridge. The course aims to equip trainees with all the fundamental skills needed to go straight into the classroom and teach English as a foreign or second language, either in the UK or overseas. This highly regarded qualification is recognised all over the world, by the British Council and all other major industry bodies, and is equivalent to level 5 on the National Qualifications Framework.

School facilities include a dedicated computer and resource room for trainees, including a fully stocked library of teacher training resources. There is also free Wi-Fi throughout, a café, and a canteen serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition to this, we have dedicated, professional and passionate trainers, with many years of industry experience.

As part of Cambridge Education Group, which employs 400 English language teachers a year in the UK alone, we are able to offer job opportunities for promising graduates in both summer schools and all year round schools. We also offer guidance on finding jobs and connections with schools in Spain and Italy.

We offer both full time and part time courses and keep group sizes to a maximum of 15.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: Cambridge CELTA
Additional Features: Part Time Option

Location of Courses

England, UK
Overall Rating4.964.964.964.964.96
Course Content55555
Practice Teaching55555
Quality of Feedback4.964.964.964.964.96
Lesson Plan Guidance4.744.744.744.744.74
Instructor Competency55555
Job Placement4.654.654.654.654.65
Facilities/Resources4.484.484.484.484.48
Are you the owner of Stafford House International? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

23 Customer Reviews of Stafford House International

Review by Rezwana Malik, May 17, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Studying the CELTA course at Stafford House was engaging, inspiring and a good experience altogether! I was impressed with the knowledge and support of the tutors and staff who were always on hand to support you even via emails; always very prompt to reply. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to become English teachers to adults. The Teaching Practice sessions were very informative and feedback was always very effective and constructive. Thanks to all staff who made it a lovely experience and less stressful!

Review by Nuria, May 16, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Doing the CELTA course at Stafford House is such an amazing experience. There is no other course like it. You’ll understand what I mean when you do it.

The skills you get are invaluable.The trainers are so supportive and have so much knowledge. The course administrators are so helpful and friendly. You can’t be in better hands. The students are lovely, and the other trainees become like your family.

I did the part-time online course during the week with teaching practice every Saturday. Having a full-time job at the same time is quite challenging and you kind of forget about your social life for a while, but you get there in the end and it’s so rewarding.

I would definitely recommend doing CELTA at Stafford House. Apart from all the reasons above it’s in a great location and it’s good value for money too!

Review by Kruti, May 14, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 22222

CELTA is definitely an intense course whether it’s done part-time, full-time or online, but completing it in a friendly, constructive and encouraging atmosphere such as The Stafford House is worth it.

Not only are the tutors genuinely helpful and insightful with their feedback, the management too do whatever they can to make the environment as efficient & welcoming as possible.

There was a week where it snowed in London, and I was not able to get to the center to print my materials on time but was very kindly assisted by the admin there, Karen, when I needed it.

The students that we had to ‘practice teach’ were lovely as well, fostering a positive environment overall. At the end of this course, I am able to take away a lot of knowledge, teaching experience, and new friends.

Along with its convenient location in the city, I would highly recommend taking the course at The Stafford House.

Review by Danielle, May 14, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 33333

I cannot speak more highly of the trainers. They were incredibly helpful, informative and supportive. Very responsive to our (often many!) questions over email and in person.

The course is certainly intense. I did the part-time blended course (online input sessions during the week and teaching on the Saturday). If you have a full-time job that is often 50 hours a week, expect to do very little in your spare time other than Celta. But having just completed it, I can confirm that every hour was worth it.

For anyone wanting to do Celta, I would definitely recommend Stafford House.

Review by KJ Traynor, May 13, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I was highly impressed with the teaching at Stafford House. I felt supported and encouraged throughout the course and have learned a lot from my time studying there. I was also impressed, as they even gave me guidance regarding future development after the CELTA. I would definitely recommend Stafford House to others, due to the quality of tutors and the pleasant environment.

Review by Brian, May 12, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

The CELTA course was excellent. The two tutors were extremely knowledgeable and supportive throughout. The course itself was hard work for the entire month but if you are dedicated it is a very rewarding experience. Stafford House has a very pleasant atmosphere with both friendly staff and students. I thoroughly recommend studying a CELTA at Stafford House.

Review by Nick, April 24, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I came into the course with no experience and very little understanding of how to teach English as a foreign language and it still amazes me how much one can learn in such a short amount of time! The course took a lot of hard work and required complete dedication, but there was masses of support from both the tutors and my fellow classmates and this was what I needed to see it through to the end.

The tutors are professional, highly knowledgeable and supportive; there was one occasion where I really thought I could not keep up with the workload, but after seeking help from my tutor I got the assistance and assurance that I needed to get back on track.

The practical experience was invaluable as I could try out teaching methods what its like to teach actual students.

To sum up Stafford House is a truly great place to start your career in TEFL, couldn’t recommend enough!

Review by Kinga, April 22, 2018

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I would highly recommend Stafford House to everybody who is interested in doing CELTA course. I’ve finished part time one and I really liked it from the start. Tutors at the school were very friendly and supportive. Their valuable feedback helped me to make quick progress so I felt more and more competent and relaxed from one teaching practice to the other. The school is very well equipped with interactive boards and many course books.

