Review of TEFL Online

TEFL online

TEFL Online is brought to you by BridgeTEFL, a leader in English teacher preparation with over 20 years of experience training students and teachers worldwide. We began by training teachers in state-of-the-art techniques and methodologies for our own language centers in the US, Argentina, Brazil, and Chile. Now, more than two decades later, BridgeTEFL offers four separate teacher certification programs and job placement in over a dozen countries around the world.

BridgeTEFL offers four internationally recognized certificate programs: the University of Cambridge CELTA, the BridgeTEFL Certificate, the Accelerated BridgeTEFL Certificate, and the TEFL Online. All four programs train graduates in the latest methodologies and skills necessary to teach English effectively in any classroom in the world. We also offer a separate international job placement service through TEFLJobPlacement.com.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Online Courses
Length: Short Courses (40-100 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Overall Rating4.684.684.684.684.68
Course Content4.824.824.824.824.82
Practice Teaching3.483.483.483.483.48
Quality of Feedback4.674.674.674.674.67
Lesson Plan Guidance4.644.644.644.644.64
Instructor Competency4.844.844.844.844.84
Job Placement3.643.643.643.643.64
Facilities/Resources4.434.434.434.434.43
Are you the owner of TEFL Online? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

49 Customer Reviews of TEFL Online

Review by Chanel, November 10, 2008

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 33333

I was actually in law school while I was taking the online TEFL course, so needless to say I already had a lot on my plate. However, the process was made very simple, and I was able to work out a personal TEFL work schedule, which seemed to always be compatible with my online instructor; who normally gave me feedback within twenty-four hours. Because of this easily accessible course online, I was able to finish within a few months, while in law school, and locate a job (before I even completed the course) with the help my job coordinator. Within in weeks of me starting my course, I had been placed in a position in Peru.

Overall, the process is simple, and it is well worth getting a job coordinator, unless you already have a position lined up.

I am very appreciative of the experience that I had in Peru, which was made possible by the TEFL online course.

Thanks!

Review by Mike Switney, March 26, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I was already working as an English teacher when I began this course, and really felt like I was doing pretty well. However, after just a few lessons, I began to see my shortcomings – especially with talking too much! Anyway, I also learned I am not necessarily an expert in many aspects of the language – and most importantly – learned how to improve. As far as the course itself, timewise, I was also studying full time, and the class was flexible enough that I never had any problems. Also, my instructor’s feedback was thoughtful and practical. All in all, this was a worthwhile use of time by a guy who usually doesn’t have much of it.

Review by Kevin, April 14, 2010

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 55555

This is a very good program, though I took the 120 online program and did not have any practice teaching. My biggest problem is that since I finished the program in October 2009 I have been unable to find a job. I am 52 and nothing was ever mentioned that age would be a handicap. Their job placement service has not been any help. If you already have experience teaching, this is a good way to become certified.

Review by Matt Ayers, May 12, 2010

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I am a TEFL teacher in South Korea. Even though I only teach high school English courses, I wanted to take my teaching to the next level. I enrolled in the 100 hour program. It helped me so much. Thanks to the program, I now have more ideas for games and activities, and I have actually been able to make classes more interesting and interactive for the students! I highly recommend this program for ANY TEFL teacher who wants to take their teaching to the next level.

Review by Nbugu Kenyatta, August 5, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

The online course provided me with the skills and knowledge I’d almost forgotten from being in a place teaching where you’re not always allowed to use these skills when teaching.But by taking the course,it certainly refreshed my memory to alot of things I hadn’t put into practice in a long time.If you’re a teacher and planning to return to the classroom,this would be a great place to start,provided you haven’t taught in quite some time.It’ll provide you with all you need,not just for teaching in a foreign country ,but certainly for any classroom you enter,it’ll definitely prepare you for things you will encounter in the classroom,rather foreign or domestic.I recommend this course to both newcomers and as well as thoses who’ve been teaching but for some reason or another wants to go back into the profession of teaching.
Good luck and enjoy the course,Mr.Kenyatta,peace!

Review by Deb Lira, August 8, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Excellent course. Loved my instructor, Terry Evans.

I’d recommend this course to anyone wanting a top notch program!

Deb Lira

Review by Mr. Kim Howard Robinson, August 26, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Dear Marisa,

I’m a proud and honored TEFL Bridge Online Graduate!

