Review of Global Leadership College

Global Leadership College

Global Leadership College is part of a network of teacher training and language institutes dedicated to providing high quality, highly practical TESOL/TEFL courses. GLC proudly features nearly four decades of experience in the language industry. Our world-class on-site TEFL program was adapted by expert tutors to the current online version. The result is one of the best and most affordable online TEFL certification programs available. In the event that you want to further your studies after the online TESOL/TEFL course, we invite you to take our optional Teaching Practices or Teaching Business English Courses. Having these added values to your resume will really impress your employers!

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Online Courses
Length: Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Overall Rating2.182.182.182.182.18
Course Content2.162.162.162.162.16
Practice Teaching1.811.811.811.811.81
Quality of Feedback2.372.372.372.372.37
Lesson Plan Guidance2.122.122.122.122.12
Instructor Competency2.482.482.482.482.48
Job Placement1.721.721.721.721.72
Facilities/Resources2.072.072.072.072.07
Are you the owner of Global Leadership College? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

48 Customer Reviews of Global Leadership College

Review by JB, May 28, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

This is a waste of time and money. Don’t be sucked in by all the Groupon and similar discount website’s offers as you will be better off doing an actual teaching course. The content has little to zero relevance to teaching English as a foreign language. It begins promisingly with an overview of the theory of linguistics and language acquisition but soon goes off track with some admittedly not entirely useless sections on the finer points of the English language. There’s also a long section on proper citations in academic writing.

Then follows a useless history of dictionaries and a section on relationships which is in fact information on how to shake a hand, why business emails should be sparing with emoticons and practising applying for a job as a sales clerk in a store. These have nothing to do with the process of teaching a language. None of the examples require you to envisage being in a teaching situation, they ask for bafflingly irrelevant things like “how to introduce your parents to the school principal at parent-teacher night”.

It seems like the course was ripped off a general language course they developed for secondary school students at private Christian colleges. It pushes a resolutely religious agenda with quizzes on the meaning of grace and forgiveness, and requiring analysis of Bible passages.

The website functionality is bad at best, with it often being unavailable due to excessive students being online at a time. It is not compatible with Apple laptops with the screen jumping around because of an incessantly resizing ‘submit’ button. It often freezes requiring the browser to be shut down, causing problems for the tests which can only be attempted once.

In short – don’t do this course if you want to learn something about teaching a foreign language. The only people I think this course would be useful for would be secondary school students as it contains information that could help in learning professional etiquette, skills in conflict resolution and general knowledge about the English language.

Review by James, June 2, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Horrible response from teachers… oh wait. ZERO RESPONSE FROM TEACHERS! This course teaches you nothing about TESOL (TEFL). The site is barely functional if at all. The subjects were all jumbled up. I was doing Quizzes for subjects before the sight even let me study for them. This “college” is a joke! Don’t be suckered in by the coupon websites. Save your money and time and head elsewhere.

Review by Jo, July 17, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Wouldn’t recommend this course, marking is hopeless. No help from teachers, if you ask about a question they send you through the full answer of what you are supposed to write. Didn’t like all the religious talk in it, like you were studying at a Christian school or something. Not a good course at all!!!

Review by Frances Gray, July 20, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I completed this course faster than they predict, because I didn’t read any of the lessons, just completed the questions at the bottom and moved on. Doing this, I still have a 91 average. I do have a masters in linguistics, so that may account for why I haven’t really learned anything new.

I was assigned a “Teacher,” who was really just a Grader for the written portions. He never wrote me any comments at all, even when he failed me for a lesson. The only reason I was ever counted off for something was because I hadn’t written enough. Frustratingly, my teacher would give me a failing grade, allow me to reattempt the lesson, I would write two or three more sentences, and he would give me an A. That’s not any kind of grading scale I’ve ever seen. Toward the end of the course, I just started BSing the essay questions, writing a lot of drivel rather than a succinct answer with substance, and I got full marks for the lengthy drivel. Apparently quantity was better than quality.

A good chunk of the program is testing English proficiency, which feels like a waste of time for a native English speaker. There’s also a lot of relatively basic grammar which, again, was not helpful to me because I’ve studied it already. I guess I was hoping for more help with making a curriculum for teaching English, which is what I’m doing professionally right now. I have to admit I did kind of expect the program to be a waste of time; I’m mostly doing it for my resume, just to be certified, whether it was a useful experience or not. I haven’t tried applying to TESOL jobs yet, so I don’t know if employers will know that the program was terrible or not . . . I’m hoping my other qualifications trump it if they are (rightfully) unimpressed with GLC.

I did buy the program from deal mobs, so it was really cheap. I did it for my resume, not expecting to learn much, so it has served that purpose.

There is one other reason I really did not like the program. In the middle of the second unit, it got unexpectedly religious. I have no problem with religion; I even go to church when I go home. But the fact that the school does not advertise itself as religious at all, and then snuck it into the TESOL program as if trying to evangelize to me without me noticing, really bothered me. Why hide that you’re a religious organization? They also only ever referred to the Bible as The Good News. It felt almost cultish. At one point, in a lexicography lesson, I had to write about the definitions of ‘truth’ in 19th and 20th century dictionaries versus today’s version, and of course the older versions reference Christian truth. So I put that in my answer. Except, when the program was auto saving my answer, it changed where I had written ‘The Bible’ to ‘The Good News.’ I really did not like it changing my own writing. It felt very creepy.

All in all, I cannot recommend this course. It was a waste of time; I did not learn a single new thing, let alone something that can help me teach English as a foreign language. In fact, just the criteria that this website gives to rate the course is a joke, in terms of this course. Practice teaching? We did zero. Feedback? We got zero. Lesson Plan Guidance? ZERO! What a waste.

