Review of SIT Graduate Institute

The SIT TESOL certificate is recognized and respected around the world. This 130-hour program offers an introduction to learning theories, teaching methodology, and classroom management, with opportunities to work with actual students and receive feedback from our expert trainers. The program is equally rewarding for those with little or no teaching experience and for experienced teachers looking to upgrade their skills.

Participants in the program learn by engaging in, describing and analyzing shared, thought-provoking experiences that are designed to directly relate to the development of skills, attitudes and awareness necessary for effective teaching.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL

Location of Courses

Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, USA
Overall Rating55555
Course Content55555
Practice Teaching4.834.834.834.834.83
Quality of Feedback55555
Lesson Plan Guidance55555
Instructor Competency55555
Job Placement4.174.174.174.174.17
Facilities/Resources4.174.174.174.174.17
Are you the owner of SIT Graduate Institute? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

6 Customer Reviews of SIT Graduate Institute

Review by Sabrina E. Thalman, October 5, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is looking to have a crash course in becoming a TEFL/ESL teacher. The course is an intensive one requiring the participants full dedication to it. I believe that this course if extremely effective, but that the participants have to be quite self-motivated and focused to make it through successfully – it is challenging. That being said, the trainers do a wonderful job at boosting participant motivation and keeping the participants focused while in the course. The intensive course is almost more than full-time for a month, which would also mean that individuals looking to become participants should not expect to also work a second job – they would have to be financially secure in some form or fashion to be able to dedicate the full month to this course, though it is well worth it in my humble opinion.

For the course itself, you start teaching during the first week! Teaching so soon is nerve wracking, but also exhilarating and once you meet the students it’s that much more motivating to start teaching because the students are truly such a wonderful bunch of people. Everyday almost is a new lesson or a new module, which is expected because of how short the course it – so it requires that dedication I mentioned previously. It’s also a wonderful experience to be around such a culturally diverse set of people and getting to know them over the course of the few weeks is quite special. I hope this helps you, future participant, to join!

Review by Marc Tabin, September 10, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Since 2016, I decided I wanted to outsource my education to another country. I wanted to attain my masters in Germany, but sadly, sometimes plans don’t work out the way they want to. The deadlines have passed and I would have to wait another year, so I decided to work a bit, save a little money for the following year, and then pursue this goal once more in 2017.

I wanted a backup plan for some financial stability, so I decided to become an English teacher which would allow me to both sufficiently sustain my living expenses and travel. Taking the four-week intensive course has been one of the best decisions of my life.

After applying and working hard to gain a seat at some of the graduate programs in Germany, it can really be taxing, both mentally and physically. My confidence was slowly growing weary and I began to have a lot of self-doubt. “Am I not smart enough?” was a question that reverberated constantly through my mind. This is the sort of baggage I brought with me when I took the TESOL course at Rennert.

The staff was friendly and helpful, trainers were professional and patient, and my peers were very encouraging. There was a lot of emotional support and that really helped me rediscover my confidence. For the first two week, I had this self-perception that I wasn’t good enough to be the teacher: “Are the students enjoying it? Am I teaching them correctly?”

One night, when I arrived home after class, I received an email from one of the TESOL trainers. It was a picture of one of the students reviewing a vocabulary handout sheet about food. This was given a little more than a week ago. The email stated:

“Dear teachers! I noticed something in the hallway today, and I thought you might find this inspiring. One of your students wasn’t wasting time waiting. She was attentively reading a handout from one of the lessons you taught. What does this tell you about their hunger for learning? Isn’t this empowering? Keep growing!”

At that point, I had water in my eyes. The handout sheet I mentioned early was made by me. Ever since then, I rediscovered myself. I didn’t get to mention earlier what graduate degree I wanted to pursue and that would be public policy. I wanted to make an impact on people and change peoples lives for the better.

The people of Rennert helped remind me what I’m capable of and that I can still make a difference. Thank you for everything!

Review by Margot Osborne, August 17, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I’ve worked in Adult Ed for 15 years and took this course to improve my skills in giving feedback to ESL teachers and in lesson plan preparation. I got what I came for and much, much more.

Beginning with the intake interview, I felt I was in capable hands, with its fair warning of just how demanding the course would be and the accommodations that would be required i.e. abandonment of all other pursuits for the month. Then came a series of short provocative articles that would require reading and comment to complete the course and which could be tackled early to free up time during the course itself. Additionally there was a magnificently designed Grammar Awareness exercise that reacquainted us skillfully with the grammar rules that I, for one, had long since forgotten.

We received and gave feedback beginning day 1 and the trainers consistently modeled specific, measurable, actionable, realistic and time-bound (SMART) input that was backed by thoroughgoing knowledge of TESOL principles and years of experience teaching both English language learners and the TESOL SIT intensive.

On day 1, I was a bit discouraged by the windowless, somewhat cramped classroom, but the walls quickly filled up with colorful posters created to illustrate the many lessons of any given day, nourishing the visual learner and providing constant reminders of the techniques we were there to assimilate.

The opportunity to practice teach 2 different levels of students from all over the world was invaluable along with the cultural awareness workshops and brilliantly scaffolded lesson planning guidance that took us from being provided with all the materials we needed to creating our own and from close supervision to almost none over the course of the month.

Having completed my undergraduate studies 45 years ago, merely surviving the grueling schedule was a miracle that could not have happened without the skilled, wise tutelage of the gifted trainers at Rennert.

Review by Emery Powell, January 26, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Taking the SIT TESOL course at Rennert Center in NYC is the best decision I have ever made! My teacher trainer Selina was amazing. She was so kind, helpful, and profoundly constructive. And the class only had three other participants besides me; it was so personalized. The woman who both interviewed me and provided us all with job assistance, Autumn, is the most exuberant, excited person. You will never doubt your decision from the minute you are accepted to the minute you leave the center. In fact, I have never been more nostalgic about something coming to an end than my TESOL course. Thank you Rennert! I have grown so much because of you! Honestly, the only downside was that our classroom had no windows!

Review by Li, July 2, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

The SIT TESOL course I took in Berkeley,California changed my life. Without taking that class I would not have had launched the teaching business I have now. The instructors absolutely love teaching and they are experienced professionals who have seen it all. I really appreciated the small class size and the fact that we always had access to them regarding questions on techniques in teaching. Teaching is one of the most important skills anyone can have and I’m glad I honed those skills with Josh Kurzweil and Jen Gemma at the SIT TESOL institute. Highly recommended, one of the best courses that changed my life.

Review by Andrei, July 2, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I took this course about four years ago, but still find what I’ve learned there very useful. The instructors are great – they have a lot of teaching experience and are both excellent teachers and trainers. That’s important, as I was able to learn a lot just from observing them teach. The course itself was well organized and the overall quality of participants was fairly good. The practice teaching component was also very useful, especially the feedback portion (unfortunately, there were times when we had too few students for our practice teaching, but that wasn’t a major issue).

Overall, I highly recommend this program. It wasn’t cheap, but it was a worthwhile investment and the instructors really aim to help you grow as an ESL teacher.

Write a Review of SIT Graduate Institute | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.