Review of CELT Athens

celtathens2017

CELT Athens was founded in 1993 and is an established Teacher Education in Greece widely known for its role and contribution to the improvement of Foreign Language Education in this country. To date, it has trained more that 2,500 Foreign Language teachers, directors of studies and administrators and has worked with the private as well as the state school sector.

CELT trainees come not only from Greece, but from many other countries (the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, S.Africa and more). They come to CELT to start or refresh their teaching career and many currently hold posts in Greece or Overseas. CELT Athens is primarily a TEFL training centre dedicated to teacher development and to the pursuit of excellence in foreign language education both in the private as well as the public sector and is committed to a policy of equal opportunities.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: Combined CoursesOn-site CoursesOnline Courses
Length: Mini Courses (<30 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate: Cambridge CELTA, DELTATEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Courses: GrammarProfessional DevelopmentTeaching Young Learners (YL)
Additional Features: Part Time Option

Location of Courses

Greece
Overall Rating4.84.84.84.84.8
Course Content55555
Practice Teaching4.64.64.64.64.6
Quality of Feedback4.64.64.64.64.6
Lesson Plan Guidance4.64.64.64.64.6
Instructor Competency4.94.94.94.94.9
Job Placement3.633.633.633.633.63
Facilities/Resources4.84.84.84.84.8
Are you the owner of CELT Athens? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

12 Customer Reviews of CELT Athens

Review by Emad Hosni, September 4, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Doing the Celta at CELT Athens was really quite an exciting and memorable experience that has a stunning impact on me. In fact, I was impressed by our trainers’ knowledge of subject, i.e. methodology and language analysis. I also liked the guidance and the ideas they often came up with for our lesson plans and their thorough feedback on our TPs. They really spared no effort to guide, help and support us throughout the course.

Review by Mado Lambropoulou, September 4, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed the intensive CELTA course in CELT Athens in July 2014. It’s been the most exhausting experience of my life so far…. and I’ve given birth! : )
However, I couldn’t have chosen a better place to do it! The tutors are professional, knowledgeable, and patient; they provide excellent guidelines for the assignments and the TPs and their feedback is exactly to the point. Everyone in CELT Athens does their best to help the trainees.
Despite the workload, the sleepless nights and the countless hours facing my laptop I managed to get a Pass A which, however, couldn’t have been achievable without their continuous support and reinforcement.
All in all, they helped me believe in myself and my abilities. I consider them to be my “academic family” and I’m looking forward to meeting them again for DELTA next year!
Thank you CELT Athens!

Review by Kate Varelas, September 3, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

Before starting my CELTA I had read so many reviews and articles that it took me 4 years to finally considering doing it. I must say that it’s the best thing I have ever done regarding my education. I would have never finished it if it hadn’t been for CELT ATHENS’ s support and guidance. With great teacher trainers (which are now my gurus) and a great environment from people all over the world I now have completed my course together with an unforgettable experience. What are my future objectives? Go for my DELTA at CELT ATHENS! I just wouldn’t do it anywhere else! Thank you for everything CELT ATHENS, I am indebted to you!

Review by Tina Kyriakou, June 3, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

To anybody considering the Celta course, I would say just go for it!

For people deterred by the fees or commitment, I wasted a lot of time and money doing some cheaper & less effective training courses (online and in class),which lacked crucial elements such as the observed teaching practice. Both for new teachers and prospective employers, the observed teaching is a must and is really where you will gain the most understanding of your strengths and weaknesses as a teacher.

I finally attended the intensive 4 week course in August last year and I am so happy I did. The tutors and indeed the whole staff were friendly and supportive and I liked the fact that different tutors meant you were exposed to different teaching styles and thus got the maximum benefit. Also you were given access to a vast majority of materials, both hard copy and digital, and the guidelines for the assignments were very clear.

A year later there is no doubt that I have improved as a teacher due to taking the Celta and employers certainly respect individuals who hold this degree. I feel that it has given me an advantage in Greece’s market and if you are considering teaching abroad, it’s a definite must.

I would recommend Celt Athens to anyone, they are a passionate group of teachers!

p.s. I have not rated the job placement services as I haven’t used this at all, but they are happy to provide references which can be invaluable especially if you have no prior working experience.

Review by Pericles Hatzikyriakides, February 4, 2014

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

A few weeks back i finished my CELTA course at CELT Athens. Little or no was the experience i had before i enrolled in this course. Regardless this fact though, the guidance i received throughout the course was so consistent that made feel as safe as possible.
There is a vast amount of resources available to the trainees, that they can always consult in order to plan their lessons, write their assignments and also if they want to do some extra studuying in order to improve their knowledge.
The tutors and the rest of the staff that work there are very professional and always willing to assist you with whatever you need.
I would definitely recommend CELT Athens to anyone who is considering to do a CELTA course.

Review by Kelly Marie Stockton, September 13, 2012

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 55555

After completing the 4-week intensive CELTA course in August 2012 at the CELT school in Athens, I can honestly say I had a truly rewarding and an amazing experience.
The course tutors were exceptional in both teaching knowledge and motivational skills. They made the atmosphere of the school a friendly and inviting place to be, even when times were ‘challenging’.
If you want to be inspired, challenged and then rewarded the CELT school is the place to do your courses. I am looking forward to returning there in the future to complete the DELTA.

