Review of TEFL Express

teflexpress

You can embrace a new culture in a fulfilling and rewarding way and at the same time make a wise investment in your career.

Whether you are filling a gap year or starting in a new direction for your future, TEFL Express can give you the highest level of  TEFL courses and qualifications you need for an internationally recognised, highly respected skill which will open doors, boundaries and opportunities. Browse through our range of TEFL online, classroom or blended courses and get started on your new TEFL future today.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Combined CoursesOn-site CoursesOnline Courses
Length: Mini Courses (<30 hours)Short Courses (40-100 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: Cambridge (CELTA, DELTA)TEFL / TESL / TESOLTrinity (CertTESOL, DipTESOL)

Location of Courses

UK
Overall Rating4.084.084.084.084.08
Course Content4.14.14.14.14.1
Practice Teaching2.942.942.942.942.94
Quality of Feedback3.673.673.673.673.67
Lesson Plan Guidance3.823.823.823.823.82
Instructor Competency3.763.763.763.763.76
Job Placement3.123.123.123.123.12
Facilities/Resources3.763.763.763.763.76
Are you the owner of TEFL Express? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

57 Customer Reviews of TEFL Express

Review by Vanessa, July 2, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did the 60 hour online foundation course, it was all I needed. Nicely detailed without being over the top like I hear some of these courses can be. What I learnt from these guys has given me the confidence I needed to make the big jump over here, been in Beijing now for 2 months teaching 10 year olds, am loving it and not looking back!!
I thoroughly recommend this course for those of you itching to get your cert and get on with the real overseas experience – 5/5 stars for sure.

Review by Dirk, August 27, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did a 120 hour TEFL course – totally online, I thought that was going to be a problem as there is no actual classroom teaching but I’ll be ok once I’m in the thick of it. I just put a few hours a week into this and got through a steady pace. There’s a student message board too that helped. Only cost me a night out too so that’s not a high price to pay at all. Found a job in Thailand apparently 2 mins from the beach haha!

Review by Jennifer, August 27, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I got a voucher for TEFL Express 120 Advanced course off of KGB deals. I was really eager to do the course cause I was hoping to get a job this summer for the upcoming school year. Well, it worked out fine cause I got a job with the Vietnam school (Language Link) and I’m really excited. We start in a week and I keep looking at pics. and stuff from Vietnam.

I would recommend this program. It was a little hard cause my grammar is awful, but I passed and I learned a lot of stuff that is going to help my teaching later.

I think the only problem with the course is that there was no teaching practice, but the school in Vietnam is going to help me with that when I arrive, so it’s not going to be a big deal (they told me!):)

But with the KGB deals the course was something like 80% off, so it was a lot cheaper than the other schools I looked at.

Review by Patsy, August 28, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Lovely people, the live chat was very helpful with the course content indeed, they even gave me lots of advice about going overseas. Great deal, I really think this is for people who want to go and teach without breaking your bank. Great value, great service! Wholeheartedly recommended.

Review by Robert, September 4, 2011

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

A complete waste of money. You are tested constantly throughout the course, which I think is a good idea. However they do not teach you the material to prepare you for the test. Infact you just have to take an educated guess at most of the answers. The software is not compatible with all browsers. They do have a noticeboard on there where you can post about the problems which your having which is inundated with users who are having problems. The course is riddled with spelling and grammatical errors. There are inconsistancies with what they teach. The course doesnt really have any structure and I feel completely ripped off!

Review by bryan, September 10, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

It must be known that I had a few problems when I tried to register the course, however I gave them a quick ring on skype. They informed me that they were updating their system and walked me through what I needed to do. I was online in the virtual classroom in no time at all and, apart from when we had a storm fried my power supply (which I can’t blame TEFL Express for), everything else worked fine. I interviewed for a job with them for both their Vietnamese and Russian schools and expect to hear back this week. Hope it all goes well!

Review by Mike, September 17, 2011

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 11111

There are numerous spelling and grammar mistakes throughout the course.
You don’t get to see the correct answer for questions you got wrong which limits learning. There are lots of problems with the website and numerous complaints by people about it. Often I had to look elsewhere for more information for the tests as the info they provided was not adequate for what they were testing you on.

Not worth the price.

