Review of CCELT Online TEFL

CCELT Online is a distinguished 100-hour TEFL course. It’s the only stamp you need on your passport to travel and teach the world. The Center for Communication and English Language Teaching (CCELT) offers a 100-hour internationally recognized TEFL certificate that provides you with the skills and qualifications required to teach English overseas. Get TEFL certified at your own pace from anywhere in the world with CCELT Online; accessible from your laptop and tablet. Included in the course is industry leading international job placement services which will help you secure access to ESL placements around the globe. Enroll in CCELT Online today and get ready to teach the world. To find out more, visit our website where you can download an information brochure.

Special Offers

$395 for CCELT Online TEFL

CCELT is committed to providing an effective online approach to communicative language teaching. Save $100 with code: tcr

Courses Offered

Type: Online TEFL Courses
Length: Short Courses (40-100 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Overall Rating4.144.144.144.144.14
Course Content4.234.234.234.234.23
Practice Teaching3.243.243.243.243.24
Quality of Feedback3.323.323.323.323.32
Lesson Plan Guidance4.234.234.234.234.23
Instructor Competency3.863.863.863.863.86
Job Placement3.293.293.293.293.29
Facilities/Resources3.863.863.863.863.86
Are you the owner of CCELT Online TEFL? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

22 Customer Reviews of CCELT Online TEFL

Review by Nivedhidha, March 18, 2017

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Hey,
I thought this course was a great choice. I enjoyed it to large extent. the module layout was well done and the pace was just nice for me. I liked a few modules like lesson planning, teaching grammar and alternative resources. As young adults, we often forget how we learnt english. So, this course has been a good support and it brought me back to my classroom days. it made me think of how i adapted the english language and how i can teach a group of students now. It amazing to see how games and activities play a major role in classrooms irregardless of age.
I also liked how the course gives importance to the teachers’ professional development and not just focus on students’ learning. The tools for developing will come in handy and i like the idea of having forming support groups.
Areas for improvement would include having more example lesson plans and worksheets on the module.
I definitely feel more confident about teaching and well I am proud to have a new skill now.

Review by Dayna Roy, February 9, 2017

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would highly recommend The CCELT TEFL course to anyone looking to teach overseas. I have completed my bachelor of teaching primary prior to doing this course and still believe that it has provided me with more extensive skills that I did not already know. It is specifically tailored to acquiring the skills needed to teach english as a foreign language in a foreign country. It is truly done at your own pace and frankly anybody can do this course and pass. Well worth my money and something that I think will look great on my resume.

Review by Holly, February 6, 2017

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 22222
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I took the CCELT TEFL course because I did not have time to do an in-class practicum required by many TEFL course. Also CCELT offered the course for pretty cheap. However, the course itself has a lot of flaws. Often when the course references handouts or materials you’re supposed to have access to, they do not exist. There are also a lot of grammatical errors and pronunciation errors in the class materials, which is ironic given that this is a course all about teaching English. I would have liked more practice preparing lesson plans. Furthermore, the tests and quizzes often asked questions on material that I had never heard about, which was frustrating. I’m not sure I would recommend CCELT unless you just need a paper saying you have a certification but you have a background with actual experience.

I cannot speak to the job placement or practice teaching services offered because I didn’t use any such services so I don’t know if they are of high quality or not.

Review by Kim Nguyen, December 19, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 33333

I find that the course is valuable in presenting the basic background and knowledge for teaching English to both adults and children. I had difficulty completing some of the sections because the system seems to hang on specific pages.

Review by morgan slattery, October 30, 2016

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

See poor scores on the bottom three.
Questions are poorly written.
I think the course should go over more aspects of teaching grammar.

Review by Evan, October 26, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

I feel i learned a lot out of this course. Being a full time college student while taking this course was difficult however, i feel this take precedence over college at my point in life. TEFL will open up doors that most people in my position wouldn’t think to try. i cannot wait for my future job prospects and teaching english to kids and adults around the world. Thank you IVHQ CCELT.

Review by Luis G, July 25, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

The course provided me with a valuable point of view of how to teach. I´m sure teaching is a challenging experience, but at least now I´ve got an idea.
I would only like to have more references and more content in the section of relearning english, mainly for non native english speakers but also for people in general it could be useful to review deeply the correct use of language before teaching it.

Review by Ashley, June 14, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I thought this was a good course to brush up on my knowledge of teaching and the overall English language. It had a lot of helpful tips about culture shock, teaching abroad, and teaching all ages of learners, in general. There are a lot of good things coming from this course. One thing I wish there were more of, however, is practice in actual teaching and lesson planning (with added feedback). Overall, this was a great course!

Review by Sarah, February 9, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 33333

I got to know this course via International Volunteer HQ website as my initial aim was to do some voluntary work overseas. I hoped to take a teaching job after completing this course as a practical way toward my aim. The course itself is recommendable in a word. Especially it covers substantial content of teaching methodology and lesson planning which is so informative and helpful.
It could be appreciated if the course would provide detailed examples of case analysis in teaching.
The handouts and materials for downloading are gradually decreased with the course progression.
And further, the course feedback in mid-way is not enough; there could be an online platform for trainer and trainees as part of this course for instant training experience sharing, this is also a tool of learning & professional development while currently the course learners can only obtain other learners course experiences after completion of this course and through course reviews.
Finally, thanks a lot for the knowledgeable CCELT team and the course! Wish I could use the course knowledge for teaching practice soon.

