Review of Missouri State University CELTA Center

The Missouri State University CELTA Center offers the only 5-week CELTA course in the U.S. This gives our trainees a number of unique advantages, including:

– More time to process what is being learned
– More time to ask questions and interact with CELTA tutors and other trainees
– 3-day weekends to dedicate to making teaching plans and working on assignments
– More time with teaching practice students
– A less intense pace

Additionally, being located on the Missouri State University campus allows trainees to take advantage of many resources and facilities other programs cannot provide, including a state of the art library, abundant computer labs, and world class fitness center.

Special Offers

Save $250 on CELTA in Missouri!

Save $250 on your CELTA course at Missouri State University in the U.S.! Both on-site and online courses available!

Courses Offered

Type: Combined TEFL CoursesOn-site TEFL Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: Cambridge CELTA

Location of Courses

USA
Overall Rating4.634.634.634.634.63
Course Content4.54.54.54.54.5
Practice Teaching4.634.634.634.634.63
Quality of Feedback55555
Lesson Plan Guidance4.754.754.754.754.75
Instructor Competency55555
Job Placement3.753.753.753.753.75
Facilities/Resources4.384.384.384.384.38
Are you the owner of Missouri State University CELTA Center? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

8 Customer Reviews of Missouri State University CELTA Center

Review by Hussam, February 11, 2017

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I took this course online so much of it was through the website until the live teaching. We had live sessions every couple of weeks and we got a chance to do some early teaching practice through those. The instructors were very helpful and accommodating our requests and schedules. They were also very open to suggestions. During the live sessions the instructors, Jennifer and Phil, provided us excellent individualized feedback. They gave us practical tips for issues we were having in the classroom and gave us mini sessions to help us look at topics that would help us in our teaching.

Review by Ryan, February 2, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Overall, the CELTA course offered at Missouri State University is excellent. The teaching practice alone makes the course worthwhile as the experience one gains from teaching real students at different levels is invaluable. The content is also excellent. While not exhaustive (how could it be in 120 hours?), it is quite comprehensive and extremely practical. Finally, the instructors are top-notch, having both extensive teaching experience and a deep understanding of the subject matter. The feedback they provide is constructive and presented in a way that is honest yet thoughtful.

In terms of the different CELTA offerings at Missouri State University, I would highly recommend the five-week one. The course is still very intense, but the extra week allows for a more manageable pace along with some down time to refresh and reflect.

As a former business professional, I have completed a variety of educational/certificate programs and I can say without reservation that the CELTA is one of the best I have ever taken. It is rigorous and demanding, but very rewarding. The quality of the Missouri State University course, in particular, is exceptional and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the CELTA.

Review by Mohammed Hussein, August 18, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

I think I was lucky to take the CELTA course at Missouri State University. I loved the experience and learned a lot. I especially liked how the course is designed and the personalised feedback.

Review by Kyle, August 13, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

In short, the CELTA course at Missouri State was exactly what I wanted. It introduced me to an overall teaching approach that I believe in, a bunch of other principles and techniques, and most of all got me teaching, which, along with the post-teaching teacher and student feedback, was more valuable than anything.

I would call this practical teaching experience the cornerstone of the CELTA. For us trainees, it was the main source of weal and woe and also the main source of learning. It’s buttressed by an hour of lesson plan guidance before and an hour of trainer/trainee-led feedback after, so you’re never completely on your own, and it always has meaning. You even have to give yourself notes the night following a lesson.

My trainers had my full confidence. We had two whose experience combined to something around 30 years and one ultra-meta teacher-trainer-in-training that pitched in throughout the course. All the trainers know their stuff, which is evident in the input sessions, are organized, and want you to succeed. When a change in the schedule happened, they passed out a new schedule. At the end of the day, they would go over what was due when and where our priorities should be. They made themselves available before and after the official day, were open to extensions, and were genuinely nice people. For instance, the day I arrived in Springfield, my head trainer was there at my MSU-affiliated apartment to welcome me and hand me the keys. Another trainer was my neighbor and let me borrow her Wi-Fi when my roommate and I had trouble with ours.

I was told by other online reviewers that the CELTA would be grammar-intense. Certainly, the pre-course task was, but if that was a diagnostic test, maybe some sort of a formative test could be added mid-course. However, grammar-related input sessions and language analysis sheets (prepared by the student before each lesson) did test the trainees’ knowledge of grammar indirectly.

Input sessions on job placement gave a good overview of the ESL/EFL landscape, what to look for in job ads, what questions to ask during an interview, etc. The trainers urged us to contact them if we had questions during our job searches.

As for the facility and resources, we had access to a room of 15 or so computers, a printer, multiple copy machines, and all the paper clips and colored paper you ever wanted. And our main room had a big locker full of books on English and English pedagogy.

Review by Saltanat Meiramova, August 11, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Overall this CELTA program was very good, very informative and helpful, though it was a little bit tough for me but I learned a lot. I think I have grown professionally and really enjoyed this course.
The trainers did a lot to put my mind at ease about any worries I might have. Also, they were patient, knowledgeable and provide excellent feedback. I have learnt a lot of new things thanks to this course and I’m really satisfied about the content. I am really happy to have done it with you! And I’ve already recommended it to my colleagues and friends! Thanks for the course!

Review by Daniel Cornwell, January 28, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Overall the program was good and I learned a lot. Hope to see the program grow more in the future and have more people have the excellent training that I did. The instructors are patient and nurturing and they provide excellent feedback. It is a tough program, but you will grow and become an much better teacher because of it.

Review by Wendy Klope, January 28, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I cannot IMAGINE doing this course in any less than five weeks. The volume of material (of both knowledge and skills) to be mastered (and master it you must, down to the smallest detail!) is so large that even when it is spread out over five weeks rather than four, the pace is intense and the pressure great. In a four-week time frame I would probably not have slept at all! I agree with Michiko; the pre-course task could be made more preparative, so that those of us who come to CELTA with no teaching experience have a little more background and it is not all so new. The course content itself could be improved by a little fleshing out of the brief coverage given to such fringe topics as teaching raw beginners, job-hunting, etc. But I don’t know how the course could then be brought in under five weeks, much less four.

So my main criticisms have to do with the inherent nature of the concentrated CELTA course in general, not MSU’s in particular. In terms of MSU’s facility, it was fine, with a good classroom for the CELTA course, a computer center right next door, and of course all the amenities of a university available to trainees. I gave it only four stars to show that I don’t just hand out five stars!

Those I saved for the important stuff. In terms of lesson plan guidance, opportunities given for practice teaching, and quality of feedback, the experience was outstanding. This was mostly due to the stellar competency of the instructors! Not only did they thoroughly know their field, they organized and conveyed their knowledge to their trainees extremely efficiently through their lectures and demonstrations of technique. They held us to the highest, most exacting standards, WHILE managing to do that with unfailing kindness, humor, and patience. I feel I was very fortunate to have them. I would also strongly recommend MSU’s five-week time frame.

Review by michiko kozuma-Beckman, August 28, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

The course is very informative and helpful. It is very extraneous and reliable course with a lot of materials in such a short period of time. The instructors were knowledgeable and well prepared with a lot of experience in teaching. I do suggest to have a pre course (CELTA preparation online course) for those, such as myself (L2), perhaps it will make less stressful. The pre course task was helpful but, it may be needed to be more interactive.
I really appreciated how the instructors were fun, interactive, humorous yet very professional.

Write a Review of Missouri State University CELTA Center | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.