Review of myTEFL

We are a leading TEFL/TESOL course provider, internationally endorsed by schools around the world. If your goal is to teach English abroad, then you’re in good hands with us. Our TEFL certification will not only prepare you for teaching English abroad to all ages of second language learners, but you’ll be in high demand for TEFL positions. With our dedicated Job Placement Assistance, you’ll have nothing to worry about but buying your flight and packing your bags!

Each TEFL course was carefully designed to be fun and easy-to-follow, preparing people from all walks of life to have confidence when stepping into any classroom around the world. We have partnered with schools and organizations around the world to ensure our courses prepare you for exactly what TEFL employers are looking for.

MyTEFL Course Highlights:
• Internationally Recognised TEFL Certificate
• Official Letter of Recommendation with detailed breakdown of course modules completed
• Full Support & Genuine Feedback from experienced, professional tutors
• Expert Advice on TEFL Resume/CV Development
• Job Placement Assistance
• 24/7 Access from anywhere in the world
• Exclusive access to our Library of TEFL Tools

Our Story
MyTEFL was founded and created by experienced teachers who were once in your position. So we know exactly what it’s like to be bombarded with various options of TEFL training, how to make the career change, and to be unsure whether teaching abroad is the right path for you. Our team of TEFL experts now has over 40 years of combined experience in the industry and has carefully developed the highest quality TEFL training on the market.

Special Offers

Save an EXTRA 30% on TEFL courses!

Get an additional 30% off your accredited TEFL course at MyTEFL + including our famous job placement service. Use promo code: SAVE30.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL CoursesOnline TEFL Courses
Length: Short Courses (40-100 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Additional Features: Part Time OptionTEFL Internships

Location of Courses

Canada, China

Accreditations and Affiliations

- Online TEFL and TESOL Standards Agency (OTTSA)
- International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language (IATEFL)
Overall Rating4.964.964.964.964.96
Course Content4.914.914.914.914.91
Practice Teaching4.64.64.64.64.6
Quality of Feedback4.894.894.894.894.89
Lesson Plan Guidance4.854.854.854.854.85
Instructor Competency4.984.984.984.984.98
Job Placement4.874.874.874.874.87
Facilities/Resources4.844.844.844.844.84
Map of Main Campus
Address:
1425 Marine Drive
Suite #207,
West Vancouver
British Columbia
Canada
V7T 1B9
Founded in: 2013
Phone: 1.778.807.9619
Social Media Links
Follow myTEFL on Facebook Follow myTEFL on Google Plus Follow myTEFL on LinkedIn Connect with myTEFL on Skype Follow myTEFL on Twitter Follow myTEFL on YouTube

46 Customer Reviews of myTEFL

Review by Simon Garstin, June 21, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

MyTefl laid out class management very well. After all, what good is teaching theory if kids are bouncing off the walls of your class? I was able to manage the kids in the class, which in turn allowed me to deliver a proper lesson with everyone learning. It was worth the money 10 fold.

Review by Brad Hartley, February 26, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Wonderful course content and support! I went with myTEFL because the course is fully mobile compatible and I could sneak study breaks at work on my phone. I also appreciate the fact they donate part of their profit to charities. And they are Canadian. Who doesn’t like Canadians these days? 100% satisfied customer.

Review by Xandra Lauren Luzano, August 16, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

First of all, I’m very impressed with the online support/tutor! He’d been there for me all throughout the course to answer my questions and provide help; mostly about the website and some minor issues (although I know for sure he could have assisted me with the lessons). BUT (secondly) the lessons are presented in a very simple and organised manner, I studied by myself and as I went through, I started remembering all the lessons from my Uni days!! I’m so happy to have enrolled, it’s a very good refresher course. Now I feel more confident, updated and upgraded! Plus with the Certificate and Job Placement Service, it’s totally worth it! I recommend it to everyone.

Review by Hector Grimaldo, May 6, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

My overall experience with mytefl was fantastic. The website was easy to use and navigate. It was well divided and organized. But what truly blew me away was their service. Any time you had a question, they were there in a second ready to help you. Once I completed the course Tyler went ahead and helped me, his service and expertise were extraordinary. I would totally recommend this program to anybody looking into it.

Review by Takizawa Akira, February 26, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took the 120 hour course from MyTEFL.net and I was surprised it is a very amazing course and its fun and easy to navigate I love it! I learned so much from this course it was very easy aswell. As a bird that just hatched into the realm to TEFL I have to say this is a great place to start you journey into the world of TEFL. TEFL is so so vast but this is great place to start off. When I registered for my course they gave me a 50% discount and the best customer service and advice. Not to mention the staff are very nice and are not computers there actual people who message you like your a person! MyTEFL.net are not penny pinchers like most TEFL organizations their agenda is not mainly focused on money which is very humble of them. They are a very well established organization. Job placement they are helpful with it virtually every question you have they’ll answer it. Did I also mention that their certificate is recognized by hundreds of schools worldwide!

