Review of TEFL International

tefllife

EFL International a non-profit organization has been providing TESOL courses, TESOL certification and opportunities for teaching English abroad since 1995. TEFL International provides a wide variety of practical English teacher training courses and certification for those qualified to teach English abroad. We also have job placement asistance and in some areas guaranteed jobs.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Combined CoursesOn-site CoursesOnline Courses
Length: Short Courses (40-100 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specializations: Teaching Business English (BE)Teaching Young Learners (YL)

Location of Courses

Argentina, Australia, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Nepal, Philippines, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, UK, USA, Vietnam
Overall Rating2.92.92.92.92.9
Course Content3.33.33.33.33.3
Practice Teaching3.753.753.753.753.75
Quality of Feedback33333
Lesson Plan Guidance2.92.92.92.92.9
Instructor Competency3.113.113.113.113.11
Job Placement33333
Facilities/Resources2.442.442.442.442.44
Are you the owner of TEFL International? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

14 Customer Reviews of TEFL International

Review by Domeman, July 30, 2010

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I did not rate the course, the whole operations seemed quite basic and focused more on making money.
The accommodation was “The Pitts” very basic and dirty.

The website made you feel that it was a well run professional operation but it was the opposite.
Bruce the CEO was a braggart and the staff seemed untrained.

Wasted my money but the time spend in Thailand away from the TEFL course was great.

Review by Jojo, August 3, 2010

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 11111

I did the Certificate in TESOL 5 years ago with TEFL International. I decided to do the four week course in the UK and it had to be one of the most unprofessional outfits I have ever come across. Not only were they quick to take the tuition fees from me (approx. £800-900), they were rude, unorganised and did not like being ‘challenged’ by students. One example was the group’s top student constantly having to correct the teacher with examples of sentence constituents, which resulted in the teacher belittling the student in front of others and initially failing her on the course.

I have just found out in the last few days that my TEFL International qualification is NOT accredited by IATQuO. I’m in the process of applying for a job and wanted to add some information to my CV on IATQuO. I made the discovery about the sham qualification when I visited the IATQuO website. My TEFL International certificate has the IATQuO logo and ‘unique’ teaching number, which I have now discovered is fake. Needless to say, the centre where I did my training closed down 6 months after I completed my course and the sign was vandalised.

Upon reflection, I should have done more research into TESOL courses, however it was my university’s careers service that recommended the course. They were obviously duped by the professional website and qualifications too.

My advice- keep well away from TEFL International. There are far more valid and professional courses out there.

Review by Chris, November 10, 2010

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I don’t normally give reviews on the courses I have done but I will say that the TEFL international course is a stressful 4 weeks.I learnt a lot but the course should be 6 and not 4 weeks ,
The time limit and to digest the material is poor. Just as I was starting to understand a topic we would move on.The 4 week course is just a boot camp that crams too much information that cannot be retained unless you are a experienced teacher. I am not saying that the training is not beneficial just too quickly learned.

Review by Julie, February 17, 2011

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 11111

The classroom didn’t have airconditioning,
They changed teachers several times during the 4 week November class.
There were dogs barking outside the open classroom door. The copy machine didn’t even do color copies, but that didn’t really matter because it was broken most of the time. Class times changed back and forth from one week to the next due to the fact the teachers were always changing.
And though the website hollers loudly about Guaranted Job Placement nobody who goes to their class gets hired anywhere.

Review by Chres, June 8, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took TEFL’s TESOL in Cebu, Philippines and I did enjoy the whole 4 week. I enjoyed the observed teaching practice and the center’s staff and trainer were all helpful and kind.
Though I am already a practicing language teacher when I took the course but I can still say that I have learned a lot in the training. It gave me more ideas in handling group classes from introduction activities to main lesson’s activities. I even recommended the program to my Mom who is also a public school teacher and to my friends who are in the same industry.
My friend who is an MA in TESOL and PhD in TESOL holder also gave a good comment on the material that we used in the training.

Review by Rose, June 8, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Although I have had more than seven years of teaching experience in an ESL setting, still, it feels different to acquire an internationally acknowledged certification such as a TESOL certificate. This, plus my passion for teaching, and the joy I get when I am the classroom facilitator, prompted me to enroll plus my previous boss’ financial help, I was able to do the first step at being TESOL certificated.

While I was on the course, the first week had topics that were fun and reiterated the importance of the must-do’s of teaching. The following week had given me the basics of grammar – which was quite a breeze for me! The final two weeks had tested my teaching abilities! But I was able to do all Observed Teaching practices with the nod of my trainers…… am I right, Miss Jacky?

The 4 week course was, I should say, intensive with the bulk of materials we have to read and the amount of course work we had to accomplish (success is achieved after hard work, right?) but the thought of being TESOL certified adds fuel to the fire – my passion for teaching, and the very thought of improving myself professionally! And with that said, I would not be where I am now, without the Guaranteed Job Placement the company offers to its more than 14000 proud graduates to date, which I could say, I am one of them! (said with a wide S-M-I-L-E on my face!)

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the course to any one!

Review by Duckman, June 9, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I took the TEFL International course in Thailand all the way back in 1999. It was an excellent course with amazing trainers. The Teaching Practice in real Thai schools was amazing. The building was a bit old but for Thailand, it was fine.

