Review of CIEE – Council on International Educational Exchange

With CIEE’s internationally recognized online TEFL Certification Courses, you will:

* Engage in interactive learning with classmates and tutors in virtual discussion forums, conferences, and chats conveniently, via computer, tablet, or mobile phone, without the hassle of commuting
* Have the flexibility to choose the level of certification that best fits your needs
* Become prepared to work in another culture – a skill highly valued in today’s job market

A nonprofit, nongovernmental organization, CIEE is the world leader in international education and exchange. For more than 65 years CIEE has helped thousands of people gain the knowledge and skills necessary to live and work in a globally interdependent and culturally diverse world by offering the most comprehensive, relevant, and valuable exchange programs available.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Combined TEFL CoursesOnline TEFL Courses
Length: Short Courses (40-100 hours)Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Courses: Teaching Young Learners (YL)
Additional Features: TEFL Internships and Volunteering
Overall Rating4.794.794.794.794.79
Course Content4.694.694.694.694.69
Practice Teaching4.214.214.214.214.21
Quality of Feedback4.694.694.694.694.69
Lesson Plan Guidance4.554.554.554.554.55
Instructor Competency4.974.974.974.974.97
Job Placement4.224.224.224.224.22
Facilities/Resources4.214.214.214.214.21
Are you the owner of CIEE – Council on International Educational Exchange? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

29 Customer Reviews of CIEE - Council on International Educational Exchange

Review by Marissa Kramer, January 3, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Really thorough and informative material and easy to navigate website! Took up more of my time than I expected, but it was worth it. The online course, in addition to Destination TEFL, has made me feel sufficiently prepared for teaching in the classroom.

Review by Alissa Balano, December 22, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I found the CIEE TEFL course very useful and believe it provided me with practical and valuable training. I feel much better prepared to begin teaching having taken this course.

Review by Gillaine, November 30, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 44444

This is as good as the TEFL program could possibly be. I found some topic so dry, like cultural diversity but the main content of grammar and what to expect in the classroom is good. I think things like cultural diversity are hard to teach and more of something to be assessed in a different cultural. More grammar would be nice!

I did not like peer reviews. Remove that as apart of the grading because we are all going through the same course to know who is doing it properly and who isn’t is the instructors duty. Hard to assess something you’re currently learning.

Review by Whitney Hubbell, November 3, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was very organized and thorough, and helped me to learn what I need to know in order to be an effective teacher of English as a foreign language. The content is interesting and informative and is broken up into reasonably-sized chunks. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in working as an ESL/EFL teacher.

Review by Simone, September 16, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

CIEE’s 150 hour course provides valuable theoretical and practical knowledge necessary to start teaching English as a foreign language. I am very glad I took the course because I feel much more prepared to start teaching English. I never noticed or was bothered by the online format. I never felt isolated from my teacher or my classmates. My favorite parts of the course were the written discussion forums and the weekly live tutorial sessions. My professor was very accessible, and would respond quickly to my questions.

The course is quite fast-paced. There are two deadlines per week. So, although you can complete the course material on your own time, there is no time to slack off. Indeed, there is a ton of material to process. There are ten units. Frequently, review is mixed in with new material. Now that my course has ended, I am grateful that I can still access all of the power points for another three months. I will definitely need to keep reviewing all that I learned.

The practicum is very useful; I’m glad that it’s a requirement. It is really up to each student to look for a practicum for his or herself. CIEE helps a little.

Review by Katherine Pace, August 18, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I thought this course was amazing! Just the right thing to prepare me for the classroom. Unless you have an education degree already, I think this should be mandatory before going abroad to teach with CIEE!

Review by Caitlin Roland, July 12, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Wonderful TEFL course! It was well worth the time and effort that you must put in. It will be so helpful in my new teaching position in Spain. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to receive their certification. You will be well prepared in any English teaching position.

Review by Chauncey Grossley, May 23, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I would have to say that the course itself was extremely educational while also fun – which is not a word I normally use in the context of online courses. The course content was paced relatively well – although some areas felt like they could have used more variety in the way units were presented – some lessons did a very good job of varying between Read-Only lessons, the Voiced lessons, Videos, and interspersing quizzes throughout, but some were heavier on Read-Only, which was *faster* to complete, but less impactful in how well I learned them overall.

The practicum requirements were fair and easy to accomplish, although it might have been worth recommending getting students right off into looking for Practicums in case their departure times were soon, or their schedules too busy.

My instructor was phenomenal and cared tremendously about getting back to us and hearing our own feedback during the course.

I ultimately did not go for the job placements that CIEE helped get me in contact with, but the men and women responsible for helping me prepare CVs and other materials to help interview with schools were incredibly helpful and responsive, and I would recommend this program to anyone.

I can only speak to the quality of resources the online course offered, which were many and invaluable, and I intend to use them and review many of the going forward.

Review by Nicole, May 11, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

The course exceeded my expectations in almost all respects. The only thing I had an issue with was the dashboard used. The materials were not always compatible with Mac software.

