Review of Costa Rica TEFL

68064_441698293510_7281917_n

Costa Rica TEFL is an Internationally Accredited TEFL/TESOL  course which consists of 160 hours of TEFL training and a minimum of 10 practice teaching hours with Costa Rican ELL children and adults. Located in beautiful Samara beach, a unique town where you can experience beach life and learn Spanish. The Costa Rica TEFL/TESOL faculty is combining its 30+ years of experience in training TEFL teachers to offer you a unique opportunity to earn a TEFL certificate that will qualify you to teach TEFL / TESOL in Costa Rica or anywhere in the world. Take advantage of our free job placement assistance and join our network of TEFL teachers teaching all over the world.

Get in touch to find out more, or ask for an application today. We offer a balanced program which focuses on key areas for being a successful TEFL / TESOL teacher: teaching methodologies, teaching techniques, learning styles, classroom management, classroom adaptation, culture in the classroom, effective lesson planning, effective grammar teaching, creativity in the classroom and more. In your free time you can enjoy the local beaches, learn to surf, kayak, swim, horseback ride, canopy tour, scale the waterfalls or just sit and enjoy the amazing daily sunsets.

Special Offers

$150 off our March TEFL course!

Join us on the beach in Samara, Costa Rica for our 160 hour Internationally Accredited TEFL course and start your adventure abroad!

Courses Offered

Type: On-site Courses
Length: Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: TEFL / TESL / TESOL

Location of Courses

Costa Rica
Overall Rating4.964.964.964.964.96
Course Content4.964.964.964.964.96
Practice Teaching4.914.914.914.914.91
Quality of Feedback55555
Lesson Plan Guidance55555
Instructor Competency55555
Job Placement4.864.864.864.864.86
Facilities/Resources4.834.834.834.834.83
Are you the owner of Costa Rica TEFL? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

26 Customer Reviews of Costa Rica TEFL

Review by Jamie Potts, February 19, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed the Costa Rica TEFL course in September 2016 and loved every second of it. The course was thorough and, now that I am working as a job, I can confidently say that the content was very applicable to being an English teacher. The teachers, Julia and Ana, did a great job of teaching the material in fun and engaging ways. Oftentimes they taught us the material through the use of games and activities that we could use in the future as teachers. By participating in the activities during the training, I was able to more easily come up with activities and games at my job. Even though I do not have a teaching degree, the TEFL course made me feel completely prepared to teach English as a foreign language. Moreover, the location was wonderful. The town of Playa Samara really embraced the “pura vida” lifestyle which I found to be so refreshing. Being able to walk down to the beach from where I lived was also a nice perk! I would highly recommend this course!

Review by Jessica Waters, February 15, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Taking the Costa Rica TEFL certification was one of the high points of my life. With the excellence and exhuberence of the teaching , it was easy to learn. Of course you have to apply yourself but you want to. I also made life long friends during the course. And I gained so much confidence for my new teaching position that they helped me to find. I highly recommend this school and certification.

Review by Susan Corbett, February 15, 2017

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I attended the program in January 2017. It was a vigorous, demanding, excellent program that far exceeded my expectations. Our program instructors were exceptional teachers, full of wonderful energy, very supportive, and lots of fun! The best part about the program was that the instructors modeled as well as taught the student centered approach to teaching. By the time the four weeks ended, we had developed an activity library of at least 50 different student centered participatory activities that we ourselves had experienced in the classroom. We also had the opportunity to practice those activities while teaching English to local students. (12 hours)

By the time I left the program, I felt completely capable of developing my own lesson plans, creating materials for the activities, and executing my plan in class. Our instructors met with us beforehand to go over our lesson plans, make sure we were prepared, and give us suggestions. Feedback was timely and very helpful.

I highly recommend this program!! And Playa Samara is a wonderful place to spend a month! Costa Rica TEFL was a very positive, worthwhile, and special experience.