Review by Teacher, August 24, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I agree with all user reviews above.
- NO teacher feedback (i’ll give you 6% on a lesson, you’ll complain, I’ll let you re-do it and give you 90%) And yes, I literally got 6% on something!

- NO rubric/marking scheme of any kind

- WAY too God-y

- I did call their phone number a few times and spoke with someone who attempted to resolve my issues

- Website freezes and locks you out of tests, but you have 10 attempts at each one, so just wait 24 hours and it will unlock itself

If you’re doing this to put on your resume that you have TESOL qualifications, and it only costs you $60 because of a groupon or something, then do it. If you actually want to learn how to teach, go to teacher’s college.

Review by Colten, September 24, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I really wish I had known this website existed before I had bought this as a groupon. I wouldn’t have even wasted my time, even at $60.

I am nearly finished a degree in linguistics, and was just looking for a TESOL certification. Most of the material was review for me (especially the long sections that seemed to make sure I knew English- for sure a waste of time for any native English speaker), and displayed nothing profound. There was absolutely zero teacher feedback, and about 20% into the course, began to display this… God-oriented spin, and began asking about what god does/would do, questions about souls, how to “properly” overcome emotions like regret.

I would not recommend this course to anyone, regardless of it’s cheaper price comparatively.

Review by Jen, October 15, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I’m glad that I did not read the feedback on this site about GLC and went ahead with my belief. First off, the teacher that I was assigned was really helpful. I literally pestered him with questions and he was kind enough to answer each one of them. If you are thinking of doing this course, I would say it is worth the money and you will get every help you need from your teacher. But be sure to ask for a feedback. If you just sit in a corner expecting a feedback, you will never get one. Like everything in life, if need to get good at asking. Like the others I agree that the section of God was completely off. But overall it was a great experience and I was happy doing it.

Review by Zakary, October 25, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 33333

So, there is a lot of negative feedback about this program. While I agree that a lot of the content seems irrelevant and unnecessarily Christian, my instructor answered all my questions and was very helpful. I’m already a teacher in China, so this course was really just resume padding for me. It’s inexpensive, you’ll learn at least a modicum of useful information about grammar rules and a few other topics, and as long as you ask for support, you’ll receive it. Also, I use a MacBook, and I had no technical issues with the site at all.

Review by Nat, October 28, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Great course. I really enjoyed the class overall. Global leadership college assumes you have a university degree and already have some sort of teacher training before starting the course. So all those of you that weren’t satisfied with the degree of ‘teacher training’ offered maybe had no teacher training whatsoever and were expecting to become teachers overnight with an online course. The course tests your english proficiency but also your critical thinking in the classroom. I learned quite a bit of new tips and tricks to use in my own classroom here in Canada. I do recommend this TESOL course.
If you are a native english speaker and do have some sort of teacher training this class is a breeze but well worth taking to add a little something to your resume and maybe travel abroad.

Review by Chris Reilly, November 11, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

I have to disagree with many of the above reviews. I have a Ph.D. in Psychology and have taught at the college level and was looking to learn more about English and teaching English as a second language. First, my teach Jennifer Swanson was excellent. She answered all my questions within 24 hours and proactively helped my to understand my mistakes and how the lessons, quizes, and tests were graded. Further, she helped the information come alive through sharing personal experience. Second, the content was good and the web site was very simple to navigate. I neglected to read the manual but Ms. Swanson explained it all to me. There are some religious quotes and values put forth in the first few lessons but they are few and far between. I thought it was odd but was in no way offended. I also realize many students will be religious and it is important to understand their perspective although I am not religious and am a scientist. I plan on taking other courses as well through the GLC. Thank you very much for your product and services.

Review by Brett, November 13, 2012

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

Bit too churchy but overall a good course. Cheap and easy and you can go at your own pace. Took me 2 months on and off. Teacher Frank was very helpful.

Review by Rick, November 25, 2012

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 33333

I just completed the course. I think there were some good sections to prepare a person for teaching. It does not cover everything and I will be taking another TEFL course to fill in some missing points. I think it was worth the money. I was surprised by the God questions but as a religion major I was not offended. I actually think that taking you by surprise with those questions makes you think how you would answer that in a classroom. I have been a high school math teacher for 12 years and have been asked many questions by students unrelated to math. It may not be the best course but it does not hurt to add it to your resume. I do not have the time for a CELTA course. The only advantage is the teaching practice. While that is good, it is not the same as being alone in your own class. I would take a less paying job with the TEFL course and get the real experience and then go after the high paying jobs. Be careful of the high paying jobs and what is expected. Look at the job descriptions for some Middle East and Asian jobs. The demand is very high because of the value they put on education in their country. A very demanding principal can make your life difficult.

Review by chinamatt, November 26, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

This course had to have been taken from a Christian School course. It has lots of biblical references, which is something I am OK with but it was mentioned nowhere in the course description. A majority of the course is spent reviewing English structure and the background of language with very little spent on teaching strategies or methods. Sorry I spent my money.

Review by LucyMannion, December 4, 2012

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

This course wasted 150 valuable hours of my life, and I feel like I have achieved next to nothing from it in the way of teaching English as a second language. I am a qualified primary school teacher who wanted to add to my qualification, and unfortunately I gave in to a cheap Groupon offer. Huge regret. More so than the money, it is a massive and unforgivable waste of your time – don’t do it. As a teacher, I can tell you that this course offers absolutely nothing useful with regard to actually standing in front of a class, lesson planning and structure, or lesson content. Almost every shred of this course is totally irrelevant, and I was very annoyed by the recurring references to God, which were strange to say the least. Don’t be tempted by the cheap offers on Groupon, pay the money and do a real teaching course.

