Review of SEE TEFL

see-tefl-logo

SEE’s accredited TEFL certification in Chiang Mai, Thailand provides internationally-recognized TEFL training with 6 hours of observed teaching practice in real schools. In addition, trainees receive basic Thai instruction, cultural awareness training and answers to all the how-do-I questions trainees have living in Thailand.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site Courses
Length: Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Additional Features: Internships / Volunteering

Location of Courses

Thailand

Accreditations and Affiliations

- Licensed by the Thai Ministry of Education (license: C.N.01-013/2549)
- Certified ISO 9001:2008 Quality Management System by Bureau Veritas
- ISO certification accredited by the United Kingdom Accreditation Service
- Recognized by The Thai Industrial Standards Institute
Overall Rating4.934.934.934.934.93
Course Content4.854.854.854.854.85
Practice Teaching4.934.934.934.934.93
Quality of Feedback4.914.914.914.914.91
Lesson Plan Guidance4.84.84.84.84.8
Instructor Competency4.894.894.894.894.89
Job Placement4.654.654.654.654.65
Facilities/Resources4.764.764.764.764.76
Map of Main Campus
Address:
SEE TEFL certification
Chiang Mai
Thailand
50000
Founded in: 2006
Phone: +66 818854144
Social Media Links
Follow SEE TEFL on Facebook Follow SEE TEFL on Twitter Follow SEE TEFL on YouTube
Applicant Requirements
Be a native speaker of English or have strong English language skills. Be adaptable to new and unpredictable situations. Be of good character and possess a friendly, patient and flexible personality.

52 Customer Reviews of SEE TEFL

Review by Renato Capaccioli, February 6, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have taken the course 4 years ago. The teachers are fantastic and the program is excellent. I got a job two days later through them after finishing the course and have been working in the same school ever since. I also know a lot of teachers who did the course and all of them have a job. Even after 4 years their door is always open if you need some help or advice. I totally recommend SEE-TEFL if you want to teach in Thailand.

Review by Taylor Weinmann, January 27, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

SEE TEFL is truly an amazing program. I took the course October 2016 and couldn’t be any happier with my decision! From the very beginning, John and his staff were very helpful. I had 1,000 questions and was a bit nervous signing up for a course when I was still in the US. John skyped with me and answered all of my questions and made me feel very at ease with going forward with the program. He made the transition going to Thailand seamless. The course is no cake walk and you have to be very dedicated to the course, but I learned so much during my time at SEE. All the staff is helpful and willing to guide you and they teach you everything that’s necessary to be a successful teacher in Thailand and abroad. The skills I learned are invaluable and have helped me further my career as an English teacher. Their kindness has extended beyond the course with job placement and recommendations. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to obtain a TEFL certificate. Thanks John, Ying, Kellie Ann, Shouvik and the countless others!

Review by Jordan F, January 26, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

When I was considering leaving my job in the States and moving abroad to teach English, I casually Google searched “TEFL courses in Chiang Mai” and SEE TEFL was the first to pop up. Next thing I know my girlfriend and I were signed up with deposit paid! The director, John, was so accommodating to our questions and worries and even Skyped us so that would could put a face to a name, and feel more comfortable signing up for the class from over seas.
John assisted us with lots of information regarding Thailand and what it would be like living here, and even helped us get our Visas.
Once we arrived and began the course we were both very nervous and at first over whelmed by the syllabus for the following 4-weeks. But the staff and instructors help you, encourage you and constructively critique you each step of the way so that we never felt lost or unprepared.
The four weeks flew by and were one of the greatest and most fulfilling times in my life. SEE TEFL will continue to assist you and support you even after the class is finished, and you’ll create relationships with fellow students and SEE TEFL staff that will greatly enhance your time abroad. I highly highly recommend this course!

Review by Kimberly Ng, September 18, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Before signing up, I’ve spent months researching and comparing TEFL courses in Thailand and SEE would always come up as the best option.

I finished the course last August 26, 2016 and the experience was memorable and rewarding. The course prepares any individual (with or without teaching practice) who is willing to learn and teach English as a foreign language.

The facilities are great, very conducive to learning and the school has everything you need especially for the teaching practices.

The staff and instructors are extremely helpful and supportive, couldn’t ask for a better group to support and mentor us.

The week after the course ended, i got a job with the help of the school in Uthai Thani.

I enjoyed learning and meeting new people during the course. Would highly recommend. <3

Review by Becky, May 25, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I went through SEETEFL February 2014. They were a great introduction to teaching English, as well as learning about Thai culture. The course offered 120 in-class lessons, 6 hours of practical teaching in real schools, Thai language lessons, and were always available for questions or feedback.
I didn’t use SEETELF as a resource for job placement (I didn’t pursue this option) but they continued being helpful and responsive, even two years after completing the course.

Review by Grace Bernal, March 4, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I did my TEFL training last August-September of 2015.

I would say that I did the best decision of my life when I chose SEE to get my TEFL certificate. The course materials and teaching practices were relevant and useful as I was able to apply it to the real world of teaching. The staffs were really helpful from printing, photocopying up to visa assistance. After finishing the course I got a job in Thailand and now I’m moving to Hanoi, Vietnam.

I am highly recommending SEE TEFL for anyone who’s thinking of getting their TEFL Certificate or if you’re planning to teach in Southeast Asia and don’t know where to start.

You won’t regret your decision.

Review by Josh Clemenger, October 25, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

There are so many different TEFL courses out there, that it can be a little overwhelming trying to decide, but if you’re even considering teaching in Thailand, you need to get yourself to the Siam Educational Experience. I would even recommend it as a vacation course or a destination TEFL. The course itself teaches you so much more than just how to teach English, it teaches how to teach in general. I learned more about effective lesson planning and presentation there than I learned in 2 separate university education courses, and the skills I gained can be applied to teaching almost anything. The teaching staff are relaxed in the classroom, and have answers to even the wildest questions. The front office staff are helpful and knowledgeable, and are quite an asset when dealing with visa issues and other government agencies. The opportunity to teach in classrooms is another reason this program is so successful, and it is vital to the training of effective teachers, as they have time to get over the initial shock of teaching. You won’t really feel like a first time teacher when you’ve finished your training at SEE!

Review by Carter Slawson, August 25, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Traveling across the world, without knowing anyone, is one of the hardest things a person can do. SEE TEFL put any doubts or fears that I had to bed immediately. I attended the September 2013 course and I had one of the best times of my life. I met people from all over the world and the staff were really friendly. I think they understand that this a big leap and they do everything they can to make it a smooth transition. Never in a million years did I think I would have the confidence or skills to stand in front of a classroom full of a kids. SEE TEFL provides you with an overabundance of both. I have been teaching for the past 2 years and I still use the system they teach. Put aside any doubts you have and attend a SEE TEFL course. It is worth it and you won’t be disappointed.

Review by Ben Harned, June 3, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I took the See TEFL course in February of 2012. I, like many others, was looking through all the different courses offered in Thailand. I had heard about all the fly-by-night beach-side TEFL courses and decided I wanted to take one with substance. I made the correct choice with SEE TEFL.