Review by Barry, October 4, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

TEFL Express is a wonderful service. I feel like I learned the foundation of the theoretical part of teaching and was prepared to enter the classroom. I found their ad on groupon, and all and all I was basically astonished that for 69 pounds I was able to change my whole life. I just found a job teaching in Thailand, and I am so excited to get on to something interesting! :)

Review by Frank Doyle, October 17, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

My wife registered me for their London weekend course. I wasn’t really looking forward to it but it turned out great in the end. Was actually a hoot. I’m looking at taking the family overseas for a couple of years before we get too old, will do the kids a world of good.

Review by Mrb, October 19, 2011

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 11111

Rubbish, the course is being developed while paying customers are used as guinea pigs. There are numerous spelling and grammar mistakes. A lot of the questions make little sense and those that do have ambiguous answer choices i.e. what do collective nouns refer to? groups of animals, people or things. Would only recommend if you get a cheap deal for less than 100euro. If I had paid 600 for this I’d be asking for my money back.

Review by Judi, October 27, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I agree that this is a rubbish course. I thought that maybe I was the only person who was finding spelling and grammar mistakes and, in particular, questions with ambiguous answer choices. I have got questions wrong where I know that my answer was perfectly reasonable and acceptable. There are also Americanisms included (when I went to school, “going to” were two different words and not run into one!). At the end of the day, I bought the course off Groupon and so it is good value as it will give me a certificate at the end, but I’m not sure it is teaching me a great deal. I too would be asking for my money back if I’d paid full price.

Review by Miss Lee Lee, October 29, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I purchased this course from a Groupon deal, but was considering buying it at full price. Having just 100 days to complete it is my first concern, and I did not see anywhere this was a condition (perhaps just me not reading T&C’s properly.

Overall – for £65 not bad if you have taught in some capacity previously; you can learn a few good tricks of the trade. I have immediately put some of the learning into practice whilst training a group of 9 people over live meeting in Kuwait.

Breaking down the language is important as is being able to explain key components of basic english grammar.

Main issues:

- Copy on the website is very poor
- Spelling mistakes throughout
- Misleading poorly structured questions / testing

Would I recommend it?

- Yes, but only if you are unable to commit to anything more than a few hours online (attending a classroom study environment would be of more value)

-Yes, if you have previous teaching experience (not necessarliy a PGCE qualification)

Review by jasee, November 6, 2011

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 22222

I took and passed (80%) the 120 hour online advanced certificate. Not independently accredited.
It’s not clear why modules of TKT are included. There are not enough of these modules included to attempt the Cambridge Teaching Knowlege Test.
Some of the material is very poorly explained. The online tests often bear little relation to the material being taught or are too simple and don’t test anything!
I think any online teaching test must be considered incomplete as a teaching qualification without any teaching experience. But obviously you would need to pay considerably more for that.
Quite good value I suppose for £65 if you want a paper qualification.
It seems to be true that they offer a number of teaching positions for people who have passed the course, but it’s worth looking very carefully at the terms of the offers.

Review by Mr. N, December 8, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 33333

I am a qualified lecturer with considerable experience and have just completed the online 120Hr course via a Groupon voucher. I have found the course content challenging if you take it seriously and are willing to research around the material. Anybody who is serious about studying will do additional reading and therefore will find the content of use. That is the nature of the virtual learning environment. However, I would not like to rely upon this alone prior to taking my first class. (read on)

It is true the grammar has errors and it is important to check your answers following a graded activity as they can be marked as incorrect despite being the same as the supplied model answers. That said, after an email or two they are corrected for you.

In addition to the online course I (and my wife) have also attended a 2 day weekend course in London at Language Link. This gave a practical insight into how language lessons are structured and delivered and has added a considerable amount of worth to the online aspect. I have picked up a number of teaching tips for lectures that I now use on a regular basis despite not being language related.

I recommend doing the online course with a Groupon voucher and then the consolidation with a weekend course. The combined worth is greater than the sum of the individual parts.

We both enjoyed the weekend course, it was good to be involved with other like minded people and be taken out of our comfort zone and pushed. This is a must for active participants of Life Long Learning. We were also introduced to typical course material and how it can be applied. This also gave confidence in our abilities to be successful in teaching a new subject.

I am now looking to take the TKT tests to quantify what I have learned.

