Review of St. George International

Saint George International (SGI) has been running high quality, good-value teacher training courses in London since the summer of 1993. The beginning of this year saw us proudly chalk up our two thousandth newly-qualified English language teacher who successfully completed one of our highly-regarded and globally-recognised Trinity College London validated Cert TESOL courses. This is an excellent qualification providing very solid and thorough training for those with little or no prior teaching experience and who wish to teach English either overseas or in the UK.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Combined TEFL CoursesOn-site TEFL CoursesOnline TEFL Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: Trinity CertTESOL, DipTESOL
Specialist Courses: Teaching Business English (BE)
Additional Features: Part Time Option

Location of Courses

England, Italy, UK
Overall Rating4.454.454.454.454.45
Course Content4.734.734.734.734.73
Practice Teaching4.914.914.914.914.91
Quality of Feedback4.914.914.914.914.91
Lesson Plan Guidance4.734.734.734.734.73
Instructor Competency4.914.914.914.914.91
Job Placement3.733.733.733.733.73
Facilities/Resources3.363.363.363.363.36
Are you the owner of St. George International? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

12 Customer Reviews of St. George International

Review by Tom C, April 12, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 33333

I can’t recommend this course enough.

When I doing mu research I was looking for a course teaching a methodology I could believe in from teachers I could learn from and equip myself to teach to the best of my ability. This was delivered and more.

My tutors (Jo & Jon) were hugely inspiring, passionate, talented teachers who were thoroughly committed to impart their knowledge to us.

I would stress that this isn’t a course for non-committed students. For one month this course will be everything you do. Whilst it was extremely tough I now feel confident to start teaching with methodologies and techniques I have seen & experimented with during the course. Even when it was full on I still really enjoyed what we were actually doing. All of the course work was useful learning and carefully choreographed. I particularly enjoyed being paired with a EAL student, carrying out a needs analysis, preparing a lesson plan & procedure and delivering the lesson.

My only slight criticism would be the technology does need a refresh. During the course there were computer issues. I believe the organisers are now aware of these issues and I would expect these will be dealt with over the coming months. I would highly recommend you have your own laptop that works efficiently and access to your own printer. That being said, technology challenges are good preparation for being in a real classroom – whichever country that may be.

Thank you St. Georges.

Review by Åsa, December 14, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I completed my training in the beginning of October and I’m very pleased with my course. The teachers and tutors were outstanding and they all made a great effort to bring out the best in all of us. The course is an intensive course, and I believe it is hard to understand how intense the studies will actually be, I for sure didn’t. I felt that the support from the teachers was necessary to focus on the work and they were very helpful giving advice on how to prioritise the different tasks. The school has a warm atmosphere and all staff are very welcoming. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is interesting in TESOL.

Review by Fabio, November 17, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 22222

I completed my CertTesol course in August and I couldn’t have chosen a better school than St. Georges. All members of staff were helpful all the time. Roger, Jo, Melissa and Simon were amazing and their advice and feedback really helped me to become a better teacher. The atmosphere was friendly and extremely professional at the same time. The school is centrally located in a quiet street near Oxford Circus. Facilities need improving, though. We were provided with only 2 computers and a printer which most of the time did not work. Our room was downstairs, in an area which had no good WiFi connection. Apart from this, it was a draining but incredibly useful experience and I would definitely recommend St.Georges to anyone interested in a TESOL course.

Review by Charlotte, November 11, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 22222

I’ve recently completed the Trinity Cert.TESOL at St. George International and have thoroughly enjoyed the course.
Our course leader Jo was outstanding, her enthusaiam and commitment to her students was insipring. Similary Simon’s feedback and tutoring was of an exceptionally high standard. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with administrative tasks such as photocopying.
Throughout the course, as a student I felt fully supported. The course was very well structured, the content well delivered and teaching practice extremely well organised and thorough. The students of the teaching practice classes were lovely people, keen learners and also very supportive of us trainee teachers.
My only critisism of the course would be the facilities. In the downstairs classroom where we were there is a serious damp problem with limited natural light which made the environment a little uninspiring. Furthurmore, wifi was unavailable in this part of the school and the three computers in the classroom are a little “temporamental” to say the least!
I would strongly recommend SGI for their Cert.TESOL training mainly for their support and well structuring of the course. Once again a huge thank you to Jo and Simon for their hard work, support, excellent effort and commitment.