Thank you MYTEFL.NET you guys ROCK!!!ahoo.com

Review by Azure Jamaldeen, February 11, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

myTEFL!!!,myTEFL!!!,myTEFL!!!

Hip Hip hip Hurray!, Hip Hip Hip Hurray!, H i P, H i p, H i p Hurraaaaaaaaaaay!!!

in fact this course is fantastic, and Superb recommended to everyone who pass by and wishes to brighten his/her future. I completed a 120 hours mytefl.net in few days ago, everything in this program was really great to experience. Though many people might say they are native speakers, so there is no need for this program but is absolutely wrong. WHY?, because teaching English and being a native speaker is a different Ballgame altogether. through this program i experience that Rule of Law in Democracy is not only practice in some countries but also in this institution(myTEFL). The rules are

(1)The supremacy of the course: the course is the Highest compared to other courses in terms of everything(attractiveness of certificate, well detailed letter of recommendation responds towards clients or students and job placement) all are design in a good shape for their lovely and respective students.

(2)Equality before the course: the course treats anyone equally without any discrimination and have time for every single person, either you are already enrolling or about to do so. In fact they have time for you from your starting till the end.

(3)Enjoyment of fundamental human human right of the course:you can ask any question and they will attend to you shortly without any hesitation. they are there for us any time weather in the course or after your enrollment they still have time for you till you yourself will say it’s okay.

(4)Social and Economic well being of individuals when purchasing the course:as the social aspect, i have already said much about it in the above statements. The economic aspect is their discount package that beats competitors price among all TEFL courses.

Before i will stop typing i will also recommend it to my fellow African brothers and sisters, from the east,west, north or south, this is the right course for you. if you purchase it you will never be disappointed, thanks once again to mytefl.net(the entire team) for their kind cooperation through my enrollment.

Review by Jacob Bronars, February 4, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. We did it over the summer while working full-time jobs. It’s a good course that requires a lot of reading. The best part was th job assistance. Tyler helped us very much and we are headed to Taiwan with teaching jobs!

Review by Grace, February 4, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I’m very pleased with the 120 hour TEFL course i purchased from mytefl. I chose their course after reading other reviews on TEFLcoursereview.com last year and also saw they had a 20% discount at the time.

It took maybe 7 weeks to complete and covered a lot! Too much to really write down here but check out the modules and you’ll see. If you haven’t got the time or money to do an onsite course somewhere then id say this is a pretty good option.

Review by Charles G, December 8, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

A pretty interesting course. I never really thought I wanted to take a TEFL course as it seemed a bit like a waste of time, but i’m really happy that I did, and i’m pleased I signed up with mytefl. It was really easy to use and learned so much about English that I hadn’t known before.

I used to think teaching English was easy, but now I understand the importance of this course. I can’t wait to start using these new skills with my new job in Thailand!

Review by Grant Reyes, October 16, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The 120hour course only cost me around £170, and after completing it (about 6/7 weeks) they even helped set me up with a job earning roughly £1,800 p/m in Korea… training and a job, love it!

Review by Abigail Dickens, October 8, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The mytefl 120 hour online course was simple enough to work through with ease, but detailed enough to give me what I feel is a fantastic base to start teaching from.

To complete the course, I just studied similar to how I used to do in college – i’d take my laptop and a notepad to Starbucks, read through a few pages and make notes every now and then. Then, before leaving i’d just recap my notes at the end.

It seemed to work great for me, as I finished the course within about 5 weeks and came out with around 95-100% on most of the tests 😉

I’m also really grateful for the free job placement service mytefl give their TEFL graduates. They’ve managed to find a placement for me at one of their affiliate schools in China – $2,000 p/m starting salary, free accommodation and some sweet bonuses. Not too shabby!!

Review by Henry Barrows, September 10, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

MyTEFL’s 120 hour course gave me a lot more than i’d expected, especially for the price – around $299 if i remember right. It took me through the topics i’d expected, for example:

-Teaching grammar
-Sentence structure
-Listening/writing/reading classes

But it also covered a lot of topics I had no idea about:

-TEFL industry, types of schools, pay in different destinations etc.
-Classroom management
-Testing your students and how to make your own exams.
-Phonology

Really happy to have completed it. There was a lot to cover, but now that i’ve received my certificate I know it was certainly worth it. Thanks.

Review by Haley Cowell, September 5, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just finished the mytefl 120 hour course last week and the guys there asked if I wouldn’t mind sharing my experience, pros and cons etc.