I have enjoyed my short TEFL Express journey thus far. It is important to remember though that you will only get out what you put in so be mature about your learning expectations.

Review by Anna, December 12, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I was very happy with the price. They were very slow to respond to the emails I sent about not being able to log in. Found them on facebook, the server was down, ‘due to their recent and dramatic increase in popularity’. I guess that’s not a bad reason then. As for the course itself I was reasonably happy with it. Covered all it needs to and now I can go and teach in Asia. I’d give them 8/10

Review by Sammy, December 13, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

A friend bought me a place on the 20 hour classroom course as a birthday gift. I was a bit nervous going there – I haven’t been in a classroom in years – but after talking to the other students before the class began I relaxed. It turned out really well indeed. They are a very knowledgeable and friendly bunch. Overall very informative and worth while.

Review by Maria, January 8, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

My friend and I just finished a weekend training session in London. I expected a larger class size, there were only 13 of us. This worked out really well though as we got even more individual attention. Jill, the course instructor, was fantastic. We had a bit of trouble with the international phonetic alphabet to start with and she spent time going through it again with us while the others were doing a written task. I could tell she really enjoyed being in the education industry. Now that I know what it’s all about and have this fundamental knowledge about teaching English I’m looking at making some serious changes to my life. I didn’t understand before how wide open the door is for people to go overseas.

6 out of 5 stars (+1 bonus for opening my mind to possibilities)

Thanks Jill!

Review by jmr, January 9, 2012

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

The TEFL course is a waste of money, even with a big discount. There a numerous grammatical errors, spelling mistakes, and incorrect answers to questions you are examined on (for example, according to TEFL Express, chocolate has only two syllables).

What is the point of taking a course about English language that gets so much wrong with the English language?

I wrote a number of queries via email and via their web site and never received a reply. The “chat” feature has never worked.

Worse still, their web site FAQ’s say that you can extend the course for free. When I tried to do this, the only option was to pay another £75.

I think the intent behind this course is to make money, nothing more. Don’t waste yours on it!

Review by Harriot, February 8, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have just completed their 120 hour online advanced certificate. I found a few minor mistakes throughout the texts not much to worry about. There was no practice teaching with the online course so I cannot rate that. There was adequate lesson plan guidance. There was also a resource section that I got access to with lots of ideas for classes. All things considered for £75 it was well worth it.

Review by Joshua, February 13, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

$99 was all I paid. Great content. No practice teaching. They helped a lot with how to actually control a class and how to plan lessons. Generally what to expect when teaching and how to deal with any problems, or in fact predict the problems before they happen. This was a good point. They help with jobs too, I got one independently. Perfectly suitable.

Review by Mike, February 14, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I would not recommend this course. Learning the vast amount of material online is boring and frustrating. Why not instead just purchase a book? The whole idea of E-Learning is that it offers multimedia tools – videos, games, puzzles, etc to make the learning interesting and as engaging as a live instructor. This course is basically text on web pages with some quizzes.

I would suspect that the vast majority of students do not complete these courses.

Review by Mr ZS, February 17, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Just finished a 120 course from groupon, found it completely worthless even for the price and full of grammatical and spelling errors. It appears to me, despite claiming to be accredited, that they are a scam. In fact all of their placements are with EF english first, and EF has this “discounted” 120 hour course for what I’ve heard is the same price as the groupon offer… Seems maybe they’re trying to rapidly churn out underqualified english teachers?

Review by L Gill, February 20, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I’m a business degree graduate and I think £75 is an absolutely reasonable price. Where else can I get an actual certificate to go and teach in Asia. I’ve been wanted to get out of the UK for a while now, we don’t have long on the planet.
As for the course itself, I found it most enlightening and not too difficult. Found a couple of spelling mistakes however for the price, again, it’s worth it. Considered their job placement, they place in many schools, all over. However decided that I would find my own way. Recommended for those wishing to get out there.