The vast amount of updated information (plus video) that I’ve received from this online TEFL course will always be a present and future educational treasure.

This online course was a tremendous assistance with a wealth of up dated materials and ideas in teaching ESF/ESL students world-wide. I’ve been surprised to learn new methods and techniques in teaching techniques and methods with each module providing outstanding ideas. The online TEFL course was full of rewarding educational surprises in each module and assignments.

I would recommend this course to anyone who wishes to increase their knowledge in teaching ESL / EFL students.

The Master Certificate 120-Hour TEFL Online Course is an everlasting positive brain energizer! Top of the Online Courses!

In Best Regards,

Mr. Kim Howard Robinson

Review by MikeyMilano, October 24, 2010

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Excellent course compiled in a very user friendly manner. High quality content with rapid feedback from personal tutor. Enlightening and enjoyable! I would be more than happy to recommend to all.

Review by Sheena, November 26, 2010

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I loved this course!
I loved how it fit into my life – I could still work and do other school on top of this, and then could complete this course in my own time.
I really learned a lot about teaching English, about teaching in general, and about myself.
I highly recommend this!

Review by Roulla Christoforou, November 30, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

It was a spur of the moment decision when I enrolled to do the course.
I never worked as a teacher, but for 6 months I was doing induction training and account card sales training for the staff of a large department store in the UK.
Three years ago I moved to Saudi Arabia where jobs are limited for women.
Having moved to Saudi Arabia a couple of ladies asked me if I could teach them English. I heard one of them talking about TEFL, and then out of curiosity I decided to research it on the net. I felt the need for a challenge and for brain stimulation at that time.
When I started doing the course TeflOnline.com (Educator) I thought that it was good but rather simple. As I progressed through the course however, I found it more and more interesting and challenging.
I enjoyed it as it was very informative; it explained everything in detail and emphasis was given on a lot of things that proved to be useful and very important.
This was not the technique that my teachers used to teach when I was at school.
It now makes me appreciate more the responsibilities and the role of the teacher in the classroom.
I put in a lot of effort aiming to do really well. I felt pleased and proud of myself since my efforts were rewarded with good scores.
My tutor’s comments were very helpful and encouraged me to carry on with the same enthusiasm. She was very prompt and I was I really pleased to have her as my tutor.
I would and have recommended it to other people (who are now keen to start the course).
I am now looking forward to doing the Masters when I next have some spare time.

Review by Karin, January 11, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I usually hesitate to give 5 stars for everything. Having been on the receiving end of survey feedback, I know that a 5 for everything is not that informative. I was very satisfied with this program, though, so the 5 stars are deserved! TEFL Online met and exceeded my expectations. Tutor follow-through was professional and prompt, I was very happy with the material covered and I’ve used many ideas from the course in my own English instruction.

The visual design of the website made it easy to navigate.

Review by Jennifer Hamblen, January 25, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I didn’t want to review until I found a job. Lo and behold, the first place I called here in Saint Petersburg, Russia, gave me a job on the spot because of my TEFL certification. The main need for them was Business English and I had taken that course so I was a shoe-in.

Definitely go for the whole 120 hour course because it impresses people AND gives you complete confidence.

I gave lower marks for Practice Teaching because it’s an online course so you don’t really practice hands-on teaching. And for Job Placement, through no fault of TEFLonline; I just didn’t use that service. They did send me open jobs, though.

This course is not easy. To do it well takes quite a bit of time and research. You actually have to learn. As is the case with every class, the more you put in the more you get from it. I recommend taking it very seriously and studying very hard because only then can you do justice to your students.

The interface is wonderful. I loved how many videos they have in the Modules. You don’t just read about the best way to conduct a class, you see actual classrooms in action. These were probably the most informative to me. Plus the “factoids” thrown in about English etymology. I loved that stuff!

BUT the very best thing about TEFLonline, for me, was Dean Psaras, my instructor. He was welcoming, supportive, tough, fair and wonderful. He expected many times more than I thought I had in me but I was determined to live up to his expectations. I hope I did so. :)

He also provided “off-side” tips on the best grammar sites, classroom politics, how to keep your head with unruly students, etc.

Speaking of which, simply the URLs provided in this course are worth the money. I have a vast wealth of info at my fingertips now thanks to TEFLonline. Think of it as five sets of encyclopedias.

