Review of Global English TESOL

Accredited Online TESOL courses & jobs from one of the most established providers in the UK.

Ensure your TESOL certification stands out; choose a TESOL with a unique specialism in 1-1, business or young learners.

Or start your career with one of the most in-depth, accredited online courses; our 250 hour advanced TESOL level 5.

Enjoy personal tutor support, exclusive access to our jobs pages and the security of taking your course with one of the most established providers in the UK.

Awarded a triple A rating from our recent accreditation audit.

Special Offers

20% Off Online TESOL in October

Enjoy 20% off our accredited, online TESOL courses including our advanced, signature level 5. Offer ends 31st October. View now.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site TEFL CoursesOnline TEFL Courses
Length: Mini Courses (<30 hours)Short Courses (40-100 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Courses: GrammarTeaching Business English (BE)Teaching One-to-OneTeaching Young Learners (YL)
Additional Features: Stand-Alone Teaching Practice Module

Location of Courses

England, Scotland, UK, Wales

Accreditations and Affiliations

ACTDEC accreditation

ISO accreditation
Overall Rating4.874.874.874.874.87
Course Content4.834.834.834.834.83
Practice Teaching44444
Quality of Feedback4.964.964.964.964.96
Lesson Plan Guidance4.744.744.744.744.74
Instructor Competency4.934.934.934.934.93
Job Placement3.853.853.853.853.85
Facilities/Resources4.734.734.734.734.73
Map of Main Campus
Address:
Senate Court, Southernhay Gardens
Exeter
Devon
United Kingdom
EX1 1NT
Founded in: 1997
Phone: + 44 1392 411 999
Social Media Links
Follow Global English TESOL on Facebook Follow Global English TESOL on Twitter Follow Global English TESOL on YouTube
Applicant Requirements
Applicants should be over 17 with a good standard of written and spoken English.

48 Customer Reviews of Global English TESOL

Review by Richard Leather, November 22, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

First of all i would like to say a big thank you to Kerry McEwan my personal tutor. Throughout the course from start to finish Kerry welcomed me to TESOL and upon passing and completion of the course congratulated me. The whole team at Global English were so helpful in every area aided by speedy responses. I was a little dubious at first about what to do and if to do the course but William helped me make the decision. Throughout the course, constructive feedback and help was only a couple of minutes away! I would recommend this course to anyone who is thinking about stepping into teaching. It gives you a real confidence booster. The modules cover such a wide range of topics and teach the trainee an awful lot. The whole course and the layout is very easy to use, well mapped out and extremely precise. The content is easily understandable and now after completing the course it will help me further my career in teaching.
To further my knowledge in this area i will most definitely be using Global English to gain another certificate. Their courses are all accredited by ACTDEC which is included in the price and is recognised globally.
I really cannot thank the Global English team enough. They have given me the confidence to switch career and pursue my love of teaching.
To any new trainee thinking about doing a course with GE, here is your answer, dont think about it just do it!! Many thanks GE! 10/10

Review by Linda Morgan, November 2, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

The website is easy to use and the modules, although fairly long, are varied in content and very interesting. Feedback is provided from an individual tutor with constructive suggestions. The tutor and admin team respond very quickly to any questions during the course.

I have enjoyed taking this course, working online alongside my day job, and now have a TESOL diploma which will enable me to gradually transition into teaching, either part-time or full-time.

Review by Carmine Mondelli, September 16, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I was just awarded the TESOL 250 hours certificate from Global English UK, and for the benefit of those interested in teaching ESL classes, who are seeking out for a good school to get certified, I would like to share few considerations, based on my personal experience.
I started the course at Global English while I was already teaching Business English classes in Southern Italy. It was just after I had submitted the rounds of tests contained in the second, of the seven modules comprising the level V course, that I started noticing a considerable change in my teaching attitude. Instead of going to class supplied only with a grammar book, and a business manual, I became accustomed to go to class with well structured lesson plans, containing clear well defined objectives, and a detailed schedule of all the steps to follow through the core of the study. All the lesson plans also included a complete set of exercises, necessary to evaluate the students achievement of the objectives set as goals for that lesson, along with the back up exercises, to be used in case something wasn’t working as expected. Preparing lesson plans was a constant drill during my Global English course, and heavy emphasis was put on their critical review: looking for effectiveness, and an ideal balance of skills involved in the study of each subject. Now such thorough preparation prior to every lesson gives me more confidence, and relieves me from the stress deriving from teaching while being committed to deliver significant, verifiable results; which are never granted. Summarizing lessons have become much easier to manage for me, and much more profitable for my students.
The course itself is not a piece of cake, and a good supply of will and commitment are required to get to the end of it; and while all along the track I relied upon my tutor’s supervision, there have been moments in which I could really appreciate not only her professionalism but also her kindness.
The 250 hr. course not only provides the aspirant teacher with the tools and the preparation necessary to draw complete and detailed lesson plans, but gives the necessary basic knowledge of classroom management in its many aspects; brings considerable levels of knowledge in specific subjects such as phonology, phonetics, linguistics, and Sociolinguistics, contributing to a solid and pragmatic formation for the future teacher.
I agree with those who have been critical of the quality of some online video clips used in the course: the audio grade is not stellar, actually barely sufficient.
In conclusion the course is high level, very well structured, effective, and the school provides very prompt and attentive professional assistance. I’m really happy with the choice I made.
Carmine

Review by Carolyn Stewart, August 10, 2017

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I have just completed the 250hr Level 5 course and have really enjoyed learning with Global English. My course tutor was very helpful with her comments and offered me additional ideas to try.
It is 40 years since I did English at University in the UK and I felt that I needed a ‘software update’ to get a better idea of what is expected in the classroom of 2017, I learned a great deal – for example, Grammar wasn’t too highly taught or thought of when I was learning, unless for learning foreign languages, I have discovered so much about Grammar with this course that it actually aids me in my everyday life!
My biggest problem was living in rural France there is not a library with the relevent materials nearby. However, with a little use of the internet and the very extensive course notes I came out with a B and apparently didn’t really need the library I so missed! Better than I’d hoped for I must admit.
I can, without reservation recommend this course, especially to non-English language specialists because the support and information are exceptional. Do print-up and keep the Module booklets, they offer explanations and ideas which will be useful throughout your career. I can report only good things from following the Global English TESOL Course. I hope this helps someone!

