Review of Maximo Nivel

Máximo Nivel was founded in Cusco, Peru in 2003, and has since expanded and established offices in Costa Rica and Guatemala. Today, Maximo Nivel offers its TEFL/TESOL Certification, Native Spanish Program, International Volunteer Program, and Native English Program in all three countries — Peru, Costa Rica, and Guatemala. Intersted students can select from language immersion programs, volunteer programs, teaching internships and TEFL Certification programs.

Máximo Nivel’s programs are internationally accredited by the Ministries of Education in Peru and Guatemala. We are closely associated with Brookhaven College in the United States, and Universidad Rural in Guatemala. Because of our accreditations and educational partners, university credit is available for many of our programs.

Máximo Nivel’s success is based on our commitment to quality and the highest level of client service possible. We continuously invest in professional staff and first-class facilities to ensure your overall experience with us is nothing short of excellent.

Courses Offered

Type: Combined TEFL CoursesOn-site TEFL CoursesOnline TEFL Courses
Length: Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Courses: Teaching Business English (BE)Teaching Exam Preparation
Additional Features: TEFL Internships and Volunteering

Location of Courses

Costa Rica, Guatemala, Peru

Accreditations and Affiliations

- Ministry of Education - Peru
- Ministry of Education - Guatemala
- Brookhaven College
- ALTO (Association of Language Travel Organizations)
Overall Rating4.914.914.914.914.91
Course Content4.94.94.94.94.9
Practice Teaching4.884.884.884.884.88
Quality of Feedback4.894.894.894.894.89
Lesson Plan Guidance4.934.934.934.934.93
Instructor Competency4.994.994.994.994.99
Job Placement4.494.494.494.494.49
Facilities/Resources4.84.84.84.84.8
Map of Main Campus
Address:
7950 NW 53rd Street
Suite 337
Miami
Florida
United States
33166
Founded in: 2003
Phone: 800-866-6358
Social Media Links
Follow Maximo Nivel on Facebook Follow Maximo Nivel on LinkedIn Follow Maximo Nivel on Twitter Follow Maximo Nivel on YouTube
Applicant Requirements
- 18 years old
- High school diploma

89 Customer Reviews of Maximo Nivel

Review by Monique Cluett, March 29, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Attending Maximo Nivel in Manuel Antonio Costa Rica was the best experience I’ve ever had. The school was located in a beautiful area and it very quickly felt like home. The teachers (Audra and Danny) were made for what they do, they truly made every day fun and exciting. I graduated 2 weeks ago and still receive emails from Audra regarding teaching opportunities which is fantastic!
I would recommend Maximo to anyone with a desire to teach English abroad.

Review by Katie, February 24, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had an absolutely amazing experience with the TEFL program in Antigua, Guatemala! I would highly recommend this program to anyone. Our instructor, Karen, was fabulous. I received a tremendous amount of guidance, helpful feedback, and support throughout the program. I was a hybrid student and found the program to be very supportive and accommodating both during my time learning remotely and on-site. The practical teaching experience and supportive feedback Maximo provided was invaluable. In addition to an experienced and dedicated instructor, the entire staff at Maximo Antigua was welcoming and supportive throughout my time there. The entire team is clearly committed to our learning and they really go the extra mile to make the experience a great one for each student! I cannot say enough great things about Maximo Antigua – thank you!

Review by Victor, February 22, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was really outstanding. I did not expect it to be so much different to my regular experience of boring presentation type courses. This one was truly exceptional. It was far from being boring! In fact I did not even notice when I learned all these things. The flow of the course was excellent, staff professional and fun at the same time (thank you Audra and Dani), and content relevant. I really enjoyed the opportunity of working with locals and getting to teach them English for 3x20mins and 5x60mins throughout the course of 4 weeks. I feel much confident and qualified now to teach, something that I have doubted I could ever feel. Thank you team Maximo Nivel! I definitely recommend this course!

Review by Celeste Lopez, February 22, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

All I can say is that getting my TEFL certification has been one of the best experiences of my life. I am so happy that I dediced to do it and I am glad that I chose Máximo Nivel.

Karen, my TEFL trainer, is the best. She is cool, funny, creative, caring, smart and an inspiration. She is perfect of this job and I can not think of anyone better for the job. The course is intense, there is a lot to read and work to get done, but Karen and the rest of the staff at Máximo are always willing to help out.

Thank you Karen and everyone else at Máximo Nivel for all the support. As I head out to work each morning I feel that I am well prepared and I owe that all to you.

Review by Miles Hubbell, February 21, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was an amazing experience for me. If you are considering taking a TEFL course, and you are planning on teaching in a Spanish speaking country, this is the place for you. Students, Staff, and Teachers are great at what they do. Everyone gained a tremendous amount of experience from this course!

Review by Harley-Quinn Alonzo, February 21, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

The TEFL course in Antigua Guatemala was fabulous! I not only received amazing knowledge to put towards teaching, but I also had an experience that I will never forget. The instructors really took the time to make sure students understood the content. I felt supported the whole way through by my peers, teachers and the Maximo Nivel staff. They make sure that you are taken care and have created such a welcoming environment that is conducive to learning. I feel prepared for my next steps in the field of teaching.

Review by Mariela, February 19, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

5 stars for Maximo Nivel Guatemala. The Tefl program is just fantastic!

Karen my teacher and Sarah her assistant did such a good job teaching, preparing and hepling each and everyone of us. Maximo Nivel is lucky to have that quality and level of teachers on board, not only for the knowledge they posses, but for their passion and commitment to teaching and helping others. They made Tefl fun!

I just had the best time in Antigua doing Tefl, meet so many cool people, learned so much and what I loved the most was that I was able to put it into practice imediately and receive feedback. That for me was priceless!!

I was impressed with the service provided by Maximo Nivel, they were so professional, organized and most important helpfull. Truly a wonderful team running the operation down there. The school is beautiful, they have have garden with chairs where you can go and eat, read or study. They have a little shop to buy snacks, a tour operator to help you with any travel arrangements and free coffee and tea all day!

Loved the whole experience, but most important of all I feel prepared to go teach!

Review by Linda McCann, February 18, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Wow! What can I say? This experience exceeded my expectations.
I think the amount of preparation you receive before your practical teaching goes a long way towards creating a good teacher. Having a class of one’s own to teach for a week was a very fulfilling experience as well.

I can’t say enough about the helpful, supportive atmosphere. From office staff to trainers, everyone does their utmost to ensure you have a great experience.