The first place I called hired me. I think that’s a huge success story. And I’m 45, no spring chicken. I also have no teaching experience, though I know I can teach thanks to this program.

(As an aside, I’ve been hired as a “private tutor” for business executives in Saint Petersburg. So if you fear talking in front of a class of 20, don’t. There are places where you can teach only one person. In the school I now work for, the largest class I will ever have is six people. This is because native English speakers are hired as “polishers” here in Russia. Russians teach them the basics, then native English speakers polish their skills.)

Lastly, thank you TEFLonline! My life has improved vastly since I met you. :)

Review by Kar-Weng, Chan (Malaysia), February 14, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 33333

It’s never been easier to grab a recognized certificate from the U.S. unless you are affluent enough to make a journey to the west from a tropical country. If you’d ever vouched that you’re savvy enough to teach English, you might as well as show some evidence. First, go and take a university course. Second, go and live in an English-speacking country for some years. Then, your college employer might take you in. I couldn’t afford the aforesaid luxury of studying nor staying overseas but TEFLonline breathed life into my coffer of knowledge at a super-economic cost (cheaper than the advertised price). No doubt, knowledge knows no bound. I acquired some teaching knowledge from the well organized modules. I am now able to design a better teaching class as well as to expand my teaching knowledge to other subjects. My facilitator always gave me positive comments and I felt more motivated to do the assignments. In the grammaradvisor component, it helped clarify many other things that are not easily found in books. I must thank TEFLonline and I wish there would soon be an opportunity to upgrade my knowledge to the Bachelor’s degree level. I really enjoyed studying in such a leisurely way.

Review by Mick, March 8, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

As I was too late to take the CELTA course in Germany, I decided to try the Bridge TEFL Online course over 120 hours. It proved to be a good choice and good value for money. Ai who was my Tutor is a well qualified teacher and she provided excellent feedback throughout the course. I have not used the job placement service as I live in Germany, and Bridge TEFL do not provide employment opportunities there, however I was aware of that when I enrolled for the course.
If you are hesitant about doing this course, don’t be, its challenging and rewarding.

Review by Folake Sophia Orekoya, April 9, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I had wanted to take a CELTA course since 2000 when I lived in Singapore. I could not get to do the CELTA course The Bridge TELF online course fulfilled that dream. I enjoyed every aspect of the master certificate 120 hour with Business English,Young Learners Endorsement and Grammar Advisory all- in- one package. It seemed a lot to do initially but I was enthusiastic about completing the course. I am so glad that I took the Grammar course. It was an excellent teacher -professional development experience. I highly recommend Bridge TELF online course. I appreciate the effective feedback on the course from my supervisor.

Review by Sue de Lautour, April 10, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, although that’s not to say I didn’t have my nose to the grindstone at times! Four key points stood out for me:
1. The quality of the material and ease of navigation through the websites (this includes the grammar component).
2. The timely, supportive and detailed feedback provided by my tutor, Dean, who was approachable and personable.
3. The holistic nature of the course as it covered everything from ethnocentric ideas and culture shock down to the grammar. That is, it encompassed not just the theory of ESL teaching, but the realities of teaching as well.
4. The way learning was scaffolded through the stages of the course.
I did think the course would be quite difficult for somebody with no previous teaching background. However, I can also say that the high quality of the content gave me plenty to think about with regard to the teaching experience I do have (15 years teaching in New Zealand and 2 years Advising in the Middle East). I was able to use the contexts I had to relate to the material, but also gained increased understanding of my role here in the Middle East. So what I’m saying is that it still gave me plenty to think about.
While internet-based courses are not something I would normally have gone for I would thoroughly recommend this course.

Review by Riza Ramjohn, April 20, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

After I completed the course, I realized what an important role TEFL graduates play in the English as a second language world. I have recieved job offers from six different countries and have accepted one in Vietnam. There were 27 different facilities that had contacted me from Vietnam, so I had alot of choices, and I accepted one in a very poor part of Saigon. We all take English for granted as native speakers, and I have to thank TEFL for showing me, with their help and qualifications, how very important we are as teachers. I highly recommend doing all the endorsments, as I have, because they will greatly increase your chances in finding a job that you want. Finally, I give all my praises to Amy, my tutor, her advice, help and competency of TEFL was invaluable.