John, Ying, and all of the staff really go out of their way to to take care of their students. From the start they help you with everything from visa arrangements to accommodations. Once

Once classes start they have a gentle way of easing everyone into the world of teaching. Classes are kept small so as to create a comfortable and friendly learning environment. The staff keeps the lessons interesting and enjoyable. Some days John even takes the class on field trips to temples and local restaurants. He is full of good advice about life in Thailand. They even offer support years after the course is over.

Chiang Mai is a beautiful city and See TEFL is a great course. They definitely lived up to the information on their website and then some. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who seriously wants to learn how to teach in a EFL classroom. You will walk away with the confidence and tools that you need to be successful in the classroom.

Review by Max Milner, March 5, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had the pleasure of attended SEE TEFL for their one month 120 hour TEFL course and I cannot recommend it enough. If you are planning on taking the first step towards a career as an ESL teacher, this is the place to do it.

The staff, both Thai and western, were not only always smiling and friendly, but also very supportive and helpful should you have questions. John is an incredibly personable man who makes you feel very comfortable the moment you step into the building for the first time.

The course material is thorough, well-planned and relevant. I have been teaching in Vietnam since the course, and can honestly say I have used the exact same teaching method provided from SEE TEFL in every single one of my lessons. The transformation from knowing nothing about teaching to being able to comfortably step into a classroom and teach is a testament to how well this course is run.

The 6 teaching practices are invaluable. The feedback you receive right after teaching your lesson is highly encouraging and constructive. It let’s you know what you are doing right, and what you can improve on. My advice is to take the feedback into consideration, improve what they’ve told you to and you will get the most out of the course.

5 stars!

Review by Max Wainwright, March 4, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I attended SEE TEFL Chiang Mai after leaving my job as a diving instructor in the south of Thailand and although I arrived with some teaching experience this course is designed to bring the teacher out in everyone. The pre course correspondence and information was excellent and this standard was maintained throughout with assistance wherever needed. Gaining the experience of teaching in different schools and age groups was invaluable, I also found the Thai language lessons and cultural awareness training particularly interesting and extremely useful for life in Thailand.
After an fantastic experience I couldn’t recommend SEE TEFL highly enough, I met some amazing people who I’m sure I’ll be back to visit soon.

Review by Matt Houben, February 25, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I attended this course in September 2014. I was very surprised about the quality of this course. I didn’t expect a lot, but it turned out they expected a lot of me! :)

As a non-native I wasn’t sure about my chances to obtain a job in Thailand. After this course I got 4 job offers in 10 days. I’m not saying it’s all because of SEETEFL, but this certificate certainly helped. I’m a non-native and currently teaching at one of the best high schools in Thailand.

Thanks guys!

Review by Jonky Dawson, November 27, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

After recently retiring, I wanted a new experience in life helping other people versus chasing the all mighty dollar for my own personal satisfactions.

Talking amongst Friends and deciding to venture into teaching as a needed avenue, everyone said the same thing, you need to only consider one school, SEE TEFL in Chiang Mai, Thailand. The owners John Quinn and Ying Quinn provide a four (4) week an amazing in-depth English Training Coarse; and in addition, they’re both very well connected in the community and highly respected. Every School knows them!

Hesitant, and the fact that I’ve already taken an on-line TEFL course, and that I’m already certified, my friend said no, you are not TEFL certified! This course far exceeds any on-line course, and will lay the solid foundation for handling any teaching environment and structure your work plans accordingly. I sheepishly agreed.

The course so far has been a game changing life event for me, as it has opens up an unlimited number of doors, the ability to meet an incredible number of nice and caring group of people, the ability to live and work anywhere in the world I choose, and in return having other people desire and genuinely appreciate my efforts and services. Wow, living everyone’s secret dreams!

In addition to completing the TEFL course, having a grounded support staff to field opportunities, contract negotiations, VISA support, Thai/ English communications, and an extensive English Teaching Library has been an added bonus. I highly recommend SEE TEFL in Chiang Mai, Thailand, and give a well deserving praise to also Shouvik Mukherjee, Martin Gordon, and Lori Ann Hitchcock who all helped in orchestrate in what I’d consider one of the best Schools I’ve ever had the pleasure in attending!

Smiles, Jonky

Jonky Dawson
Westminster, California. USA

Review by Sienna Piccioni, November 24, 2014

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed my TEFL course in January 2014 with SEE TEFL. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and was really happy my choice. The instructors were very fantastic; very clear, informative and extremely helpful. I liked how the course was organised as it covered a lot of topics so I felt confident once I had finished the course to be able to work in an Asian school. The teaching practices were so helpful and insightful, and the feedback from these teaching practices again assured me that I was on the right track and also showed me what I needed to improve on.
Since the TEFL course I have been an English teacher in Muang Ngoi, Laos for 6 months and now I have just accepted a teaching position in South Korea to start in February 2015.

I would like to thank John and the team for their support and I would recommend anyone thinking of doing a TEFL course to do it at SEE TEFL!

Review by Robert Otto, November 24, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

SEE TEFL was an amazing and enriching experience for me. When I arrived in Thailand I was alone in a new country and starting my journey as a teacher with no previous experience. John and the rest of the SEE TEFL family welcomed all of us with smiles, knowledge, and advice. SEE TEFL does an amazing job preparing you to teach English, but you also learn a ton about Thai culture. Which, is proving to be very useful in how Thai society works and how Thai children learn. Now that I have started working and have talked to other teachers, I am really starting to understand how perfect the SEE TEFL course is set up. The facilities, lesson planning, grammar reviews, practice sessions, and job placement help were all great. I highly recommend SEE TEFL to everyone.

Review by Erika Heales, August 21, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I was in Canada at the time, and trying to figure out what my next step should be. I had been to Thailand a few years before, and I loved it. I then started to think about going back to the country to do a TEFL course so I could live there and teach. When I began searching for TEFL courses, I felt quite overwhelmed. There were so many different courses to choose from and I read that some of them were almost a bit of a scam. I then came across and the SEE TEFL website, and I knew it was exactly what I wanted. I wrote to John Quinn (the course director) for more information, and he was very helpful by providing me a detailed response. Applying was very straightforward, and I didn’t even have to worry about finding accommodation because the school can reserve a reasonably-priced room for you at a nearby hotel (this is optional).
I was a bit nervous my first day of class, but everyone at the school was very friendly. I thought the course was well-run, and I gained a lot from the experience. The course provided instruction on classroom discipline, how to design lesson plans, an overview of English grammar, etc. I also got to learn about some of the challenges I might face once I was an employed teacher in Thailand. When I became a teacher a few months later, I realized how glad I was to have learned about these challenges beforehand. The TEFL course also included a Thai language class, which I found very helpful because it allowed me to learn a few key phrases and words to help me express myself in Thai society.
The last two weeks consisted of six teaching practices. If you plan on teaching in Thailand, teaching practices are a must!! They were so useful, because I was able to experience what a Thai classroom is like before becoming employed. I taught a variety of different age groups- from Grade 1 all the way to young adults. The classroom practices were observed, and the feedback from the instructors was thorough and most appreciated.
I have nothing but great things to say about the SEE TEFL course. I found a job near Bangkok, and the school definitely helped me acquire the skills needed to teach in a Thai classroom. The course almost helped me gain confidence, which is essential in any classroom. I met other people at the school who had not taken a TEFL course, and they expressed their constant frustrations about working in a Thai school.
In a nutshell: do it! Take the SEE TEFL course. If you are thinking about teaching abroad, this is an excellent course which will definitely help you gain the confidence you need to work in Thailand. Plus, Chiang Mai is a beautiful, vibrant city. You won’t regret your decision :)