Review by Andrew Kran, October 7, 2016

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

It is a daunting task to choose the “right” certificate program for teaching ESL. There are thousands of courses offered both online, in the classroom, and in every part of the world (with a half dozen different certificate types). You’re asking yourself which certificate is the best? Which course is the best? Should I do an online or classroom course? What is a reasonable course fee, or best-bang-for-the-buck?
Let me ease your burden. Barbara Miller’s Costa Rica TEFL was the best decision I could have possibly made. Since completing the course in 2011/12, I have taught in Costa Rica, Germany, Russia, Canada & Spain. I have been hired by private language academies, public schools, families, & worked privately as a freelancer. I have also been offered jobs at international schools, & at the university level. I have been offered positions in every country that I have ever applied to in every part of the world.
In terms of quality of the program, Costa Rica TEFL is top notch. You will not get a better education, period. Whether you are someone with previous experience as an instructor, or someone with no leadership experience whatsoever, you will gain a tremendous amount, and leave feeling completely confident & ready to teach any level. You will learn everything from classroom management & current teaching techniques, to building lessons plans from scratch. You will also gain plenty of experience teaching, and receive constant, constructive feedback.
Barbara and her staff are extremely experienced professionals, possessing a wealth of knowledge in education. Their instruction & mentorship has been vital to my ESL career/success. Aside from their credentials, they some of the kindest people you will ever meet, who care deeply about you as an individual and about your future success. It’s been nearly 5 years, yet, Barbara continues to provide me with professional references without question!
As far as Samara, all I can say is that a part of you will never leave. If you are looking for an experience that will remain in your heart for the rest of your days, this is the place to go. With indescribable natural beauty, it is an idyllic, sleepy ocean side village, with the warmest of residents. This is the perfect place to experience coastal Tico culture, as it it’s not a main tourist destination, so it has not been overrun with resorts, tourists & western money.
If you are looking for the opportunity to have the world at your finger tips, do yourself a favour and apply to Costa Rica TEFL!

Review by Jessica Younker, September 16, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I am so grateful I chose Costa Rica TEFL to complete my TEFL certificate. I met with the Founding Director, Barbara in February of 2015 to ask every question imaginable about the course and the opportunities available in Samara. She was fabulous. She answered all of my questions, and suggested I introduce myself to one of the owners of a private school that may be hiring in the fall. I applied for the course in August 2015, and was then introduced to Bill over email. Bill was amazing! He went above and beyond to help me find housing and transportation from the airport. Between Barbara and Bill, all of my fears and worries about moving to another country were gone. I was extremely excited about the opportunity to live and learn on the beach in Samara.

Samara is a beautiful town. TEFL classes ran from 10:30-7:30 Monday to Friday which allowed plenty of time to spend on the beach in the mornings, during lunch breaks and weekends.

The teacher trainers, Barbara, Vanessa and Julia were kind, caring, compassionate and patient with all of the TEFL teachers studying. Each week the teachers taught 2 classes to Costa Rican students and the teacher trainers were always available for help and support.

My experience at Costa Rica TEFL exceeded my expectations. I feel confident in my teaching abilities and I am proud to have completed my certificate with such a wonderful team.

Since graduating I have been applying for teaching positions in Samara as well as private lessons with a lot of great success because of the wonderful support of the TEFL team. I feel very fortunate to have met such wonderful people on this journey, and I wouldn’t change it for a thing.

Review by Jennifer, September 16, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

If you are searching for a course that will prepare you to teach English in the communicative approach, Costa Rica TEFL is without a doubt the place for you. From day one, the teacher trainers work together to create a safe, welcoming environment that allows their student-teachers to feel comfortable and ready to learn. They have prepared incredible lessons with useful knowledge and resources. More importantly, they inspire you to create and experiment with your own personal teaching style!

What truly makes Costa Rica TEFL special is the staff’s willingness to help you further your career. In my experience, they worked very hard to assist me with seeking out future positions. They didn’t just look for whatever was available, but helped me find an institution that fit my PERSONAL needs. I was accepted into a job the same day I graduated!!