Review by Catherine Simonton, May 11, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

I looked at quite a few online courses before choosing this one, & am very happy with the course. I have taught ESL in Calif. for over 6 yrs., & still felt I learned a lot, as well as agreeing with the emphases in the areas I have the most experience. The videos were especially helpful. I’d recommend this course to anyone who needs an online course, though if you don’t have teaching experience actual practice teaching is very important!

Review by Ephrat, May 12, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

The 120 hours Bridge TEFL course is very good. I thoroughly enjoyed doing it and being challenged by certain aspects of it, especially the grammar. I found the website easy to use, the material is very good, comprehensive and accessible. The video clips very helpful and the additional resources very useful. I have not used Bridge TEFL to search for employment opportunities just yet, but it’s very useful to have this service. I was somewhat disappointed with the quality of the feedback on assignments; I was expecting more specific comments on the content of the assignments and ways to improve them rather than a general comment such as ‘good assignment, well done’.
All in all I would strongly recommended this Bridge TEFL.

Review by Laurie, May 12, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I did the 120 hour course and was very pleased with the quality overall. It was easy to navigate through the lessons due to such a user friendly set up. The course material was challenging enough to really make me work through issues from both the teacher’s and the learner’s point of view. I live in Brazil and have had several oppportunities to teach English, both to individuals and in classroom settings. I discovered quickly, though, that simply being a native English speaker, loving people and language learning is NOT enough to make you a good teacher of English! I loved this course because it has given me the tools to teach English well. I am confident that I am now much better prepared to teach English overseas…or anywhere!

The most helpful aspects for me were the lesson plan guides (as I have tended to be more “off the cuff” in my teaching style!) and the videos demonstrating actual classroom instruction. I so appreciate, as well, the wealth of available information on the internet TEFL site (especially the Grammar Advisor) which I can refer back to. I believe being connected now to others through the internet cafe, etc. will prove invaluable as I begin teaching again this fall in Brazil and will certainly come up against issues where I will need advice from more experienced folks!

Thank you, TEFL and my advisor, for a great course and experience!

Review by Stanley, July 10, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 33333

Bridge TEFL has been very helpful and convenient. It is easy to use and there is a wealth of information. I have learned a lot on my own time. Also, what is great about it is the module setup. Each module is divided into categories and within those, they are divided into subcategories. That style is really good, because it allows you to learn better in more details. A lot of aspects have been covered ranging from the standard listening, speaking, writing, and reading components to cultures, Young Learners, and Business English. I was very impressed with it, overall. I think any serious English teachers should take a look into this program.

Review by Ashley S., July 27, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was as intensive and information packed as I expected. My Tutor, Rex, was great and always gave prompt feedback and constructive criticism. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone wanting to be in a TEFL classroom. I also may be using what I learned to help adjunct instructors be more prepared if they have not had International students in their classes. Just knowing what I have learned has helped me interact with those who seek admission to the community college where I work. I took the 120 hour course and have reccommended it to friends and co-workers of mine.

Review by Cheryl G, August 19, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would definitely recommend this TEFL course. I appreciated the fact that I could work at my own pace and set my own schedule. My online instructor was very helpful and the feedback and grading was very prompt. The lesson plans that I prepared for this course I now use in the classroom. The Additional Endorsements were also challenging and beneficial. Thank you again Bridge TEFL!

Review by Karen, August 21, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I have had experience teaching sports and activities, but I wanted to do more… TEFL online gave me both great ideas and the knowledge needed to land a job in China. I finished my course in June, and my school is flying me to Shanghai in September. My tutor, Vera Bradford, was so helpful with all of my silly questions…thank-you Vera! As long as you can obtain some experience in a classroom (which obviously an online course cannot do), this course will open many doors for you. If you do your best to take the course seriously, you really can get more than what you paid for out of it!

Review by Len, August 26, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

Hi, I took this course this year even thought I had nearly 12 years of TEFL experience in Japan. This course confirmed a lot of what I know to be the latest in teaching methodology- ie the communicative approach. The course touched on more than just teaching, but a broad range of aspects that new teachers especially should heed carefully (for example, the unit on living in a foreign culture). I enjoyed this course because it confirmed that I was on the right track and also brought me back up to speed on the process of making Lesson Management Plans. I had been tending to make them up in my head, but this forced me to go through the process again. I highly, highly recommend this course for people who are new to TEFL and want a basic, but sufficient and broad approach to this interesting and fun line of work. I wish you the best in helping others learn a new way to communicate in this global village.