Review by Trevor, June 26, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The SEE TEFL 120 hour in class course was excellent. Instructors were very friendly and helpful and made the whole preparation process as stress free as possible. The course prepared me very well for my teaching position I now hold in Krabi. I have recommended the course to many friends seeking to teach in Thailand/SE Asia.

Review by Hannah, June 24, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed the SEE TEFL course in January 2014. The course taught me the skills needed both inside and outside of the classroom, and we had so much fun while learning so much. I absolutely loved the entire experience and would recommend it to anybody pursuing a teaching career.

Review by Eric Adams, June 19, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

SEE TEFL was everything as advertised. I’ve rarely had a more rewarding and interesting educational experience, with real life application, obviously, to boot. The teachers, starting with John and Shouvik, were both engaging and professional, setting a standard for us aspiring teachers to emulate. I would highly suggest this course to anyone who is interested in starting a career in EFL instruction.

Review by Neil Levy, May 28, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I cannot speak highly enough of SEE’s TEFL programme. The course itself was thorough and hard work but John and Ling created a friendly atmosphere which put everyone at ease and I made some great friends on the course which made the experience all the more memorable.
The course was rigorous with regards to ensuring all students had a good grasp of language and grammar as well as how to structure and teach a lesson.
The course also included lessons on Thai language and culture which were both interesting and great fun.
Since attending this course I have been teaching in China at all levels from university to kindergarten and have felt confident in each position i have taken thanks to what i learnt on this course.
I would recommend this course to anyone thinking of getting into teaching.
Oh – and Chiang Mai is an amazing place to live or just stay whilst you are completing your TEFL!

Review by Adam Williams, May 7, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Fantastic course! I absolutely loved the course from start to finish. I would highly recommend this course to anyone considering starting out teaching in Thailand and throughout the world. SEE TEFL Chiang Mai provides a good solid grounding for teachers to work from, that provides confidence and efficiency in the classroom. The trainer’s knowledge and experience is very noticeable, not just on training teachers but also on local knowledge and Thai culture. They are all lovely people and very approachable and will assist you with anything you ask.
They will set you up with all the skills and tools you will need to walk into a classroom to deliver a successful lesson.

The teaching practises were great, very beneficial and very rewarding. I was able to find employment opportunities through SEE TEFL Chiang Mai, along with many other people on my course. You will make great friends and mix with people from a variety of countries and cultures, everyone was friendly and we all had a great time on the course. The school facility provided all your basic necessities and you will be able to work in a comfortable environment whilst being near local shops and restaurants. You will be grateful you did the course with SEE TEFL Chiang Mai, I was.

Review by Kellie-Anne Burke, January 2, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed the 4 week course in September 2013 and several things really stood out for me
– We had a group of 16, from various countries and age groups and everyone’s learning style and needs were catered to.
– Additional support when needed was provided as each of the instructor’s were very generous with their time
– Teaching practices were well planned and in a broad range of classroom types. They were challenging and rewarding and the feedback given after was delivered with the view to improve next time
– The emphasis placed on lesson planning has reaped rewards now that I am teaching
– Loved that we were given Introductory Thai as it gave us a feel of what it is like as a Student learning another language.
– I am still able to contact John, Shouvik and Ying for any ideas or for help with any challenges that arise
– Support to find a job post course was perfect and I was placed within a week with their support

All in all, a great course from registration all the way through to finding work. The perfect combination of professional and fun. Highly recommend this course to anyone.
Kellie-Anne Burke

Review by Richard Johnson, September 17, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I cannot say enough good things about SEE TEFL.

They train you for real life teaching situations by providing you with training in classroom discipline and also techniques for responding to specific discipline problems from their own personal experiences.

The six hours of actual teaching are a great training experience because they require you to write six lesson plans, prepare six whiteboard presentations and six student worksheets.

The instructors are all top notch because they offer you guidance from their own personal experiences in teaching, they are also very helpful and they want you to succeed. Their evaluations of your teaching experiences are very fair and motivational.

The Thai lessons are exceptional because you learn useful phrases such as greetings. You will also learn to count which help you to function when doing transactions with Thai businesses.

Their office staff goes out of their way to provide you with everything you need to succeed, they were never to busy to help with the office equipment or an IT problem.

Thanks to SEE TEFL’s job hunting techniques, I was able to secure a full time job at a government school within fifteen days of completing their course.

If I had one thing to change about SEE TEFL, I would add another printer to the system to ease the difficulties of sharing one printer with fifteen other students.

Thanks for everything SEE TEFL!

Review by Richard, July 4, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

When I first signed up for the SEE TEFL course I had a few apprehensions due to the fact that I had never attempted teaching before, my knowledge of grammar was limited to say the least, and I found the thought of the observed teaching practices to be quite daunting. However, thanks to the friendly and relaxed environment at SEE and the helpful advice and support offered over the 4 weeks, I found the experience to be rewarding and enjoyable, and by the time the course was completed I felt confident enough to be able to stand in front of a classroom full of students and begin my new profession as an English teacher!

Three years on and I am still living and working in Chiang Mai, where I have taught students of varying ages and abilities, ranging from 2 years old up to 65! Throughout this time the staff at SEE have been very helpful in providing me with assistance in finding work, as well as offering great advice on any visa queries I’ve had during my time here.

So despite my initial apprehensions about whether or not I had what it takes to be an English teacher, I’m very happy with the decision I made to just go for it, and if I knew of anyone who was considering enrolling in a TEFL course here in Thailand, I would sincerely recommend to them SEE TEFL.

Review by Mark and Kerry Morton, March 23, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

As a “mature in years only” couple, we have just completed the February EFL Course at SEE TEFL in Chiang Mai.

The exceptional customer service provided by John and the team commenced from our first email enquiry nearly a year ago, to present day, where we are still in regular contact with our “Chiang Mai Family”.
As business professionals in Australia, we have completed University Degrees, attended business training courses and retail/business seminars. After sitting through hours of lectures, writing myriads of reports, and listening to hundreds of “experts”, we have found two facts remain true throughout the word.

“Educators no nothing of business, and Business Trainers often no little about educating.”