I wouldn’t be where I am today without the help of Costa Rica TEFL- both in education and in assistance. Taking their TEFL course was one of the best decisions I have ever made, and I am positive they will do wonderful things for you, as well. Go and find out! You won’t be sorry!

Review by Lindy, June 30, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The Costa Rica TEFL certification program, which I completed in June of 2015, was undoubtedly one of the most valuable experiences I have had thus far in my life! The course itself, the teacher trainers and staff, and the location (Playa Samara) all far exceeded my initial expectations! I left the course feeling inspired, well prepared, and highly motivated to teach ESL in Costa Rica and elsewhere around the world.

I found the structure of the Costa Rica TEFL program both effective and engaging. Each day, TEFL trainees attend classes delivered by teacher trainers in the morning/early afternoon, and in the late afternoon/evening, trainees have the opportunity to apply what they learned in class by teaching classes comprised of local Costa Rican students. Over the course of the month, teacher trainees rotate classes, thereby enabling them to teach students of virtually all ESL proficiency levels. I benefited a lot from the structure of this course, as I was able to apply the knowledge I learned from my teacher trainers in the practice teaching I did on my own. I also learned a lot about how to cater lesson plans and teaching to students of different proficiency levels. Overall, the practice teaching experience I gained was truly invaluable and helped me grow a lot as a prospective teacher.

In addition to the effective structure of the course, I found the course content interesting and the classes highly engaging. Through this course, teacher trainees are taught how to teach via the “communicative approach” of teaching. Despite knowing very little about this approach prior to this course, I gained a deep appreciation for it through the Costa Rica TEFL program and was able to experience firsthand how effective it is. Through applying this approach to their own classes, our teacher trainers developed fun, engaging, and interactive classes for us. Moreover, due to the small class sizes, there was ample opportunity for class participation. Overall, all of the classes were interesting, fun, educational, and relevant.

The teacher trainers made the course a truly eye-opening and inspirational experience for me! They are all undoubtedly passionate about what they do and are excited about imparting their knowledge on TEFL trainees and supporting them in every way possible through the course. They constantly challenged us, forced us to think outside of the box, and urged us to be creative and innovative in designing and implementing our lesson plans. As a result, I now feel well equipped to be a creative, inspiring, and effective ESL teacher.

The teacher trainers were not only helpful, but so too were all of the staff at Costa Rica TEFL. The administrative coordinator was always very quick at returning my emails when I was initially inquiring about this course and provided ongoing support in arranging my housing, airport shuttle, and so forth. The staff was also very helpful throughout the entire the course in answering questions, helping students adapt to their new life in Samara, and supporting students in whatever way they could.

Finally, the location of the course (Playa Samara) was beautiful! It is truly paradise! There are endless amounts of things one can do when they are not in class or busy lesson planning– surfing, swimming, walking the beach, kayaking, yoga, etc. I hope to return to Playa Samara to spend more time there in the future!

In sum, I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in becoming TEFL certified! If I had the opportunity to repeat this experience, I would absolutely do so!

Review by Elizabeth Perciful, January 15, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Costa Rica tefl was an amazing experience for me and I highly recommend this program to everyone. The instructors are incredibly helpful in both the classroom and in helping you to adapt to a new country. This course not only taught me an ample amount about the English language and how to teach it but a lot about myself as well. Costa Rica tefl has instilled in me a new found ability to have confidence when leading a group of people opening up many opportunities in every aspect of my life

Review by Ayjan Arik, January 12, 2015

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I would recommend Costa Rica TEFL to anyone who is interested in traveling, teaching, and expanding their horizons. I had the most amazing experience both in my classes and teaching the locals in Playa Samara. The curriculum and location of the program were perfect, but the staff and teachers that I worked with were what made my experience valuable and truly unforgettable.