I’m a pretty positive person on the whole, but even so, I couldn’t be happier with this course. It’s been so convenient, easy to work through and so clearly explained that I didn’t need any help along the way. I’m not really sure what improvements I could suggest…

Reaaaaally can’t wait to get abroad now and start earning some money!

Review by Ben Stanley, August 15, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Last year I enrolled in MyTEFL’s 120 hour TEFL course + Teach in Thailand Internship. I recently finished my 6 month teaching placement (and 2 extra months of travel) and returned home.

I can’t possibly describe how much fun the past 8 months have been. I’ve made some incredible friends, earned money, seen so much of Asia and developed some pretty confident presentation skills. Without sounding too cheesy here, it’s actually been a bit of a life changing experience for me.

If you’ve not graduated from college but want to get paid to teach and travel, this internship + TEFL certificate package is what you’ve been looking for!

Review by Jess Fiorito, August 6, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Great course and much cheaper than I thought (prices are in Canadian dollars!!).

It only took me around 7 weeks from start to finish, and I took a little break in the middle. Soo looking forward to quitting my mall job and flying out to Taiwan next month!!!

Review by Chloe, July 30, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I’ve already recommended MyTEFL to my friends, now i’m recommending it to you! I finished their 120 Hour Professional TEFL Course about 3 weeks ago. It only took about a month to complete as i had quite a bit of free time, and so long as you pay attention, everything is really manageable.

I found the format really helpful as it’s somewhat similar to college – you read each chapter, revise it and then complete a test to see how well you’ve learned it. There’s also lots of additional materials to help you learn more teaching skills, and even to use once you get a teaching job.

Great course and really good value.

Review by Ollie Jones, June 21, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I enrolled in this course after taking my Dad’s advice for buying anything: Avoid the most expensive and beware of cheapest. As usual it seemed to pay off – the course was both affordable and better than I had expected.

It’s well designed and really easy to work through. Just make sure you put effort in and you’ll be fine. Doing an hour or two per day and a recap at the weekend worked best for me.

What I hadn’t expected was to find a job so quick. Within a fortnight of completing the course the myTEFL team had helped me to find a job teaching in Xi-An, China. Next month I’ll fly there and do some traveling, then get some extra training from the school in time for the start of the September semester.

Review by Charlie Morgan, June 14, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I give this course 5/5 for the following reasons:

1. It was affordable! My budget was pretty tight, which is one of the reasons why I wanted to become an English teacher. This course fit my budget at under $399 (CAD) – plus I got a 15% discount.

2. It was easy to use! You can just login and get going. The course materials are laid out really clean page by page and you just take your own time to read through and study it.

3. They support good causes! There’s a section on the site somewhere which explains this, but basically they make a donation on your behalf to support a children’s education charity.

4. They found me a job! After completing the course I got a letter of recommendation from them, and asked if they could help me find my first teaching gig – and they did! I’ll be heading off to Taiwan in September to get some in-class training and start work!

Review by Alison Walker, June 11, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Thank you for being so easy to use!! I tried a similar course about 2 years ago and it was such a headache that I never completed it. With the myTEFL course everything was set out so clearly that I never had to waste any time looking around for what to do next. All I needed to do was log in, hit the green “continue course” button and start studying.

Stress free studying. Like this: 🙂

Review by Joseph, June 5, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I thoroughly enjoyed getting back into the (virtual) classroom! It’s been about 6 years since I was at college, and this TEFL course brought back a lot of memories.

It’s really surprising to see how far these online courses have come. I was half expecting 120 hours of headaches and frustration, but it was the total opposite. The course is well organized, easy to navigate and packs in a lot of valuable information that I’d never even considered.

The last 10 weeks have flown by and I’m now looking forward to a complete change of career and scenery. Thanks MyTEFL!

Review by Chad Blakely, June 3, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I shopped around quite a lot before enrolling at myTEFL. It was kinda a big decision for me spend this money on an online certification and I wanted to be sure I could trust it. Now that i’ve completed the course I can safely say I feel like I got more than my moneys-worth.

I’m currently traveling around Asia, and hoping to find a country I like and get a teaching job while i’m there. Wherever I end up, i’m sure i’ve now got the skills to become a good teacher. Thank youuuu!

Review by Jenna, May 28, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

There’s quite a bit of choice online when it comes to TEFL certifications, but i’m more than happy after choosing Mytefl.
It was easy to study around my free time and took me just over 2 months to complete. I guess you could have done it much quicker but I had other classes and a part time job to manage.
The modules seem well planned, and a lot of thought has gone into explaining everything in a clear and concise way. This made it useful for me to dive in and study whenever I had a spare 30-60 minutes at lunch or between my university class breaks.

