Review of TESOL-direct

tesol-direct-logo

TESOL-direct.com has been offering high quality TESOL/TEFL courses by distance learning for the last 20 years. We are based in Birmingham and all of our tutors are very experienced with years of teaching and training in the UK as well as a range of other countries including Tanzania, Zambia, Oman, Uganda, Malaysia, Japan, USA and China.

Assessment is through assignments and candidates can work at their own speed. Personal tutors provide comprehensive feedback on candidates’ work and this is an important element of all of our courses. Candidates have 12 months to complete their course, although most complete within 3 months.

Teaching practice options are available.

Free English Grammar Guide.

We offer TESOL (150-hour and 110-hour), TBE and TEYL courses.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Online Courses
Length: Short Courses (40-100 hours)Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Courses: Teaching Business English (BE)Teaching Young Learners (YL)
Overall Rating4.64.64.64.64.6
Course Content4.64.64.64.64.6
Practice Teaching44444
Quality of Feedback55555
Lesson Plan Guidance55555
Instructor Competency55555
Job Placement2.52.52.52.52.5
Facilities/Resources4.24.24.24.24.2
Are you the owner of TESOL-direct? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

5 Customer Reviews of TESOL-direct

Review by Debbie Nicoli, March 21, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This was a clear and well thought out program.
I had been enrolled in a TESOL course at a college and had spent 3 months wading through the books they had advised me to pre read, but one week before the course started it was cancelled. As I had set aside 6 weeks to study I searched on line and found TESOL-direct.
By comparison TESOL-direct was so beautifully written, well thought out, with logical progression, it was a pleasure to complete.
I have been helping foreign speakers with English for years when on holiday but now I have lesson plans and real confidence to take this forward as a career.
The thought that has gone into the preparation of this course shows dedication and real understanding of how to become a good teacher.

Review by Inger Tveite, March 17, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 44444

I feel that I have learned a lot from this course. It has been especially useful to me that I was able to do some teaching work at the same time, and so had the opportunity to put into practice some of what I was learning. The text books I received will be useful for reference in the future. I enjoyed the course and will miss it!

Review by Elyna Choi, March 15, 2017

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I enrolled with TESOL Direct and was very happy about it. I got my diploma in 6 months. Lessons are well developped, it gives you many keys and teaching methods. Of course, you also need to do some research on your own to go further in your reflexion but in the end, you’ll have many tools and ideas in hand to start as a English teacher.
My tutor, Paul Simmonds, was always available and attentive to my questions and guided me well all along my training period. His feedbacks were very detailed.

Review by L. Snell, March 15, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

The online TESOL course was very interesting and informative, and I particularly enjoyed being able to work through the modules at my own pace. The module guides were accessible and clearly structured, so I was able to follow the topics and complete the tasks to monitor my progress. The module assignments were both challenging and thought provoking. I really appreciated the detailed feedback from my tutor, Paul Simmonds, which helped to further my understanding of the course content. I’m looking forward to applying for TESOL jobs to make use of my new skills!

Review by Anthony Wood, March 15, 2017

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 44444

General comments: Paul was excellent with his feedback and apart from assignment 3, the response time was brilliant. When I received the materials for block two there were pages missing, but this was resolved quickly. Only time will tell with the recommendation; because the real proof of the qualification is its value for obtaining work. Paul’s feedback was easily the most valuable part of the course, outstanding.
It is an online course so no opportunity of teaching practice. There was no job placement either. There is online resources but the printed materials were great and these formed the basis of my study ..

Write a Review of TESOL-direct | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.