My classes were always interesting and engaging, something that I haven’t felt in years. The teacher trainers did a fantastic job of encouraging all the students, no matter their professional background, to think outside of the box and truly understand and apply the communicative method in their teaching. The staff at Costa Rica TEFL was always extremely caring and attentive to all of our needs as teacher trainees and visitors to a new country. I truly felt welcomed and 100% comfortable moving to a new place alone with the support of my TEFL family! Thank you Costa Rica TEFL for all of your dedication and passion. I cannot wait to see how what I have learned in your course will shape my future!

Review by Micah Thompson, April 17, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

Wow what a phenomenal experience. Costa Rica TEFL wow. Wonderful staff who made us all feel like we were their only priority while remaining professional. You will work your tail off but you will also have fun will learning more than I ever thought was possible in a month. My only regret was how beautiful the Samara location was bc it made concentrating in class hard knowing the beach and beautiful beach bodies were mere steps away… DO TEFL NOW!!

Review by Carrie, March 3, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

There’s allot to love about this program. The staff and teachers were extremely professional, bright and energetic. Working with each and every one of them was inspiring and you can feel their passion for the work that they do. The program was very interactive with many activities designed to stimulate a creative learning environment. The model of teaching they used in our classroom is the exact model of teaching they want us to use after certification. It is a very creative and exciting way to teach and it works! My English learner students see results quickly, as did I when I was a TEFL student.

TEFL CR gives you tremendous support. It is a well organized and serious program with a very dedicated staff. The month program is very intense, so expect to put in 12 hour days, but the balance of classroom time and teaching time is well worth it. When you leave TEFL CR, you’ll be prepared to teach as soon as you walk out the door. I highly recommend this program.

Review by Mike Perras, January 22, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

From day one every staff member at TEFL Costa Rica proved extremely helpful, and most of all, friendly. I feel like we were the luckiest students in the world for choosing this school and location.

I’ve been through seven years of university with a graduate degree and I can honestly say that we could not have had better instructors.

We were challenged and were given all the support necessary to face the challenge.

As for the location, I wish we could keep it a secret ! This tiny beach community has it all–surf, gorgeous beaches, restaurants, cafes, nightclubs, yoga on the beach, horseback riding, hiking, snorkeling, kayaking, diving, fishing. Everything you could imagine. I had to stay extra weeks just to take advantage of everything. And, I expect to be returning one day. It was paradise!

Thank you soooo much for putting a such a great program together. I have ten years teaching experience, but never was more confident in my teaching abilities as I was after completing this course.

I’ve already been offered 3 positions exactly where I wanted to be next year and am a week away from taking off for next year’s adventure. I can’t recommend this school enough. I know I’m ready now and more excited than ever to get back in the classroom.

Thanks again!

Review by Ben Wilton, January 2, 2013

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed the Costa Rica TEFL course in August of 2012, and I was extremely satisfied with the program. The teacher trainers were passionate, engaging, friendly, and very knowledgable. We worked very hard planning lessons and covering all the material, but we had a lot of fun as well! You get real teaching experience during the first week and throughout the four weeks of training. After the program I was ready to teach, and was able to find a job teaching English in San Jose within one week. The staff was very helpful with assisting me in writing my resume, building my portfolio, and networking with various companies throughout Costa Rica. To top it all off, you couldn’t ask for a better location; Samara is a beautiful town with friendly people and beautiful beaches!

Review by Corey, November 22, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I just recently (Nov. 2012) completed the Costa Rica TEFL course in Samara, and I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone interested in receiving a TEFL certification! The teacher trainers were energetic, interesting, motivating, and kept things fun while supplying all knowledge pertinent to teaching English as a target language. We got to begin teaching classes during the first week of the program, and continued throughout, which quickly put me at ease and gave me the preparation and confidence necessary. Samara is a beautiful location to study in, and everyone that I attended the program with was really cool and unique in their own way. Also, the cost of this program was cheaper than others that I researched in Costa Rica, and proved to really care about each student’s vision and goals. The administrators offer excellent job placement skills and contacts too. Overall, this was an OUTSTANDING experience!