Review by Andy Price, May 22, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Unexpectedly good. I’ve bought an online course before (learning Spanish) and it turned out to be a huge let down. It never saved my progress, pages would crash etc. Lets just say I still don’t speak Spanish.

However, I thought i’d try the online course route again, so I enrolled in the 120 hour course at myTEFL and it turned out to be great.

The site works fine, never had any issues with the software they use, and found it really interesting on the whole.

If you want to teach in Asia and you don’t have the time to go to a class in person, then you should certainly consider an online one such as this.

Review by Marcus, May 14, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I found myTEFL through this review site actually, and I couldn’t be happier with the results.

Just as everyone else mentions, it’s a straight forward course, convenient to use wherever, and explains everything as simple as possible. You’ll be surprised how much you learn from it.

When you finish the course the placement team can help to find decent schools for you to teach at. Personally, I found this a great relief after reading about some of the lower-quality schools out there.

10 stars. Excited to start my new life in Taiwan!

Review by Lucy Barret, April 26, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I finished my 120 hour online course with MyTEFL last week.

It was really simple to follow and everything was well explained.

The staff were also very good to deal with. They’ve helped me to find several teaching opportunities in China, gave me a letter of recommendation and have helped me apply to these schools.

Two of my friends have just signed up this week. Now we’re betting on who will finish first!

10/10 – Lucy B.

Review by Jackson Woods, April 18, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Major recommendation from me! Finished the 120 hour course a few weeks ago. Now, myTEFL are helping to match me with a suitable teaching job in Asia. Haven’t made my mind up yet, but I’m thinking Taiwan could be interesting!

The course was really simple and straight forward. I used my weekends and evenings to study at my own pace, and completed it in roughly 9 weeks, maybe 10.

Some areas were a little tricky, as grammar has never been my strong point, but whenever I needed a hand, the online tutors were there to help me out. It definitely makes a difference knowing you can get support from a real person, whenever you need it.

Overall 10/10. Thanks!

Review by Cory B., March 2, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

After a lot of online research, I enrolled in the 120-hour course at myTEFL because they seemed to have the best reviews of all the online TEFL programs. As a soon-to-be-graduating college student and working part time, I had to get my certification while juggling a full-time schedule, so online was the best option for me. With my college student budget, the icing on the cake was their price after the 50% off student discount! My free personal tutor was super helpful the whole way through and responded almost immediately every time I emailed him. My main goal through getting a TEFL was to feel prepared to teach English in a foreign country and myTEFL was definitely the right choice to reach that goal. I’ve already recommended the course to all my classmates and can’t wait to head to Thailand to start teaching after my visit with friends teaching in Taiwan!

Review by Leah C., December 23, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

It took me two months to finish the 120hr course and I found it awesome! From the price to the course content and all the support I received. Perfect if you’ve never taught before because the content is so direct and easy to learn. The teaching methods I got out of this course have been a huge help in using a good mix of discipline and fun in my classes.

I originally thought that a TEFL course would be a joke since I am a native English speaker, but I ended up taking away a lot in the end. Little things like teaching grammar tenses and usage to a child. Sure I could probably explain it to an adult, but it would have been impossible for me to do with children if I didn’t learn the different techniques from this course.

Another plus was my personal tutor. He always responded right away and in detail.

Review by Paul James, December 16, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I also took the 120-hour course and found it to be very well set up. The fact that I was able to study at my own pace is what made it possible for me to even do, because of the full-time job I had while taking it. I was able to study and work to save up money to move abroad at the same time.

While the course was really interesting, my experience with MyTEFL was positive because of the customer service and their commitment to their promises. Tutor feedback was genuine and when I finished, they gave me great advice on how to fix up my CV and cover letter. Before I knew it, I was getting offers for jobs and my dream to live in the tropical islands of the Philippines became a reality!

Thanks for your support and guidance. Two thumbs up and personally recommended.

Review by Nick, December 5, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Took the 120 hour course and it can be summed up in 2 words: convenient and easy. The course covered most of the major grammar concepts clearly with good approaches to teaching them. It also had a lot of useful information about how to deal with types of students (i.e. cultures, age, language levels) and how to make the classroom a fun environment, but under control. There were various activities and detailed examples of what to do in lessons so your not a boring language teacher.

The online student dashboard set up they have was very convenient, clear and easy to use. The best part of the course was the constructive feedback from my personal tutor and help with finding a job after. Within 2 months of completing the course, I had a job in Taiwan and loving it here now. Cheers MyTEFL!