Review by Monica, October 27, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I do not have a background in teaching, but I live in a community with a lot of foreign expats who ask me for classes. My students have greatly benefited from my experience with these online courses. The administrative staff are also very helpful. You are never left out there in cyber space to fend for yourself, someone is available for you on every level (Thanks Willow).

Review by Rick Kavin, November 4, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

This program is excellent. The modules are well-paced and informative, the quizzes at the end reinforce key ideas, and the essays help the writer utilize the new information in a way applicable to the real world. My instructor, Vera, was fantastic. She graded assignments and answered any questions I had with extreme promptness, especially considering we were working together literally on opposite sides of the world. Her feedback was always encouraging and has certainly helped me grow throughout this process. Overall, I would recommend this course to anyone looking to teach in an EFL or ESL setting. It is invaluable.

Review by Umberto, November 4, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Bridge-Linguatec provided me with the best online course I could ever hope for. It allowed me to work and study at the same time. After completing the course I can definitely say that I feel ready to start teaching and help people learn English, thus becoming citizens of the world!

Review by Peter, November 13, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course is perfect! It was more engaging, enjoyable and in depth than I expected from an online course. My instructor, Terry, was awesome: quick, kind, and very thorough! The course material was excellent, the videos were superb and just like being in a classroom, really… I felt challenged to learn without being pushed, and the course was paced in a very well structured manner. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a 100hr TEFL certificate, especially if you already have some experience in a teaching role. A+++

Review by Ashley, November 14, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

TEFLonline as been an enjoyable learning process for me. I was applying for a teaching job in South Korea, but I would not have been able to teach in Seoul if I didn’t have a TEFL course completed. I began this course reluctantly, but I grew to enjoy learning new aspects of teaching that I never would have thought were important. The lesson plans were a challenge to make at first, but they were really helpful in jump-starting my plans for teaching in Korea, and I am grateful I had to do quite a few of those. Not only did the modules in TEFLonline have content about teaching English, but it also let me explore the difficulties I would face while teaching/living in a foreign country. Thanks to TEFLonline, I will be better prepared for any classroom and cultural challenges that lay ahead in my teaching career. Thanks!

Review by iain, January 17, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

The Masters course was just as expected, to the point and detailed enough assisting you in further understanding the ‘how and why’ of TEFL. Not simply what to teach but how. The tutor was outstanding which benefited my assignments and overall performance.

Review by Matthew A. Jeffers, January 26, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took the 120 hour course. I was everything that I needed it to be and more. The Grammar Advisor portion filled a glaring gap left in my education after college. It felt rewarding to finish this TEFL Certification course and have the certificate in hand.

This course is well worth your money and your time. Whether you are an experienced teacher or just starting out, this program will open doors for you around the world.

Review by Glen Lee, January 27, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I was on the verge of paying $1100 with a different TEFL program. However, I landed a job with English Program in Korea (EPIK) and my recruiter told me about TEFLONLINE.com. I was so happy that it was only $341! This online course is very informative and I learned so much in 11 weeks. I enjoyed the TEFL videos because the teachers actively showed their ideas in teaching the class. My tutor was on point and answered all my questions in a timely fashion and graded my essays accordingly. I’m a happy camper and would recommend this course to anyone who is on the brink of becoming an ESL/EFL teacher! I feel much more prepared as an ESL teacher and I will definitely utilize what I learned in this course to teach my students well. Time to embark on a new journey in Korea! Thanks TEFLONLINE! You guys are awesome!

Review by Michelle B, February 19, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

The 120 hour TEFL course is fantastic! It is informative and picks your braincells at times (especially Grammar Advisor). Completing it in less than six weeks while working was challenging but manageable. The videos and links to all things ESL are great additional resources and I will definitely use them once I start teaching in Korea. My tutor always gave prompt feedback and provided constructive criticism.
I recommend this course to anyone wanting to teach abroad; it is definitely money well spent! Thanks a million :D

Review by James82, March 6, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

The online course option is good for beginning teachers planning to teach in China due to the work permit issues requiring foreigners to get their Z visa in their home country. Taking the online course does not provide the practice teaching practice that would be helpful but in countries like China, Japan, and Korea you will get your practice. This lesson planning portions of the course were especially challenging and helpful. The grammar advisor portion (optional) is recommended (and very challenging) also. A great grammar refresher and user friendly. This course provides helpful video resources as well and many suggestions for classroom games.