Review by Johanna Schoonman, June 28, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I have just completed the 250h TESOL course. It was very interesting and I learned really a lot from it!

I believe I am ready to become a good teacher and also I like to say that my tutor gave many good comments (in order to improve).

I recommend it to everybody. You will learn many new things!

Thank you very much, Johanna

Review by Zahlia Jones, June 25, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I just completed the TESOL 150 hour level 4 course with Global English. I found the course to be excellent and really helpful. There was a good amount of content per section which makes it easy to work through. I chose the interactive option, which was quite fun. The work load is manageable with each section being well guided through. I had a brilliant tutor who always responded to my requests. She gave great, in depth feedback which was really helpful and practical. Overall, the course has been quite useful I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in teaching English. It covers much ground, and you definitely get the sense that the course was put together by experienced ESL teachers who have a great amount of knowledge about the global English world!
Thank you Global English!

Review by Melissa Lyon, June 13, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I just finished the 250 hour TESOL course at Global English. It was an excellent course and I learned so much! The course layout and online dashboard were very easy to navigate and I liked how it broke the material into small, manageable chunks. My online tutor was excellent! She always gave me very valuable, thorough feedback and suggestions. Feedback was always given within a day or so. The resources provided in the course will be invaluable once I am teaching. I live in Canada and found this online course which was much less expensive and the course content seemed much better than those I could find in Canada. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in becoming a certified ESL teacher. Thank you Global English!

Review by Todd B, June 13, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

This is a well certified and recognised course which has immediately got me in the door of a large school in east Asia.
The all the content is relevant, and I do recommend clicking on the many links and looking through all the resources supplied. The grammar book was especially useful too.

I recommend this course, and do advise you to apply yourself fully to gain the best results. Do the research!

While the content is always relevant in the video clips, may I recommend filming some new versions with a focus on improved AV quality. My only negative feedback here.

Review by Su Stori, June 11, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Even if I have been teaching English for several years now I believe it is very important to keep updated and to regularly review teaching methods and materials. This was one of the main reasons why I decided to take a TEFLcourse.

I had already heard about Global English before but never went through their site before, yet when I did I have to say I was very impressed by their professionalism. They replied to my enquiry immediately and gave me specific answers that helped me make my decision without hesitation. In less than a few hours I was able to start my course and already had my tutor assigned. As it was essential that I could finish the course in a relatively short time I felt really delighted with it.

I found the 120 hours Level 3 course very interesting and stimulating. All the modules were easy to follow, with useful hints and links for guidance and reference, and the feedback from my tutor has been amazing, always full of extremely helpful and constructive advice, I have learned a lot from her feedback.

I was very pleased to find out that besides grammar and lesson planning also aspects such as class layout, discipline management, pair/group work, correction and homework were covered too. Thanks to this I had the chance to deeply and widely reflect on my own teaching techniques and felt very positively inspired.

Last but not least, Global Engish also has a section for job hunters, with loads of useful and interesting information for all those who are looking for a job. I think this is not only useful, but also very thoughtful.

I enjoyed the course very much indeed and would like to recommend Global English to all those who are thinking about getting a TEFL certificate, I am sure the friendliness and professionalism that can be found here would be appreciated by all.

Thank you again for the amazing experience!

Review by Linda Lukins, May 24, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

Looking to re-enter the workforce, I recently completed the 180 hour on-line TESOL course with Global English on the recommendation of a friend (who has completed several courses with Global English).

I found the course to be challenging and stimulating and, drawing on my first career as an Infants/Primary teacher was able to complete the course with good results, drawing strongly on website links provided in the study booklets. Some of the finer points of grammar took a fair amount of research, and in retrospect, I would have saved time by emailing questions to my tutor. Phone calls would not have been an option as I was working from Australia and Norfolk Island (South Pacific)

The prompt and constructive feedback upon completion of each module was helpful and encouraging. The study booklets with the numerous website links and helpful advice will become valuable resource tools for my on-going career

I am now gaining practical experience in teaching English as a second language in an English for Life class run by a local church, as well as helping a Chinese girl at my own church. When I feel ready I will look to gain employment with my skills as a TESOL teacher

I would recommend this course to anyone wishing to embark on a career as an ESL teacher

Review by Kevin Hussey, May 4, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I wanted a change of career and decided to retrain and teach English. At the time I was working so, a four week intensive course was not practical. After researching the topic of online courses, I decided to undertake the 250 hour level 5 course. The course was challenging, engaging and good preparation for my current role.

Although a native speaker, I never studied grammar and was pleased with how the topic was introduced and developed. An important feature of the course is learning how to plan a lesson, examples, teaching listening or a grammar point. I appreciated the detailed feedback, highlighting the strengths and weaknesses of my plans. The course encourages you to think about the theme of classroom management; on this aspect the study booklets are a good source of information and again, detailed and thoughtful feedback on assessed work. Latter modules introduce other facets of language teaching and signpost additional sources, depending on your area of interest.

Currently, I am working and starting to apply what I learned to a classroom setting. The study booklets are well designed, feedback of assessed work is quick and detailed and, excellent tutor support.

I would recommend Global English to anyone considering a course to develop a career in teaching.