That is until we attended Ying and John’s school. From the Management and trainers through to the housekeeper, every staff member is polite, engaging, and professional, going beyond the call of duty to help “the newbie” students.

The course is concise, presented in logical format, cunningly lulling you into a false sense of security in week one. We all listened with condescending smiles on our faces while John, Ying and Shouvik warned us of what to expect in the coming weeks. “We will be fine!” we told ourselves, “We’re professionals from the big city, we can handle this, they must be directing their comments to the youngsters.”

Little did we know, that the grammar demon was around the corner and we would spend the next three weeks murmuring in our sleep, “past participle” or “model and drill, model and drill, model and dri…..”

There is nothing more entertaining than watching a grown man attempting to teach young males in a detention centre how to sing, and complete the actions, of the classic song “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes,” or watch a retail shopping centre manager used to handling multi-million dollar deals and angry retailers daily, trying to herd a pack of three year olds into a circle to play a game.

It wasn’t until the end of the course, whilst consuming the obligatory cold beer that it dawned on us; the Machiavellian Management of SEE TEFL had recognised our individual weak spots and forced us out of our comfort zones.

We found the exceptional training provided by the team empowered us to deal with these situations and walk away with a smile on our faces, knowing we had done the job….. until the teaching practice review back at school that is.

In closing, we can only say thank you very much to Ying, John, Shouvik and the team for making our experience at your school so fantastic. The team is patient, caring and engaging and cannot be recommended more highly. We have finally found Educators that know Business completely, and a Business that is at the top of the educational training field.
From the bottom of our hearts, thanks SEE TEFL for a wonderful, memorable and exciting experience.
Kerry and Mark Morton, Australia

Review by Charles Moore, March 13, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I was lucky enough to have been recommended to SEE TEFL by a trusted source back home in the United States, so I didn’t do very much research on other places. As it turned out, I was very pleased with my overall experience. There were no negetives for me. The environment at SEE TEFL is extremely professional, and the staff are helpful and supportive. They are very experienced and knowledgable in EFL matters. And in my opinion, taking the course in Thailand as opposed to back home was valuable, as it was very helpful in acclimating me to the local culture. I have just completed my first year of teaching English at a government school in northern Thailand. It was challenging and rewarding, and I landed this job as a direct result of my contact with SEE TEFL.

The only advice I would give to anyone who is heading into the course would be to brush up on your grammer beforehand, and give yourself a headstart.

Review by Daniel Soltys, October 17, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Joining this course was the best decision I had ever made in my life so far and it paved the way for me to be doing what I really enjoy and to have that new chapter in my life :)
The staff were really friendly and helpful and had a great vibe and energy about them which made learning very enjoyable. This I have to say is the most positive outlook I can give to SEE. I always got the impression it was fun before work….but in the right way. When it came down to the 2nd part of the course, things started to get more difficult. I felt a bit lost to start with about what I had to do. The 1st couple of lesson plans, I felt a bit like I was thrown in at the deep end. On my 1st teaching practice, I was relatively calm. I’ve never really suffered from nerves….but once the attention started to drift in my class, I was beating myself up about it and took it to heart. I’ve always gone through life with everyone being interested in what I was saying or doing and I guess it was a wake up call that 7 year old’s wern’t really focussed….but hey ho, I bounced back and from there on in, I kept on looking forward. The teaching practices really were a godsend to what was in store for us.
I felt the facilities could have been better. Especially when the internet wasn’t working for a few days. The provided accommodation was really helpful and the job placement afterwards was so fast. It only took 10 days for me to walk into a new job after the last day of being at school. Amazing!
All in all, a very good experience.

Review by Kevin, October 16, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I attended the SEE TEFL course earlier this year. I selected the course after much deliberation and can confidently say that it was a fantastic decision that I see the benefit of every day as I continue teaching in Chiang Mai.

The course itself is fantastically structured and organised. The training offered is complex and in depth enough to make you feel confident and comfortable when you first step in front of a class of children in your first teaching practice. The instructors are experienced and highly knowledgeable and they are able to pass this on through fun and engaging lessons in teaching.

The 6 teaching practices during the course offer a fantastic experience to get acquainted with teaching, especially if it is your first time!

You get in depth feedback on your performances in the classroom. The feedback is honest and insightful, helping you develop as much as you can over the 4 weeks.

The course also offers insights into Thai culture. This i feel is vital if you are to adapt, live and teach in a culture that is very different to where you have been before. Coming here for a holiday is one thing but integrating into the culture when working can be testing and difficult. The course helps prepare you for this and dedicated time to making you more culturally aware.

SEETEFL also offers help and support post course to help you find work and employment. The busy staff are helpful and offer advice and support whenever it is needed. Since I have begun teaching i have sought advice on several occasions and have always been advised and supported as necessary.

Review by Tyler, July 31, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

SEE TEFL has to be one of the best TEFL courses out there. You get a wide range of teaching experience that most courses don’t offer, plus cultural awareness and Thai language. I opted out of taking the CELTA when I realized I would get the chance to teach in a number of different settings while still studying the same material. If your taking a TEFL course in Thailand, SEE should be at the top of your list. It was more challenging than any course I took at the University, and it can be very stressful at times. My advice is not to let others distract you. If you work better alone, work alone, and vice versa. I read the reviews on here before I took the course, and it was everything I expected it to be.

Review by Douglas, June 7, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I did the SEE TEFL during 10 months of traveling around SE asia, those four weeks in Chiang Mai were definitely up there with the rest for being enjoyable and memorable. I found all the tutors had extensive knowledge in their areas and they passed this on in a very clear and accessible way.

Before starting the course, I could not imagine myself in the role of teacher and I had little experience in talking to large groups. So in this respect, the course was challenging but it was a great environment to practice and helped a lot to build my confidence to the point where I now enjoy getting up in front of the classroom.

The observed teaching practices are a valuable experience, giving you the opportunity to put everything you have learnt into practice and providing constructive and encouraging feedback, this made me feel well prepared for going back in to the classroom after completing the course.

One unique part of the course is having Thai language lessons, not only were they very useful and great fun, but it was inspiring to be in the position of a student learning a foreign language from an excellent teacher.

The SEE TEFL course has made me want to pursue a career in teaching further, since completing the course I have been involved in several volunteer projects teaching both adults and children in Cambodia and the UK. I came from a background of IT and Finance and needed a change in career. Now I’ve got the next few years planned out for teaching, I do recommend it to anyone who is having similar thoughts.

Review by Julie Ka, April 22, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

SEE TEFL program benefits are many from start to well beyond finish. I came into the course with a few years of experience living and teaching in Thailand in the distant past, as well as more recent experience teaching at home and abroad elsewhere in Asia. The course is designed to prepare graduates all around with TEFL skills in general and with equally essential survival skills for teaching and living in Thailand. I found the course content and first-hand cultural experiences a solid enhancement and really enjoyable both personally and academically.