Review by Jonathan Y, November 10, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

As others have noted in past reviews, this course exceeded my expectations, as well. I feel like I learned more about the English language than I did growing up in high school. Maybe it’s because I’m in a completely different state of mind now, but still! There were some awesome tips on classroom management, detailed material on lesson planning, and the teaching strategies were just what a newbie to English teaching should know. I also think it’s important to note that the course wasn’t as tough as I expected it to be, which is a good thing. With my 40+hour work/week work schedule, I wasn’t sure if I’d have enough time to study and be successful on the exams. But in the end, if you just pay attention when you read the material, the exams are pretty straightforward.

I got my cert and a professional-looking letter of recommendation as soon as I finished and the support team is spot on. As soon as I finish uni here in Australia in the Spring, I’m off to Thailand to teach…after a little pit stop in Bali on the way! 🙂 Cheers myTEFL!

Review by John Benson, November 2, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Let me start by saying that I did a lot of research before deciding on the 120-hour TEFL course at MyTEFL. I even spoke to a lot of friends who’ve done TEFL’s already with various companies (which is who motivated me to finally do this). I won’t compare how this course stacks up against others, because it’s the only one I’ve take so I have no idea. But here is my critical feedback…

I’ll list the positives first:
– easy to use
– clear course layout
– simple, clean interface
– detailed content (a lot more than I expected)
– appropriate difficulty level – not too challenging but not too simple either
– plenty of time to complete the course
– fair price – I got it during a promotion for $265 USD
– awesome tutor support – prompt and detailed (although I only really used it twice)
– awesome job placement assistance service – great advice on my resume and I have been lined up with several offers (still deciding though!)

OK, now for the negatives:

– Audio recordings in the phonology sections would have been beneficial for the pronunciations of words
– Would have liked to see some videos on teachers presenting grammar concepts
– Wish I could have seen the answers after each quiz, but to their defense, they told me it’s because some people like to post the answers online for others to cheat, so I understand

Other than that I was pretty satisfied with the course and would definitely recommend it to anyone getting into the field of TEFL/TESOL as a great tool to start from.

Review by Pat, September 23, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just got to Thailand and I must say how relieving it’s been to have gone through this whole process with a company like myTEFL. I signed up with them over all the other TEFL schools on this site, because of their unique reviews. And I can confirm, from my personal experience, that they’ve lived up to every one of them!

Special thanks to the constant motivation and personal assistance from people like James, Leo, and Sam at myTEFL, who made everything somehow seem almost easy in the end, cheers guys!

Highly recommended by me…knowledgable staff, easy-to-read content, and overall service that exceeds expectations…can’t lose.

Review by Stephanie, September 9, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just completed the Professional 120-Hour TEFL Course while on vacation this summer, and felt obligated to acknowledge, and commend, the tutor support and amiable feedback I’ve received from myTEFL. I totally never expected to receive this type of service from an online TEFL course, and this sort of exceptional service definitely deserves exceptional praise.

Every email I’ve sent has been replied to on the same day, without any type of automated, robotic response. Seriously, that’s pretty rare these days. Plus, the stories I heard from my tutor (Amy) about her experience in Thailand (and the mytefl Instagram photos!) are what motivated me to start looking for jobs there. Now she is helping me fix up my CV and passing it on to schools! Yay! 🙂

Otherwise, I thought the course was interesting, informative, and rather easy to obtain a passing score. I’m looking forward to taking the next big leap overseas with the awesome people at myTEFL.

Review by Tom Stalla, September 3, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Top three reasons I’d recommend myTEFL:

1) Price match – I emailed them another offer I found online and they beat it by 10%. Based on the amount of research I did before enrolling, I’m pretty sure I got the best deal on the Internet as far as online TEFL courses go.

2) Charity – Every course they sell, they give a percentage to children’s literacy charities. So I not only got a TEFL certificate to teach children but I donated to charity to help children in need at the same time; I even got a receipt of the donation made to Room to Read. I was pretty happy about that.

3) Tutor support – Leo was a champ! I had a few difficulties during certain sections and I’m a fan of asking questions. I got detailed responses back from Leo every time I needed help, on the same day I emailed him. Cheers Leo and sorry if I annoyed you with all my questions 🙂

Negatives:

– Because it was all online, there was no practical teaching portion, but I can’t complain for the price I got it since onsite courses cost an arm & a leg
– Would have liked to see some example videos of teaching techniques and audio clips for phonics section

Otherwise, it was overall a very positive experience and smooth process getting my new career underway – 5 stars for the myTEFL team from me!