Review by Georgia Louise Kirby, June 11, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I really enjoyed doing this course, I especially liked the Foreign Language Project because I believe this helped me to see things from a learners point of view, and I could recognize the techniques we needed to learn to use during our own lessons.As a native speaker, I presumed I knew a lot about the English language, when actually I knew very little. It was a great opportunity to learn more things about the English language and to share what I had learned with the non-native speakers.

Review by Annika Medeby, June 12, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I really liked the way the weeks were set up. First you get taught how to teach a lesson and then get to practice the lessons by teaching to Spanish English students.
My experience was great. It was a mix of fun and a lot of work, but good work. The best part of my experience was teaching actual spanish students. It helped me feel more confident and ready to be able to go out and teach.

Review by locdogg45, September 29, 2011

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY on these people!!!!!!!!!!!

The course itself was ok. you get experience in the classroom and a few good ideas but other than that its awful. The teachers are friends with the director. That is why they are there, not because they are the best people for the job. You waste $2000 for something that should be 500 at best. If you take this, do not give any critism because they can’t take it and are not professional in any way. They also do not stand by what they say in terms of helping you find jobs. They give you the link for the yellow pages. THATS it

Review by Quatermass, February 28, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Well, it really was a mixed bag. I did the course late last year, but already had experience teaching.
The main instructor was very good, but I was worried to find out that the other instructor was basically an illegal worker in Thailand as she did not have a degree and was doing border runs to stay longer. The support staff were very helpful and kind on the whole.
The course itself was a mix of very useful information and activities that helped me, and Im sure must have been of help to people with no experience. The two weeks teaching practice was very good too. It was really good to be able to put the things we had been taught into practice, to be able to watch other students teach and to get feedback on our own lessons. However the downside was that it was not very well focused, there was no distinction made between teaching different levels, very little focus on activities/games and no mention of eliciting, concept checking, zpd etc. Basic tools for teaching English in most classrooms.
It seemed they were very quick to take peoples money even if that person did not have a degree and would not legally be able to get a work permit in most countries. Their focus was on making money, as can be seen from their advertising which focuses on selling the course as a way to travel for free. However this was not an issue for me, I do feel sorry for the people on the course who had spent a lot of money on a qualification that was of no use to them though.
My biggest problem personally was that despite getting one of the highest test scores and skating through the observed teaching part of the course I was not given a certificate because there was some problem with the company I had done the course through.
It says a lot that they considered the certificate to be of more value than the course itself.
I would recommend a CELTA course to anyone seriously interested in teaching English over any TEFL/Mickey Mouse qualification.

Review by Janeth S., September 29, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I took the course in Paris, France, and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed my time. My trainer was a highly qualified individual with a Master’s degree in her pocket. She was always around us and helped us every step on the way. The course took place in a beautiful, historical building in the best quarter of the town. Everything we needed was there: WiFi, a multifunctional machine (printer, scanner, copier), and there were vending machines with drinks & snacks.

The theory lessons were very intensive, and I had to study a lot. Teaching practice was great; we taught adults. They came to the center or we went to a nearby high school. The lessons were followed by immediate feedback which my trainer did in writing.

I particularly liked our grammar classes; they were not meant to teach us the grammar. They were sample classes of ways how to teach it to our own students in the future. I thought that was great.

Overall, I was very happy with my course, and I had a fantastic time in Paris. I would recommend this TEFL International course to others. It’s an excellent value for the money.

Review by Ashley, April 24, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

1. Tony sucked. He is the person who I was in contact with before I left the USA. He told me to buy a one way ticket to Spain. I was treated like a criminal at the airport for having a one way ticket. I was already scared to go all alone to a foreign country and then I got treated like crap for having a one way. Tony had no idea what he was talking about. Everyone I met who had come into contact with Tony had complaints about him.

2. Our teacher was just plain mean and seemed unhappy in her job. Until moving us to a new building, we were in a stuffy room that was not air conditioned in over 100 degree weather-ridiculous. There was no job placement or assistance.

3. The apartment we were in was not an apartment. It was a basement of a house and they crammed 3-4 people in each tiny bedroom. They charged us 400 euros for a tiny room with several roommates. We were told we would have a single roommate in an apartment with several bedrooms and a common room.

Basically, we felt lied to and we were ripped off. 400 euros is like $600…far too much to pay for a tiny room and that didn’t even include board, just room. Food cost a lot extra.

This experience was good for me in that I got to know Seville and meet new people. The overall experience was not so great. It felt awful being ripped off and feeling like we were lied to about housing and having Tony advise to get a one way ticket. I should have called him on his bs because he seemd to not know what he was talking about, but silly me, I thought I should give him the benefit of that doubt.

Review by J, January 26, 2014

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I will not be as harsh as Ashley. I learned new things in this course. I still have teaching material and videos that I can review and continue to soak in knowledge. This is appreciated. Having been an online student prior to this, I was hoping for more of a relational type of interaction. The responses are kind and quite business like. I did learn. I am not receiving the type of job placement I was expecting. The price was right. I do not have a teaching position or an interview, despite multiple attempts.

Write a Review of TEFL International | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.