Review by Rusty, January 5, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 22222

This is a bizarre course. As many of the other comments stated, I took this course to pad my resume and maybe add some things to my classroom skills. However, this course tells you nothing about teaching English as a second language.

It’s quite obvious that a lot of sections were copied and pasted from somewhere else and then some random quiz questions were thrown together. Also, the random “Good News” parts distract from the lessons.

I could go on, but to summarize my overall opinion, it’s not worth the time or money. I wasn’t expecting an online course to change my life, but I was expecting to receive worthwhile information.

Review by Luke, January 13, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Cheap padding for a resume and nothing more. I took this course primarily just to get my certification but was still surprised at how little I learned of practical value, that being nothing at all. There was essentially no instruction on teaching or classrooms, just a lot of general communication and teamwork topics with some basic English language usage assessment. I normally would have no complaints about the presence of religious content since I am a Christian myself, however this content seemed to be injected into the middle of the course at random and with no relevance to the rest of the material. Teacher feedback was good when requested. I suppose this course has served my primary purpose but I honestly can’t say I learned anything useful from it.

Review by Rose, April 7, 2013

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I’m glad I did not read these negative feedbacks before taking this course. I don’t understand what they expected. These TESOL courses are not for people who want to become teachers overnight. I have been teaching Tesol/Toefl/Toeic for 4 years and I found the GLC material very good. I would definitely recommend it to others. It had a little bit of religious content in the first section, so what! really it’s about time everybody grew up. My instructor was very receptive and answered all my questions within 24 hours. The 150 hour course was informative, interesting and educational. Those of you who are teachers (and not those who think that 150 hours will make them a teacher) and already know how to conduct yourselves in a class, will find this course helpful and interesting.

Review by Matt, April 12, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Learn to scuba dive in your own bath tub.. Any real TESOL must involve audio, speaking, situations, oral presentations, etc.. This offers none.

What I liked about this course was that it was cheap and easy. But then, what’s the point of taking it ? Like many reviewers above, I thought it could prove useful for my resume and, were I to do a real TESOL training one day, a baseline for how bad it can be.

It was fun to do all those assignments with barely reading the material, just out of common sense and general knowledge. I’m not a native speaker of English and did not study any of the humanities, and I still pulled a 91% in almost no time – but who am I fooling in the end?

I hated the assignments who required uploading a file, because many times the widget didn’t work properly. As for the contents, it’s hard to understand why 33% of this course is spent on non-verbal communications. I kept wondering; so we can better understand how students are feeling ? So we can better communicate with the personel at the foreign schools who are not trying to learn English ? Still don’t know.

I had a good laugh at those tower of Babel mentions in the linguistic part. As relevant as the story of Adam and Eve in an anthropology course. I also laughed quite a lot at their effort to refer to god so often, and as “The Most High”, likely not to offend anyone.

Time will tell if this is going to prove useful. I paid only 70$ for this and would advise anyone not to pay a dime more. I’m not really trying full time to find a job teaching ESL abroad, I like my current job, I just want to keep horizons open.

Review by Sophie, June 2, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

What a colossal and upsetting waste of time and money (and I bought it discounted!). When I realized that the purpose of this course was clearly not to prepare potential EFL teachers but to make a quick buck for themselves (while promoting religion for some reason) I bit the bullet and signed up for a real course.

The only person I can see this course being useful for is a non-native speaker who wants to practice formal writing. Certainly not for anyone who wants to learn anything about teaching.

Lesson plan guidance, practice teaching, and feedback were all non-existant. Don’t waste your money!

Review by Sarah, June 4, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 11111

I just completed TESOL/TEFL and requested for my transcript. However, I got a plain table indicating my grades for each unit and it looked just like I made it myself so I emailed Elisa, the coordinator, to please make another transcript with appropriate/proper emblem of the school, the authority’s signature, some sort of that….when she emailed me back, the new transcript still doesn’t include TEFL (only TESOL) and I once again requested to have it mentioned.. I called this time and she complained that I requested too much and they did everything they could??!!..(FYI, the digital transcript cost me $20!) Nice.. Seriously, I think I could do her job so easily and be more professional than she is. With her BIG Spanish accent, I always requested the operator to put someone else through, not her, because I couldn’t communicate with her. I don’t understand why the school would hire someone like that… As for the teacher, every time I messaged him asking questions such as why the answer was A..it seems like he was lazy to explain and just re-graded my assignment to 100%..especially my writings, I asked for comments which he always gave me none. When I got 89% and I asked for his feedback, he replied me saying that he re-read it and thought it was perfect so he changed my grade to 100%???!! Seriously, don’t waste your money, it’s not even schooling but more like a cheap course over the weekends. Totally not worth it especially when you completed the course and received your certificate..I was shocked because it looked very unprofessional, no school emblem or even address.. I was very disappointed.. The content of the course was obviously not irrelevant to teaching English–not that it’s not useful, but it’s not something you could apply to the teaching career, it suits more for people in communication field or doing jobs like secretary or receptionist. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone and if I know anyone who is going to take this course, I will seriously warn him or her not to waste money.. If you want to see my transcript or cert, I can send along just to confirm this school is nonsense.

Review by Theodore, June 11, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 22222
Facilities/Resources 11111

I agree with everything Sara said in her June 4, 2013 submission. However, my teacher was Susan Weller and she was excellent. She responded promptly and professionally to test answers that were disputable. And, she also kept up with the fair grading of my essays and completion of each project. This must have been difficult for her, since I completed the course in less than a month. It was a grueling and monumental task to complete the course so quickly while successfully maintaining the 90% or above required for the “Graduated with Distinction Honor” on their certificate–as was promised by their staff in a FAQ section of their Groupon advertisement. Their advertisement also claimed that they were accredited by a couple of international/Canadian ESL authorities.