Review by Colin Mitchell Williams, April 7, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Hello, When I began the Global English TESOL course I had decided on a change of career. My skill set is based around the Horticultural industry and in my time in this profession I had given quite a few classes on the subject of horticulture, I had enjoyed them very much. Apart from my University degree and wanting a change I wondered what other skills I had that could be used professionally.Oddly I was stumped, until a good friend pointed out the obvious, “you speak English and people want to learn to speak English” she told me. I laughed at myself for not being able to see the wood for all of the trees and that day applied for the TESOl course.
The course itself has been challenging, not too easy, which I appreciated. I felt like I was learning, being stretched a little, but nothing was so difficult it left me stumped for an answer.
The course is set out in a way which builds upon each level, giving insights into methods of teaching English, materials, ideas and how to approach classes, making them interesting and fun for the students.
There is a lot of good advice, which also points out possible snags and pitfalls for newer teachers and how to deal with them; very useful for the future.The course also provides a wealth of web links to teaching materials for future use.
I found the Global English web site design simple and easy to use and never had a problem with it.
In regard to the course questions; my on line tutor Clare Welch told me when I had done well and also pointed out my weaknesses and aspects I had not considered in my answer. I appreciated her comments a great deal.
All in all I have enjoyed the course immensely and now that it has been completed I feel confident, with a firm footing to progress in my new career as an English teacher. I will be applying for the next level in the teaching course and who know probably the level after that.
I would recommend the TESOL course to anyone.

Thank you Colin Mitchell Williams.

Review by Janet Grimmer, March 29, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

As a qualified and experienced teacher I was very impressed with the content of the course. The notes were very detailed with up to date ideas and links on You Tube that supported my learning.

The written comments and feedback were very detailed, concise and useful and the marking set the “bench mark” for the expectations of a TEFL tutor.

The lesson plan template was easy to follow especially for someone that might not be used to planning lessons.

I am glad I used Global English (I had researched prior to signing up). There are so many courses …some offering very inexpensive options. The 20% discount was certainly a catalyst for me. I hope to complete other units in the future.

Thank You all of you! Those high profile and the admin staff as well!

Review by Elizabeth Leese, January 26, 2017

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I really enjoyed doing the Global English TESOL course. It gave me great insight into the way to teach young foreign learners English. There was a lot of advice and great resources in the content of the course including the tutorial videos which were very helpful. I found the course challenging and as I went further through the course I was able to provide my own materials in the lesson plans and expand my ideas, which I really enjoyed. It has definitely equipped me and I would strongly recommend it.

Review by Gavin Steyn, September 22, 2016

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I have just completed the 40 hours Total English Grammar Course, and I love the layout of the course. It is easy to follow, interesting and very interactive. It makes learning grammar interesting and gives you handy tips on how to teach grammar to your students. Each section has a lot oof good links which you can use for your English teaching career.The course is easy to navigate through and you can complete the entire course on a tablet or Ipad. I was able to complete the course in coffee shops as well as at home sitting outside soaking the up the sun. There is a menu screen on the dashboard, with the list of modules, sections and pages. This allows you to go back to previous sections with ease.
The course is also great if you need to revise your English Grammar.

Review by Marshall Shaw, July 4, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was extremely comprehensive in its structure, ease of access, support and relevance to teach TESOL in Asia. The course materials are detailed and wide-reaching for application to young learners to teaching adults. These materials will serve as a useful resource at any level of experience. The course tutor offered positive feedback and incredibly fast support, when needed.

Highly recommended!

Review by Annalisa, May 4, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I followed the 180 hours course with Teaching English to Young Learners and I have been really satisfied with my choice.
The tutor I was assigned answered my questions promptly and exhaustively.
The material was really interesting and helped me a lot to understand how to interact with children and improve my approach in teaching English to kids and teenagers.
My course was divided into 4 parts and each part had an in-depth analysis of the grammar and the different ways to teach it.
This course encouraged me to analyse myself, my way of teaching and it gave me a lot of inspiration.
I will take into account all the advice given to me during the course and I am even planning to enroll for the 250 hours Diploma in TESOL.

Review by Emma Dunphy, April 18, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 33333

I’ve just completed the 250 hour advanced course. The first four modules are focused on developing subject knowledge and provide interesting insight to the world of English grammar in a bite size breakdown. These modules help develop lesson aims and ideas and working with the fantastic feedback from tutors you can easily see your progress as you complete each module. The final three modules were the most ‘juicy’ for me. They introduce linguistics and key issues in the world of EF. Some of these I could easily use in the interviews I’ve had and have successfully secured three jobs in one week on the back of this and my other qualifications.
For me, this course sparked an interest in a language I use everyday and gave me some of the key tools to teach it.
Can’t wait to get stuck into the teaching!

Review by Rebecca Evans, April 18, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I’ve just completed the 70-hour TESOL course and I found it to be excellent.
I was a little reticent going into it: would it be a legitimate course? Would it be too hard? Would it actually teach me anything??
I had a very positive experience with regard to each of these areas (and more besides!). The course was definitely legit, with a clear teaching programme, consistent assessment and an ACTDEC certification. It wasn’t too hard nor too easy, it challenged but also taught what was needed to rise to the challenge and gave plenty of materials to refer to and use. It taught me a lot, some things I hadn’t even considered, and it gave me a very practical and useful approach to teaching English effectively. I feel much better equipped to go into a classroom now and a lot more confident, with a host of activities, lesson plans and resources.
I had a great rapport with my 1-1 tutor and really felt that the level of competence and professionalism was second to none.
It’s quite rare to have an excellent online experience these days, but this is the real deal!

Review by Anne-May, September 3, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I’ve just completed the Teaching Business English course at Global English. It’s my second course (I’ve also done their Level 4 180 hour TESOL course with Young Learners three years ago). I chose to come back to Global English as their courses have proved extremely enjoyable and so valuable to my teaching methods (I teach in France to individuals and very small groups). In this Business course I learnt about how to understandand approach the specific and functional needs of the business student, how to construct and plan over a longer period a business course (one-to-one), using a textbook, and how to plan lessons for a very specific theme or style/function of English for commercial purposes. This has given me the confidence I lacked before, to start teaching adult business people. And it has also given me even more techniques and methods for organising and presenting the material for my learners of all ages. The references given by Global English to further research and to great sites are also very helpful, a great way to find and be inspired for new material for teaching. My tutor, the same as my first course, was very quick with marking my work – I appreciated that, as I had limited time – and the comments were pertinent, always encouraging, helpful and justified in pointing out any improvements.
I can imagine, if you are looking for a good qualification, that it’s difficult to make the choice amongst all that is on offer! I can really recommend this Global English course if you want to get practical advice, supportive teachers and constructive feedback and get yourself well-prepared for an esl teaching career and let’s be honest, for a good price (you’ll earn it back in no time!). All you need is here!