Review by Toula Sklavou, February 3, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I am currently a Delta trainee at CELT and I have attended the methodology course there in the past. I have found the whole experience invaluable. The comprehensive library, plus the wiki offering not only the endless resources but also the live videos, the pod casts and the past assignments which have given me a real guidance throughout the course. Although I have done an MA in translation studies and have attended hundreds of seminars on teaching, these courses have made and are making a big difference in my everyday teaching. Marisa’s blog and PLN have inspired me and encouraged me to communicate with other teachers around the world and learned to be open to new challenges and move away from the traditional ways of teaching!

Review by Sharon Noseley, January 26, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I am currently attending CELT, in order to obtain a DELTA. What can i say that hasn’t already been said above! I will comment from a personal view, through the eyes of a native speaker who thought she could make money in Greece just because she can speak English. Since starting my course with Marissa Constantinides, I will always carry the burden of guilt that I had no idea what teaching was! I should seek out all my ex students and apologise! Due to my tutor’s valuable, critical but supportive advice I am now more confident in myself as a person and thus as a teacher. I am developing my skills, and becoming a better teacher. I reflect on what I do and why I do it. I can evaluate my situation and improve myself all the time!
I thank Marissa for her patience and encouragement to open my eyes and connect with the TEFL world outside the DELTA course. This point is a major plus for studying DELTA at CELT…it is not just the library and the incredible resources on the CELT Wiki it is, the continual practical techniques, ideas for classroom activities, insights into methods and sharing of ideas in the EFL world that connects all teachers and professionals in EFL to facilitate your own learning and personal strengths.
Plus!! To all of you who say you have no time.. there are students, like me, who have kids/housework/schoolwork and ironing piles like the Leaning Tower of Pisa…but do something for yourself….find a world of learning and teaching that once you start your course… you will feel you deserve to fit into it!

Review by Sophia Constantinou, January 24, 2011

Overall Rating Not Rated
Course Content Not Rated
Practice Teaching Not Rated
Quality of Feedback Not Rated
Lesson Plan Guidance Not Rated
Instructor Competency Not Rated
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources Not Rated

I completed my DELTA course, 2008, at CELT Athens. Now, that time passed and I valued the experience, I consider myself really privileged. I was tutored and instructed by a very exceptional and well-informed teacher, Marisa Constantinides, who navigated me successfully through the difficulties, and pitfalls of the course. I acquired a global view of what is EFL, delved into techniques and practices, and started implementing new ideas to my teaching. The experience deserved the labour, and the outcome is indeed rewarding. At CELT, I got acquainted with the new technology, and learned how to incorparate some of it to the teaching procedure. It is my personal belief that EFL teaching will progress into a new platform, which CELT institution is in command of, so completing a course there will be a wise thing to do. No matter how experienced teacher you are, there is always something new to discover.

Review by Dina Dobrou, January 23, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

Regardless of how experienced an EFL teacher you may be, attending a CELTA course will definitely turn your whole world upside down!

You suddenly realise that there’s a wealth of approaches to teaching you haven’t even thought about and putting everything you learnt during the input sessions into practice, while at the same struggling with assignments and trying to figure out a way of not succumbing to insomnia (especially during the 4-week intensive course) can be quite a challenge. In other words, the intensity and demands of the course overwhelm you on ‘day one’, but attending this course at CELT was not as intimidating as it initially sounds.

The tutors were supportive and inspiring throughout the whole course making the input sessions fly by and then, when time came for assisted lesson planning, they were always there to help bring the best out of you. The meticulous feedback and guidelines on Do’s and Don’ts for your next Teaching Practice were among the most valuable things I got from the course. Their voices still echo in my head when I teach or prepare for my classes.

What is more, the director, Marisa Constantinides, is committed to familiarising you with what the future of ELT is, and I’m referring to online teaching, PLNs (personal learning networks) and what you can do beyond that. The minute you enrol you are invited to the CELT wiki where you can get information about the course and download useful materials for study. It is only a matter of time before you start creating your own online learning platforms for your students.

Even after you have completed the course you are still in touch through social networks and PLNs specially made for trainees, so the professional development does not stop when you get the certificate. At CELT, it is ongoing.

My only regret?
Not having done it earlier!

Review by Shelly Terrell, January 23, 2011

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

I completed my CELTA in the summer of 2010 and enjoyed being in Athens to complete it. The sunny setting, beaches, fresh fruit, and culture were a refreshing break from the intensity of the CELTA. I felt I learned so much, I had the rare opportunity to put my lessons into practice with refugees which was inspirational. This institute has been volunteer teaching refugees for years. I especially enjoyed the library which I believe has to be one of the best English language teaching libraries worldwide. I learned a lot in pedagogy, the effective use of technology in English language teaching, and great instructional practices. I felt challenged and that I became a better teacher due to my experiences.

Review by Pano Malamas, January 20, 2011

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 11111
Facilities/Resources 44444

I consciously left a good few weeks between the end of my CELTA course and this “assessment”, in order to give an honest and well-considered opinion.

I am happy to say that the enthusiasm and high regard I held for the course, its director and staff, has not diminished since then. The course itself exceeded my expectations and I was fortunate to have two extraoridnarily inspirational educationalists as tutors, who have motivated me to try become as inspirational a teacher as they were to me.

Write a Review of CELT Athens | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.