The cost of the online course is a great value compared to an onsite course. Also, if you make a good effort in this course you will get a lot out of it.

I think the job placement portion could have more sites. I have found many great sites for my China job search that were not listed on here. More country specific info could be included in regards to job hunting although because they make a profit in job placement services they might not want to list sites that can do this for free.

I would recommend this course, having TEFL certification has helped me in job hunting.

Review by Mario Giuseppe Cutillo, March 9, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I was already teaching in a school in Naples when my director spoke to me about TEFL.
He recommended this online course and now I agree with him, if I should suggest an online course, this will be it!

Costs are really great value and the modules are very clear and helpful, also all support videos and materials are wonderful.

I’m very pleased of this course and I’m sure that it will grow up very high.

Review by Trina, April 30, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 33333

I would highly recommend using this online course for anyone who is interested in earning their TEFL certificate. It’s affordable and you are given more than enough time to finish your course. I completed the Master Diploma and have that under my belt as an Experienced teacher in Korea. The tutor I had was extremely helpful and gave me feedback immediately. I cannot say this certificate will give you a job immediately…I had the job before I had the certificate, but it will give you the tools that you will need in order to conduct a classroom.

I am so happy that I did the online course and you will too!

Review by Felecia, May 17, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did the 120 hr and it was extremely fun which also provided me with vital information, very flexible time, wonderful quizzes that portrayed on the key points and my time here was well spent. My tutor Amy, was wonderful, competent- answered all my questions at a reasonable time and graded my essays accordingly, also provided sensible criticism which now helped me tremendously in grammar and so forth. I highly recommend this course to anyone!!

Review by Joshua Cate, September 1, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 55555

I am already teaching in South Korea while completing this program and I have to say that it has helped take my teaching to a new level. While I am not tasked with many of the things the course describes, I am sure that I will be able to use a large majority of my skills as I continue to pursue opportunities on this side of the globe. The program was easy to get into and with the large amount of free time I have, I was able to complete the 120 hour program in the span of 6-7 weeks. This program comes highly recommended by me and already one of my friends has started he program. Thank you Bridge TEFL for this program and helping me increase my skills.

Review by Carsten Reinecke, September 18, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I was / am running my fully registered English Language Learning Centre in Hong Kong for already over 10 years, when I felt the need to “upgrade / up-date” myself.

I can only say that this online course not enriched my knowledge of teaching foreign language students, but most of all, it helped me to be a better guide for my students. It worked for their benefit.

Be prepared that the course takes serious efforts and dedication from your side.
The main modules may be challenging (but you can always confer with your online tutor, if in doubt; kudos to mine!). The proposed time frame is appropriate, realistic.

Personally, I found the ‘Grammar Advisor’, ‘Business Learners’, and ‘Young Learners’ endorsements the least stimulating, as they are basically ‘self-study’.
However, once you fight your ‘inner-daemons”, and conquer these supplements, you can feel proud of yourself (and you sure have learned and know a lot more).

All in all, I can only recommend this online course – it proves that you got what it takes to be a good teacher (and that you’ve got stamina)! Be prepared that you will have to dedicate a considerable amount of your spare / free time.

Cheers,
Carsten

PS: I was a bit ‘driven’ to complete this 120 hour course as fast as possible, and finished within 2 months. Maybe a bit in a rush… completed with an “A” though ;-) and do go back to the great, helpful resources provided in this course’s materials regularly….

Review by Frank T, November 12, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

The information provided in each of the modules seemed pitched at just the right level. It was clearly presented, detailed and comprehensive. Additional resources are available for deeper study.

I found the quizzes and essay questions appropriately challenging, requiring one to work very hard to attain a final grade of A. My tutor was excellent, very responsive to my questions and professional in every aspect.

There was no opportunity to practice teach as part of the online learning, but I can easily do that on my own as a volunteer in a language school down the street from my home.

Overall, I enthusiastically recommend this quality training. It provides an excellent foundation upon which to develop expertise — and it’s offered at a very reasonable price, making it an excellent value.

Review by Matt D, February 12, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Great introduction to the world of TEFL. The course was much more intensive then expected-full of great information and advice. Tutor feedback is quick and insightful. I do feel that on-site training is eventually needed, but this is a great first step/refresher. Overall, I was very pleased with the 120 hour course.