Neither the distinctive honor nor the logos of the accrediting societies, GLC boasts of belonging to, appear on their certificate.

For all the time, effort, and forgone income I invested in this certification, I was humiliated and shocked at their broken promises, as they could be verified by the archives of the Groupon Q&A session retrieved by my Groupon disputes representative.

Of further frustration, was the month long delay in receiving any certificate at all after I had purchased it for $30 through PayPal.

I sincerely tried to remedy at least the gross and neglectful omission of the promised “Distinctive/Distinction” graduate, but was told by Elisa that my inquiry led to laughter in their admin. dept. Since it was no laughing matter for me, I explained that I could have completed the course in a week if I needed only 75% to get the cert. they issued to me. When I asked her for a PDF to cite what was promised, the line went dead.

I simply called both Groupon and PayPal and had my money fully refunded. Yet, that will never refund my wasted time and effort. I am still trying to remedy the above, and I am open to paying them again if they can stop making promises that they refuse to keep.

If you want an online TESL course 120 advanced certificate from a company that does keep their promises regarding a “TEFL Grade: Distinctive” to appear on your cert issued in 5 to 10 business days after completion, go with TESOL Express. They have a deal going right now for $70. And, their PDF cert is free, after which you may choose to purchase a hard copy.

All in all, my sincere gratitude to: my teacher Susan Weller, my Groupon disputes rep, my PayPal disputes rep, TESOL Express, and Brittany of GLC. And, it is still my sincere desire for Elisa to find us a mutual remedy for this annoying oversight.

Review by Julie, July 11, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 11111

I bought a 69$ Groupon for this course, very motivated to learn about teaching English and glad to get such a good deal for a TESOL certificate!
However I must say that I’m disapointed. This school is all but professional. First of all my “teacher” never introduced himself to me and the school never sent me a welcome letter to explain the functioning of the course or the requirements to pass the course. Moreover, every time there was an assignment to do there was no guidance whatsoever as to what was expected..
Now as to the content of the course: the truth is, going through the lessons, I felt like I was wasting my time.. I was expecting to gain access to all sorts of class material and examples of exercises to do with future students, but there was nothing of the sort.
Something which I also didn´t appreciate is that the lessons are not on video, everything is in text form for you to read… (there is an option for a GPS-like robot to read out the text to you……).
Yes, 89$ is very cheap for a certificate (69$ deal + you have to pay 20$ extra for the certificate) but I feel my time is so much more valuable than that! If I’m to put 150 hours on a TESOL course, I want to learn for real, not just pretend! I asked for a refund.

Review by July, July 31, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

This is the kind of stuff you’ll be reading:

“We realize from studying the Old Testament that The Most High created different languages at the Tower of Babel, but these languages have changed over the years”

“When The Most High created mankind, He gave him dominion over the animals. One of the gifts that man has is an analytical brain which can sort, separate, and develop a language system. In this manner, each item in man’s world can be identified by a written and oral symbol. Written language is one of man’s most important tools.”

I hope these people go bankrupt and never corrupt anyone with their useless, often wrong information (that is not informative nor didactic in anyway) ever.

Review by D.D., August 2, 2013

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I completed this course over a month ago, paid for my certificate, a digital one, and STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED IT! After 2 calls and countless emails. I agree with all the above that this course was a total waste of a lot of time getting schooled in the finer points of Christianity, not TESOL. After finishing it, and I have a teaching certificate for secondary social studies, I cannot find one thing in it that actually would teach a person to TEACH. Worthless.

Review by Suzie Q, August 3, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Every lesson until you get to lesson four makes sense. It teaches you how to teach these subjects and it gives you a little background on the English language, but all in all it is a waste once you hit lesson 5 and 6. My teacher gave me gave feedback and even explained her reasoning on her grading. She answered me within 24 hours and was very nice. Especially when it came to the retakes. But after nearly six months of it I honestly can tell you that I do not remember anything I read about. Hopefully, it will help me get into another TESOL program in Central America or a part-time teaching gig here in the city.

Review by nurah, August 29, 2013

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 55555

I was glad to get the $69 deal, to add this certification to my resume. I’m an ESL teacher already in the USA, so I found it pretty simple. Some parts, specifically the lessons on group dynamics, were interesting. I thought the lengthy history of the English language was somewhat irrelevant, but somewhat interesting, since I don’t recall learning this in school. I was shocked by all of the biblical references, but really shocked when I used the word “Jesus” in one of my paragraphs and the computer changed it to “Emmanuel” – very weird!

I had no computer glitches, but although it said to use Firefox, it ran much better on Explorer. My instructor “David Montrose” graded all assignments within 24 hours and answered my procedural questions thoroughly. My content questions were given very short, not particularly helpful answers.

Review by Janet, August 30, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Waste of money. Disjointed lessons often testing points that have not yet been taught. When I questioned a grade to my instructor, he got very defensive. My question concerned a grade of 52% for an answer that was word-for-word what he gave as the correct answer! I told him that I didn’t see the difference (there was none) and he replied that, as my teacher, he had the right to say it was wrong. Of course, I no longer have any faith in K. Talon to correct any assignment I would complete.
At this point I sent a message to the main office and they have not responded although it’s been a month.

I will not continue this course because of poor design, an unprofessional instructor and a lack of response to students enrolled. These should be red flags to anyone thinking of enrolling in this course, no matter how cheap.