After an intense four weeks I came away with increased confidence in my teaching ability and a sense of direction in terms of my goals both as an EFL teacher and an aspiring expatriate. I think the teaching practices and Thai cultural and language trainings especially are what separate SEE TEFL from otherwise ordinary TEFL programs in Thailand. In class we are drilled in grammar points, teaching techniques, and the nuances of approaching Thai students, and are then able to put it all to test right away (six times in total) and be given valuable feedback from a variety of observers.

Now, some four months after graduation, I’m content to be teaching part-time with a work permit in hand and soaking up the brilliant mixture of traditional and modern Chiang Mai. SEE TEFL continues to provide support administrative, professional, and personal, without which I don’t know where I’d be.

Review by Dr Dave Evans, April 16, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I arrived in Thailand as a “mature” and unemployed UK university lecturer in need of a new string to my bow, and I came away with so much more. A *fabulous* course. John, Ying and the team seem to have thought of everything to help you acclimatise to both Thailand and the rarefied atmosphere of TEFL in a country that is a major culture shock to pretty much anyone (and not in a bad way, just in a shocking way if you come from Europe or the US). I have heard of EFL courses where the local “cultural awareness training” was a handout. And not a very good one at that. Well, not here! Visits to temples, a super museum, lots of local food, Thai language lessons that really help, advice on living in the local area and interacting with Thais are all included in a course that gradually ramps up the level and complexity of the work, in a supported and carefully taught way. Good facilities and air-conditioned classrooms, the price includes a textbook and various materials. Excellent teaching staff and very well organised LIVE teaching practices with real students of all ages and abilities in local schools, colleges, and in our case, a young offenders institution, which was utterly humbling. To see young men in what was effectively a walled jail school, and to experience how keen they are to learn is something I would have loved to film that and show it to some of my privileged and apathetic former students in the UK, to whom learning is considered something they can do if they feel like it that day, and if they can be bothered to get out of bed. The tail end of the course includes a lot of support and practical help on jobhunting in Chiang Mai and wider afield, and the start of a connection that last beyond the final day of the course, SEE graduates are closer to being an extended family than people who have studied together for just a month, and I came away from the course with several people who remain very dear friends. Factor in an established and actively supportive alumini network, many of them living and working locally, in some cases *years* after doing the course and you have a real winner. It is not all plain sailing on the jobhunting front, Chiang Mai has a lot of language teaching vacancies, but a lot of EFL graduates too. I was very lucky, i found some temporary work within days, and in less than ten weeks after finishing the course i had job offers from a very prestigious local school, and from 3 other countries. With pangs of regret I took the far bigger money offer from the middle East, but a part of me will always be in Chiang Mai, and several of my new good friends are still there, in fulltime EFL jobs. The people who did the course with me and who stayed in touch are ALL now in EFL jobs in some or other country, or have pursued further education. I hope I will be back in CM one day, to work, as the place has many charms, and a lifestyle that can be a lot of fun. If you are in any doubt as to whether you should do the SEE TEFL course, read the reviews here, and do your research on the reputations and employment rates of the competitors. These guys are no fly by night outfit, they are fully integrated into the local, regional and national education system, have a fabulous reputation across the country with language teacher employers, and they are real professionals, from the pre-course dealing with enquiries and helping with visa arrangements to the longterm after-course support, and everything inbetween. Yes, there are cheaper courses, there are shorter courses; but those are the kind of decisions you make when ordering food- maybe you want a fast burger or a cheap burrito? If you are planning for a serious future as an EFL teacher you want to invest your significant sum of hard-earned money into something that is nourishing and high quality, with depth and coherence, that will equip you with skills and attitudes for the daunting experience of walking into a school on day one of a job and being able to cope, and to continue to cope for a week, a month, a term, a year. This is one such course; to continue the metaphor it is a banquet, not junk food, and if SEE offered a higher-level or specialist course for later professional development I would definitely be on the list to take it. Quite outstanding, and a real life-changer, for which I remain very grateful.

Review by Wild Bill, February 8, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I completed my TEFL at SEE, Chiang Mai in early 2007 after months of deciding whether or not to bite the bullet. Being dyslexic and having no teaching experience I was very anxious about the course but was reassured by John (the course coordinator) and his colleagues at the time to give it a go.

After the dreaded first teaching practice, I really started to relax and grow in confidence. By the end of the course was ready to get out around the city and find work as a TEFL teacher. In the end I stayed for nearly 18 months in the city and loved (almost!) every minute as a teacher.

Obviously I have nothing to compare it to, but I found the whole experience at SEE grwat fun; with a friendly, ‘family’ atmosphere, and a great confidence boast for finding work.

The most useful elements were probably the observed teaching practices; which varied from Kindergarten to University students and the local knowledge on finding work and living well in Thailand. The chances are you would probably also meet some great people; most of which I am still in touch with five years later!

Review by Ryan, November 7, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

SEE Tefl was a great program. The quality of the program stems directly from Jon and Ying who own and operate SEE TEFL. They are both genuinely nice people with much experience in EFL teaching, and provide their students everything they need to become great teachers. I highly suggest attending this program if you are considering it.

Review by Joseph, August 18, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I got a lot out of my See TEFL Chiang Mai course and also a whole bunch of new tricks for my “teaching toolbox”. Thought the course was extremely well organized and taught with useful handouts – particularly the Murphy’s Grammar book. They used four different trainers who specialized in different aspects of teaching and also brought in a very experienced local teacher to do a special class on teaching to younger learners as well. Although I have previous English teaching experience I was particularly interested in getting a TEFL certificate that was respected, as some are not worth the paper they are written on. See TEFL has a very good reputation with the schools in Chiang Mai and Thailand as evidenced by the comments I got during several interviews. Completing the course and having their certificate enabled me to land a job at the school I was really hoping to teach at. Overall it was a great experience and lots of fun even if it was a little challenging at times and they are very good at giving positive critiques. I am very glad that I enrolled there instead of another training course. I would recommend it highly for anyone without teaching experience and wanting to teach English as a second language anywhere or as continuing-education for experienced teachers as well. John and Ying run a very good ship.

Review by Chaz, July 31, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

Hi my name is chaz and I completed my tefl course via Siam Educational Experience back in September of 2008. I had been to Thailand on various occasions and had fallen in love with the country. It is because of this that I really wanted a life changing experience which would not only allow me to stay in Thailand indefinitely but more importantly allow me to be immersed fully into Thai society and culture.

Before leaving the UK I had intensely researched via the internet and e-mail correspondence the various TEFL providers available in Chiangmai. SEE TEFL seemed to be the right choice not only because the cost of the course was extremely competitive but more so to do with the fact that John Quinn promptly and courteously replied swiftly to all my e-mail queries regarding working and living in Thailand which gave me a great sense of professionalism about SEE TEFL.

John Quinn was also the only TEFL provider who provided me with e-mail addresses of previous SEE TEFL graduates whom I could contact personally and ask about their own honest opinions about the SEE TEFL experience.

John and Ying Quinn are extremely approachable and genuinely sincere people who always have the interests of their TEFL students at the forefront of their minds. They truly made me feel as though I was part of their own family (this is no exaggeration) and it was this genuine hospitality which made me realise instantly upon meeting them both for the first time that I had made the right choice in choosing SEE TEFL as my TEFL provider.