It took me years to take this step and I wish I had done this sooner! Antigua, Guatemala is a fabulous place to take the course as well. It’s a nice sized town with friendly people and I’m already wanting to come back. Don’t hesitate. This course and location were amazing!

Review by Tara von Ihering, February 17, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Amazing staff, amazing teachers, and a beautiful facility. An experience I’ll never forget!

Review by pete, November 18, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just completed the TEFL Certification course here at COSI in Manuel Antonio, and I could not have been more pleased and satisfied with the experience. It was pleasure and I have grown close with many of the employees here. The course and school itself exceeded my expectations and I can’t express my gratitude for the amount of care, compassion, and effort put forth by everyone at the school! I would very strongly recommend it to anybody. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed!

(By the way, I am neither an employee nor was I bribed to write this, I simply love this place!)

Review by Jen, November 18, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The TEFL certification course experience has been amazing. The entire course exceeded my expectations! It was fun, interesting, and engaging throughout the entire 4 weeks. I feel well prepared to teach English as a foreign language due to the amount of practical teaching and support that I had throughout the program. Maximo Nivel is an incredible institution!

Review by Chelsea, November 14, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would definitely recommend this program to anyone who is interested. I took the TEFL course in Antigua and couldn’t have been happier with arrangements, the course, and my teacher!

Maximo is a well run school with really helpful staff. Karen, the TEFL trainer, is maybe the best teacher I have ever had! And Antigua is a beautiful city with a lot to offer.

The only downfall, if any, is that if you are out later in the evening, it isn’t safe to walk alone and you should arrange to walk with others or get a taxi.

Out of all the courses I looked into, I’m really glad I chose this one!

Review by Andy, November 3, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Anyone interested in studying TEFL should definitely do it at Maximo Nivel in Antigua, Guatemala. It’s an excellent facility in a beautiful town. The staff and students are delightful and you will have the pleasure of having Karen as your teacher who is nothing short of a remarkable teacher. If you’re thinking about doing it, do it at Maximo in Antigua, you won’t regret it.

Review by Juliana, October 26, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I recently completed my TEFL certification with Maximo Nivel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. I would highly recommend the program to anyone interested in pursuing a TEFL certification. Our course instructor, Audra, exceeded my expectations. She genuinely cares about everyone’s success, and is a constant source of support throughout the one-month course. Thank you to Audra and Maximo Nivel for a wonderful experience!

Review by Maria, October 24, 2016

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 44444

The course was amazing , made new friends, the teacher was really nice.
I do recommend doing the course at maximo, but do not try to work there. I’ve been told I’ll be hired 3 months after my interview and when I was supposed to start working they decided to hire someone else in my place without even letting me know. I was warned about maximo but I didn’t really pay attention as everything seemed to be okay. Such a waste of time. Never doing business with them again.

Review by Shonagh, October 20, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Having just completed the TEFL course in Antigua, Guatemala, I cannot recommend it enough! Our mentor Karen, was incredible and the course itself provided me with excellent teaching experience as well as very helpful feedback. The staff and organistation at Maximo Nivel makes you feel right at home and relaxed. They can help you out with absolutely anything! Antigua is the perfect setting too. The people are very friendly, the food is delicious and there is plenty to in your spare time. I highly recommend joining forces with Maximo Nivel to start you TEFL journey!

Review by Susanna Waldrop, October 20, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did the TEFL program in Antigua, Guatemala and I absolutely loved it. Although I already had a lot of teaching experience, the course taught me so much more about teaching and about myself. Karen, the instructor, was absolutely incredible and has inspired me to really pursue teaching English. The staff at Maximo Nivel are so helpful and caring. There is a lot of time to practice teaching students as Maximo Nivel offers many English classes. It was really helpful to be able to observe other teachers and my classmates as they taught.
Antigua is a beautiful city with beautiful people. You could not choose a better place to be. And I’ve already found 2 jobs only a day after finishing my course so you definitely won’t have a problem with that!

Review by Kimmy Bean Bo, October 18, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was better than I could ever have hoped for. The training was practical and hands-on, with great feedback that truly helped me learn and grow throughout the practical teaching process. Every staff member was happy to help with anything I needed. The environment was a pleasant mix of fun, tranquil, serious, and comfortable. Karen, the TEFL trainer, is absolutely the best. There is no doubt in my mind that she is incredibly passionate about her job and the people she works with every single day. She is one of the keys that made this program fantastic. It’s a little bit pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for and more. And the city is amazing as well! I never want to leave. I highly recommend Maximo Nivel TEFL.

Review by Kimberly Russo, October 17, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Claudia was an amazing instructor and taught me so much. I feel very prepared to begin teaching. Her classes were always so fun and she is incredibly knowledgeable. She was always available to help with any course work and very encouraging during all practical teaching. The staff at Maximo Nivel is kind and helpful and everyone always has a smile on their face. I’m so happy I chose to do the TEFL program with Maximo Nivel in Cusco, Peru and highly recommend it to anyone looking into teaching English as foreign language.

Review by Amanda Chappell, October 11, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had a wonderful experience with my TEFL certification course in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica with Maximo Nivel! Our trainer was amazing and taught us everything we needed to know to begin work in the TEFL world. She assisted me in finding my current job in Antigua, Guatemala. Costa Rica is also very beautiful with many things to enjoy on your off time throughout the course. I would highly recommend Maximo Nivel for anyone looking for a certification in TEFL teaching.

Review by Melissa Walsh, October 6, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Deciding whether or not I should quit my well-paying desk job in the U.S. to teach English abroad was the most frightening decision I have ever made. I spent the better part of a year researching different countries, TEFL organizations, and am so thankful that I found Maximo Nivel. One month after arriving in Cusco, Peru, I can honestly say that quitting my job to enroll in the TEFL certification course was the best decision I have made in my adult life thus far. The TEFL program completely exceeded my expectations and thanks to the amazing trainer Claudia, I am now working as a full-time English teacher in Peru. I can’t wait to see what the future holds and will always be thankful for Maximo Nivel!

Review by Kyle, September 25, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I couldn’t imagine taking the TEFL course with anyone but Claudia teaching. She’s the best out there! Maximo has a great campus, minus the occasionally spotty wifi, but that’s more cuscos fault. Maximo is a great organization that helps a lot of good people.