Review by Mary Groarke, March 24, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This is an excellent course and I would highly recommend it to others. The quality of the tutors, as well as the feedback and assistance, are immeasurable. The course runs at a very fast pace so be prepared to work hard and learn quickly. There is a lot of team work and our team became very close during the month. I am still in touch with many of them. Throughout the course you need the support of not just your tutors, but also your team to get you through. This was encouraged and was really helpful. I had never taught before and I know this course has prepared me well for teaching English. Well done Stafford House tutors and administrative team!

Review by Giang Luong, March 23, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Doing CELTA at Stafford House London is perhaps the best experience I’ve ever had. The CELTA tutors were absolutely brilliant and supportive and so were my colleagues. The TP feedback was constructive yet encouraging. Despite the intensity of a full time course, I looked forward to going to class every day. I couldn’t recommend Stafford House London highly enough.

Review by Ben, March 22, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

An excellent course with great, experienced, tutors.
You teach classes of differing abilities, have many input sessions, observe a range of experienced teachers and receive useful feedback on every lesson you teach.
Some trainees on the course got jobs before the end.

Review by Stefan, January 4, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I think the Stafford House is the best place to do the CELTA course. The input sessions were diverse and informative. The teaching practice sessions were really helpful because you received thorough feedback about your performance.

The course tutors were helpful and encouraging. They were able to make an insecure trainee believe in her/himself and release his full potential. Furthermore, they encouraged teamwork and contributed to the group harmony.

I totally recommend the Stafford House and can’t imagine a better place to do the CELTA!

Review by I. Bosanszky, January 2, 2018

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had my CELTA course done at Stafford House. The tutors were amazing and helpful and they inspired me a lot. The course is intense and requires lots of work, but it is really incredible to see the improvement and the confidence you can gain throughout the process. I enjoyed every minute of it. The location is great and all staff are very friendly. Highly recommended.

Review by Maya Marriott-Semper, December 13, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Stafford House International is an excellent centre to study in. The tutors were all experienced and well informed as well as being very supportive and available to address questions and concerns throughout the day (including during breaks). Additionally, feedback was always fairly and constructively given. Also the centre itself is very well resourced with many course books, free wifi, computers and smart boards in every classroom and a few printers. However, a few small complaints are that the centre IT technology takes awhile to get used to or can be difficult to use. Thus, at times it hinder rather than helped and precious time was lost in the process. This was not helped by the CELTA coordinator going on vacation after the second day of the course. This meant that it was unclear who to address technological problems or concerns with.

Review by Louisa, September 15, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I cannot recommend Stafford House highly enough. A really well organised course with supportive and encouraging staff. If you’re going to study for a Celta, I’d definitely recommend studying here.

Review by Katy, September 12, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I can’t recommend Stafford House in Holborn highly enough. The tutors have years and years of experience and go above and beyond to help you. I felt totally supported for the duration of the course.

Review by Ismael Ahmed, September 11, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

Excellent environment to learn, supportive staff and a platform to grow.

An experience to cherish.

Thumbs up.

Class.

Review by Christopher Hilborne, September 7, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed my CELTA part-time at Stafford House.

I found the setting, content and tutors to be of the highest standard. The tutors were extremely supportive and clearly had the degree of expertise you want from a teacher.

I would recommend Stafford House to anyone who is considering a CELTA course.

Review by LW, July 20, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would recommend anyone who is planning on doing a CELTA to apply to Stafford House. Our tutors were really passionate, knowledgeable and brilliant teachers. The workshops were always really engaging and useful, and the feedback we received on our teaching practice really helped. I got loads more out of the course than I expected and I feel well prepared to teach English. I really can’t imagine another course being of better quality and it’s really good value for money too in comparison with others.

Review by Nataly, July 2, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I loved the CELTA course at Stafford House! We became familiar with the CELTA methodology, learned effective teaching techniques and observed some really good lessons from experienced teachers.
What made the course so great was that we had the chance to put theory into practice. We taught pre-intermediate and upper-intermediate students and received valuable feedback from our excellent tutors, who were really supportive throughout the course.
Overall, I would recommend Stafford House to anyone interested in teaching English as a foreign language!

Review by Quamroon, June 20, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

An enjoyable experience.

The team at Stafford house were supportive and friendly throughout the course and post course! The timetable was well organised and we were given ample opportunity to observe various level lessons as well as teach upper intermediate and elementary level learners’. It is an intensive course but i wouldn’t say it is difficult, you are guided and supported by your course tutors.

The location is perfect! Central London, in close proximity to underground stations, parks and restaurants.

If you want to do your CELTA, then I would highly recommend doing it at Stafford House. I am even encouraging my cousin to register!

Review by Richard Goss, May 20, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

The CELTA course at Stafford House was excellent. The two trainers were expert and supportive and kept their sense of humour throughout. They complemented each other well. The course was well organised, with some great resources and ideas. We observed some fantastically good teaching and taught students at pre-intermediate and upper-intermediate level. The trainers’ advice on jobs was very useful in the final week and some of us secured good jobs before the course ended.

Review by David, October 12, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

The Stafford House team gave me a great standard of coaching, with excellent feedback that I was increasingly encouraged to lead.

The whole course is very supportive. You have quite a lot to do over the month, which you’d expect from a month-long, full-time course. But you are helped by the camaraderie you have with the other students, and from the teachers as well.

The teachers are really nice people, with decades of experience teaching here and abroad. You’ll enjoy the course. The CELTA course teaches all kinds of skills, so even if you don’t go on to teach English, just from a developmental standpoint I reckon it’s worth it. You’ll enjoy it

Write a Review of Stafford House International | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.