Review by susan bravo rodriguez, February 21, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

Overall I found the online course very good.There was lots of material provided and the tests were great. You couldn’t move on until you pass the end of the module test which means yu realy have to study the moule properly. The communication was very rapid and any problems sorted very quickly.Good job TEFL online!

Review by Anonymous, May 22, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took this course a couple of years ago (online) and it changed my teaching skills and knowledge dramatically. I enjoyed every bit of learning how to do my job better! I didn’t have ‘teaching’ practice directly from the course as it was an online course and I was already employed; but I lacked knowledge and confidence. Once I applied what I learned, it really helped me do my job better. I finally loved teaching! No more dreading another day in front of students… I took the intensive 120 hour course with grammar, business, and young learners endorsements. Wonderful staff, GREAT materials, and fantastic course overall! Plus, they really are accredited!

Review by Anonymous, July 24, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

This program seemed helpful, until I wasn’t able to receive my full hours for the course I paid to take. There is one section, Grammar Advisor, that apparently counts for 40 hours. I didn’t realize how important it was until the end, otherwise I would have been much more upset earlier in the process: I could not log into this section without paying an addition amount of money (starting at $95).
I sunk $650 into taking the course for this certificate, and ended up with something much less worth the money.
To be fair, the parts of the certificate I was able to access and complete did have helpful information.

Be Careful.

Review by Colin M, August 21, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took this course about 6 months ago and I am writing this review inside my hagwon (Korean private school) so I can confirm that it is accepted by most schools. I think schools will take most Tefl certificates as long as you spent a good amount of time on it. The course itself was great and pretty straightforward though it gets a little boring with the essays. You have a evaluator/guide that looks at your essays and gives advice which is great. There’s a lot of reference material. The final test is done through some other company which isn’t a big deal but it is tough. One thing I will complain about is the placement program. I thought it was included- It is NOT. They give you a lot of advice on finding a job and some good places to start, but they do not offer a free recruiting service. IMPORTANT: You should never pay for a recruiting service. I used Footprints Recruiting and found a great job. Its hit or miss, though, as not all jobs are good. Overall, a great course for the price. Definitely helped.

Review by Fadzilah, February 27, 2014

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 33333

I decided to take my TEFL 100 hour diploma from TEFLOnline after reading the reviews here and i can definitely vouch for the quality of the course! I managed to complete the whole course with an A grade within 3 weeks! So can you! :)

Pros:
- prompt response from the support team (but be sure to take note of the time difference!) for eg. the first tutor assigned to me was a lil slow in grading my assignments. i addressed the issue with the support team and within hours, i was re assigned to another tutor!

- Terry (my 2nd tutor) is really efficient! He’s quick to respond to my queries and assignment submissions which is good so that i can move on to the next module! he also took the time to guide me with my assignments!

- There are 12 comprehensive modules to complete, covering all aspects of teaching English as a foreign language. I thought it was gonna be an easy one but boy was i wrong! The course difficulty really builds up as you go along.

Cons:
- I wished they had more reading resources on their Resource Centre.. Currently, its mostly definitions and noting much. I got to head back to the library to get more info

- Grammar Advisor is tough. Period. hehehe.

Review by Tommy Hatcher, June 25, 2014

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I have just finished the 40 Hour online course as preparation for my teaching job in Korea.

I found the course to be useful as an overview of being TEFL teacher; giving you an outline of teaching practices/techniques and giving you practical hints and tips about how to deliver a good lesson. In terms of content…the videos were very useful and really brought the teaching points to life.

However, there was only 20-25 hours worth of content – and that was completing it at a steady pace.

Because I enrolled on the 40 hour course, you only have access to 7 of the 13 online modules that make up the 60 hour online course. I think you should have access to at least the first 10 modules to get your moneys worth.

Overall…a nice TEFL course but doesn’t really offer value for money.

I think the 120 hour course would offer much better VFM so if you have the time…go for that.

Review by Marco, July 13, 2014

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

This will be my first time teaching, i was inspired to teach English after living in London from June – December 2013, working in hostel during the french holiday season and meeting so many great people who travel to London to learn English, some stayed in London while others went back to their home town. The course is quite intense, there is alot of information to take in but it’s worth the effort. The course gives you everything you need to structure a really good lesson plan, and links to many websites for additional information. It’s very good value. I recommend it.

Write a Review of TEFL Online | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.