Review by Sage McKee, September 17, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Antigua is an amazing place to learn to teach English! It’s a beautiful Spanish colonial city with lots to do in and around. At Maximo, you can view three volcanoes from your terrace classroom! Our instructor, Karen, has so much experience both teaching English herself and teaching TEFL that we couldn’t have asked for better. Be prepared to work hard, but Maximo is well worth it.

Review by Catherine OliverSmith, September 16, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I was blown away by the value and quality of the Maximo Nivel program. It was professional, supportive, instructive, and I worked harder than I expected, learned more, and feel so much more prepared than I could have expected. On top of that, Antigua is a magical place. People come for a weekend and never leave, or leave to get their children and cat and come back, which is what I did 3 years ago. I am preparing for a next adventure in Europe and felt that my TEFL would be a good starting point. I considered taking the course in Europe, but decided to take it in Antigua instead and although it was hard balancing my already busy life with the commitment, it was so worth it. Come to Antigua. You will love it. The people are generous and warm, the climate is incredible, the volcanoes erupt (in the distance), the coffee is the best….I’ve lived here. I’ve traveled all over Central America. I have to say, Antigua is by far the friendliest, most beautiful, charming, and interesting place.

Review by Reginald Johnston, September 16, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The TEFL program in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica has been one of the best experiences in my life. Everything about this program was excellent. I had a very respectful and caring host family that cooked me great food every day! Manuel Antonio is a gem itself, nothing better than taking classes overlooking the ocean! But most importantly our TEFL trainer is someone I will never forget. Audra Wooldridge was such an excellent trainer with a lot of passion, energy, and amazing teaching skills. She made a 4 week course fly by super fast with all of the fun and interesting ways she taught us how to teach English. She is outstanding at what she does and I recommend that if you want to get your TEFL certificate take it at Maximo Nivel in Manuel Antonio!

Review by Kelsey, September 15, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Máximo Nivel’s 4-week course is incredible comprehensive. The course begins with a solid academic grounding in teaching ESL and ESL critical techniques. The segment on English grammar is thorough and an important review.

Throughout the course, ESL teaching is modeled through classroom observations. Likewise, classroom experience begins in the very first week with “mini-lessons.” The last week of the course is largely dedicated to practical teaching, which occurs every day. This hands-on approach allows students in the course to apply what they have learned, get important feedback, and gain confidence in their teaching and lesson-planning abilities.

The TEFL trainer Audra Wooldridge is an incredible teacher and the program’s greatest asset. She brings huge amounts of energy to every single day whether she is teaching about ESL teaching techniques or the details of English grammar. Watching Audra teach during a classroom observation session was an incredible learning opportunity and example of stellar ESL teaching. Throughout the course, Audra was accessible and helpful. She was a great asset in the job search. She constantly told us of opportunities for jobs, helped us with our resumes, and wrote letters of recommendation. Audra was willing to provide feedback and guidance at every stage and for every assignment during the course. During practical teaching week, Audra’s feedback and suggestions were incredibly astute, detailed, and helpful. What an amazing teacher!

Review by Shaina, September 15, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did the month long intensive TEFL course with Audra Wooldridge in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica! This course was AWESOME and very professional! I have never had such an enthusiastic, entertaining, influential teacher as Audra. She will bring out your highest potential as a teacher and guide you to success! Guaranteed! I cannot imagine a better TEFL program. Her guidance is invaluable and you will leave extremely excited about teaching. Or, if you weren’t sure about whether you like to teach, you will leave with a newfound passion… Audra embodies what amazing teaching looks like. You will surely learn the most just from being in her presence. MAKE THE RIGHT DECISION AND DO TEFL MAXIMO NIVEL!

Review by Charlotte Bentley, September 8, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

My time spent at Maximo Nivel in Antigua, Guatemala is one I will cherish for the rest of my life! The staff at Maximo are extremely helpful not only with the course but in every situation I was faced with in being in a country so far from home and what I am used to. Karen Wilke is a great woman with a passion for learning in which she passes on to all of her students, all areas were covered in the process of turning her students from ordinary people to amazing TEFL teachers. She gave guidance and support throughout the course and went the extra mile to help us succeed. Antigua is a beautiful place with beautiful people, the staff at Maximo Nivel recommended all the activities that would make our experience of Guatemala a great one. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and I am grateful to the staff at Maximo for all the help they provided. I would recommend anyone looking to teach abroad to go to Antigua and specifically to Maximo, you won’t regret it!

Review by Jan Zoeteman, September 7, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Having been home for about one month after getting TEFL certified I once in a while miss the great classes I attended at Maximo Nivel.
Our teacher was able to create a fantastic atmosphere that made it so much fun; she was one of the main reasons that encouraged me not to want to miss a single minute of the classes. The curriculum was excellent and very well paced and there was an abundance of materials I could use for my practicing classes. I chose Antigua because it was familiar to me; walking home after classes and seeing all those beautiful colors of the Mayan dresses was a delight; it will be very difficult to find a friendlier people than the Maya.
In short; I can highly recommend this school, Maximo Nivel, and its TEFL teacher, Karen Wilke.

Review by Auresh Yousefpour, August 20, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed my TEFL course in July 2016 and loved every minute of it. I felt very supported in general from the entire staff at Maximo Nivel as there was always someone there to answer my concerns. The feedback and the practical experience we received was unparalleled, certainly more than I expected for a short 1 month course. The trainer, Claire was incredible in her dedication, guidance and support. This, combined with the small class size, made for a very individualized experience. I met amazing people, gained valuable experience, an international accreditation and found employment at Maximo very soon after completion. I would highly recommend this course to anyone considering a TEFL qualification abroad or at home.

Review by Maria, August 17, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

My TEFL experience was amazing, I got to work with the most wonderful people in the best city we could choose to do our TEFL course..Antigua!
The course was intensive, but we would always support each other and we had the best teacher in the world there for us anytime we needed her.
La Antigua is a beautiful and very safe city and I’d definitely recommend it to anyone!

Review by Judy De Souza, July 20, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did not know what to expect from a TEFL program except what I read in different articles. Coming from a finance and management/administration background I thought this would be easy-I have handled top executives and interactions with politicians-how hard can this be?. It was night and day but the staff at Maximo especially the TEFL trainer/ facilitator Claudia made it an amazing experience. I moved from being a very confident person to feeling overwhelmed and inadequate but, with the patience, guidance and encouragement from my TEFL trainer I felt my confidence re-emerge in a more holistic way. And the thirst for learning by the students was truly amazing and encouraging. They made me want to excel and as a result I am now a TEFL teacher and one of excellence because of the experience at Maximo Nivel

Review by Michelle Garibay, July 15, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Maximo Nivel – Manuel Antonio – Cosi
Best experience! Amazing trainer, great staff, beautiful location, and lots of adventure tours available! Host families are very warm and inviting, make you feel right at home! I’m so glad I came, I learned so much and enjoyed such a wonderful environment. I highly recommend it!!