Review by Lucy, November 6, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

I completed my Cert TESOL at St Georges in September 2015, and was extremely happy with my choice of provider. The staff were wonderful and provided a very high level of training, as well as being extremely supportive throughout what is an incredibly intensive four weeks.

There is a lot to cover over a relatively short period of time and so I was very grateful for the level of support and encouragement from the school, and the teaching provided was always engaging and efficiently presented. I felt that the teachers provided us with everything we needed to do as well as we possibly could. A significant proportion of the course is focussed around teaching practice, so I felt that by the end of the final week I had gained lots of really valuable practical experience teaching students of different levels.

The school is well situated in Central London with good access to public transport as well as the all-important stationery and bookshops – however the facilities could do with an upgrade, particularly the computers provided for lesson preparation. As I was part of a small group we were lucky to be able to manage with the 3 computers we had access to, but in a larger group this would be much more challenging and stressful! However this is the only aspect of the course which I felt could be improved.

Overall, I would highly recommend SGI and feel that my experience there has given me a great start in the word of English language teaching.

Review by Liz, November 6, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

I signed up for the full-time certTesol course and it exceeded my expectations. The teachers and staff were incredibly knowledgeable about what they were doing, very professional, friendly, and easy to work with. They really took the time to help everyone succeed. The input, guidance, and lesson feedback were extremely helpful in raising my awareness as a teacher and helping me to improve quickly. The course is very intense, but it’s worth it! It helps that there’s no busy work, everything we did was actually worth our time, which helped me to stay motivated. So the workload is a lot but the work itself really helps you to become a better teacher and prepares you to be successful out in the world. This was probably the most hands-on course I’ve ever had. It left me with a ton of new skills and the confidence to use them. The only downside was that the facilities are a bit old. However, they’re in a great location, just a few minutes walk from Oxford Circus. In terms of job placement, there could have been more dedicated time I guess, but I felt like we were given a sufficient starting point for finding a job, and then instructors were happy to answer questions and give specific advice, even outside of class time, and via email, etc. which was really helpful. Overall, SGI was a fantastic and fully engaging experience. I highly recommend it!

Review by Esther, February 19, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

I decided to make my teaching experiences abroad official. Knowing that the Trinity TESOL was one of the passports to teaching around the world I just knew that I had to take the opportunity. I had heard about the CELTA more than anything because it featured heavily in job adverts and placements, it was always named in preference to TESOL. I had researched various places over and over again. I had eliminated several institutions based on all sorts of criteria and my final choice came down to two places. SGI have been around for a long time and it suited my budget, the dates lined up, it was a convenient location and the administration was well organised. I was ready to go. I liked the idea that there was an unknown language component which put us in the position of a learner experiencing a new language for the first time. After all, we were training to teach people in this position to varying degrees. My group was great. I had the pleasure of working with people at various stages of life and careers, who had a range of diverse and rich backgrounds. We all worked very well together. Our teachers were great. They clearly had a firm grasp of what they were teaching. They taught with imagination and had gone on to study at Diploma level and had very rich travelling experiences. They spoke several other languages and knew what it was like first hand to start out looking for a job as a newly qualified teacher, so their advice was realistic and encouraging. The unknown language component offered a different appreciation to the course which I am told is not covered on the CELTA.
The teaching practice was great. From the get go we were introduced to new students of elementary level and were asked to teach them warmer games to introduce ourselves as new teachers to the group. We gradually progressed (with steep learning curves) to teaching communicative, interactive lessons based on guided discovery, PPP and several other formats. I don’t want to give you too much insight into what to expect, all I can say is that it is worth every penny! It was a very challenging course, tiring at times but I can truly say that I looked forward to lesson planning. This was mainly because it was another learning opportunity, I was guaranteed constructive feedback that would shape my teaching style and I knew it would help me to improve and eventually develop as a trainee teacher. I found myself in competition with the last lesson every time and the positive feedback from my peers and teachers soon became a really addictive motivator.
This was all in week 1 by the way!
By week 2, the challenge got tougher. Again I won’t offer any spoilers but please be prepared to work very hard. I recall commenting to several people that I had found this course more difficult than my degree at times. Mainly because of the continual assessments and submissions / deadlines. Often we were working up against the clock to prepare for teaching practice, but because we had such a great group, we helped each other out and had a lot of support from our teachers and the admin team and support staff to get plans and materials printed or reproduced on time. With technology, mishaps can happen, so always make sure to have a back up plan. This is generally a good lesson to learn as every teacher should be prepared for technical fails no matter where they are training or learning.
The teachers and the support staff were brilliant at every stage of this course and I really cannot give it higher praise. Their support has been second to none. They listen and they really care. The information and advice given is relevant, and I felt as though they all did everything to make my learning experience at SGI a very positive and memorable one. If you are thinking about taking your official step to becoming a British council accredited Tefl teacher, this is the place to come to! Thank you to all at SGI for everything. Esther