The course itself is intensive and certainly should not be attempted by those who are not genuinely committed to teaching in Thailand at a high standard. The course is divided into bite size focussed components which range from pedagogy, grammar, cultural awareness, Thai language, lesson planning, practical teaching within a real school to mention but a few. Each component was delivered professionally in an easy to understand and fun way.

Although there is a lot to take in, the course certainly prepares oneself, upon successful completion, to be able to walk into a teaching job and have the confidence and competence to teach a class of esl students. SEE TEFL also provide you with help not only obtaining a visa but also finding suitable employment within a good school.

I am still living and working in Thailand and it is certainly in great part due to the help support and guidance I have received from John and Ying Quinn from Siam Educational Experience.

In conclusion would I recommend SEE TEFL as a valid option for individuals wanting to teach in Thailand? Yes without a doubt and with no reservations what so ever!!!

Review by Genene, July 26, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed the SEE TEFL course in June 2011. I highly reccomend them if you are considering doing a course. I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and if you listen well you will learn a great deal. Our group were a great bunch of people, and even though in the beginning you may feel as though your on your own, by the end you will have made new friends. I have never done any teaching before, and by the end I found I am now confident enough to teach any class. Also learing a little Thai in the course helped with understanding how hard it is to learn another language, and it was fun! I am surprised that anyone could say anything bad about the course and the teachers. Perhaps some do not have the right attitude. Remember you are the student, listen and study well and ask lots of questions if you are not sure of something, and learn from your feedback. You will enjoy the experience!

Review by Dan, July 25, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

Relatively speaking, this course is as systematically structured and comprehensive as you’ll get.. at least here in Thailand.

SEE TEFL give you the the necessary tools to get out and start teaching. Their support during the 4 weeks of the course is absolutely outstanding, as it is once you complete the course.

If you’re new to Thailand and want to start teaching, it is important to have some objective in mind as to where you want to start, and what you want to start doing. It doesn’t have to be for ever so don’t look for the perfect job but at the same token take time and prudence and don’t just jump on the first offer that comes your way.

Both John and Ying take great pride in their graduates landing good jobs and they have so many stories of their TEFL teachers successfully working all over Thailand. Their knowledge of schools and contacts within them is invaluable, the opportunities here are immense. Make use of this fantastic network.

Like anything, this course is what you make of it. It’s such a fantastic introduction into Chiang Mai for the newly arrived. The survival Thai classes are brilliant as well as the Cultural awareness day. All the staff are just terrific, they tirelessly support you along the way making the 4 week course so much more enjoyable.

Thank you to all involved.
Thank you John and Ying.

Good luck

Review by Cresa, July 25, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I took the SEE TEFL training course nearly three years ago and must admit that taking this course was a fairly easy choice for me. I had a very specific idea of what I wanted to do while I was in Chiang Mai, which was volunteer with a local-non profit while supporting myself teaching English. I wrote to many schools seeking advice on the most practical way of making this happen, and John (lead trainer at SEE) was the only one who provided me with quality feedback, including the contact information of a SEE TEFL grad who had recently done just what I was looking to do, and even followed up with me to make sure all my questions and concerns had been addressed.

The course itself was very well structured and although the lesson planning and teaching practices were pretty stressful and nerve-racking, it was worth it because by the end I definitely felt confident and capable enough to lead a classroom. Having never taught before in my life, that confidence was everything.

I thought the teaching methodology and content was useful, but having nothing to compare it to I won’t elaborate too much on those points. I definitely believed the lessons to be very practical, especially if you’re planning on working with young learners, and often referred back to my notes and worksheets throughout my time as a teacher in Thailand.

The crash course in Thai was great fun and a really nice way to gain perspective into what your future students will be experiencing when you are the one teaching, which I believe made me a much more mindful and gracious teacher. Thai lessons can also be fairly expensive, so the fact that this is part of the curriculum alone is a huge incentive to take the SEE course if you’re planning on staying in Thailand any decent length of time.

Once I finished the course I wanted the flexibility to determine my own schedule and travel as much as possible, so opted to piece together some part-time options. I picked up a few classes at a local language academy just a couple of days after finishing the course and was consistently employed (with varying loads of work) for the entire year and a half that I remained in Chiang Mai.

The first couple of months of work definitely left much to be desired and I wasn’t able to be picky about the jobs I accepted, but as in any job (especially once in which you have no experience) you have to pay your dues in order to receive more rewarding employment. Once I’d worked for a few months I began to get what I considered to be better (higher paying, more reputable) teaching positions and was pretty flattered when I was invited to return to SEE’s partner school, EFL Learning Center, to teach private and small group lessons there.

John and Ying are veterans in this industry and are extremely well connected, often being the first to hear about job vacancies. This is a massive advantage for the students of this course who are looking for opportunities to gain employment and expand their professional network.

All in all I’d say that taking the SEE training course is a great investment of your money and energy, and will certainly pay off in a substantial way if you’re serious about teaching abroad, especially in Thailand. And if you’re lucky you’ll make some great friends along the way.

Review by Buzz Lightyear, July 25, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

Even though my nickname is that of a fictional cartoon character (my students of 3 years call me this because of my resemblance to the character) my review of SEE TEFL is non-fiction.

I decided to invest in training at SEE TEFL after doing research and spending an afternoon with John at their location in Chiang Mai. The visit was a breath of fresh air after having just been hastily rushed between people who didn’t want to give me the time of day at the leading university (offering TEFL training) in Chiang Mai. The main reason I chose SEE TEFL was because of this visit and the willingness of John to spend time explaining the training, teaching in Thailand and his patience and candor with answering my sometimes blunt and unpleasant questions. He told me like it was and I have since found that it is what he said it was and would be. I understood that what I would get out of the training depended upon what I put into it……quite simple really, but accurate.

I put my heart and soul into the training and here I am, in Thailand, in the middle of my 3rd year of teaching at the same school. I completed my SEE training in a March session and started my current employment in the very next month of April. TEFL training and a certificate were required by my school (and by myself) since I had no training in the education field nor any teaching experience. The SEE training prepared me well for what I was about to undertake but I had also realized it was up to me to learn and apply what I had learned. I did not utilize any of the employment assistance services (hence 3 stars) but people from my class did and everyone that was serious about teaching found appropriate positions quickly with many of them receiving multiple offers and teaching locally in Chiang Mai. If I would have wanted to teach in the Chiang Mai area, I am confident I would have found an appropriate position as well.

The training itself was in a comfortable setting, very practical and even though it was well structured, anyone in our class could ask any question at any time, it was our class not SEE TEFL’s class. It is important that people understand that TEFL training is not a replacement for a formal education but rather a PRACTICAL experience to prepare you to enter a classroom and begin building your teaching skills…much like a driving license is a license to learn how to drive. Without the SEE TEFL training I would not have been prepared to do what I needed to do to become a successful teacher in Thailand. If you think you can just go into any TEFL training course, including SEE’s course, and just sit there and go through the motions to become prepared, your are terribly mistaken.