Review by Jennifer, July 14, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had a great experience in the TEFL course at Maximo Nivel’s Costa Rica location. The teacher, Audra Wooldridge, did a super job of keeping the course challenging, fun, and engaging. I wasn’t sure what to expect, and I was hoping it would NOT be an easy, “fluffy” course that just allowed people to “buy” a certification. I wasn’t disappointed! I felt challenged, and I learned a lot about teaching EFL or ESL students. The practical teaching gave me an opportunity to work on improving techniques to achieve a higher level of effectiveness in the classroom; it also gave me the much-needed opportunity to have a “real-world” teaching experience in Latin America before striking out to find employment. The in-class work and the homework kept me busy. The support staff at Maximo was also great. Brandon was always available to help with any issues in or out of the classroom, and I definitely felt like everyone in the office was interested in making sure that everything went smoothly for us students in the TEFL class.

Review by Harry, July 11, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

If you are looking for a TEFL course, look no further. You have come to the right place. TEFL certification at Maximo Nivel is not only extremely educational but it is extremely fun! You will be challenged to learn new aspects of English grammar and practice teaching with locals of various age groups, all while being certified to teach English! I have nothing bad to say about Maximo Nivel! The saddest part for me was leaving the institution and returning home to the United States!

Review by Bethany, July 10, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was everything I was looking for and more. Awesome Audra, the class instructor, was such an upbeat, high energy person who knew how to motivate and keep the classroom fun and engaging. The practical experience , although sometimes stressful, gave you the confidence that yes you can teach English in a foreign country to non English speaking people. The experience was phenomenal both in and out of the classroom. When not in class you had the opportunity to explore the beaches, national park, the mangroves, jungle night tour and mangroves etc. as well as just the town of Quepos with its friendly people. Our class had a mix of students from age 18 to 60 from different parts of the world which made the experience even more interesting. The clients thirst to learn English made it a delight to teach. I will always have fond memories of Maximo Nivel in Manuel Antonio.

Review by Jacob Ogren, July 10, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

In June 2016 I completed my TEFL Certification with Maximo Nivel – Cusco. I can’t say enough about the experience, TEFL Training and the entire Maximo staff.

The TEFL Training itself was intensive, structured, but lots of fun along the way. If you are serious about becoming an ESL Teacher, this program will definitely prepare you and Maximo will help you find that dream teaching job you’ve always wanted. If you are less serious about becoming an ESL teacher, this program provides a safe and fun foundation as you explore beautiful Cusco, or any of their other locations.

Review by Jonno, June 19, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The TEFL course in Manuel Antonio is one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. It was a great way to explore a foreign country while doing something meaningful. I really learned a lot, and it was awesome to watch my progress over the course of the 4 weeks. What really made this a special experience was the practical teaching experience. It was so great to use my new skills in front of real students, and watch their progress and my progress at the same time. It was a really cool thing to be a part of. I’d recommend this program to everyone.

Review by Becca, June 17, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course is tough and study intensive, granted it is only four weeks long to become a certified teacher, but you will be able to teach english to non-english speakers. This course prepares you for absolutely everything, its fun, knowledgable, and you get a lot of time up front in the classroom to find out the kind of teacher you are and what works for you. You will never get bored, the teacher is literally the most wonderful woman out there and they are super helpful with job searches. You will not be disappointed with this program and it will prepare you for teaching 100%.

Review by Michael O'Hara-Shea, June 5, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I completed my TEFL certification at Maximo Nivel’s Cusco, Peru location. The experience was amazing. The setting and resources were great, and provided me with everything I needed. I did not opt for housing through Maximo during the course, but my classmates who did had no complaints. The difference between my experience here, and the experiences of my friends who have gotten their certification elsewhere, has to be in the instructor. She was fun, she was knowledgeable, and she was 100% there for her clients. I felt prepared for my practical teaching during the course, and I feel prepared to teach going forward. I gained a great deal of knowledge from this course, and also gained the ability to teach ESL anywhere in the world.

Review by Phillip Dage, June 5, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

I really enjoyed this course! Our instructor, Karen, taught with such style and enthusiasm it really brought the material alive. By using games, songs, and other creative techniques this course felt more like a series of fun workshops rather than “school.” I was definitely inspired to continue my path as an educator and also gave me a ton of cool, fun ideas for teaching English. I am happy I took this course and would recommend it to anyone interested in teaching abroad.

Review by Gerhard, May 26, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Having heard many different opinions concerning TEFL courses around the world, I was slightly worried that perhaps the TEFL training course in Manuel Antonio with Maximo Nivel was money wasted. I am so happy to say I was completely wrong. The course was extremely professional and Maximo’s staff absolutely brilliant. The trainer (Audra) made the course more than interesting and showed brilliant people skills throughout the program. I easily found work after the course and feel so blessed that I was able to complete my training through such a brilliant organisation such as Maximo Nivel. Thank you!

Review by David, May 25, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

Maximo Nivel delivered a top-quality course with amazing staff support and an incredible TEFL trainer. The content of the course was rigorous and professional. They provided a host family for the duration of my stay in Manuel Antonio who treated me like one of their own. I would recommend Maximo Nivel to anyone who was considering teaching English in Central/South America. They provide an A+ experience.

Review by Teresa Noble, May 22, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I highly recommend Maximo Nivel TEFL program. You will not find another instructor like Karen. She is a big reason why I plan on returning on the end of the year to do an add-on course for test prep. The staff is amazing! I wish I did not have to leave and I would not have left if did not have summer classes starting in June. Go to Maximo Nivel. You will not regret it.