Review by Penny Giorgi, August 30, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Keen to rejoin the working world after having children, I decided to look into teaching English. I chose Global English as they appeared to offer a thorough online training and I was unable to travel to study. I started with the 20 hour grammar course as, despite being a native English speaker, I was aware I had little understanding of English grammar apart from nouns, verbs and adjectives. I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot about grammar. I then enrolled in the 180 hour Teaching English One-on-One. This course consisted of four very detailed modules and I was required to produce a number of lesson plans as part of the assessment.

Through both courses, I had the same tutor who was encouraging, friendly and very helpful. My modules were marked quickly and returned to me with pertinent and helpful remarks. The course content was very relevant and I feel has given me the confidence I need to embark upon a new career. All dealings with the staff of Global English have been professional and efficient.

Review by Irina Sarkisyan, August 20, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I have a small teaching experience as I was working as a teacher’s assistant while I was a student. During that time, I truly enjoyed practicing teaching and I decided to take TESOL course to become an English teacher. I chose Global English and recently completed the 250 hour level 5 TESOL course.
The course was excellent. The modules are designed extremely well. It provides with the basic skills and knowledge needed to be an ESL teacher and gives an insight into the challenges that you as a teacher can face.
I feel confident and sure that I will be able to become a good ESL teacher.
If you would like to teach ESL, I highly recommend taking the courses at Global English.

Review by Emma, July 7, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I have just completed the Level 4 150hr TESOL course and I have thoroughly enjoyed it.
I have limited teaching experience and was looking for a course that would provide me with the knowledge and information that i need. I came across the Global English course while researching lots of other ones. I chose Global English as they provided what seemed to be the most in depth online course.
I found the course to be very informative, interesting and entertaining and it gave me a lot to think about. I appreciate the english language a lot more that i did previously! Each module was extremely helpful and the practice lesson plans really made me think.
I found some of the topics a little harder than others but the tutor feedback was very helpful and soon had me back on track again.
I am now in the process of applying for my first job, hopefully in Japan, and the Global English course has given me a lot of confidence and plenty of useful lesson plans to begin my career.
I would definitely use them again.

Review by Jonathan Shaw, June 29, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

I studied the level 4 150 hour TESOL course with the specific intention of teaching English overseas.

I found the course challenging in parts but I received excellent help and advice from the tutors. I have recently got a job teaching English in China and feel that my Global English course and qualification made finding a job relatively easy.

Review by Evelyne, June 27, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I’ve just completed the 180 h TESOL Level 4 with Business. I’m very pleased with the course. Although I’ve been teaching English for a few years in France, I didn’t have any TESOL qualification. This well-structured course has enabled me to have a better understanding of the teaching process. The course addresses all issues including grammar, syntax, vocabulary building, pronunciation, language games, pair-work, correction, communicative activities and so on. In fact, the list is quite long and the additional research resources quite useful to further my learning.

The modules were challenging in parts. However the guidance and feedback was second to none. I appreciated all the comments as the aim was not only to get a good grade but also to get feedback and advice from an experienced teacher. So thank you for all that.

I’m likely to go on to Level 5 with Global English as they have proved to be a very good ACTDEC accreditated organisation. Also they are ISO 9001 registered, which for me shows that they care about quality.

Review by Belinda, June 1, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Although I am a qualified teacher I found the content in terms of teaching English as a second language to be quite useful. Many of the activities were challenging and helped me to understand the new concepts.

Review by Lynda Ziemba, March 28, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

While searching for a certified TESOL course in which to enroll, Global-English stood out for me because of the professionalism of their staff. When Global-English staff were contacted before I enrolled, everyone with whom I spoke was courteous and took the time to fully explain the course requirements.

After enrolling, I found the course modules to be extremely well organized, interesting, engaging, and also challenging. The resources offerred within the course modules went above and beyond my expectations, and any and all questions I had in reference to coursework were immediately answered.

I am extremely grateful for the ongoing support and encouragement received from all involved with the Global-English organization, and would highly recommend the organization to anyone seeking a positive learning experience.

Thank you for everything!!

Review by Justin Nugent, March 24, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

After spending a considerable amount of time researching online TESOL courses, I decided to study for my level 5 certificate with Global English. Having read many good reviews, my expectations were very high; and I can honestly say that in every single aspect the course has lived up to its fine reputation.

I found the course layout to be of a particularly high standard, each module being structured in such a way that made the whole studying experience hugely enjoyable. Furthermore, the course content was clearly presented and easy to follow with excellent use of helpful internet sites to aid the student throughout their study. Overall, it was a very in-depth course which covered many areas of teaching, not just grammar, but addressed some more complex areas such as linguistics which I found to be most beneficial.

One particular element of the course which I found to be most impressive was the correlation between the study booklets and the answer booklets; it is obvious that a lot of time and effort has been put into ensuring that the students’ learning experience is an extremely pleasurable one; the study booklet in particular being especially well thought out in its presentation.

I must say that I was extremely pleased with the help and support provided by my tutor throughout the length of the course and I always felt that I was able to ask any question no matter how trivial it seemed. Upon receiving each marked module, I found my tutors comments to be extremely encouraging and never negatively critical.

I am pleased to say that I have benefited immensely from this course, the knowledge that I have gained will undoubtedly be most useful for when I start teaching in the classroom. I thoroughly recommend this course to anyone who wishes to embark on a career as an ESOL teacher or to any existing teacher who wishes to expand upon their knowledge.

Review by carolyn friant, March 20, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I followed the 150 hour level 4 TEFAL course.
I have been working as an Englsih teacher for some years, but have never had any formal training.
The layout of the course has alreay been eplained by others.