Review by Mimi Abdelmoumen, January 13, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I went on the 4 week TESOL course in November 2014, let me tell you that I have never enjoyed a course as much as I have with St . George international school. The teachers were amazing and a great inspiration! They taught us how to make a lesson plan, one to one tutoring, time keeping ,different types and styles of lesson, grammar and phonology. I think we fascinated with the unknown language topic, the way Mr David Birch spoke to us in a language we never heard of was incredible; yet we still understood what he was saying? It gave us insight as too how teach the English language in this manner and how the students would feel when introduced to a new language.

We always had feedback and if anyone was slacking they would let us know right away and make sure we are going on the right track. We had amazing support from Melissa, Laura and Roger! They are teachers I look up to now and I would love to teach the way they do!

If anyone wants to do a TESOL course, St. George international is definitely the one to go to!

Review by Pete, April 8, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

SGI prepared me well before starting the course, so I knew exactly what to expect and there were no surprises during the well co-ordinated course. It did require a lot of time commitment, but the four weeks passed in a very enjoyable flash of learning, comprehension and presentation.

I found the theory really interesting and I was taught how to plan and give successful lessons for a wide range of levels of ability. The actual teaching practice was the most challenging part, but the tutors were really supportive and I grew in confidence as a speaker.It was overall a very good, supportive place to study and work, and a pleasure, while there, to be surrounded by people who are very good at what they do.

Review by Andy, March 3, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

SGI prepared me well before starting the course, so I knew exactly what to expect and there were no surprises during the well co-ordinated course. It did require a lot of time commitment, but the four weeks passed in a very enjoyable flash of learning, comprehension and presentation. I think the best part was probably teaching a group of genuine students on the first afternoon. This represented a microcosm of the course as a whole: learn something, put it into practice, and observe others doing the same.

The whole course ran like a well-oiled machine, with mentors and coaches providing positive support and enthusiasm in copious doses. The other trainees were all really interesting and there was a great spirit of helping each other through the course. The best thing about the course is, without doubt, the professionalism of the SGI team.

Review by Sally, December 13, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Just had a horrendous time on this course. They took on what seemed to be an extra group and we were stuffed into a tiny room with no desks. We could not access the computer room to work outside of lesson time because they used this room for lessons.

I was ill and missed some lectures which resulted in them refusing to mark my outstanding assignments and would not let me sit a test. I paid for the course and they did not offer what I had paid for by refusing to mark my assignments. I had passed everything up to that date. They then told me I had to do the whole course again even the parts I had passed and pay the full fee again sounds very convenient to me.

I’m complaining to Trinity and would urge anyone else with a bad experience to do the same don’t let them get away with it.

Review by Tim, March 26, 2010

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 33333

It is a very well run course with some great trainers but not particularly inspired by the TRINITY course content.

Too much work was done on student profile and on one to one lessons when that should be about 5% of the course since most people want this for classroom teaching than giving individual lessons. Yet, in terms of workload the student profile was probably about 50%.

Practice teaching was good in terms of the structure on how to deliver a lesson. But in terms of the overall lesson, there were nothing on classroom management skills which the students had to pick up themselves.

Quality of feedback was great and probably the best thing on the course.

Lesson plan guidance was only done for the first two lessons and although the trainers were opened to talk to you about lessons plans, they were usually too busy to talk you through them properly. This was done during feedback instead.

Most of the instructors were exceptional. However, one of the instructor was poor and that was a real let down considering the intensity of the course.

There weren’t anything on job placements which I had hoped to find and the facilities were not great with 15 students sharing two computers that kept crashing. The place is very small place with tiny rooms. Should have gone for a visit before I took the course.

Write a Review of St. George International | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.