Review by Jenny C, May 19, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would highly recommend Maximo Nivel’s TEFL certification program in Antigua Guatemala. Because I’ve been a teacher for many years I wasn’t sure how much I was going to get out of the course other than my certificate – but I was amazed at how much I got out of the experience. The course is well organized, the material is taught with depth and flexibility, there is excellent support staff and resources – and to take the course in a working language institute is really an advantage. We had a lot of opportunities from the first week to be teaching English language learners with excellent and detailed feedback. Our teacher, Karen, modeled what she was teaching and demonstrated her commitment to us by really going the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed to be successful. The course is intense – I wouldn’t expect to do a lot of traveling or kicking back during the month – but its worth it because by the end I felt and saw in my other classmates that we were really well prepared to start teaching right away. I had my own accomodation so I can’t speak to that part of the program, but Maximo staff offers a lot of support. And Antigua is super fun!!

Review by Stacey, May 11, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would do it all over again!!! With the informing course content and the wonderful support of the instructor working hard through the online TEFL certification program was all worth it. I truly think that Maximo Nivel is not charging for the information they offer. The online TEFL Certification is a steal compared to many other certification programs! You WILL not be disappointed!!

“With the TEFL Certification the world is your oyster!” -Audra

Review by Dorothee, May 10, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

If you are thinking about taking a TEFL course to teach and travel, this program is perfect for you. I took the course at COSI this year and there is honestly nothing to criticize. Our teacher, Audra, was awesome – she was energetic and fun and really managed to convey her enthusiasm about teaching. The structure of the class was easy to follow, and even though there was a lot to do, it never seemed overwhelming. Audra and the rest of the team at COSI were extremely helpful and friendly.
Also, the surroundings are beautiful: the national park is right around the corner and you can book all types of excursions directly at COSI.
I had a great time in Manuel Antonio and recommend this program to all aspiring ESL teachers!

Review by Melanie, April 15, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I absolutely loved everything about this TEFL course! The staff and teachers were extremely friendly and funny and made you feel at home right from the start. The course was very interesting and our teacher constantly kept the class upbeat and made it fun to learn. My fellow students have been a great bunch of people to work with and I have made many friends from all over the world! During this course, you gain a lot of confidence as a teacher, learn how to teach english to ESL learners of all stages, you have a week worth of teaching experience and a great course full of all the techniques that someone needs to be a great TEFL teacher! Your students make you feel at ease and are so much fun! I recommend this course to anyone who is even just playing around with the idea! It’s a fun course and a great way of being able to work and travel around the world later on!

Review by Mary K, April 12, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I took the TEFL/TESOL Course in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica in March 2016 and I am pleased with the experience I had at Máximo Nivel. The course was informative, fun, and a great learning experience. Our teacher, Audra was more than fantastic. Audra is extremely knowledgable, experienced, energetic, and made the class a pure pleasure. I highly recommend her as a TEFL teacher. After completing the course, I feel prepared to teach English and am excited to see what the next step in my teaching/traveling career will be.

Review by Luci, April 11, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I participated in the hybrid program. As an experienced teacher, it was the perfect fit. I was lucky to have Audra not only as my hybrid mentor, but as my instructor in Manuel Antonio. Together we were flexible with each other’s schedules when meeting up for the online portion of the course.

Class in Manuel Antonio was great on many levels. First Audra, our instructor, was informative, energetic, and a great teacher role model. As an experienced teacher, I found her instruction reflective of the way she wanted us to teach; in place of preaching, she demonstrated. Second, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed whether that meant printing our documents, giving directions to the best place to eat, or simply caring about how we were handling the work load. Lastly, Manuel Antonio is a beautiful place full of amazing people and a rich culture. If one has the time to explore, it is the perfect place- although, I might recommend a cooler time of year.

Review by Sonya, March 28, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

An all around excellent program. I felt I was given the tools to succeed with lots of helpful feedback and supportive guidance. The course gave me what I needed, confidence, more information about methodology, lesson planning and class management and the practical experience I needed. It was all done in a supportive and positive environment. I highly recommend this course.

Review by Kristin, February 24, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just finished my TEFL course with Maximo in Cusco, Peru. I could not have asked for a better teacher than Claudia, a better staff than the staff at Maximo, or a better experience! I left the class feeling so prepared, and with a job here in Cusco!

Review by Katherine Gillis, February 20, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

TEFL at Maximonivel was an amazing experience. Our instructor, Audra Wooldridge, made all the difference in delivering the course content with unchallengeable effectiveness. Her wit and humour made the 4 weeks fly by, while at the same time her quick-thinking and awareness of individual need made me feel very well taken care of in the way of having any questions answered and all doubts reassured. She provided the perfect example of how to be an excellent teacher and showed us how spontaneity, creativity and humour can and should be used when lesson planning so that clients have the most rewarding learning experience. If there is any doubt in your mind whether you should take TEFL with Cosi-Maximonivel, let me reassure you that it was the best decsion I could’ve made. Between the beautiful sights, adventure opportunities and the incredibly fun hours spent at the school, with Cosi-Maximonivel, you can’t go wrong. Happy Travels!
~Katie Gillis

Review by Rachel Draper, February 10, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I had a great time at Maximo Nivel and learned so much! I definitely felt prepared to be a teacher by the end of the course, and my knowledge of the English language expanded as well. Karen, my TEFL trainer was especially awesome, and made 150 hours of course material (that easily could have been boring and dry) both interesting and entertaining. Loved it!

Review by Phillip, February 6, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have never learned so much about myself in such a short amount of time. It was amazing how this course and my instructor Karen Wilke not only taught me how to teach, but also why we teach. This course has been the starting point to so many opportunities all over the world. Thank you Maximo Nivel and Karen for everything.

Review by Laura, September 20, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The TEFL course at Máximo Nivel is highly effective and an exceptional experience for both training and fun. I took the course in Guatemala and could not be happier with the instruction and preparation I received. With a small class of 7, we formed a tight knit community and received individual attention from our dynamic instructor, Audra. My homestay was just a few blocks from the school which also includes a Spanish language school and headquarters for multiple volunteer programs. With local Guatemalan students and teachers and volunteers from all over the world, the garden and terrace were great places to meet new friends over free coffee (or guacamole on Tuesdays!). The accreditation is accepted all over the world and the school offers job placement support which is a great bonus. If preparedness to actually teach in the classroom is your goal, then this is the place for you!

Review by Erik, August 25, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Máximo was a great tefl school. I learned so much there and the practical teaching really prepared me for teaching anywhere. The instructor, Claudia, is amazing. Her feedback really helped me to improve as a teacher. It was really expensive but I believe it will be worth it in the end.