Review by Ramirez, February 20, 2012

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 22222

Altough 99 euro I paid for this online course (120 hours of Advanced Level teaching practice) seemed like a great deal at that time, eventually I found the level of the course to be unsatisfactory, to say the least. Why? Because apart from being rather monotonous (and here I must agree with one of the previous reviewers who related to the course being comparable to an online version of a book with quizzes), it is repetitious and mistake-ridden – and I am talking here about serious mistakes that are directly connected to the educational merit of the whole course. Don’t take my word for that – I realize that some people are going to be happy no matter what since they paid already, others to lazy to write a review and some like me will claim that some of the materials as well as some tests comprised in this course look as if they were directly taken from a student’s notebook. Appropriateness of the correct answers is often dubious and the tests themselves quite frankly do not actually test your knowledge that you were supposed to learn during your e-learning time. Not sure about accreditation issue of the certificate yet but will get to know about it soon. Peace

Review by Eileen, February 20, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Their daytime course in London was most successful, it was twenty hours over the weekend. We had ten of us in a decent sized classroom. Having not been to school for quite a few years I was a little worried that it would be going too fast for me however this was not the case. We covered everything that I thought necessary to be able to basically teach and I’m in the process of doing an 80 hour online course as well, just to back it up, so to speak. I’m finding this most satisfactory as well, both in terms of actual content and overall value.

Review by Baileys, February 23, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 22222
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

I have just completed their 120 hour online advanced certificate. I found a many minor mistakes throughout the texts not much to worry about, but then again still a concern. There was no practice teaching with the online course so I cannot rate that. There was not adequate lesson plan guidance, even though this was a groupon offer I am glad I did not pay full price for this course as I would be expecting a lot more for my money, all in all happy enough that I have passed and hopfully can use this to futher my career.

Review by Kevin, February 24, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Very poor course. All the information is on computer pages (they look like a power point), they can be printed but not saved, once you read it and move on thats it – gone. The material itself is ok, it would be much better as pdf or similar to allow proper study, not just flipping through computer screen shots. The test is very easy to get through – you read a page (not a lot of text) and then answer questions.

As a teacher already I think the course is badly set out and structured and the format very poor. If you want to learn about the subject and go on to teach it this is little more than an introduction or overview (and I took the big / longest course). I did contact the company to express my dissappointment at such poor teaching materials for so much money but they did not reply.

There is far better material on the internet for free and certainly far better courses on line if you want to pay for one.

Review by Mr P, February 27, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 55555

What do I say about this course? This certificate has helped me greatly in terms of being me being able to go overseas and get on with my teaching dream. As for the course itself I noticed a few minor areas that could be adjusted however overall well worth it, uninformative and useful.

Review by shazzo, February 29, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

I have just finished the 120 hour course with TEFL Express and i thought it was great! as i work in education i understand the practical element of the theory it gives you, and would say to anyone wanting to take this forward as a career change etc to get paid or voluntary practice before or while completing the course, as i think this would make a lot more sense to you if you experience the practical element of teaching also.

Review by Beth, March 26, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I completed my course in just over 3 months. It was a great price for what I got. I think this course will be very useful in terms of being able to get out there in the TEFL workforce within a different culture overseas. It covered the areas that I think most courses do, classroom management and all that. 7/10 + factoring in the price, 8/10 I’ll give it.

Review by Jess, March 27, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Very impressed with their web page and online study system, quite easy to log in and get going. More impressed with the price, thought there would be hidden costs and all that, however there were none at all, so that was good. Probably took me a bit more than 120 hours in the end. I know there is a job placement service available, personally I am not interested in that, I’ll be ok finding a job myself. Extra resources that they give is also useful. Worth signing up for, just make sure you find one of the discounted deals.

Review by J. Cook, March 30, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Did their weekend course. Good little group of people. We had a teacher that knew what she was doing. Nicely confident and wasn’t afraid to answer some really strange questions from us. She also had a lot of her own personal teaching stories and examples so that helped me get a grip on what was actually expected of a teacher in a foreign country. Great to do if your going to teach.