Review by Megan Kennedy, September 26, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I received my TEFL certificate from Costa Rica TEFL and found the program to be both more challenging and rewarding than I was expecting. The classes were intense, the instructors were professional, and the overall experience was outstanding. Shortly after finishing the program I got a job at the National University of Costa Rica in Nicoya–a wonderful job with engaged students. In short: awesome program, awesome staff, awesome experience!

Review by Christine Wiltsee, July 19, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I highly recommend this school. The program was serious and took a lot of time, but it was worth it. I think as students we probably did a lot more work to prepare our classes than you do in a real English teaching job, at least a lot more than I do in my job. However, that wasn’t a bad thing. It really gave me a good taste for what you need to do and consider when you plan to teach English as a foreign language. I think the school really prepares you well and I also appreciated the help they gave me in finding a job in San Jose, Costa Rica. Any student who wanted a teaching job, found one. That was important to me because I was determined to get a job as soon as possible. The school stayed in touch through my first few weeks at the new job and I know I can contact them if I have any questions or if I am ever looking for a new job. As it is, I like my current teaching job and am happily settled in San Jose.

Review by Marcia Toledo, May 17, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

For me the Costa Rica TEFL course was such an amazing experience!…As a Costa Rican, I was lucky enough to win a full scholarship to be able to become an EFL teacher!…This is something I always wanted and this course was the tool for me to achieve it!.
As a non-native my experience was really unique. It was hard and intense and for moments I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it, but the support, help, willingness and great vibe that I got from the teachers and everyone at Costa Rica TEFL, including my fellow peers, was more than enough to get me through and to enjoy every moment of it!…
By the end of it I honestly didnt want it to be over! I wish we could’ve had more time!!…
I have a newly found appreciation for teaching as I got so attached to the kids that came to our classes in Samara every week!
Samara was just the icing on the cake! What better place to relax after every intense class and every intense week!
I hope to use this certificate as my ticket to see the world while I improve my teaching skills! And I can definetely say that every single thing I learned I will use!!
I highly recommend this course, I believe its completely organized, well prepared, the staff is amazing, and the experience is just one of a kind!
Thank you Barbara, Kat, Kim and Sonya. Thank you Costa Rica TEFL for one of the best experiences I ever had!!!

Review by Bailey Hathaway, April 25, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

Costa Rica TEFL was incredible. I believe that it was hands down one of the best decisions I made for myself this year.

The teachers were fantastic and always eager to help out with questions, comments and concerns, all the bases were covered, and although it was a heavy work-load and a tricky course, it was completely worth it. Coming out of it, I know now that all of it was worth it, because I am 100% ready to be thrown into a classroom environment with complete confidence.

Not only was the schooling amazing, but the staff, program, students, and location were nothing short of incredible as well. The memories that I made in the month of the March 2012 Costa Rica TEFL program will be ones that I remember for the rest of my life.

I recommend this course to anybody. Dont hesitate, just say yeah!

Review by Claire B, April 24, 2012

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

The Costa Rica TEFL program is phenomenal. I really had no idea what to expect, but after the first week I knew I made the right choice. By the end of the course, I felt extremely prepared to teach in a variety of environments. The teachers and staff were so professional and actually made the experience really enjoyable. It was also the most affordable option out there, and I did quite a bit of research on different TEFL programs. You won’t regret it!

Review by Kat Parker, February 15, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I received my TEFL certification through Costa Rica TEFL in July 2011 and I cannot say enough how valuable the experience was for me! The teacher trainers are amazing. They are patient and knowledgeable, but also consistently ensure that the students are having fun. The classes are interesting and interactive and small in size so that each student gets all the support and feedback necessary to develop as a confident and effective teacher. My favorite part of the course was that I got to actually teach EFL classes throughout the month with the help and support of the teacher trainers and my fellow students. This collaborative, hands-on practice allowed me to immediately put to use all of the tools I was learning, become familiar with various levels of students, and also to feel like I was a part of the community in beautiful Samara. I have now been teaching EFL in Costa Rica for six months and loving every minute of it!