Review by Frank Davis, May 11, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 33333

THERE NEEDS TO BE a break, a week long break, at some point in this process. This would be to give those still in college a rest from 10weeks of excruciating work loads. Not to mention this stuff gets very dry and boring so a week off should help. I recommend before or after week 6.
Also, I was hoping to learn more about teaching than I did. You don’t tell us where or how to begin teaching English, i.e.(grammar, vocab, sentence structure) that was not explained. I was overall not disappointed but not hugely satisfied by this $1000 course. And as of 05/11/16 when I’m writing this, I have yet to recieve my placement.

On a brighter note, the grammar lessons were helpful and great review.

Review by Peter Herceg, May 6, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Before this course, I wasn’t aware how much thought can go into developing a teaching method that will best suit the needs of the students. This course has opened me up to a new perspective and provided plenty of supporting materials for my reference in the future. I am greatly appreciative, and will highly recommend this course to others.

Review by Claire LeMar Sadof, August 6, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The course was very helpful. There was a lot of repetition but some of it was unnecessary. Also sometimes the online quizzes marked questions incorrect when they were correct.

Review by Joel Bailey, July 23, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Overall I think the course will be very beneficial in the future. It has given us guidelines to follow as a teacher and is helpful not just for EFL teachers but any can benefit from the class.
Pros: the course gives many ideas of how to introduce a lesson and also shows how to teach many types of learners.
Cons: the course is very long and it should go over the structure of verbs in the English language more and how to teach those to students. That was done partially but I think more about that needs to be covered.

The course was helpful and will certainly push me towards future goals and give me more confidence as a teacher.

Review by Lauren Rios, July 22, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have really enjoyed my experience with this online TEFL course. I was very impressed with the online tutorials each week, they were very helpful in preparing me for the upcoming assignments and communicating with other students in the course. I felt like I was in actual classroom with students and a teacher. My online tutor was very supportive and helpful during the entire course. Each online tutorial was very structured and organized with the teacher’s input and open-discussion with us. I was very fortunate to have found my 20-hour Practicum with an amazing teacher and very hard-working ESOL adult learners. Both of these experiences I will take with me in my future TEFL career.

Pros: Online Tutorials were very helpful
Structured module Lessons with practice quizzes
Make the grade quizzes
Written assignments

Cons: I needed more background information on the grammar sections was a little bit challenging but overall it made do more research and practice on my own.

Review by William Harris, July 22, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

The TEFL program was an awesome experience that allowed me to learn both relevant content, discuss with my classmates, and draw on the wealth of information offered by my tutor. I will teaching English in South Korea in August and the training and support that I got through the CIEE TEFL program will be invaluable. Thanks so much CIEE!

Review by Matthew Lichtenstein, July 9, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 33333

The course is a great resource. I was not an education major in college and do not have formal classroom teaching experience. This course provided me with a great base of information to start teaching. The content provided is practical and presented in an interactive manner which I think helps for better retention. Aside from some technological frustrations with the platform I thought it was great experience with a very positive and helpful tutor.

Review by Rachel, July 8, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 33333

I took this course as the ‘optional’ certification before teaching in Spain (also through CIEE). Overall, I think it was well worth the time and effort and I would definitely recommend taking it. The course was very informative and has made me feel prepared to begin my TEFL career! The best part of the course was our awesome tutor who had a ton of TEFL experience and always gave great feedback and advice.

Review by Dan Brown, June 10, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

This has been by far the best experience I have ever had from an online course. From day one, CIEE kept in touch with me and let me know when things were going to happen, when things were due, and what (more or less) to expect from the course. The interaction with the tutor is easily the best part. Some of the information in the modules seem a bit too basic, and I think the course could easily be reduced from 10 weeks to 8 weeks without any substantial loss of content, but these are really just minor quibbles. By the end of the course, I was sort of wishing it would keep going and that I could interact more with my fellow students and the tutor. I’ve already recommended CIEE to one friend who asked me about the experience. I told them that it was worth the price, for the content you receive and the support you get from CIEE. This was overall, a very positive experience and I feel like it will be money well spent.

Review by Erica McAllister, May 26, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

This was a very comprehensive and well-thought out course. I enjoyed the many different ways in which the information was presented, and I think that the course did a good job of testing us on the material.

Review by Heather, May 13, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was very well organized. It required a considerable time commitment, but in the end resulted in me feeling well prepared for working in the field. Although distance based, the instructor created a feeling of community and I never felt alone. The weekly tutorials gave me a chance to speak with the other students and discuss in real time the different topics we had been learning about throughout the week. There were more resources provided than I could explore during the course, however I have them saved for future use. Overall, this course was an excellent source of information, practical application, and reflection.