I found the course was really good as the basic grammer is explained, as even when one has been teaching for a while there are often points of grammer or structures one is not quite sure how to explain. In the course there are ideas and help on how to explain things to the students.

There is guidance for creating effective lesson plans, on subjects that are found evryday in class. this means that toy can actually use these lesson plans aftewards in your lessons.

The feedback was really useful. The comments were very helpfull and constructive.
If you get stuck or need extra help you can get in touch with your tutor, and the reply comes back quickly, and is always helpful.

The course also covers all aspects of dealing with the class, the ayout, discuipline, etc,, in fact the course really covers evrything you need to teach English an Englsih class.

I was so pleased with the course I am now thinking of doing their 1 to 1 teaching module

I also did the teaching practise weekend, it really was great. The instructor was brilliant at explaining and demonstrating things.We were able to put into practise the things that we had seen. and again the feedback was constructive and usefull. It was very intensive with a lot packed into the weekend..
I would recommend theses courses to anyone who wanted to get ahea i teaching English.

Review by Joe, August 27, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

I began looking into TEFL courses when I seriously began thinking about teaching in South Korea. As I had to fit it in with my studies at university, I felt like I had to settle for an online only course- and after reading many reviews of other sites I felt I was settling for a far inferior TEFL course.

That was until I found out about Global English. I stumbled across an article in The Guardian which led me to their site, and boy am I glad it did. Although the price was slightly higher than the other courses I was looking at, now I’ve finished my course with Global English I can confidently say that I feel like the higher price is well worth it. Many complaints I read about other online only courses was that they didn’t feel challenged enough or that they weren’t much more than common sense. With my 120 Hour TEFL Premier Course I felt like I had been challenged and made to think about things that I wouldn’t have considered if I hadn’t taken a TEFL course. I feel like I could now explain some of the more complex areas of the English language as well as plan a lesson comfortably. Lesson planning is something that is certainly emphasised in this course, and after preparing an EPIK application and other interview preparation, I can say that it was worth making countless plans as I can now make a solidly structure, flowing lesson.

As well as good course content, I was astonished by the friendliness of the staff and how quickly everyone I contacted replied. This ranged from the initial enquiry email to each and every question I sent to my tutor (each student is allocated a personal tutor). I would also like to commend my tutor for her extremely quick marking of my modules- most times they were returned within a day, sometimes they were returned on the same day I submitted them! Each piece of coursework was returned with helpful and insightful comments to further my understanding, or to provide a different take on something. I found the feedback to be an extremely useful and vital tool, especially when it came to improving my lesson plans.

Overall I would highly recommend Global English if you are thinking about taking a TEFL course. Although I only have experience with the Premier Course, I’m sure you’d find the same high standards in the other modules (many modules are actually designed around teaching in a specific country). Global English even help job hunters by providing a link to a job board, which is again another very helpful tool in any prospective teacher’s belt.

Review by Alison David, May 7, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I completed my course (180 hours with Business) earlier this year (2014) whilst in the middle of moving from Australia to Italy! I found work quite soon, and my first job was teaching for a week at a Liceo (high school)! I was slightly terrified because I’d had little teaching experience. But I used my notes from my course, planned my lessons well (a major part of the course, thank goodness!), and launched into one of the best weeks I’ve ever had at work.

I am now a freelance Business English teacher in Milan – which was my goal when I started the course.

Global English provides good course material, great ongoing support and WONDERFUL tutors. Assignments were marked and returned well before the promised date, with lots of comments and critical review.

Highly recommended.

Review by Zubeida Sharif-ali, April 16, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I recently finished doing an English language study course at a nearby college and wanted to teach English to people who can’t speak the language because I myself am not an English born speaker. I wanted to continue learning how to teach english at my college through a CELTA course but it was too much money and I have two little ones so I couldn’t go into the college everyday. My friend told me about online studying and how I could study when I wanted to making it easier on me because didn’t have to travel much. I went hunting online and came across the global english site. The price was nice and it had a lot of good reviews so my husband told me to give it a go. I decided to try the 120 hour TEFL course and since completing my course I haven’t been happier. The tutor was friendly and very helpful and made me feel comfortable enough to seek help from him. The course was challenging but doable. I learned a lot and the study booklet that was given with every course was easily understandable. I really enjoyed the course and look forward to hopefully continuing in the same field or even to start teaching. This course has opened up a lot of possibilities for me and I can’t wait to explore them and see where I will end up. Im very thankful for the global english team and my tutor for their support in getting me through.

Review by Jonathan Pang, April 13, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Having recently decided to undertake a career in teaching EFL, I was surprised at the number of courses widely available online. However, based upon the reviews and reputation of Global English, I decided to study the 180 hour TESOL with one-to-one course that they offered and I was delighted in my decision to do so.

Global English specialises in providing top-quality distance-learning opportunities for students and for me this enabled me to study at my own pace and leisure. Upon receiving my modules, I was impressed by the attractive and engaging course-content. Each module carefully highlighted the key methodologies of teaching and grammar needed. I found this to be stimulating when compared to conventional textbooks – there was a certain Global English charm to the teaching and I thoroughly enjoyed the various uses of multimedia at my disposal.

Throughout my study, I was greatly assisted by my assigned tutor who was always attentive and supportive to my needs. I cannot stress the world-class level of support I was given, not only from my tutor, but also from the entire team. As I handed in each module, I was delighted at the quick response from my tutor, who always returned my coursework with full annotations/comments within 24 hours. The comments were particularly useful and I felt a sense of progression with each passing module.

The modules were well-written and balanced in terms of difficulty and workload. The exam questions not only tested grammatical knowledge but also provided an outlet for me to be as creative as possible in my lesson plans – an aspect of the teaching that I greatly enjoyed.

Overall it was a challenging and rewarding experience to study with such a brilliant group and even my post-study liaison with the Global English team was fantastic. I would highly recommend Global English to anybody considering a career in EFL teaching.