Review by Monique, October 15, 2013

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 22222
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 33333

My certificate says that I learned Classroom Management Techniques, and Teaching strategies.
I feel that this is untrue.
The curriculum was simply a review of what educated people should already know about English.
However, I agree the course should ensure that potential TESOL teachers can pass Standard English.
Some native English speakers can’t read/write/speak Standard English,
which reflects badly on our school system.
You should defend your reasons for reviewing Standard English on your website.
There are many complaints in online reviews
about the curriculum, because it doesn’t include teaching strategy.

The religious content should have been edited out of the course. It was completely inappropriate, as this was
advertised as a secular course. I realize the content must have been copied and pasted from a religious college.
I went online to read reviews of Global Leadership College,
and there are many similar complaints about the religious content.

Review by Catherine, November 4, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 22222
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

• I will never take another course from Global Leadership College ever again. I will also never recommend this to anyone.
• No feedback was provided with any of my submitted answers for essay questions or test questions unless I asked for it. I should not have to ask for feedback when I receive a 62 on an essay question.
• Course does not focus enough on practical material. Too much of the course was centered on information that, although relevant in a theoretical sense, did not provide the necessary tools for someone who is started to teach ESL. For example, this course gives ZERO lessons on how to create a lesson plan but goes on and on about the origins of the dictionary. The same is true for the unit on interpersonal communication. It would have been more useful to have a unit on teaching children vs. teaching adults; the best methods of teaching a new language; techniques for effective discipline; learning styles and how they change throughout the life-course. None of that was provided. Instead, we received lessons on the etiquette of answering a phone and leaving voice messages.
• Much of material seems like it was recycled from another course that loosely fit the theme of ESL so it was included.
• Too much inclusion of religion themes. GLC does not advertise itself as a religiously affiliated institution. Even though the term “The Most High” is used rather than “God” and “Emmanuel” is used instead of “Jesus” in order to accommodate Christians, it’s exclusionist to anyone outside of this small bracket. GLC goes as far as to include questions regarding “The Most High” and “Emmanuel” in the quizzes, tests, and essay prompts. Testing a person’s knowledge of Judeo-Christian biblical ideas for an ESL course is completely unacceptable. There is no excuse.
• This course was the worst I have ever taken. It was an utter waste of time and money.

Review by CC, November 12, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 22222
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I will agree with above posted comments about this course. Do not waste your time or money. It is a general course on the basics of the English language without giving any concrete teaching or course planning skills. It is basically what you learned when you were in elementary school. With that being said if you’re looking to touch up on your skills and need to review this course may benefit you somewhat.
I bought this as a Groupon special because it sounded legit and I thought, heck, why not? For $60 something and change possibly I could teach English somewhere. This does not give you the experience needed to teach anything anywhere. The course was overtly religious oriented and referred to bible passages for assignments. I found that extremely inappropriate and e-mailed my instructor to inquire about it. Her response was that the as the program continued the biblical tone died down, but did not say as to why it was so Christian based. She apologized and said she hoped I was not offended.
Toward the end of the program I became completely disinterested. I was basically just writing what a fifth grader might while getting 90% back on essays. To some, this program could be beneficial as I know with the advent of electronic communication Standard English, written or spoken, has become extremely lax, but for those who went to school and paid attention this was nothing but a brush up on skills you should have had if you attended any sort of schooling in your younger years. All in all save the $60 from Groupon and most certainly DO NOT PAY FULL PRICE and donate the money to a local school to buy new books for their classrooms. Not to mention the $30 charge to get a “certified” certificate stating you had completed the program. Move on is all I can say… move on.

Review by Chris, November 18, 2013

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 22222

I really did not know what to expect when I bought this course as a Groupon offer. I assumed that it would be an average TESOL course where most of the information would be fairly self-explanatory and perhaps a few snippets of relevant information tossed in for good measure…I was wrong. I found myself laughing at most of the course materials and activities, not to mention having to accost the “tutor” for any feedback whatsoever. When I sent a message for some feedback as to why I was being marked off for a particular question that I knew to be correct, this was the reply I got: “This is an online course. As such, the number of students greatly exceeds that of a traditional classroom. Nor, do I manually grade every section in the assignments. I do not provide automatic feedback/commentary. In addition, this is not so much an instructional course, as it is a certification course.” As if it was bad enough that four of the six modules have only slight ties to language instruction, to receive this back from one’s own teacher is reprehensible.

Global Leadership College should be embarrassed that they regularly employ “tutors” of this caliber. Not only did I prove that I was correct all along by providing cited examples in linguistics texts, but I was never even given the credit for the question(s) that I was scored off on. Despite this treatment, I still finished the course; it was the least I could do so that I didn’t feel cheated out of my $69 dollars. Had I known that this website existed, I would have gladly paid the $600 to go elsewhere to receive this certificate. I understand that everyone has their own individual experiences – obvious by some of the glowing reviews posted on this page – but mine was not a positive one. I would not recommend this course to anyone who is actually looking to gain any sort of insight into the TEFL field.

Review by Weiwei, December 3, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I’ve never really taken an online course, but this course was absolutely AWFUL! In addition to the weird religious references of “The Most High” and “The Good News”, the quiz questions were horribly written. By this I mean, the question would often include absolutes such as “always” or “never,” but you cannot over-generalize a topic so broad as linguistics. There is also very little to no feedback from the instructor. Despite doing everything a very simple assignment asked, I was failed on an assignment and given absolutely no explanation. The last thing about this course is that it give you spelling quizzes that were meant for a 1st grader. We are all fluent English speaking adults taking this course to become better teachers, learning the difference between “road” and “rode” does not help you accomplish this; it only wastes your time. That is what this course is mostly, a waste of time.

Review by Brittany D, December 21, 2013

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

This course was a joke. I bought the Groupon in order to add this certification to my resume, as did many of the rest of you. If you want to actually learn something from the course, I advise you find a different course through a different company.