Review by Sands, March 30, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I agree with Mr N’s comments – online learning is what you the learner make of it i.e. if supplemented with your own research and effort it can prove very enlightening and effective but if you expect the sort of support you get from a face to face course you will be sorely disappointed. TEFLexpress advertises itself as an online course so I was not surprised re. the limited access to interaction with the course designers, facilitators etc. Having been teaching for a considerable number of years I personally am happy not to have to sit in a lecture hall or have to prove my classroom skills again.The course materials were no worse than much of what you might get in said lecture environment where the human facilitator/educator makes mistakes, is at times not fully prepared – like all of us is not always ‘excellent’!
On the topic of accreditation having worked through many an accreditation program CIS, IB authorisation etc.in my time I would venture to suggest that despite their best efforts these bodies respond to what is fed to them and I’ve observed and been a part of said ‘window dressing’ often enough not to put too much stock in this ‘designation’. IF a TEFLexpress certificate is good currency in terms of where I want to teach then its fulfilling its purpose. I would agree with other posts that say new teachers need some ‘experience’ and that this is best gained in a supervised, controlled setup – is this what the TEFLexpress internship offers?
At the end of the day the best teachers, whatever the subject matter, I’ve come across are those who themselves are lifelong learners – these are the people who care enough to find out what they need to enable them to meet the needs of their learners, stay-up-to date with current practice and are big enough to try new things if they think these will assist their students.
Having said all that I have no qualms in recommending the TEFLexpress 120 hour Advanced course.

Review by Ben Perry, April 2, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Maybe others have been exposed to teaching previously and found it easy but I haven’t done anything like this before. Very challenging for me, in a good sense though. I had to put in an hour or two when I had time. I got a very satisfied feeling on completion, a sense of achievement that I haven’t had since high school really. I’m a confident person and this course has given me skills that I want to put into practice. A very good idea to do this online course.

Review by J, April 6, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Last weekend I did a face to face 20 hour instructional course with these guys. The teacher taught us many things about generally teaching English and we had some practice teaching time as well, what a hoot. A really good time for me with lots of benefits that I will take on. I have a friend who went overseas for a 6 month stint and reckon I can do the same with this.

Review by Billy in Australia, April 9, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I live in a small city and we don’t have any TEFL or TESOL courses running here. I’m glad I found this TEFL Express online one. It gave me the ability to learn without having to spend time and money traveling to a class. I’m a fairly outgoing person and with what I’ve learned will be able to jump into an ESL classroom no problem I’m sure. Now I just have to choose where I’m going. This course suited me to the ground.

Review by Lauren Xing, April 11, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

120 hours Advanced online course. I give them 4 stars overall. 5 stars for the content, there was so much to learn. 2 stars for the practice teaching, there wasn’t any because it was online. 5 stars for their feedback, when I made a mistake the system told me and I could improve. 5 stars for the lesson plan guidance, there was lots of material on how to prepare the lessons. 4 stars for the instructor competency, I got help over the net. 3 stars for job placement, they have internships in a few countries. And 5 stars for the facilities/resources, lots of this and also access to it after I finished the course.

Review by Sabrina, April 13, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

Over the two days of last weekend I joined a group of 9 people to study 20 hours TEFL teaching. A lot to do in only two days, a full on thorough course indeed. That being said I am most happy it certainly relayed all I needed and then some. Far better have it this way than too simplistic. The instructor was competent, experienced and personable. I wish to convey my approval for others to partake of this TEFL Express training weekend.

Review by Katrina, April 16, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Nice spiffy website and student study section. Good course content. I was worried that I wouldn’t get any help, there was acceptable feedback thank goodness. I am also happy about the teaching resources that you get access too, worth their weight in digital gold. 4.5/5 overall.

Review by Jacob, April 23, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have been out of school for a while now but it was quite straightforward to get through. I thought I was going to have big trouble. I enjoyed learning this and I feel it has given me options to go travelling. 4 stars out of 5. Recommended.

Review by L Jones, April 26, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I agree with Katrina – those resources you get are fantastic. I have just started teaching in Korea and without that mass of ideas my first week would not have gone as smooth. As for the course, quite satisfactory indeed. The kicker is in those resources. Cherry on the cake so to speak. Not sure about the job placement, I know they offer it but I didn’t need it. Everything else, instructor help, quality of feedback, content = full 5 stars

Review by John King, April 30, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I was most apprehensive however after reading several reviews and seeing it 1st hand my fears were overcome. It’s a very easy system to navigate, it’s thorough in its content and is an excellent price. Enough said really.

Review by Phyl and Jack, May 21, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Both my husband and I are of the same mind and would like to give this course a positive review. We worked through side by side. The online system had a very comprehensive interface which enabled us to pick up where we left off. As for the content it was not overly intensive, it was to the point and informative. Once again we recommend this, it’s surely going to boost your teaching ability.