Review by Claire, August 17, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would definitely recommend the TEFL/TESOL program at Maximo Nivel, Guatemala. I had very little idea of what to expect besides that it would be hard work prior to the course but I am so glad I took it! It really has changed my life and has made me want to pursue ESL teaching as a career. I must stress that the course is very intensive but because of the friendliness of everyone at Maximo Nivel and the absolute dedication of the TEFL trainer, Audra. There were 7 people in my class and this created a great sense of friendship and camaraderie!
You definitely should give this program a go if you can because it is great for all ages and all backgrounds.

Review by John Kenyon, July 27, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I completed the 4 week TELF course at Maximo Nivel in Antigua Guatemala in June 2015. The course is hard and intense (especially after a year backpacking :)) but I really enjoyed it. Audra was the teacher and she is great, made the whole month really enjoyable, offered encouragement and advice and was available outside working hours to discuss anything I was struggling with.
Maximo have great staff, everyone makes you feel very welcome and I highly recommend the course.

Review by Liliya Kibitskaya, June 29, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Go and explore! =D Go do good for the world, and in turn you will realize how much good it does for you! Maximo is phenomenal in how the accommodate and help you throughout your entire experience! School work with TEFL is rigorous, but made FUN by the incredible teachers! =D Seriously, a million points to them for their work and help! =D I love and miss you guys! =P Shoutout: Audra and Suzanne!

Review by Nathanael, May 3, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I am a university student in the United States and I went abroad to Peru for an internship. I was able to take the TEFL course in Cusco and I am so grateful that I did. I grew as a person, and many doors of opportunity have now become opened to me. The facility was nice and the staff were always supportive of me.

Review by Olivia, April 7, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I recently completed my TEFL course at Maximo Nivel in Cusco (February 2015) and it was such a great experience that I highly recommend to everyone. I had heard from other TEFLers elsewhere that the course was going to be intensive and a lot of work which it was but our teacher at Maximo incorporated a variety of different activities and assignments into the learning process which meant the lessons were always engaging and fun.

I was really impressed by the support and high energy of all the staff who worked hard to create a comfortable and fun learning environment for both teachers and students. I learnt so much in a short space of time which was especially down to our great instructor and the amount of practical teaching we got to do from the very beginning of the course and I now feel very confident going into my new teaching job in Ecuador.

I hope to return to Maximo Nivel in Cusco to teach at some point because of its great staff and fun learning atmosphere!

Review by Amanda, April 1, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I didn’t have the highest expectations going into the TEFL course, but man was I pleasantly surprised! I really enjoyed every aspect of the course. From the ESL techniques to the practical teaching, the Maximo Nivel course certainly prepared me to teach in the ESL world. The international staff was very supportive with whatever concerns or questions that popped up. The TEFL instructor was totally dedicated to her work and she shared her expertise and passion with her students. If you are looking to become TEFL certified, definitely consider Maximo Nivel! You will not be let down.

Review by Elana, March 31, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I graduated from the TEFL course in March 2015, and I already miss it. I never expected that I would love the course so much, but I really did. Amazing teacher, great location, living host family, so much practical teaching experience, and a really kind and supportive administrative community. It was hard work, but I finished the course knowing that my degree was well-earned and that I really do have the tools to teach. I highly recommend this course.

Review by Alice, March 26, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Absolutely great course, would recommend to anyone looking to do TEFL! Wonderful support network, practical and hands on from the very start, ridiculously generous and supportive instructor, and located in one of the most beautiful cities in South America!
Maximo Nivel, also offers other cool side gigs, spanish lessons, salsa lessons, etc!

Review by Nicole, February 13, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Finished my Maximo TEFL course in Cusco this past December. The course was super informative, had a lot of focus in practical teaching and the instructor, Claudia, was so helpful in every way! It was intensive but a great experience and I highly recommend the course to anyone who is interested in teaching English abroad. The course prepared me for all the challenges that I may face in the industry and Maximo is filed with supportive staff who will help you job search when you’re ready to start teaching!
Thank you mama clau clau and Maximo for a fantastic four weeks I will never forget!!

Review by Kelsey, October 6, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I am so in love with all the staff at Maximo Nivel! I had an amazing experience with Maximo Nivel. It was obvious that everyone in the institute, both students and employees, wanted to be there. Wanting to do something and having to do something are very different. I did my TEFL certification and I didn’t realize how much I would enjoy teaching! They brought it to life and made it fun and engaging. They were also very accommodating with my last minute change of plans with my housing and I was very pleased. Overall, I recommend Maximo Nivel for anyone interested in Spanish classes or TEFL certificate. I honestly feel ready and prepared to teach English anywhere in the world and have Maximo to thank for that feeling of confidence. Not to mention, the locations are BEAUTIFUL!

Review by Mason, September 29, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Earning my TEFL certification through Maximo Nivel was an awesome experience! Everyone that works at the Maximo facility is very welcoming and encouraging. Claudia, the course instructor, was amazing, never a dull moment in the class. The TEFL course is a great way to meet tons of people from all over the place as well. The location of the facility is great as well, Manuel Antonio was a great starting point for my time in Costa Rica.

If you are interested in a TEFL certification, I highly recommend Maximo Nivel!

Review by Jessica, September 26, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I had an excellent experience with Máximo Nivel in Costa Rica! I was nervous about traveling abroad, but the staff was always available to answer questions.

My experience in the TEFL classroom was awesome! From my amazing instructor, Claudia, to the amount I learned about teaching, it was an overall beneficial experience. Not to mention, I was able to actually practice what I learned in the classroom through teaching while I was there!

I wish that I could go back and do it over and over again because it was a once in a lifetime experience!

Review by Zoie Seigle, September 25, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

My month in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica was AMAZING! I didn’t know what to expect of my TEFL course, so I was pleasantly surprised. Its a tough class, but so worth it. I have no background in teaching whatsoever, but by the end of practice teaching week I had no doubt in my mind that I could be, not just a teacher, but a good teacher. The curriculum is tough, and grammar day wasn’t my favorite, but I learned more in four weeks with Maximo Nivel than I’ve learned in an entire year in college. The staff at the school are amazing; they are so kind and helpful with anything you need. My TEFL teacher is incredible. She not only taught well, but her feedback was honest and super helpful! She was always available and willing to look over my work. Finding a job can be time consuming, but again, my TEFL teacher was always there to give me advice, point me in the right direction and make sure my CV was on point. I am so happy that I took this course. Not to mention you get to spend a month in a crazy gorgeous place!