I felt that much of the information was simply made up; a lot of it didn’t even make sense. Quiz and test questions were worded terribly, in ways that did not make the answers make any sense. No feedback was provided on manually graded questions, even if you received a low grade. Manual questions were given low grades even if the answer was word-for-word what the text said about that question. It was ridiculous.

Then towards the end of the first unit, the Most Holy and Good News came into play. Why on earth that is relevant at all to a TEFL/TESOL course, I will never have any idea.

Overall, this course was a waste of time. I took the quizzes after the first lesson without reading much of the actual text because there was no point. The information seemed made up for this course and completely irrelevant outside of the course. I would not recommend this to any native English speakers who want to actually learn something about teaching English.

Review by John, January 17, 2014

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

***If you don’t want to read a lot just go to the bottom 4 paragraphs.***

Okay! So wow there is a lot of negative feedback on this course (and I agree with most to all of it.) HOWEVER, it served its purpose for me and I think this should be considered. Like some of the previous reviewers I have a BA in Literature and Teacher Education (NJ figures). I also happened to have ESL tutor experience at the college level. I personally at the time did not feel as if I needed a Tosel/Tefl (or whatever) certification in order to effectively teach English in another country (Colombia). The person whom I spoke with didn’t seem to care which course I signed up for or took. I knew others who had done so effectively with way less experience in ESL, foreign language, and education than I have. I was still told by an employer (university level) that I needed to have one of these certifications in order to qualify for this position. I found the Groupon advertisement for Global Leadership College and bought it for $68. I have subsequently purchased the Business and Science continuing education classes for the price of $103 (tax included) and a time limit of 9 months to complete the pair. I did this mostly because I am bored at the moment, the courses are cheap, and the

COURSE EXPERIENCE
So I feel like most TEFL courses should function like a crash course in English, ESL, and Education (with a hint of some psychology). This makes sense since a lot of the college grads participating in teaching abroad may have little to no education or English training. That being said, this course did this for about 3/4 of one unit. The rest was etiquette, tact, history?!, elementary level English vocabulary, linguistics, and communication. Now these are kind of interesting, but are really only useful if you have horrible manners, no social skills, or have been living in a cave for the past decade. Seriously if a person needs to be taught everything in these lessons, he or she probably should not be traveling abroad representing their country to the world. IT IS EASY. The hardest part of the course is that it is time consuming and boring at times.

INSTRUCTOR/TEACHER
So seems like a lot of other student’s teachers gave him or her little to no help or feedback. I will say that my teacher always answered my questions within a day and helped direct me on a few confusing assignments when I wasn’t sure what they wanted. However, he didn’t really give any feedback or criticism (which is fine I just wanted the certificate), and I can’t really say if he really read my Essays.

RELIGIOUS ELEMENT
Yeah it can be a bit much at some points. It is everywhere in this course and its subsequent courses. “The Most High” you will here this phrase constantly. There is one or two question that you have to actually know or research something about the bible (I used Wikipedia).

In the linguistics lesson(one of the interesting, yet really useless lessons) the question “What language did Emmanuel speak?” is asked. Emmanuel is not mentioned once in the lesson or in any other lesson before. So to Wikipedia I went. Emmanuel=Jesus okay so he must have spoke Hebrew or Aramaic (or American {just kidding}) Aramaic is only available answer okay problem solved. Now I have some basic biblical knowledge (Reform Judaism). So if the lesson assuming that you are some denomination of Christian/Judeo(kind of) denomination really bothers you maybe you wont want this course. However, for the low price of the class and the non-existent cost of just sucking it up and searching Google, you can make it through. I have just started the Science and Business 90 hour courses with the College and yeah the Science course is packed with “The Most High”. You are literally assaulted from the first lesson. Hey, I’m bored and I get to pad my resume.

FINAL VERDICT
I want to say that I wish I had seen all of these bad reviews before I took this course, but the bottom line is it was easy, didn’t take over my life, didn’t break my bank, helped me fulfill a job requirement. I feel I already was prepared to teach abroad. However, this course DOES NOT PREPARE YOU TO TEACH IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY!

CRAP WHAT DO I DO NOW???

Okay so the most important thing is to first figure out if the employer you are looking at only takes certain courses or certifications. Take what they suggest or require. If they don’t care then you are left with a major moral decision. Pay more and actually learn something, or be an evil, frugal, English speaking pig that will falsely teach innocent foreigners horrible English, so they will never achieve the American Dream.

So basically if you know you ALREADY are competent in English, are bilingual or are open to trying to study another language, have common sense, and can resist screaming “America!!” in a mosque, belching in your bosses face, and spitting on every foreigner you meet, you can just pay for this cheap course and do the easy lessons to pad your resume.

If you think you need some extra help, or have no teaching or English background. You should pay more for a legit course. Buy a grammar book: “Elements of Style” by Shrunk and White, and “A Well Tempered Sentence” by I forget, are really cheap, awesome books to help you with grammar. Or use The Oatmeal website it’s pretty funny.

Content: Little to no useful information (for teaching in another country).
Instructor: Satisfactory
Difficulty: Super Easy
Price: Like $68 USD CHEAP!!! (it may not be on Groupon anymore, but there is another one for about the same price.)

Sorry if there are any typos. Like some other Lit majors I don’t proofread anything that isn’t being graded.