Review by Vivian, June 4, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Easy to use and was cheap enough. I liked it a lot. Now I have another certificate for my CV

Review by Eureka!, June 29, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I took the TESOL Course, offered through this same website. Whoever said that TEFL/TESOL Express Online was a joke, was spot on. This course was the biggest waste of time and money.

I was accepted into a program to teach English abroad, and was looking around for an accredited TESOL or TEFL course to take online. When I saw the Groupon for this course, discounted from $500+ to $79, I (mistakenly) jumped on it. In retrospect, a course so significantly reduced in price should have been a red flag, but I was so excited to see a course under a $100, I just had to jump on it.

This course is LITTERED with spelling and grammatical errors, formatting issues that made pages unreadable, and a virtually useless feedback/message center. There are no tools, games, or E-learning multimedia material besides some little video center that shows you how to play Hangman (really?).

On several occasions, their “tests” marked answers wrong that I got right. I would send a message to the message center, and received the cut and paste response “we have sent your query to our IT team..” blah blah blah..Of course the issue was never remedied. So THEN I would have to get on Facebook and write a comment on TEFL Express Online Facebook page. THAT is the only way I was able to get through to anyone. Through Facebook. On the webpage they have this elaborate “message center” that is of absolutely no use to users. You cannot even search questions/answers of other users! If your having these issues, most assuredly other users are too, and are asking these questions. WHERE ARE THESE QUESTIONS/ANSWERS?

It was not until I was done with this course that I was able to get their “IT” person to look into it and respond to me via email.

As far as the content, outside of the actual grammar lessons, a lot of this was such open ended material. For example, there was a lesson about teaching students to read a story to get the gist of it. It gave all of these examples of material that could be gained from just skimming a story, but all the answers it gave could all very well be examples of material gained from skimming a story! I don’t find questions where every answer could very well be a possible answer helpful in anyway. I find that frustrating. There are MANY questions like this. As if questions are plugged in just for the sake of getting a score. Thats not useful to the user. Anyone who is investing time AND money into a TEFL/TESOL course is most likely doing so because they want it to be of benefit to them. So they are going to read the material carefully, and study accordingly. Most of us are doing this for our benefit, not some score.

In the end, thats what I feel this course was designed for. The person who purchased this to get a score, and to tell a recruiter or whoever that they did it. For those who are actually looking for a legitimate, serious and beneficial TEFL/TESOL course that isn’t packed with errors and mistakes, look elsewhere.

Review by Laura B, July 12, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I bought it before they changed their website and I’m much happier with how it is now. Could have done with some more video. The added resource pack was cool too, at least, it’s helping me be more efficient in my classes now.

Review by John H, July 17, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 33333

Took the 120 hr. online course and found it favorable. I had to do a bit of translating from British English to American, but soon got the hang of it. As with any course either online or classroom, you get out of it what you put into it. There are a lot of resources available and the course gives you a good overall competency for teaching English as a second language. Was it a good value? I got it at a ridiculously low Groupon price, I am a native English speaker, and now I have a certificate saying I am trained to teach such. I have no complaints except for the clunky web site which is not up to modern standards. If you want more, there are universities that can offer you a Masters degree for big bucks. If you want to be able to do good in the world for a minimum investment of money and time, TESOL is a good investment.

Review by Suzanne, August 9, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Just completed the TESOL Express advanced 120. I am experienced in teaching language and I can see where this would helped in relating to the topics covered. Information provided was relevant however I found the tests frustrating as some of the questions were very ambiguous… would suggest for the writers to revisit the purpose and clarity of some of these test sections. All in all a good investment with the groupon offer… would recommend. Can not rate practice teaching/job placement/facilities

Review by Luke, August 20, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Their special offer is very good value. Very decent certificate and course overall. Definitely enjoyed the section on class control I think that will be extremely useful – from all accounts I hear that Chinese middle school kids can get quite rowdy when they have new teachers.

Review by Jess O, September 5, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

Their weekend course was much better than I expected it to be, in that we actually got to practice teach, not just listening and asking questions. Not only this however we all went though giving feedback after so we could actually improve. I guess the main thing i got from it was a lot of confidence. I know I can teach now straight ‘off the bat’, as they say. 4.5/5

Review by Robby, September 8, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I was happy with their 120 hour advanced certificate program. As for the actual content I think it covered everything that I need and also gave me the confidence! There were shorter courses but this was the most cost effective.