Review by Andrea, August 31, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

This course was worth every penny in so many different aspects. From day one you dive into teaching methods and lesson planning. The teachers are passionate about each subject they present and the classes are small enough that you feel comfortable to ask questions and really get into your learning experience. It is very intense and time management is key, but you end up having the perfect balance of a challenge, results, and a great life by the beach! The teachers provide thorough feedback that is both positive and constructive to improving the way you teach. Working with the locals gives you a real perspective of what your classroom would really be like and how you would like to make it unique and productive to your own style of teaching. You also get to know the locals and feel get a real sense of the community! Not only do you get all this help while you are in the course, but you are also helped with job placement. In the middle of the course I was already interviewing for positions and landed an amazing job right in town! I definitely recommend this course and if you are having doubts please feel free to get in touch with the alumni! It was one of the best experiences of my life :)

Review by Lindsay, August 24, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I would highly recommend Costa Rica TEFL to anyone considering getting certified as an English teacher. I took the course in January 2010 and have nothing but good things to say about the program and the staff. With no prior teaching experience, I left the four-week course with the skills and resources needed to teach English to non-native speakers. Although it was an intense course, the trainers made each of the lessons engaging so we were part of the class lessons. Plus, we were able to apply the skills we learned in class by teaching locals during the evening. It was not only an excellent way to feel comfortable in a classroom environment, but it was also a great way to meet many of the locals.

Review by Autash Jabar "Taz", June 17, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Costa Rica TEFL is an amazing program with a delightful faculty and staff. The teachers at Costa Rica TEFL have the knowledge and wisdom you need to get you on your start to become an excellent English teacher! Samara is a cool beach town with good times and good vibes =) The beaches in this area are some of Costa Rica’s finest. I have been working in Costa Rica for two years now as an English teacher, and I owe it all to Costa Rica TEFL. I even got the highest student evaluations for two semesters in a row making me “teacher of the year.” Costa Rica TEFL is worth every penny spent without a doubt. If you put the hard work into the program you will get work out the program =) if you know what I mean!

Review by Adriana Ching, May 30, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I did the Costa Rica TEFL in April 2009 and consider it to be one of the most amazing and beneficial experiences of my life. I am a native Costa Rican and currently finishing my degree to be an English teacher. I was fortunate enough to receive a full scholarship to do the TEFL course. I have to admit I learned more in the TEFL course than I did during one year in the University. The course was intensive but very complete and well worth my time. The teachers were very talented, engaging, kind and dedicated to making sure we understood the material. I would recommend this course to anyone who really wants to become a qualified EFL teacher!

Review by Ariele, May 23, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed the Costa Rica TEFL course in April 2010 and have nothing but positive things to say of my experience. The teacher trainers were engaging, energetic and excited for us to learn. They taught the same way we were learning to teach – using different learning styles and keeping us engaged. We did a lot of work and had a lot of fun. Also, we began teaching students the first week – I liked being able to apply what I had learned immediately. Samara is a beautiful beach town with tons of restaurants and friendly people, I loved exploring on the weekends and mornings before class. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in becoming TEFL certified.

Review by Katey, November 27, 2010

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

I completed the Costa Rica TEFL course summer 2009 in Samara. Overall, it was a fantastic experience. The staff was young, energetic, very knowledgeable and experienced, and professional but fun. The cost was less than many other courses I looked into. They are great helping set you up with housing, my classmates and I all lived together in a beautiful house about 10 minutes walking to the TEFL school. The house is locally owned and the landlord lives adjacent, she is a great woman and may be one of your students in class! Unfortunately there is no AC in the house, so be ready to sweat. The TEFL school has AC and the facilities are new and modern. The town of Samara was great. It was fairly safe, absolutely beautiful, and the people are warm and friendly. There is a lot to do on the weekends in town or a few hours bus ride away to another destination in the country, but during the week you are too busy with class and lesson planning to do much else (although my group frequently took evening or morning hikes, runs, and swims). I would highly recommend the course to anyone interested in teaching English and Central America.

Write a Review of Costa Rica TEFL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.