Review by Izzy, September 25, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I cannot recommend a course more. The best teaching I’ve ever had, not often you’re excited to go to class and laugh so much your jaw aches, whilst learning. A beautiful environment full of staff who care, and likeminded students who become great friends. Not only this but they help you enormously to find jobs and make it all seem so much easier than thought. You won’t look back!

Review by Kristen, July 29, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

After teaching in the special education field in the United States for four years, I was led to move to Guatemala where I will soon be volunteering to teach English in a small school. Although I had experience in the educational setting, I was not familiar with the practice of teaching English as a foreign language. I discovered Máximo Nivel online and decided to take their TEFL course during my time in Antigua this summer. I ended up taking the hybrid course (two weeks online and two weeks in person), but truly enjoyed the entire experience. Once I joined the course in person I was able to connect with other students from a variety of backgrounds as well as learn from the experienced staff at Máximo. They introduced me to the whole new world of teaching English. Through observations as well as a week of practical teaching experiences I was able to put many of the techniques and skills I learned into practice as well as improve throughout the course from constructive feedback from my teacher. I now feel like I have a much better grasp on the world of teaching English and am excited to begin teaching again. I also know that I will be able to stay in contact with the staff at Máximo and they will provide suggestions or assistance as I continue on my journey in Guatemala.

Review by Mark, June 25, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

Maximo Nivel in Antigua provided me with an excellent crash course in ESL teaching. By being in front of a classroom I experienced the key aspects of TEFL firsthand. The teaching and support staff at Maximo NIvel are first rate and will help you accomplish feats you never thought possible. The course finds a good balance between book work and practical teaching. It is challenging but not so challenging that you won’t have the opportunity to explore your surroundings. Antigua is a tourist’s paradise to some and a Central American Mos Eisley to others, everyone is sure to find their niche.

Review by Eileen, June 24, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just finished up the TEFL course with Suzanne at Maximo Nivel’s Guatemala location in La Antigua.

Having never taught before, I felt that it was incredibly important that I take a TEFL course in person rather than going through an online provider. The course was both challenging and fun. It’s an intensive four week course that ends with TEFL students teaching in the classroom with clients.

I never felt like I was just another student- the entire Maximo staff made themselves available to help me and it truly felt like a family. I would daresay that I had a better experience at Maximo than I did at my four year college.

If you are seriously considering taking a TEFL course, I highly recommend Maximo. You’ll learn and get the support you need!

Review by Lakota, May 4, 2014

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Getting my TEFL/TESOL certification through Maximo Nivel was a fun and educational experience. When I started I was uncomfortable in front of a class and didn’t know how to correctly use the techniques. With the help of the constructive feedback given by my teacher I was comfortable and confident in front of the class by the end of my practical teaching week. I now feel prepared to start a teaching career.

Review by Sam S, May 1, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took the TEFL certification course in Antigua, Guatemala and couldn’t be happier! The instructor was very knowledgeable, always available for help outside of the classroom, provided lots of feedback on lessons taught and lesson plans, and made the month long course a really fun experience. Upon completion I felt very well prepared to teach a class, and even gained confidence doing so during practical teaching week. They helped me get a job straight out of the course, and also provide lifelong job placement help should I want to move. I highly recommend Maximo Nivel to anyone wanting to become TEFL certified. I can say with confidence that you won’t regret it!

Review by Katherine Clark, April 26, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I recently received my TEFL certificate through Maximo Nivel. I was impressed with just about everything. Having never taught before, I was worried about how well I would adapt, but due to the excellent instruction and fun teaching atmosphere, I found myself teaching competently in a very short time.
The course was difficult, but adequately so. I consider myself prepared to teach English to any level or age of clients, thanks to a rigorous four weeks at Maximo Nivel.
The staff was incredibly helpful, the TEFL teacher was awesome, and the facilities were great. Overall I’m super happy with my experience at Maximo and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get TEFL certified.

Review by Kathy Bourbon, April 6, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

What can I say – I have had a great month in Cusco and am now teaching in Chachapoyas. Not only did I learn a valuable skill that will enable me to travel the world but I had a blast also and made wonderful new friends. Being a ‘mature aged’ student I was concerned that I would be left behind but this wasn’t the case. We all learnt from each other and the encouragement that we all received was amazing. All the staff at Maximo made us feel that we mattered and nothing was ever too much trouble. The most amazing staff member was our wonderful TEFL instructor – Karen. From the first day she helped to dispel our nerves and was a constant source of knowledge and encouragement. My background was Marketing, PR and Event Management so nothing to do with teaching at all. Teaching was something that I had always wanted to do so even though I have discovered it at the end of my working career, I can now travel and teach. TEFL teaching is for all ages and isn’t limited to the young. If you want to make a difference to communities around the world and get to travel and see the world, I cannot recommend a Maximo Nivel course highly enough. Get out there and do it!!!!

Review by Jackeline, April 5, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Taking the TEFL course with Maximo in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica was amazing! The teachers were amazing and always willing to give those extra office hours to help out! Everyone at Maximo was so welcoming and I enjoyed coming to class everyday! This course was very well set up and I feel so prepared to start teaching ESL! The practical teaching hours helped me out so much as well as the lesson planning guidance (so much fun!) With the practical teaching hours I really got a feel of how it feels to teach and I absolutely loved it! That’s not all either, taking the TEFL course also means that job-hunting starts right away! Maximo ensures that they will assist you with finding jobs during and even after the course! At the moment I’m currently looking for a job and my TEFL teacher is still sending me job listings which is great! You also have the opportunity to apply working in one of their 3 institutions in Latin America which I’m also looking into! Maximo is giving me so many options and I’m so excited to start teaching! I couldn’t have chosen a better program to do TEFL with!

Thanks for a great experience Maximo!! 🙂

Review by Jonathan Green, March 30, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The intensive course I completed with Maximo Nivel in Costa Rica proved to be an excellent experience, which was due in large part to my humorous, patient, and extremely knowledgeable instructor Philip Raymond. We were provided not only with crucial methods and tactics to use in the classroom for any level of student, but also with the opportunity to practice teaching our own classes of beginner and advanced students. It was incredible to discover that we could teach English to people whose native language we do not speak. The source materials given to us were very helpful and they will continue to be in my future teaching experiences. Phil gave us plenty of constructive feedback after our practice lessons which invariably helped us to correct and build on our mistakes, as well as focus on our strengths. I feel proud and confident, as I am sure my classmates and other graduates of this course do, to travel anywhere in the world and teach English. Not only do I have a certified TEFL degree, I receive wonderful references and assistance finding jobs that continues to this day. Plus I can always count on Phil for tips and help finding work even in the remotest corners of the world.