Review by Jo Townsend, February 3, 2016

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 44444

I completed the online TEFL course and found it was a great introduction and preparation for me to teach English overseas. I had already completed some volunteering teaching English overseas so was valuable to assist in lesson plans etc for my next experience.

I found the first 3-4 units models referring to written material and not really adapted correctly for online and also experience a few issues with incorrect lessons/units loaded. Given that the Customer Support did respond in an efficient manner and fix the problems.

I think it would be beneficial for feedback when completing the Classroom check-ins and more handouts. I noticed a lack of any handouts in the later part of the course compared to the beginning.

Review by Caroline Estel, December 12, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Very useful and insightful!! If you are reading this review and are considering the benefits of this course, you should know that you will learn every insight of teaching abroad. This course not only teaches you how to plan lessons accordingly, but also how to go about the whole process of teaching abroad (paper work, how to find a job, useful sights) JUST DO IT!!

Review by Andy, September 18, 2015

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 22222

Content was average, more personal feedback would’ve been nice.
i didn’t like the fact that no one was in their offices about 4 or 5 times I called in need of assistance, took quite a long time (2 weeks) to “mark” the ONLY assignment in unit 5.
Overall I do feel more confident going overseas, but I don’t think I’d recommend this course. I do expect better communication and personalized service especially after shelling out 500 bucks.

Review by Martha, August 8, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

A useful course that has made me feel more prepared for when I teach in a classroom with students who speak little or no English. However, it would be more helpful if the check-up were given personal feedback and some of the handout wouldn’t download. There was plenty of information about different aspects of teaching English as a Foreign Language, including information about the practicalities of going abroad to teach.

Review by Kristine Chen, June 30, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 44444

Very insightful and informative. The voice teaching this online course was calm even. I appreciated how the content taught us like we were new and I am. Didn’t use jargon words which was easy to understand

Review by Armando Wunsch, June 28, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

For me, an experienced English teacher, the course helped me to review everything I saw in the classroom and also gave me new tools and material to work on with my students here in Brazil and outside.

Review by Madison, June 12, 2015

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

This course was very thorough in explaining what to expect in a classroom abroad. The amount of English language review was not extensive, but it did cover the main topics and tenses. Overall I felt that I learned a lot taking this course about teaching and expectations of working abroad. The only issue was that the course does not let you go back through a section once you have completed it, unless you are willing to start over, which was a little bit of a hassle, but it did not affect my ability reap the benefits from this course. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking for a course for teaching abroad.

Review by Teresa, May 10, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

The online TEFL course was a great introduction and preparation for me to teach overseas in just a few months. While I missed the practical component, I’m no stranger to the classroom and I look forward to putting the course’s great ideas and concepts into practice soon!

Review by Wilson Medina, April 23, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

CCELT’s TESL course helped me prepared to become a competent teacher. I was an English teacher back in my home country Philippines and the whole course provided me the skills and qualifications needed to teach ENGLISH here and abroad. Thanks to my instructor who never failed to give us the best classroom techniques needed in the learning process. What a fantastic experience to be a part of this comprehensive fascinating course. Special to Nicholas Crowe for his never -ending support. THANKS A LOT CCELT TEAM…

Review by William Lanno Wehrens, April 22, 2015

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

I believe this course was good. The instructors were knowledgeable and they will prepare you with many activities and lesson plan guides

I think there was not enough practical teaching time to practice. We should have done more mock classes to practice. We only did one.

However it was good enough and they helped me with my resume and finding a job, as well as providing reference letters. I have now been living and working in China for two years thanks in part to this course.

Review by Jonathan Cela, November 19, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

There were two things about the CCELT course that really stood out in my mind. 1 – the whole thing was very student-centric, so I was forced to think about my lessons and the learning process from the student’s perspective based on their language levels. 2 – there was a LOT of grammar review, that I definitely needed. I feel I have the right knowledge when answering questions in my classes instead of answering with “that’s just the way it is!” It’s a really comprehensive course and definitely worth it!

Review by James, January 24, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I’ve just taken ccelt’s online course and thought it was fantastic. Although I couldn’t really practice teach, I did have an opportunity to disuss situations with their staff, and really felt more prepared for my current teaching job.

Overall, high marks all around for ccelt’s online course. Thanks guys!

Review by Catherine, January 14, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took this course last May. It took place at my university (Ryerson) so it was really convenient. The course itself was great! The only thing I would say could have been better was if I got to practice a little more. We did tons of group and pair work (which was great) but I only got to actually practice teaching for a half hour. I still feel way more prepared than I did before. What I really appreciated was how their placement coordinators helped me to find and apply for jobs in Korea. I was really overwhelmed at first but they helped me gather my documents. I must have emailed them 20 times to ask about my criminal record check, and they were so helpful! I FINALLY got a great offer and now I’m just waiting to have my flight itinerary issued.

I was really pleased with my experience with the CCELT course and I am so thankful to everyone who helped me!

Write a Review of CCELT Online TEFL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.