Review by Amy C., August 5, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Just finished the 120-hour course that I got $100 off on, so I can’t complain. The material wasn’t too hard, but some units were pretty challenging. Especially the phonics and grammar units, but maybe those are just my weaknesses! I’d have to say the best part was the customer support I got from my personal tutor was awesome, and the help with fixing up my resume and looking for jobs after was something I didn’t even expect. I’m taking my chances in Europe, hoping to nail down a couple offers with the interviews I have lined up. Much thanks to Tyler and the myTEFL team for all there help so far! They deserve some praise among all the companies out there leading you to believe one thing and not following through. And they were the best price to boot! Cheers myTEFL 🙂

Review by Tabitha, July 12, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

This 120 hour TEFL is perfect for those who have a full time job, and would prefer to study and advance their goals during their own time and at their own pace. The course is filled with good content, and will take some time to get through, but with some perseverance and dedication you will succeed! MyTefl provides 24/7 support regarding course content, CV editing and employment search. Taipei, here I am! Thank you MyTefl!

Review by Nadine Hutchinson, June 19, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did a 120 hour course before teaching abroad, and it helped me to have enough confidence to dive into my new teaching career. The course was very well designed and the tutoring and customer service were excellent. There were only a couple units where I had some difficulty, like the grammar and functions parts. Otherwise, I found the material to be interesting and beneficial for when I first stepped into the classroom. When you try teaching for real, that’s when you’ll realize how much you definitely needed an honest course like this.

Review by marcie, June 4, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

A couple of years ago, I went through some major upheavals in my life, and I realised I needed a complete change of scene, change of career, change of lifestyle. Eons ago I used to teach Art to elementary school children, and suddenly the thought of teaching small children in a new country was very appealing. Well, I soon realised there was no demand for Art teachers, but there was a very high demand for EFL teachers.
I was an accountant with no time to go to school, so an online course was my best option. After much research, I joined up with MyTEFL.net. Best decision I ever made! I signed up for the 120 hour course; the team at MyTEFL was very welcoming, and soon put me at my ease. I had never studied online before, so I was a bit apprehensive, but thankfully, their site was very clear and easy to navigate, and my tutor was a real delight to work with. He helped me even with my stupid questions, with a lot of patience and humour. And best of all, he was always there, just an e-mail away! I think that was the part I really appreciated.
Since I worked full time, I took a bit over two months to complete the course. I thought being a native English speaker, this course more or less a mere formality. Boy, was I wrong! The intricacies of grammar, designing lesson plans, making topics flow smoothly through different units – these were just some of the things I learnt, and in a very simple and easy way. I am so thoroughly impressed by the way this course has been designed.
Once I completed the course, I was all set to go to some exotic country and take up my new job. And then I was stumped! The world is a very big place, and I had never travelled beyond North America. MyTEFL came to the rescue even there. They have some serious contacts in Asia, and soon sent me information and application packages for some very interesting jobs. I successfully applied for a job teaching English to children ages five to eight, and now I am finally living the life I want! I am surrounded by the most wonderful, polite, loving children, and still making very good money. I have made new friends, some expats, some locals. Life is finally looking just as it should!
A big ‘thank you’ to my MyTEFL family for making my dreams a reality.

Review by Lianna Fritz, May 18, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I chose to enroll in MyTEFL’s 120 Hour course online. It was impractical for me to complete an intensive in person course, so the format suited me well. Plus I paid under $300 for it, which was a great value.

The customer service is impeccable. They were honest and upfront about everything. It was a breath of fresh air after some of the pushy agents I dealt with when shopping around.

Although the course was easy enough to complete, it was jam packed with practical information and examples for the classroom. I’m much more confident now about stepping into a classroom and knowing what I should do.

One of the best things was that when I completed the course, I received a receipt for a donation that was made in my name to the Reading Room. I figured the ‘charity’ part on their website might be something they don’t follow through on and was pleasantly surprised.

Review by Rory O'Connor, April 27, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Coming from the UK, there are quite a fair amount of options for TEFL courses. I tried inquiring information and applying to a few of them, and the responses I received were automated, unfriendly, and purely ungeniune. Then I found myTEFL.net…

They have a very clean and organized site and their team of customer service was top notch. After speaking with Tyler, I had all my questions answered and I was totally ready to get started. I signed up to the 120-hour course and from the very beginning to the very end, I had one of their tutors (James) help me out heeps along the way.

I do have to admit that I originally underestimated how much I’d learn from an online course, but this one taught be more about teaching English than I ever expected. For me, it was rather easy to complete, and it was the most affordable of all the TEFL websites out there.

Cheers to James for all his help in finding me a job after I finished, I’m now off to Thailand with a one-year contract in the tropical mountains of Chang Mai and an apartment already waiting for me.

I highly recommend myTEFL for an awesome jump-start into teaching.