Review by Angela, September 26, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Attended a weekend express course, loved it, I will give them a full 5 out of 5. I couldn’t believe our teacher was so knowledgeable, really cool. The stuff that she has done and the info that she can impart with – going to help me a lot.

Review by Theo Edward, April 16, 2013

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

I read the complaints about the TESL 120 Advanced Certificate course before I purchased, and ultimately completed the course. If you are a person like me with a lot of experience and other credentials, the certificate is a wonderful padding on your resume/CV. If not, it is great to learn the course material as a warm-up for further TESL certification OR for a job or internship especially if you are young. All of the issue/ complaints concerning online usage never were a problem for me this spring. The content refreshed what I already knew and forced me to remember some fundamentals that I had long forgotten. I particularly enjoyed all of the material on lesson planning. The content is presented almost like it came off of the white board from an experienced head teacher with a MATESOL that was downloading all of the key points necessary for the hands-on teaching practitioner, and not for some linguistic theorists. Since this particular course is 100% online there is no evaluation which is available in other programs they offer. I’d recommend anyone taking the course to spend twice as long reading the material in order to get above 85% total which leads to the: “Graduated with ‘Distinction’” honor which appears in the center of an attractive blue ornate border and a red embossed seal– like the one “Oz” gave the “Scarecrow”?
All concerns and questions and support were handled promptly by my overseer. Her name was Anna, and she was professional, kind, and courteous.

Review by now TESOL Certified, April 30, 2013

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 22222

It is an online course with text and interspersed quizzes. I bought this cheap from Groupon and then extended it since the 75days were about to expire. This course is definitely a “what you put in you get out of it.” I am satisfied since my goal was to build my confidence in teaching english and the additional qualification of the certificate also looks good. Online courses are a challenge for me, I prefer learning in groups and having direct contact, and I knew what I was getting into. For the total $100 I spent (including the upgrade/extension to the 140hr Premium Course) I am satisfied. There are some spelling errors and formatting/web errors, which at moments I thought reflect a carelessness that doesn’t fit in well with a course on Teaching English. All in all the course was cheap, I got enough bang for my buck, and I am more confident now. :)

Review by TESOLator, June 13, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I took this course last year, and it’s a darn good thing it was on sale with a coupon, or I’d be really angry. I know nothing about the on-site course, but the distance program needs to be overhauled, and the people running it – from the main office to the people on facebook – should all be fired.

Absolutely everything in their program is of poor quality, and looks like it’s a total ‘cut and paste’ production. I won’t go into the grammatical errors, poor service and the cheesy certificate you get when you finish, but read the other reviews (3 stars and below), and you’ll get the picture.

The only good thing about TEFL EXPRESS is this: Those duped into purchasing and completing their program walk away with a keen sense of what a bad online program can be, and they -WE- know what questions to ask to avoid making that mistake again

Review by Wolfson, November 5, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 11111

The TEFL Express website is a giant mess. Tons of links give errors, and others prompt for passwords and leave sections inaccessible. The course itself was so poor that the entire thing could be filled out with common sense. If you ever had a teach before, you can fill out 90% of the coursework with no trouble at all. I finished the course with an 89% and easily at that. The only positive thing, is that it is an easy certification to show potential employers. I would only recommend it if you are looking for a foreign job that has specifically mentioned that it recommends having the course.

Also, I would never recommend paying full price. Get it on Groupon if you want to get the cert.

Review by Teflate, December 31, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 11111

I took the Tesol Express 120 hour course.
If you have zero experience in a classroom, this may be a good tool for you, as it does explain components of lesson plans, etc.

I am a teacher and took this course so I could teach ESL students, so for me much of the content was useless. The content is extremely common sense (many of the questions in the quizzes are confusing and make little sense, but you can usually sort of guess what they want you to say). I found many of the quizzes frustrating as the entire course is extremely poorly designed. I can confidently say I learned nothing from them.

Was it worth the $70 Groupon? Yes, just for the certification at the end. I wouldn’t suggest this course to anyone with teaching experience if they want to learn additional information.

Write a Review of TEFL Express | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.