I found the staff to be courteous, knowledgeable and well aware of the course content and its demands upon the students. I didn’t have the privilege of studying with Khun Ying as she was busy becoming a mother but everyone else was professional when appropriate and friendly when appropriate.

At the end of the program you are afforded the opportunity to offer written feedback (anonymously if you wish) and I think the only thing I was critical about was the access to printing capabilities (hence the 4 stars for facilities). I do hope SEE has expanded this capability. But as you can see, if this is the only criticism I found necessary to share at the time, the experience and preparation must have been satisfying (it was). I am not afraid to communicate my displeasure under such circumstances, believe me.

I have no regrets whatsoever about choosing SEE for my TEFL training and without hesitation would recommend the course, as I experienced it, to anyone seeking this type of training. It was a great experience and to this day I utilize what I learned and still keep in contact with many of my classmates.

Review by TS, July 25, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I attended a SEE TEFL course in 2007 and very glad I did. The 4-week intensive course was great and was a fantastic way for anyone to prepare themselves for Teaching English as a Foreign Language, especially here in Thailand. The course content was appropriate and the observed teaching practice invaluable which included feedback after each one. My first observed teaching class went horribly and I was ready to jack it in but after some positive feedback from John, and more time in the classroom, I was ready for another. I am now in my 4th year of teaching here in Thailand but doubt I would have coped if it hadn’t have been for those 4 weeks I spent at SEE. John & Ying were both excellent and very supportive, they responded promptly whenever I needed advice or information after the course finished and still welcome me back with a friendly smile after all these years! A+ for SEE.

Review by Jamie, July 25, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Hi all,

Just wanted to share some thoughts with you about about SEE TEFLs 120 hour course.I completed the course in july 2010.I found John, Ying and the staff to be friendly and helpful.Its not an easy course, its not meant to be, its an intense 1 month programme including 6 practical teaching classes to prepare you to go out and teach english in Thailand.

John was always there for us, to bring us to the schools and advise us on preparation and controlling a classroom, he was extremely helpful and generous
with his time.

I remember my first practical exam was at 9.00a.m. over at Techno Asia, I was stuck in traffic and worried about being late.Our group was supposed to meet at TEFL at 8.00a.m. I knew I would nt make it so phoned John and told them to go on
without me, John told me to get off the highway and gave me clear and simple to follow directions to Techno Asia.He even pushed my class back to 10.00a.m. to allow me plenty of time to get there, gather my thoughts and prepare for the class.

I made it through that day and went on to successfully complete the programme.That was a year ago, I still go into their office to say to the staff or send an email.Any time I bump into John or Ying they always stop to say hello and ask me how everything is going.

Anyone thinking of coming to Chiang Mai to teach I would recommend doing the SEE TEFL course here, its a great experience and starting point for a career in teaching english here in Thailand.

All the best,

Jamie, Chiang Mai.

Review by Andy, July 20, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

I attended the SEE TEFL course in 2007. Having no teaching experience but wanting to live and work in Thailand I researched various organisations offering a TEFL qualification. After careful deliberation and many discussions with the very patient and understanding course director John, I decided to undertake my TEFL training with SEE.

From the very first day of the course I knew i had made the right decision. The course was delivered in a very professional, methodical and friendly manner. You are taken through the basics of learning teaching, how to prepare excellent lesson plans and resources for use in the classroom as well as preparation for a diverse range of hands on teaching practices.

John delivers the course in a way that suits different styles of learning while offering a great deal of support for individual students. Teaching adults can be challenging but Johns patience seemed to hold no bounds and he always injected a team spirit and a great deal of fun into the learning process.

The hands on teaching practices were invaluable ranging from early years to university students and a case study of an adult student at the language school.
With SEE TEFL’s course I gained the experience of teaching real second language learners in real schools, from poor temple schools to government schools to well equipped private schools.

The feedback following the teaching practices was invaluable and honestly delivered. Allowing you to gain insight in to your teaching delivery and ways in which you could improve. This was something I particularly admired about John and Ying they were not afraid to tell TEFL students the truth about their teaching ability even if it meant losing the odd customer who didn’t like the truth. Also if you don’t fulfill the criteria of the course you will not pass but will be given the opportunity to complete it at a later date.

Like everything in life you get out of it what you put in. To be successful and get the most out of the this course you have to be dedicated and put a lot of hard work and extra time in. However you will be strongly supported all through the course and after you gain employment by John and Ying.

As for gaining employment at the start of the course i could not teach but by the end of the course I had the confidence To step in to a classroom with 90 student nurses and teach them English for 4 hrs. I finished the course on the Friday and started work on the Monday. After finishing that contract I found a full time post teaching English through science at a bilingual school in Chiang Mai. Following two and a half years in this post I was offered and accepted a position in an International school and am now studying for a professional teaching qualification.

In the early days after completing the TEFL I still had many doubts about my ability to teach during this time John and Ying continued to offer me support and guidance.

Thanks to the SEE TEFL course i discovered a love for and a true ability to teach.

I have recommended and will continue to recommend this course to many people, some have gained employment in Chiang Mai some in other parts of Thailand or even other parts of the world.

This course will equip you with the confidence and ability to teach English as a second language. How far it takes you after that is up you.

Review by Bruce B, May 30, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I finished my certification in December of 2009 and have to say it was a great experience. My concern in getting a certificate was that I really wanted a challenging program that gave me the skills and knowledge to become a better teacher, not just get a certificate. I suspect that many programs are not so demanding.

The program was a challenge and forced me to dig inside myself to bring out my best and work hard to fulfill the requirements. But at the same time the training was excellent and provided me with feedback and ongoing training to understand what I needed to do to improve and do better in my lesson planning.

Almost as important for me was the genuinely kind nature of everybody at the school. We were not only learning but having fun in class. This made for a very close group of students and we all became friends and spent a lot of time together outside of classes. This was a great support while taking an intensive, month long program such as this.

After finishing my certification I did some part time work in the local area with positions SEE TEFL called me about but ultimately I found a job on my own and returned to Korea where I’ve been teaching ever since. My certification bumped my pay up to a level that basically paid for the entire course fees in one year.

One suggestion I would make is to consider your hotel carefully. Most of us were staying at a place a little ways out from the city but close to the school. Some had bad experiences but it was fine for me. The price I got was around $175 month for a large room with a balcony, TV etc. You have to pay for room cleaning and practically anything else but if you are on a budget, it’s a good deal. Point is, make sure it is what you want and if not, find another place. You’ll be working hard for a month and the last thing you want is to go home at night with any extra issues.

Highly recommended.

Review by Bryan Olson, April 7, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I highly recommend the folks at SEE Tefl, John and the staff are engaging and very professional. I’m currently employed at one of Bangkok’s oldest and greatest colleges and feel that the training I received at SEE Tefl, is a direct result of my employment at such a prestigious institution. Furthermore, as I head into my second school year teaching in Thailand, I find myself still using their program and the Three Ps approach in all my current lesson plans. I feel they delivered everything they promised and I highly recommend the course!!!