Review by Chris Marshall, April 10, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

MyTEFL is one of the most professional organizations I have come across in a long time, especially for an online service. The tutors and the support staff were actually real people who I could talk to on the phone and get non-robotic answers from within hours by e-mail! It is astonishing to have as good of customer service as this TEFL provider these days, very impressed.

I signed up for the 80 hour course without seeing their promotion page, and I received an honest email immediately from Tyler, one of their support staff, telling me that I he was upgrading me to a 120 hour course for FREE!

One of the things that sold me most about their courses is there social responsibility program. They donate to charity every time some one buys a course, and that’s something I didn’t see any other TEFL courses online doing from my research. Bravo to myTEFL for giving back, since that is what teaching is all about!

As for the course material, I am absolutely blown away by how much of it wasn’t common knowledge. By the end, I realized that teaching English has a myriad of factors that I didn’t take into account when I initially thought about the idea of going overseas to teaching. I can’t imagine anyone looking into taking a TEFL course, not profiting from a course like the one offered by myTEFL.net.

The icing on the cake was there job placement service. My original plan was to get the TEFL certificate under my belt and pass my resume out to the numerous job listing on the internet. But even before I finished the course, one of their friendly tutors contacted me to send in my resume so he could start trying to line up some job offers by the time I was finished. When I completed the last unit, he contacted me again with 3 job offers in China, Thailand, AND Taiwan! On top of that, the one in China is offering to reimburse my flight expenses and set me up with an apartment as soon as I arrive…wow.

Thanks to the whole team at myTEFL for all your sincere assistance and inspiration through this whole process.

Review by Matt Davis, March 20, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

After doing a lot of looking around at different TEFL/TESOL courses, I was most attracted to myTEFL.net for a few different reasons:

1) They were the only online TEFL course I found that automatically donates a percentage of each sold course to charities that help provide school supplies and books to kids in impoverished countries. I thought that was very cool and very unique.

2) Their website is clean, easy to navigate, and well organized. I had no issues finding what I wanted to know before I signed up, the registration process was fairly simple, and I knew before I payed for anything that I was going to get quality service…

3) And I definitely did…Their customer support team was incredible. I didn’t even have to make any effort to get in touch with them. The day I signed up for the 120 hour course, I was contacted by a guy named Tyler who was very welcoming and easy going, and then later in the same day, I got an email from one of their personal tutors, who ended up being a huge help all throughout the course. It was as if I had paid for a 1-on-1 tutor program since everytime I had a question, I would email him and he would respond almost immediately. No robots, no automated responses, just quality assistance with fast response time. Two thumbs up.

4) Great promotions and reasonable prices. I not only got a 35% discount on my course, but when I recommended my friend, they sent me another $60! Well Canadian dollars, but still…in the end I paid 50% of the full price. I checked out a lot of prices, and if you ask me, that’s a great deal for the service and quality of the material that was provided in the 120 hour course…

I would definitely recommend this online TEFL option. It’s affordable, the content was pretty easy to get through, and there are a lot of interesting points and tips I learned about teaching English that made it all worth while, too. After I finished, I got my TEFL Certificate right away and they even sent me a Letter of Recommendation outlining the specific details and training I recieved from taking the course. That was a great addition to my CV when I started applying to jobs.

Some video demonstrations would have been a nice addition in combination with the course content, but the reading was interesting enough to follow so it wasn’t absolutely necessary. It was everything I needed and surprisingly more than I expected.

Review by Christina, March 10, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Before I took the 120-hour course with myTEFL, like most people, I wanted to have the confidence to teach English without stuttering in the middle of class when a student asks me a question about a complex grammar concept, for example. Also, to know how to write proper lesson plans, design curriculum, and learn some activities that I can use to teach.

To be honest, the only reason I even thought of all this is because my friend (whose an EFL teacher in China now) told me that if I don’t know how to do all that, then I might wanna save myself the future headache and take a quick, cheap and informative course online before you take off…GREAT ADVICE! After all, I graduated with a Bachelor of Business, I had no idea what I would do with a classroom full of people who barely speak English.

My friend reminded me that the TEFL certificate isn’t just what I’d be paying for, but to provide me with things like:

a) creative ideas for teaching activities
b) to refresh my memory with the basics of the language and complex grammar concepts,
c) to give me solid templates on how to create lesson plans and design a curriculum
d) how to make different lessons tie into the next topic
e) ways to approach different learners and teach with purpose

That’s when she suggested I look into MyTEFL.net. She took the course before she went to China and told me that it gave her EXACTLY what she needed…and me too.

There are so many things I never would have thought of on my own! And it was all put together in one well-organized, easy-to-use course for a great price.

I don’t know how the other TEFL online courses are but if I had never taken the myTEFL course, I’m not sure I would have had the confidence in the beginning to eventually realize how much I love teaching, the way I do now.