Review by Phillip Cox, January 25, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I found this course refreshingly informative.
As well as learning about language and grammar, it gives a brilliant insight into the importance of body language and also touches on the origins of how English came about.
Everything l learned is extremely valuable for my purpose of teaching English overseas.
Personally, I like teaching in Asian countries. The schools and universities are mainly interested in the prestige of having a Western teacher and the main purpose of your duties is for the students to hear you speak clearly, using simple and proper grammar and to explain certain words. Make it fun and if you have a likeable personality, you will succeed.
As far as a teaching plan goes, use your initiative and think of one yourself using suggestions from the internet. If this is a problem, know that most schools overseas provide their own curriculum which you should adhere to.
If you receive a low grade, it isn’t up to your teacher to contact you to explain the reason why. You can review your lesson, quiz or test results and see for yourself where you have erred. If you disagree, then contact him/her. My teacher, Mr. Frank Marchese went beyond his usual duties and explained questions that confused me on a regular basis. His response time, given the amount of students and emails received, was exceptionally fast.
The Director of Operations, Mr. Gustavo Candia, as well as all administration staff are assessable, polite and efficient.

Don’t worry about job placement. Although Global Leadership College offers this service free of charge, there are thousands of positions Worldwide which are advertised on the internet. You can select the country of your choice and the institution offering the best incentives. You can/will make a small fortune doing private lessons once you begin teaching classes.
Please remember that you are only paying a low fee of $599AUD. If you want to pay $1,500 or more, then go to a TAFE College or University. I personally found the Global leadership College course more challenging and prestigious.
You will become a good teacher naturally if you earn a certificate from Global Leadership College and enjoy assisting students to obtain the education to aid their careers.
If pressed, I couldn’t think of one negative comment to make regarding this college, only praise.
Kind regards,
Phillip

Review by New Student, February 1, 2014

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

The evaluation on the writing sections are arbitrary. There’s no explanation as to why a “teacher” graded you in a particular way. What were you measured against? Were you supposed to hit 5 main points and only hit 3? Who knows.

Many multiple choice questions are open to interpretation. This is ironic since there’s a whole section about people mis-reading verbal and non-verbal cues.

How do I get my money back?

Review by Lex, February 23, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just got done with the course. It really was great. I for one have no college degree but graduated high school. I live currently in Japan teaching English. I really think if you are looking for a good school that will assist you in getting your TESOL certification then this is the site for you. It’s well worth the money and not only that but I ALWAYS got responses from the teachers. It gives you a year to complete the course and it really is difficult. If you have a masters in linguistics or a college degree in English literature then why take a TESOL course. Of course you will think it’s horrible. I say do the course. Get certified. Simple and easy.

Review by Melia, March 7, 2014

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I only did this course because I came across a deal on groupon. The teacher feedback is awful, lessons seem unrelated and arbitrary, and there’s a surprise religious section that comes about half way through the course. I finished the course, and due to systematic malfunctions on their site, I haven’t been able to submit my email to which they will hopefully send whatever certificate I have earned. Good Luck! If you want to waste your time in a seemingly productive manner and hopefully receive a certificate at the end, you should pay for the class! Oh ya, no sign yet of the promised “exclusive database” for TESOL jobs….

Review by Kate, March 21, 2014

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I was excited to see a groupon offering discounted TESOL certificates. I bought it on the spot. I SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS FIRST! I laughed my entire way through this course. There was no clear direction at all. They start off with lesson after lesson on nonverbal communication and how to “listen” effectively. Then jump to the history of the English language. Then jump around with identifying nouns, verbs, pronouns, adjectives, etc. Sprinkled with ethics lessons and biblical passages, this course was a joke. Why would they randomly ask what language Emmanuel from the bible spoke? Especially when it was nowhere in the lesson?

The only, I MEAN ONLY, good thing I can say is that is fairly cheap compared to other courses. And it took me significantly less than 150 hours to complete. Save your time. Save your money.

Review by Becky, May 5, 2014

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

This course was a cut-and-paste of a bunch of other courses, some of them entirely inappropriate.
Any question, complaint, ANY kind of communication with the instructor resulted in an automatic 100%.

But way worse, by far, was the proselytizing.

The Most High? The tower of babel? Man was given dominion over animals? Animals don’t communicate via language? I’m absolutely floored. No, actually, more like disgusted. So disgusted, in fact, that I wrote to tell them, and let them know why.

I come from a religious family. I grew up singing in church choirs. Been there, done that, the whole nine yards, as far as being a Christian, and if I’M offended by this text, imagine how non-Christians, agnostics, and atheists feel about it?

Regardless, all the religious info had absolutely NOTHING to do with the subject of the course.

This course gives online education a bad name. These people deserve to go bankrupt.

Review by Hillary, May 14, 2014

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 22222

As it turns out, my sister came across this course discounted on Groupon. I had just graduated from college with a B.A. in English at the time and she knew I was considering Teaching English as a Second Language and getting a Master’s Degree. However, I was unsure if that was what I really wanted to do so I agreed to take this course with the encouragement of my parents. I thought it would be a great way to get my foot in the door and see what it was all about.

The course started off helpful, but about halfway through the course the references to God and “The Most High” became creepy and totally unnecessary. What was even more baffling was when I would write responses in the lesson reviews and I would go back to see that things I wrote (granted, these were just examples I was using) were auto-corrected based on religion. For instance, “God” was changed to “The Most High” and the bible was changed to “The Good News.” I really did not understand the overly political correctness of this course.

The last few lessons started talking about preparing for interviews and other things that seemed totally irrelevant. I was hoping to learn more about teaching in classrooms but I guess that’s why I have always been skeptical about online courses because there is no contact with a physical person to actually “teach.” My teacher was very nice but I also felt like I never had any real honest, genuine feedback. I also felt like when I questioned my wrong answers and asked what I did wrong, most of the time the computer interpreted my answer as incorrect when it really was correct. If I never questioned the teacher, I never would have been given the credit I deserved. This seemed really unprofessional to me. This is why I want to take classes at an actual university with a professor and earn a master’s where I can learn to properly teach ESL. Unfortunately, this was more affordable and less of a commitment in case I realized it was not for me.