Review by Peter Bigge, December 19, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

Global English offers a wide variety of Tesol course options with flexible online study. The course I chose – 180 hour LEVEL 2 TESOL with
Business – is divided into four modules of similar time lengths. As someone with seasonal work commitments, I found this particularly useful as I was able to study and sit the modules in my offseason.
Parts of the course were challenging for me – particularly those requiring the creation of lesson plan material and many of the grammar sections. However, studying at home – own pace, time – allowed me the flexibility to fully research and develop these aspects.
The course is resource rich with the very good Global English study notes, supported by guidance help for some questions. In addition to this there are numerous recommended text book references and links to useful tesol website links, including viewing teaching practice on youtube.
My Global English tutor marked, corrected (with the addition helpful comments) and returned all of my modules within 24 hours – affirming my efforts and a great incentive to continue on!
Distance learning requires self motivation and good planning/study time organisation on your part. Global English gives you invaluable introductory advice at the start of your course and although you are studying alone, you know you have the full professional support of the Global English team just a phone call or email away.

Review by Jon Fields, December 18, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Specialization is the key to success in the ESL game. I realized this even back in 2003 when I first decided to get my teaching qualification and head off to another country to work as a teacher.

After I completed my basic 40-hour TEFL,I thought to myself that this didn’t seem to be really anything special and that I needed that ‘something extra’ that would give me a bit more training and make me more attractive as a potential teacher. I also wanted to get into doing corporate training and working with adults. So,having a certificate for Business English was the way to go.

I remember researching a few online providers(there weren’t many back in the day)and Global English was very attractive in both price point and course duration as I was on a limited budget and timeframe. I took their 30-hour Business English certificate course and felt that it was money well-spent. My tutor was very helpful and encouraging and the course was never overwhelming at any point even though I had never ever done this type of training before.

My certificate paid off as I was able to use when I worked for a large multi-national as Business Writing instructor. Even now,in my current job,I have begun to teach Business English courses. Many companies are now also specializing in order to attract more customers so being able to meet these new requirements is a must if you want to stay in the game.

I have nothing but good things to say about Global English. Their product and service are excellent and I recommend them to anyone who is serious about advancing their career in ESL.

Review by teresa o'hara, September 11, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

I recently completed two courses with Global English and thoroughly recommend them to any one who is considering teaching ESOL/TEFL or requires a course to fulfil their Continuing Professional Development (CPD). I qualified as a teacher many years ago and have taken various teaching courses during this time. I can honestly say the courses offered by Global English are as professional and challenging as any university course I have taken (I have three British University awarded degrees) The online courses are not an easy option but they are stimulating and enjoyable. I actually felt I was learning something valuable. To anyone who is considering taking a course I would say ” Go for it! You won’t regret it!”

Review by Carolyn Walton, July 19, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I chose Global English because I wanted to be able to take a qualification from home and in my own time. I did a Level 2 TESOL course and included an add-on for teaching Business English.

The course was easy to access and the materials were well written. The assignments were challenging and struck a good balance between theory and practice. I found producing the lesson plans particularly useful and the feedback from my tutor was excellent.

Being an online course, it did not include any practice at teaching itself, although for me, it wasn’t so important as I already have experience of training.

In all, I really feel that I learned a lot from the course and certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to get an affordable, yet credible TESOL qualification.

Review by Jacqueline Readwin, July 18, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have enjoyed, and benefitted from, the Global English courses which have complemented my minimal English teaching experience here in France.
The materials which I have received online from Global English have been accessible and easy to understand and I will certainly refer to them in the future. I had an excellent online tutor who sent helpful comments and suggestions when I had completed my assignments. The tutor’s response time was also very good.
I would recommend the Global English courses to everyone who wants to teach English. A thoroughly fulfilling and enjoyable course.
Jacqueline Readwin

Review by Alan Hood, February 7, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have lived in Saudi Arabia since 1988 but only started teaching just over ten years ago. This was by chance through a friend of mine, but I was immediately hooked and loved it. I therefore decided to look for an online course so that I could carry on teaching. I looked at quite a few different companies but decided to use Global English because of their friendly and professional approach. I also liked the look of their courses and the fact that I could also learn about teaching business English as well. During the course they were very helpful and the feedback I received was excellent.

Since then I have taught English to company employees, developed specialised English courses for oil rig workers and now teach full time at a local private school in the Eastern Province of Saudi Arabia. When I was going through employment process for the school, Global English were very helpful in sending through the necessary documentation.

I would certainly recommend them to anyone who is thinking about learning how to teach English as a foreign language.

Review by Mark Briceno, January 17, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I choose the online route for my 100-hour TESOL certificate. Unfortunately, I first went through one of Global English’s competitors that essentially took my money, granted me access to useless modules, then ducked my emails an other enquirers about the course. I decided to do some research on the company, and found nothing but negative reviews about the school and the staff, and found they were not even accredited. Sham on me for not researching the school before hand.

Thankfully, my next move was registering with Global English. The modules, instruction and professionalism were a breath of fresh air for someone coming from a bad experience. The staff was conscience of my tight schedule, quick to respond to my emails and overall very helpful.

My biggest concern leading up to the class, and as I prepared to teach abroad, was creating lesson plans. Thankfully my course put an emphases on writing effective lesson plans, and I now view creating engaging and valuable lesson plans as one of my strengths. The course ebook is very useful and provides links to many sites that provide effective strategies and activities. I have the course ebook downloaded to my hard drive, and I will continue to use it as a resource.

Overall, Global English has a professional staff that is genuinely concerned with training its students to be effective English teachers. The staff is hands on, and always quick to respond to emails about the course and otherwise. I have recommended Global English to a friend already, and I fully endorse the the school.

Review by Janelle Johnson, January 17, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

If you are on the fence, I would highly recommend that you take a course through Global English. I completed the Level 2 150 hour course, and I absolutely loved it. They did an excellent job explaining how teach all of those tricky grammar rules. (Some of which even I didn’t know!)

My tutor was very helpful in making corrections, and offering further suggestions for lesson plans, activities, etc. She always returned my coursework within a day or two, and as I was pressed for time to get this course completed, that small act really stood out.