I am going to ‘pay it forward’ and give you the same great advice that my friend gave me: “Take the safe road and grab a myTEFL.net course if you want to be a confident teacher who actually knows what they are doing before jumping into anything!” 🙂

Review by Mary Ann, March 4, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Okay, so I was pretty reluctant to even do a TEFL certificate after researching a lot and reading about how so many of the online TEFL courses out there are not very beneficial and don’t really live up to what they promise compared to CELTA and Trinity College courses. Obviously, I didn’t want to waste my time and money if it wasn’t going to be something I took away some valuable information from.

So after asking a few friends who are already teaching overseas, I was told to check out myTEFL.net. One of my friends, who was in the same boat as I am now, was trying to decide whether to invest a lot of time and money into a CELTA or get her feet wet with a TEFL course. She completed the 120 hour course with myTEFL.net and it totally changed her mind about TEFL courses. So much that she convinced me to sign up and see for myself.

It took me about two months to finish while I was working full-time to save up for a flight, but I could have finished it in half the amount of time because some of the material was actually really interesting, I wanted to keep reading! Sure, the grammar sections and other technical information wasn’t the most exciting stuff to read, but I had totally forgotten about all of that kind of stuff since I learned in like 8th grade, so thank God I took this course to refresh my memory!

Honestly, there are so many more factors involved with teaching English as a foreign language than most people even realize, and that’s why they underestimate the benefits of a good TEFL course. For this reason, I gave 5 stars to myTEFL for course content, because I was amazed with how much they broke down teaching, to outline all the important details involved with it.

I really didn’t need much assistance since their website was so clear and easy to use, but since they say they have a free tutor assistance, I thought I’d give it a try! Hey why not, it’s free, right? 😉 So, after one of the only times I contacted them (to ask a question about the difference between connotation and figurative language), one of their friendly tutors got back to me in the SAME afternoon with a great explanation about it! I was impressed! I was expecting to wait at least 24 hours, if not a couple days for a response! So definitely 5 stars for Instructor Competency and Feedback!

The second time I contacted them was to say thanks for their awesome service and for sending my certificate right away when I was done with the course. Again, they surprised me by asking where I was planning on teaching, to which I responded: “Anywhere in Asia I can find a job!” (because I’ve always wanted to live in Asia). And I kid you not, they sent me back a mail the NEXT DAY saying: “How about Taiwan or China?” with a whole list of employers looking for teachers! I sent my resume to a couple of them, and a week later I accepted an offer from the one that seemed most interested, and believe it or not, they even paid for my flight over here!!

Within 3 weeks of being here, I have an ARC (Alien Resident Card) – a resident visa basically, an apartment in Taipei City, a teaching job with 6 year old kids (who I love already!), and a salary that’s a lot more than I was making as a waitress back home! Plus, I have social healthcare! This is crazy! 5 stars for job placement! (if I could give 7 stars, I would!)

Thank you, thank you, thank you MyTEFL! This review is the least I can do for you guys, you rock! And thank you to my wonderful friend for talking me into choosing them! Great call girl!

And to all you people sitting where I was a couple months ago, reading TEFL reviews, trying to figure out which one to take, I tell you this: go with myTEFL.net, trust me. It’s got everything you need to get a start teaching abroad.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! ***** 🙂

Review by Jonathon Keller, February 28, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed a 120 hour course with Mytefl about 2 months ago and they exceeded my expectations. A friend recommended the course to me, and I got a 35% discount on it through a referral promo code he had, so it was reasonably priced. Actually the prices are in Canadian dollars, so it was cheaper than I first thought!

Anyways, the site itself was attractive; looked a lot better than most of the other TEFL sites out there. It was easy to navigate and pretty intuitive. I had no problems diving straight into the course.

The course content was at times brilliant and engaging, and at times it was a tad heavy and dry. On the whole I’d say 80% awesome, 20% dry? I guess with some units it’s tough to make it fun. I’m impressed because I was taking the TEFL course more as a ‘formality’. I found I actually learned a lot more from the course than I expected. I had some difficulty with the ‘phonemic charts’ section and emailed them for assistance. A tutor got back to me almost immediately and cleared it up. Good stuff.

I contacted them for job assistance. Initially they sent me employment offers from China and Taiwan (I think they have their own schools there), but I wanted something different. A week later they sent me an offer from Malaysia and here I am in KL. It has been a hectic first few weeks, and the first few classes were absolutely daunting! But I’ve gotten a bit more comfortable now, and am loving the change.

Anyways, great course, fully recommended. Love that they set me up with a job so quickly too. Thanks James, and everyone else on the Mytefl team. You guys really took care of me.

Write a Review of myTEFL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.