Review by George Bevan, April 29, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This was a truly brilliant course I’d recommend to anyone with an interest in getting TEFL-certified. Perfect learning curve, great feedback, a tutor who was with me every step of the way and the flexibility to do all this at my own pace. My favourite thing about the course is the way you get to build bonds and develop friendships with your peers throughout the ten weeks; in this way it feels a lot like a real-life education and made it all a joy to be a part of. I really feel so much more confident about teaching now than I did before I started. It’s given me everything I need to be a great teacher!

Review by Jayson Ito-Adler, April 28, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had an overwhelmingly positive experience in the CIEE TEFL certification course. I think it’s impossible to feel 100% prepared before your first year of teaching, but CIEE has given me the knowledge and resources to make sure I succeed in the classroom! I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to become TEFL-certified while simultaneously maintaining a demanding work schedule because the online format allows you to work at your own pace throughout the week.

Review by Stephen Barry, February 10, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I found the CIEE TEFL course to be a great asset in my ability to teach a foreign language. I enrolled in the course this past summer, and it was completed entirely online. The online accessibility was great, and important for me because I was in the process of moving across the country. The website was well designed, and functioned great which is the most important part of an online course. The material itself was very thorough, which having no prior teaching experience was much appreciated. Jenna, a staff member was always available to contact and was quick to reply to any and all questions. The only drawback was that some of the feedback to assignments felt a tad generic, and not personalized but this was only a minor facet of the overall program. As a whole, I would (and have) recommended it to friends. Great Tefl program.
-Stephen Barry

Review by Anna, February 10, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

This course really helped prepare me and help me gain the confidence I needed for teaching abroad. I enjoyed our close-knit tutorial group every week and our instructor was very experienced and knowledgeable. She was very helpful in guiding us and giving us feedback for our graded projects.
The 20-hour practicum was very rewarding as it helped me hone in on certain aspects of teaching that we went over in the curriculum. I left to teach abroad the week following my practicum… It was a bit stressful getting the practicum arranged so I would recommend that future students start on that early! The time commitment is worth it and I’m glad I did it in preparation for teaching in Thailand!

Review by Jennifer Green, February 9, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

This course was quite good and I would definitely recommend it to those looking for a TEFL certification. It is difficult with an online corse to get the in-class practice and feedback that you could get from an in-person class, though the practicum does help with this. I felt that I gained a lot of useful information from the course, especially when it comes to lesson planning and in-class activities.

Review by Paris Mongo, February 9, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

Overall the TEFL course was a great foundation that helped prepare me for teaching abroad. The online tutorials were very informative and helpful. I enjoyed getting direct feedback from my tutor. My tutor was very knowledgable and was very clear in expectations of assignments. The online tutorials helped answer questions and also helped to share ideas with peers.
At times the online tutorials had technical difficulties but the staff worked promptly to correct them and designed a newer more efficient system before the course was over.
This was a great course and I am very pleased with the framework it provided me with.

Review by Erinn Snoeyink, February 3, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took the CIEE TEFL course in the summer of 2014 before I would begin my first teaching experience abroad. I feel that what I learned in the modules was extremely valuable for my experience. There were a wide variety of activities on the discussion boards and assignments that kept me engaged with what I was learning. The discussion boards also gave me an opportunity to talk with the other students, and our tutor was eager to talk with us as well. Her feedback on assignments and quizzes was also timely and helpful. At the end of the course, we were given tips on how to build our resumes and find good jobs, which I will use if I need to look for work in the states. There was also a discussion forum dedicated to the twenty-hour practicum that we were required to complete, and the instructor was available to advise us on this matter. However, I think it would be helpful if the instructor would somehow communicate with the schools once the students find them, even if it is a brief phone call or email. I was perfectly capable of bringing the papers that needed to be filled out and telling them why I was there, but I think it would have been helpful if they could have also heard from the instructor. Nevertheless, this was an extremely useful course overall and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to teach English to non-native speakers.

Review by Louis De Francesco, January 12, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Overall I found CIEE’s TEFL course to far exceed my expectations. At first I was hesitant over the idea of completing an online course as I had never done one before but I found it to be just as useful as any traditional course which I had taken in the past. I loved the online tutorials, and the teacher was both motivational and knowledgeable. I learnt a great deal about teaching methodology for TEFL from the course as well as had a great chance to review English grammar. I am now currently in Spain, as CIEE was able to place me with Training Express in Madrid and feel that I have more confidence as a result of having taken the course. The teaching practicum was useful as well. It helped me realise that I truly enjoy teaching other’s even if there is no financial incentive involved. I highly recommend the course. =)

Review by Kenzie, December 30, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The CIEE TEFL online course was great.

I was able to interact with my online peers and instructor easily. My instructor provided me with specific feedback. In addition, at the end of each lesson there were additional links and resources to check out if I wished, which I appreciated.

PROS
Lessons were straight forward.
Peer & instructor feedback.
Additional resources provided if desired.
Variety of lesson formats (video, readings, audio, quizzes, etc.)

CONS
Grammar portion can be a little tricky if you don’t have much knowledge and aren’t going to do extra research/practice on your own.

Write a Review of CIEE – Council on International Educational Exchange | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.