I found the course director, and other staff I communicated with, to be willing to go above and beyond the call of duty to help me when I needed it. Their devotion to their students needs cannot be matched.

I noticed some typos in a few places throughout the text, but nothing that impeded understanding. I did think that if they are trying to teach English they might look a bit closer at their editing, but that is the only flaw I have ever found with this company. It is one that can be easily dismissed.

To sum it up: I am highly impressed with the quality of service that I received with Global English. I learned a great deal about the language that I speak (and British English too). I feel confident that I am fully prepared to teach English to speakers of other languages.

Review by Kim Horner, January 16, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Delighted with all aspects of the course! The feedback after submitting each module has been fantastic – informative, encouraging – and very quick! I have loved every minute of the course. I look forward to completing more courses in the future and will definitely be using Global English again!

Review by Patricia Harrison, January 12, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I am a qualified language teacher with a CELTA Certificate and a Master’s degree in TESOL, and I have trained ESL teachers, but I still found it helpful to undertake five Global English specialist courses. Over several years I have completed the courses in Business English, TEYL, Teaching One to One, Grammar, and Phonology. These have opened up further employment opportunities and have served as a good form of professional development and updating.

I have found each course content rich, well organised and practical. The study booklets are valuable resources in themselves, and there are numerous links to websites where students can obtain more information or download teaching hints and materials. I have noticed some good developments in the use of online instruction since I took my first Global English course, but the basic format remains straightforward and does not require a high degree of computer literacy. Modules are downloaded and most of the work can be done offline, a benefit for those working in areas where Internet access is intermittent or expensive. The basic materials are PDF study booklets and Word documents in which to type answers.

Assignments are marked quickly and competently, with helpful feedback. Use of many multiple- choice exercises facilitates speedy marking. The only problem I noted was that occasionally a question could be understood in more than one way or an alternative answer was possible, but the marking template made no allowance for this. This was a rare occurrence and and of no great concern. It could generally be corrected with slight rewording.

These flexible online courses are ideal for busy people. Students can start whenever it suits them, proceed at their own pace, and submit assignments when they are ready, without the stress of deadlines. Adequate time is provided for completion, with an option to purchase extra time if needed.

I have recommended Global English courses to several friends and have no hesitation in endorsing them here.

Review by Rose Edney, January 11, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I decided to embark upon an online training course as I wanted the convenience of being able to study from home at my own pace and I have not been disappointed.
I had already been teaching overseas students for many years and had a degree, but no TESOL qualification.
I have now completed the TESOL with TEYL level 2-which was a really good course The study booklets are all so very helpful and carefully written there is such good guidance within them which avoids so much worry and confusion about what is required. You can- and should keep them and refer back to them regularly as you teach. There is plenty of well thought out guidance and references which lead you into a confident frame of mind to approach your answers. Those who are new to teaching will find sound advice about classroom management and teaching teenagers.The excellent and incredibly simple way of having a login and message system within the Global English website is a fabulous way of contacting your tutor if needed. The staff and tutors are all very friendly and since the Global English tutors mark your work so quickly and thoroughly the service is astoundingly personal.Having passed the level 2 in March 2011 I signed up for the level 3 course, and again found all the study booklets very helpful, and it was again a joy to challenge myself and learn more. The feedback is always expert, thorough,specific and relevant, and very swift! I passed the level 3 course in May 2012 I have now also just this week passed the 30 hour 1:1 certificate which was also very enjoyable and useful.
My initial concerns about managing the technical side of a distance course were unfounded. Some students may need to make arrangements for observed TP, but I was already in a teaching post- so it has not been an issue. Having been a language teacher and tutor since 1989 I can assure you that anyone who signs up for a Global English course will learn a lot- and get outstanding value for money!
Rose Edney 11.1.13

Review by Mary from East Sussex, January 11, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I am a Celta qualified teacher of English as a foreign language and provide homestay tuition to all levels including preparation for Cambridge examinations. I have taken the English Grammar, Business English and Young Learners courses through Global English and have found them to be extremely useful as an aid in my own tuition. The course materials were very ‘user friendly’; marking was speedy with informative feed back. I would strongly recommend Global English to anyone wishing to further their own subject knowledge and as an enhancement to career possibilities.

Review by Carol K., January 11, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

Why TESOL?

I started teaching English in 2007, giving private tuition to a student who was preparing for her school exams. I soon realised that I enjoyed teaching and could make a career of it, if I obtained a teaching qualification.

Why Global English?

I chose Global English because I wanted a UK-based course provider that offered accredited distance learning courses. The Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 courses offered by Global English are accredited by ACTDEC, the Accreditation Council for TESOL Distance Education Courses. Accredited courses have met certain standards, and are regularly reassessed by ACTDEC. On completion, graduates receive two certificates: one from Global English, and the other from ACTDEC. The ACTDEC website also has Student Pass Lists which allow potential employers to check that your qualification is genuine.

Level 2 Course:

I completed the 150-hour ACTDEC Level 2 Certificate of Educational Studies in TESOL in February 2008, and started teaching classes at my local community college the following week! The Level 2 Certificate is an initial teaching qualification; it is suitable for teaching worldwide and is the most popular course with Global English trainees. Some employers may require a degree in addition to a Level 2 Certificate.

Advantages of a Distance Learning Course:

There are no local educational establishments offering TEFL/TESOL Certificate courses where I live in southern Germany, but there is a demand for native English speakers with teaching qualifications. I didn’t have the opportunity to do a four-week residential course away from home, so the best option for me was a distance learning course. This gave me the chance to study at my own pace whilst balancing work and family commitments.

Making the Most of your Course:

In order to complete a distance learning course, you need self-discipline to be able to study on your own. The times given for each course are really the minimum: you could complete the Level 2 course in 150 hours, but to make the most of it you probably need to spend longer reading around each subject. If you’re interested in the subject and want to be a good teacher it’s worth the extra time and effort, and you are likely to get better grades if your written work shows that you have given it some thought.