There was definitely some useful information in the beginning but this is really just a beginner/introduction in the field of TESOL.

Review by Joe, May 25, 2014

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

This is a terrible class, and a huge waste of time and money. The class is useless and teaches you absolutely nothing. You are required to answer idiotic subjective questions and write completely useless essays. There are frequent typos and sometimes seems like chunks are missing from the content. It also often makes religious references. If you simply need a TESOL certificate on your resume this might be a cheap option, but don’t expect to learn anything useful.

Review by Jen, July 2, 2014

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 22222
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 33333

This course was not perfect and I do not feel prepared to go into a classroom and teach. But I must say that for 60$ off of Groupon this was exactly what you paid for.

It is fast and easy to complete if you really focus you can do an entire unit in a day. If you want more experience with teaching volunteer at a local school in your area, that is what I did and that is what taught me a lot about teaching and organizing lessons.

There is an odd amount of information referring to God and the Bible, I thought that was very oddly misplaced in this course (and I am religious).

Buy it if you are only looking for a cheap TESL course to put on your resume. Do not expect to feel like an equipped teacher after this course. But like everything, that will come with experience and time.

Review by Kamaron, July 3, 2014

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

The TESOL Specialist course was absolutely horrible. I will not be recommending this course to anyone, in fact I will make sure to tell others to avoid this course at all costs. I purchased this course to learn about how to teach English to people overseas; however, I learned nothing about teaching English and felt that I wasted my time.

The unit titles were extremely misleading, instead of learning about how to teach others about English grammar I was given a mediocre grammar lesson for myself. Instead of learning about actual Student-Teacher relationships, I was given a useless lesson on how to send e-mails and record phone messages.

The unit material is incoherent throughout the entire course and does not have a flow. As well, the material used for several of the lessons and units are from an obscure religious home-schooling curriculum. Nowhere on the website does it mention that at least some of the material for the course will be religious.

In addition, to the lesson material being terrible, the quizzes and assignments were also abysmal. I learned nothing from the assignments about teaching English. The assignments seemed to be geared more for students in secondary school, not for college or university graduates, or even high school graduates.

Also, in regards to the assignments and quizzes, there was never any feedback given on the assignments. I had no idea how I could improve for the next assignment, or why I got one hundred percent on another. The same goes for the long-answer questions in the quizzes. Students should not have to ask for a simple explanation of marks; that should be automatically given by the teacher, or more so in this case the marker. Feedback is a huge part of learning and improvement.

I will never take another course through Global Leadership College. I was appalled at the cheap, shoddy quality of the TESOL specialist course and I do not think it was even worth the reduced Groupon price I paid for it.

Review by Selwyn, July 30, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

TESOL certifications can be pretty hit or miss from my experience researching different courses. I ultimately chose Global Leadership College based on reviews that I read online and I don’t regret it. I found the interface of the website to be incredibly user friendly.and self-explanatory. I never had problems getting disconnected or a webpage being down for any reason which happens often in other online programs I’ve worked with. More than a few times I was uncertain as to a certain grade I received so I asked the teacher a question and the instructor/grader responded within 8 hours every time and changed scores immediately if appropriate. I have learned that online courses are very appealing to me as I read and retain information very quickly. By taking an online course like this one I was able to go at my own speed (fast) and not be slowed down by people that take more time to learn new concepts. I feel more confident now in my understanding of grammar (even more than what I learned in traditional undergraduate university). I’m the sort of person that knows how to make things happen and apply small ideas to make them meaningful. For this reason I like flexibility and that’s one of the reasons this course was so good for me. I can understand why some people wouldn’t want a course that teaches them information they need (the English language) and expects them to know how to apply it to real life situations. But I’m not one of those people. I really look forward to having my first ESL classroom this year and feel empowered and prepared to teach effectively.

Review by Bulbo Khine, August 12, 2014

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

Very poor web resource.

Within one year this site post very few lessons and projects to complete.
If I use my preciuous money on other resourses I can learn much and I can complete tesol test . Now time, money and energy are gone without certificate and not learned enough.
Using this website is waste of money.

Review by Anneke Winther, August 25, 2014

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content 11111
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I guess you get what you pay for. I got this course discounted from Groupon. I spent hours going through the course, and ignoring random references to the “Good News” and the “Most High” that were built into lessons on grammar. But then….I got to the section on the origin of language in which the course says as if fact that language originated at the Tower of Babel!!!! All credibility tossed out the window. I can’t believe I wasted so much time on a course that ignores science and relies on some fairy tale! I am so angry they didn’t market themselves as some sort of Christian organization.

Review by A. Harold, September 1, 2014

Overall Rating 11111
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching 11111
Quality of Feedback 11111
Lesson Plan Guidance 11111
Instructor Competency 11111
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 11111

I enrolled for this TESOL course in order to be able to teach English overseas. I was disappointed to learn that the course started rambling about the history of our language with ill-linked references the test had to the study material. I have a graduate degree and in my current occupation, I edit items for submission. This course missed the mark completely.

The material didn’t flow from lesson to lesson. I stuck with it because I had paid, but in the end after completing it, it was a waste of my time…not necessarily a waste of money since I paid little via the Groupon. Even with that, I should have lived my life doing something else. Furthermore, the tests following each course were poorly prepared and one could not answer many of the questions even with the study material laid out in front of you.

The instructor assistance was deplorable, and near non-existent. I would rate this UNDER ONE STAR if possible and I do not recommend anyone else taking this course of study. Thank you.

Write a Review of Global Leadership College | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.