Many thanks to Phil and the team at Maximo Nivel.

Review by Elena Porten, November 30, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I highly suggest the month-long intensive TEFL course in Cusco, Peru. I just completed the course and it was not only a blast, but I also learned a ton and I am already teaching! The Maximo Nivel staff and TEFL instructor were exceptionally helpful, friendly, and knowledgable. The school in Cusco is really central to the Historic District and the facilities and program far exceeded my expectations. Free coffee is always a plus 🙂 The TEFL class was incredibly fun and informative. Our TEFL instructor, Karen Wilke, had a spunky, creative, and calming personality, which made class exciting to go to everyday. She kept us active and engaged in class because of her high energy and expertise in the subject. It is clear that Karen is passionate about her profession as a TEFL instructor. By the first week, our group was laughing constantly, raptured by the idiosyncrasies of the English language. Karen is definitely one of the best teachers I have ever had! She made each student feel comfortable, while also pushing us to step outside of our comfort zone. The course was intensive and required a lot of reading and writing, but it was so worth it! One thing I really enjoyed about Maximo Nivel’s TEFL program was the practical teaching week during the final week. This allowed each student to get real-time teaching experience, followed by direct feedback from the TEFL instructor. I was really impressed with Maximo’s professionalism, curriculum, and teaching style. It’s definitely a well respected and recognized language institute in Cusco, and the TEFL program is awesome!

Review by Sky Goldstein, November 25, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

The TEFL course at Maximo Nivel has undoubtedly been one of the best experiences of my life. I learned more in four weeks than I could have ever imagined. From the very first week they had engaging with students in practice (mini) lessons and there was never a shortage of critical engagement. After each of our practice lessons observed by our classmates, as a group we shared our thoughts on what worked and what strategies could be employed to improve on things that didn’t work. I did feel, personally, like I could have used more time to practice teaching with more detailed feedback to improve my technique. The only limitation to the course is how short it is. We learn SO much in such a short amount of time that a great deal of our trial and error period will necessarily overlap with our professional endeavors. That said, Maximo Nivel does a fantastic job in managing the time we spend learning theory and practicing what we’ve learned. Their current TEFL trainer, Karen Wilke, is a delight and not only for her awesome personality. She is also wonderful at demonstrating the theories we are learning in her own teaching strategies. We were often able to observe an example of whatever we were being taught by the way she taught it to us. For these reasons, and so many more, I cannot speak too highly of Maximo Nivel’s TEFL program in Cusco, Peru.

Review by Sara, November 10, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took the TEFL course at Máximo Nivel in Cusco, Perú. I’m so glad I took the course here because it enabled me to practice teaching real ESL students almost right away. The last week of the course was almost purely practical experience, which was probably the most valuable part of the course. The instructor was awesome and super knowledgeable too. The entire Máximo staff was very supportive, and made moving abroad so much less stressful.

Review by Frances, October 25, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I recently completed the TEFL certification program at Maximo Nivel in Antigua. I have been a teacher for many years, but have never taught English as a foreign language. I was interested in having more options for employment while living in Guatemala, so I decided to take the course. (I have not rated the job placement because I have not started to look for a job yet, having only recently completed the program). I learned many techniques that are essential to teaching ESL, but that can also be applied in my non-ESL teaching life. The practical teaching experience began in the first week as we each taught short lessons to real students and received immediate feedback from our instructor. These authentic teaching experiences, culminating in taking over one class for a week, are the most important part of the course. There is a lot of work to complete in order to receive your certificate; it is a serious course. Luckily, our instructor, Suzanne, was knowledgable and skilled, and able to make it fun while holding us to a high standard of learning and teaching. I am very glad to have taken the course and can highly recommend it to others.

Review by Ken Davis, October 12, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I really enjoyed my TEFL class with Maximo Nivel as it really exceeded my expectations. Everyone was very friendly, very professional and very much involved and interested in the sucess of the student. My Teacher Phil Raymond made the class very interesting and fun with never a dull moment. He always encouraged us and made us feel that we really could be successful Teachers. Thank you Phil, Kim and all the wonderful staff at Maximo Nivel.
Best regards,
Ken

Review by Grant S, September 21, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took the TEFL/TESOL certification program at Máximo Nivel in Guatemala in June 2013. It was a great course. My instructor, Karen is one of the best instructors i’ve ever had. The course itself is very intensive but it is definitely worth it considering you are certified for life upon completion! I learned so much about my language and after finishing I felt ready and capable of properly teaching English. Also, Máximo helps you with job placement and will give you good recommendations after finishing the 4-week course. I haven’t been to the Costa Rica or Cusco locations which I hear are larger in size, but I really enjoyed the Guatemala location. It’s small and intimate, and right in the heart of beautiful Antigua. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to live and teach ESL abroad!

Review by Myuri, September 21, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I am so pleased that I got my TEFL certification with Maximo Nivel! I felt very supported in the environment and was happy with how much of a practical component there was. The classes were very interactive and somehow, even grammar was made to be fun! I feel confident moving forward in the ESL world, and know that these four weeks have made me a much better teacher and have given me life-long skills.

Review by Mackenzie, May 24, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Maximo’s TEFL program was wonderful. The practical teaching week really helped me to feel more comfortable at the front of the classroom, and the responses I received from the TEFL trainers were always constructive and beneficial. I would highly recommend this program to anyone looking to become an ESL teacher.

Review by Erica Nagurney, May 20, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 55555

Getting my TESOL/ESL certificate was an amazing experience and is something I will take with me and remember for the rest of my life. Maximo Nivel was a great school to get my certificate and I feel like my schooling fully prepared me to teach ESL at a number of different levels. The course was challenging, but necessary in the time in which you receive your certificate. Practical teaching week was by far where I learned the most about teaching since I was actually teaching and not just sitting and learning about teaching. I would recommend this course to anyone, and would relive my experience again in a heartbeat! The staff at Maximo Nivel Costa Rica was the BEST. I was only there for a month to get my certificate and then I came back to the US, but my memories there in Costa Rica and in the classroom are more vivid than some of my memories in a college classroom. I think of the Maximo Employees often and miss seeing their smiling bright faces everyday. PURA VIDA!!!!

Write a Review of Maximo Nivel | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.