Review by Martyn Jones, March 11, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I attended the SEE TEFL course three years ago and without a doubt it was the most worthwhile month I’ve spent in my 45 years on this planet. Although I can’t compare it directly with any other TEFL course, I feel that the SEE course is pretty much flawless.
For a start there’s John, Ying and the other lovely staff – forget about their skill and expertise – you’ve arrived in a strange place, not knowing whether you should be there or whether you can become a language teacher. But from the first moment at SEE, you’re in a friendly environment that seems to whisper in your ear “I should be here and I will be a teacher….”
Being a competitive person at heart and having done post graduate work in neuroscience at university, I had a reservation that the course would be too easy – a useless “media studies” type of thing – How wrong I was! Despite the friendly, easy-going atmosphere there is no doubt that this is a serious meticulous course with high standards. A delicate hint that if you don’t work hard and prepare enough, you’ll simply die in a real classroom permeates the first week – by the second week that hint turns into a scream as you face your first teaching practice. The calming influence of the staff prevent nails and sanity being lost.

Enabling would-be teachers to prepare original lesson plans is the real forte of the course. John has a lovely way of advising rather than criticising “That’s good, but why don’t you change it into a game where the students……..” Leaving the recipient of the advice thinking “That’s so much better than my idea”. John’s guidance was, and still is, invaluable.
Teaching to foreign students in a school back in England (yes a certificate from SEE doesn’t mean you can only teach in Thailand!), I was reminded of how useful the ‘original lesson plan’ aspect of the course had been. I was constantly having to help fellow teachers tweek their lesson plans as they couldn’t find a relevant printed worksheet that fitted their needs exactly.

Unfortunately, due to family reasons, I never got to teach in Thailand – but I plan to return to teach there as I felt cheated out of a fantastic experience. That will be when Ying’s fantastic Thai lessons will become invaluable – she is such a good teacher and I’m sure Stuart only pronounced the Thai words so deplorably to get the metal ruler treatment…… I can still even remember all the Thai months three years later….

Good cultural awareness of life in Thailand is well covered by the course plus some delicious meals out. Heck, if you don’t fall in love with Chiang Mai by the end of the month there’s something wrong with you. If I could do it again – I most certainly would!

Lastly, I have to thank John for his continued email contact – instant and insightful help and advice three years on. SEE is brilliant!! If you’re looking for a TEFL course in Thailand, I really can not fault this one at all.

Review by Lucy T, March 6, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I did the course two years ago, and I’ve been teaching in Thailand ever since. I had absolutely no teaching experience when I started, so although it was a bit nerve-wracking, the course really prepared me to stand in front of a classroom. I also made some great friends, and I found it to be a really friendly and supportive environment. I would recommend it!

Review by Marco, February 9, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

After working as a teacher in Thailand for almost two years the SEE TEFL course still isn’t forgotten. I really enjoyed the time with John and my classmates. Since I graduated from SEE TEFL in 2009 I keep in touch with John and I can highly recommend this course. Especially the 6 hours observed teaching practice with my self prepared lesson plans and material provided a very good first impression what it is like to be a teacher in Thailand. Both Ying and John were always very helpful.
If you are in Chiang Mai or decide to come don’t miss the next TEFL course at SEE .

Review by Ian Harlow, February 8, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Me and my partner decided to take time out of life in the UK and try our hand at teaching, we decided on Thailand after a holiday there in 2007. We chose Chiang Mai, partly because of what we had heard and read, but mainly because we had decided to enrol on the TEFL course at SEE. From the outset, communication with John Quinn was well informed, helpful and most of all, reassuring. Neither me or my partner had any teaching experience prior to starting the course, and were nervous on the first day, but both John and Ying, and the other members of the course dissolved any nerves by the middle of the first week!

I thoroughly enjoyed my time on the course, and to my surprise took to the role of language teacher a lot easier than I had anticipated, this in part due to the well informed input and feedback from both John and Ying. I will always remember my first teaching practice at a Temple school, it went so well, that despite losing sleep the night before, the buzz afterwards more than made up for the lethargy I was feeling. This was such a confidence boost, and made me realise that I could do it. I was genuinely sad to finish the course, and mark mine and John’s words that the 4 week course flies by, and before you know it you are out there looking for work, and the help and guidance didn’t stop there. The school helped us find full-time work in schools within 2 weeks of the end of the course, which set us up with much needed experience coming straight from the course.

In a nutshell, this course is worth its weight in gold, the staff in the school are fun and easy going, John and Ying work very hard, but still take time out to answer any queries or provide advice when you need it. I have recommended the course to many people on the strength of my experience, and will continue to do so!

Since graduating from the course in Septmeber 2008, I still have contact with John, and he is still as attentive and helpful as he was when we first started emailing each other way back in 2007.

If you are thinking of studying a TEFL course in S.E Asia, then this is the one you should choose.

Review by Neil (Leo!) Wragg., February 6, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Hello everyone!
I attended the SEE, TEFL course 4 years ago, and was last week still reminding myself of the importance of the course in my Teaching development.
I came from a ‘non-teaching’ background, and found the course Stimulating and very professional in all aspects.
Did it offer good value and prepare me for teaching classes of 50+ in the Government school sector in Bangkok Metropolitan, unquestionably-YES!
did I FIND IT EASY-UNQUESTIONABLY-NO!
Made some great friends, and my word, I learnt to think ‘outside the box’ of commerce in which I had been working for 30+years in the UK.
John,Ying and all their staff really work hard to get you ‘on the way’ to a teaching career.
I left the course, and was working in Bangkok for a year, then I went to Hanoi in Vietnam, initially working as a Teacher in a Language center, then became the Language Center Director for a year. Then last year I came back to Bangkok where I am now Teaching in a big Government school in Bangkok Metropolitan (Samutprakarn)-my heart is in Thailand Teaching big classes (crazy, I know)
Get on with it, do it, and adopt a ‘can-do’ attitude!
Best of luck, Neil(Leo)Wragg.
P.S. I still cannot get the students to say Neil, so I am ‘Leo’ to them-okay!

Review by Louis My, February 3, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

After working as Teacher in Thailand for close to a year, I realize how well designed the S.E.E TEFL course is. It basically delivered everything it said it would do: The tools to teach in Thailand and great insights into Thai Culture. Ying’s Thai lessons, despite being great fun, will really put you in the students’ shoes and make you understand how important it is to grade your language in front of Thai kids. Most important of all, I got my first job within a month of finishing the course after I received an E-Mail from John. I really enjoyed the course and if you want, it can be a stepping stone into Thai society and the beginning of a great adventure…

Review by Stephen J, January 27, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The Tefl course was very well run, in a friendly and professional environment.
Had a great time with my classmates and the staff were lovely. A big thumbs up.

Write a Review of SEE TEFL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.