Disadvantages of a Distance Learning Course:

The main disadvantage is that observed Teaching Practice isn’t included in a distance learning course. This could be a problem for trainees who have no teaching experience. Some course providers offer additional TP courses, which are often residential and away from home. Towards the end of my Level 2 course, I did some TP with a friend who had been teaching for about 15 years. It was useful to see what a real class was like and to have a go at co-teaching for a couple of lessons.

Specialist Short Courses:

After completing the Level 2 course, I signed up straight away for the 30-hour Certificate in Teaching Business English, a short special interest course for qualified teachers. This is a useful addition to an initial teaching qualification as Business English Teachers are in demand in many countries. I have taught a couple of intensive Business English courses, and found the teaching resources included with this Global English course to be very useful.

A couple of years later I did two other short courses with Global English, the Certificate in English Grammar course (20 hours) and the 30-hour Certificate in Teaching English to Young Learners. The grammar course was very good as it helped to consolidate and improve my knowledge of English grammar. There are several online TEYL courses available, but the Global English TEYL course also includes teaching teenagers, which is my particular interest. For the past three years, I have taught an intensive course for 15/16-year-old school students preparing for their oral exams, and this course gave me a good insight into teaching younger learners.

Doing short courses with Global English is a good way to continue your professional development. Just reading a book isn’t the same because you don’t have to answer questions, don’t get any feedback, and don’t always remember the subject very well!

Level 3 Course:

In September 2012, I completed the 100-hour Level 3 up-grade course which boosted my teaching qualification up to the prestigious 250-hour ACTDEC Level 3 Certificate in the Theory and Methodology of TESOL. This higher-level certificate gives the holder Accredited Teacher Status, and the entitlement to use the post-nominal designation Cert.(TM)TESOL. If you want to teach in higher education, a degree or graduate diploma is essential, and the ACTDEC Level 3 Certificate is recommended.

Global English Courses:

All Global English courses include a study booklet (in PDF format) for each Module of the course. Level 1 and 2 courses have four modules, Level 3 has six modules, and the short courses have one or two modules each. The study booklets are very informative, and included book recommendations and links to several relevant websites. Each study booklet has a matching answer booklet (Word document) in which trainees write their answers to the questions. Each answer booklet has a variety of tasks ranging from short questions to detailed lesson plans and analysis of different teaching methods. The Level 3 course also includes a longer written assignment. The tasks are relevant, and the lesson plans are based on real teaching situations, so they can be used in the classroom afterwards. Completed answer booklets are uploaded to your personal tutor in a secure area of the Global English website, and marked answer booklets are returned within three working days.

Global English Tutors:

I found the tutors at Global English to be very professional, and the service was outstanding. Course work was marked quickly, and queries were often answered the same day. All my tutors were highly qualified, had a wide variety of experience, and were very supportive. They always gave plenty of helpful comments when marking my written work. All trainees’ written work is marked by real tutors, and you will receive written tips and suggestions from your personal tutor; there are no online quizzes as with some other course providers.

Would I recommend Global English?

I already have! A friend of mine did the Business English course, and was equally impressed with the quality of the study booklets and the standard of service that she received. To date, I have done five distance learning courses with Global English! Is that not a good enough recommendation?

Please note: I didn’t do any teaching practice with Global English, and I didn’t use their job placement service or, so I could not give a star rating for these.

Carol K.
January 2013

Review by Inderpal Sagoo, December 27, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 55555

Please note I didn’t complete a job placement hence why it is left at no.1

To get right to the point, the course is the best thing I have undertaken in a long time. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to widen their horizons in teaching. I would also like to mention that the staff at Global English were exceptional in providing a world class service that helped me to succeed at a high level.

I will be going to teach in the Middle East for 1 year shortly and can’t wait for the opportunitiy.

All I can say is ‘Get In Touch With Global English Today’ or
you’ll regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If anyone has some information to share on teaching Saudi Arabia let us know.

Review by Mr Lea Hook, December 19, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Earlier this year I went on a 4 week holiday around South Asia, I visited Cambodia, Vietnam & several parts of Thailand. When I was out there I met up with some friends who are teaching English in schools & private tuition’s. They are having such a great lifestyle and are really enjoying what they are doing out there, getting so much job satisfaction. So when i returned home I was a little envious of them and thought this is something I really want to do, but always put myself in doubt as I haven’t studied since school and that is over 20 years ago.
So when I got home I looked into it and I saw so many sites & companies doing TEFL / TESOL courses. So it all got confusing. Some courses you see are really cheap, but you really have to take your time and speak to the companies first. This is what I did, I had a really good shop around & I had around 10-15 questions to ask before I chose which company & which course I would be studying. As soon as I spoke to Global English I knew they were the right choice. They were so helpful in finding me the right course what suited my needs. I really wanted to do a CELTA course, but I was put off by the cost & the time the course takes. So Global English set me up with a 250 hour online TESOL level 3 certificate in the theory and methodology of teaching English to speakers of other languages. Its at a great cost and the contents is everything you need to start teaching at a good level.
With this course you are covering everything from lesson plans, grammar, teaching skills, reading, writing and speech production. You have 7 modules to complete and when you finish each module you hand it in to your tutor for marking and you get it back marked within 2-3 days. The marking by the tutor is there for your own good, my first module was poor but I improved dramatically as the course went on.
When I was in the middle of module 1 i was thinking is this really for me, I had my doubts about me being able to do it, all my school days were coming back to me, I really thought it was going to be difficult, but my online tutor really encouraged me & helped immensely. I learnt so much and i was so keen in getting through the modules. You can work at your own pace and there is no pressure at all. The content is easy to follow and you have lessons on youtube to watch and there is plenty of information online.
Firstly I am so glad I did this course and secondly I am so glad I chose Global English. They are a really friendly company who only want to see you succeed successfully. There courses are also accredited by ACTDEC, not many other companies offer this and this is in the price of the courses, ACTDEC are reconised globally.
I am planning on taking another course with Global English in the new year, I would totally recommend them to anyone thinking of doing a TEFL/TESOL course in the near future.

Write a Review of Global English TESOL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.