Review of BridgeTEFL

logo_bt

BridgeTEFL is the largest provider of TEFL courses in the United States. We offer a wide variety of TEFL programs and each year we prepare hundreds of students to teach English overseas.

With over 20 years training students and teachers worldwide, BridgeTEFL is an established leader in the language training industry. Our staff, programs, facilities and network of global contacts are top-notch because language training is our business – and has been for over two decades.

Our parent company, Bridge-Linguatec Language Services, offers a variety of language-related services worldwide, including language training, translations and interpretations, and study abroad programs.

Special Offers

This course provider is currently not providing any special offers. View all special offers.

Courses Offered

Type: On-site CoursesOnline Courses
Length: Short Courses (40-100 hours)Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate: Cambridge (CELTA, DELTA)TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specializations: GrammarTeaching Business English (BE)Teaching OnlineTeaching Young Learners (YL)

Location of Courses

Argentina, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Columbia, Costa Rica, France, Greece, Guatemala, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, UK, USA, Vietnam
Overall Rating4.444.444.444.444.44
Course Content4.694.694.694.694.69
Practice Teaching4.54.54.54.54.5
Quality of Feedback4.314.314.314.314.31
Lesson Plan Guidance4.444.444.444.444.44
Instructor Competency4.444.444.444.444.44
Job Placement4.084.084.084.084.08
Facilities/Resources3.943.943.943.943.94
Are you the owner of BridgeTEFL? Find out how you can add more information to your school's listing here.

16 Customer Reviews of BridgeTEFL

Review by Jennifer Hodges, November 7, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I had nothing but outstanding experiences with everyone I came into contact with at Bridge. Starting with my first communications with people from the Denver office up until my teacher and job coordinator in Buenos Aires. It was a wonderful experience. I have since come back to the states, but with my lifetime certification I don’t rule out the possibility of going abroad again. I highly recommend this program to any person that is interested. I am also excited to share my experience with interested people!

Review by Stephanie Michele Harvey, November 7, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 55555

The intensive on site TEFL course I participated in took place in Denver, Colorado.
It exceeded my expectations in every way. After teaching English in Santiago, Chile for several months, I can honestly say, the course provided more than the needed amount of training to teach English via the direct method to my students. The course instilled passion as well as the necessary methodology, lesson planning and lesson delivery skills. I recommend the Bridge TEFL course highly to anyone serious about the pursuit of teaching English as a foreign language as their career choice.

Review by Antonia McInerney, November 7, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 44444

I had a great experience getting certified in Costa Rica. Jason Klass is an amazing teacher and the course was very comprehensive.

Review by Angie B, November 7, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

I received my CELTA through BridgeTEFL and it was a great experience. I met a lot of people with my same passions (Teaching & Traveling). The training was amazing, I felt very prepared for my first real day of class. Their job placement program helped me find the job that I am currently at and am loving. The teachers where terrific and there feedback was amazing. I would recommend there program to anyone who wants to become an ESL/EFL teacher!

Review by Valerie Mercer, November 8, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 44444

Great instructors and I’d say the course overall was very helpful.

Review by Deborah Bannon, November 8, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

I received my CELTA certification in Denver in June, 2007. The course was very intense requiring a lot of work, but it was well worth it. The instructors, Giles and Chris, were excellent. I completed the course feeling ready to teach students from any background. Since that time, I have taught Korean students in the US and now teach Lithuanian students here in Lithuania. There is a great demand for ESL teachers worldwide and CELTA trained teachers are among the top choices to meet those demands.

Review by Lisa Sweeney, November 8, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 55555

I recieved my accelerated TEFL certificate in beatiful Playa del Carmen, Mexico. I could not think of a better place to study and teach! My online coursework prepared me for the practical teaching in Playa. This course was quite intensive, and it took serious dedication, but it was all worth it when I got my first teaching job. My instructor Jason Klass was great, and he facilitated my first teaching job. Teaching abroad taught me more than I could have ever imagined!

Review by Katherine Fracchia, November 8, 2008

Overall Rating 33333
Course Content 33333
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 22222
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 22222

Despite having some experience in teaching a foreign language, the TEFL course in Buenos Aires opened my eyes to some key issues in teaching English specifically. It was great to be able to immediately apply the taught practices in the classes each day. I wish, however, there was less methodology and more intensive work in the structure of the English language.

Review by Connie Palmrose, November 9, 2008

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Hi from Prague, Czech Republic. My husband and I are baby boomers who decided to live abroad and teach English as our second careers. Bridge TEFL put us in contact with a great company here in Prague who provided a challenging, but beneficial course to bring us up to speed to teach English as a foreign language. We interviewed with several language schools and found the perfect one in St. James Education Center. They hired us full time and have worked with us closely to get our long term visas. We plan to stay in Prague for another year and possibly longer as it is a great city and we truly enjoy our students.

Review by Bruce Palmrose, November 9, 2008

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 44444

Thanks to BridgeTEFL I am now living, working and enjoying life in the heart of Europe. The Bridge-affiliated training center in Prague, Czech Republic is very through and professional. The course was more difficult and time consuming than I had anticipated, but well worth the effort, as I am primarily teaching business executives, and feel well qualified. I had several job interviews immediately upon graduation, and found my perfect fit within two weeks.

Review by Joe Gaebler, November 10, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 44444
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 44444
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

The Bridge-TEFL course I took in Denver was intensely consuming and opening. My understanding of the English language as a living entity around the world was formed there and since I have completed the course my own study of languages has improved using the techniques studied in the course: I am living in Sweden with my new baby and the language is coming very smoothly and quickly, from the memorization of words and rules, to the difficult pronunciation of 18 different vowel sounds. And even though I have not been looking for a job yet, I still receive notices and job opportunties from the great staff and support network of Bridge-TEFL.

Review by Kevin R., November 11, 2008

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 44444
Facilities/Resources 22222

I got the CELTA certification in Denver, Colorado. The course was difficult and very rewarding. The best aspect of the course for me was the practice teaching. I received much feedback on my planning and presentation style. The feedback was both encouraging and difficult. The CELTA course gave me the confidence I needed in applying to schools. Additionally, the certification has been rewarded with a monthly bonus at my current place of employment.

Review by Evan Hoffbuhr, November 12, 2008

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 44444
Quality of Feedback 33333
Lesson Plan Guidance 33333
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

The Accelerated TEFL course is definitely rigorous, but in the end is a very helpful way to introduce yourself to the world of TEFL. The online portion is very thorough, and the 2 weeks of in-class instruction will prepare you for your first TEFL job abroad. I was certified in April and have been teaching in Chile for the past 4 months. Bridge’s course definitely prepared me for the experience.

Review by Zack, May 7, 2010

Overall Rating 22222
Course Content 44444
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 22222
Lesson Plan Guidance 44444
Instructor Competency 33333
Job Placement 33333
Facilities/Resources 11111

I had signed up for a Blended course, 1/2 online and half on-site at the Rio De Janeiro facility. The online portion was extremely well put together and very much a challenge. T
The feedback/communication from the main office, however, was very poor and a bit disrespectful. After I made my initial deposit of $375 to begin the online portion, two weeks later I was told I needed to make the full payment plus a $95 RUSH fee or I would be dropped from the class. I made several attempts to communicate to ask for a week extension, emailing and leaving VM’s, but was promptly dropped from the course and locked out of my Online Training course. I also lost my $375 deposit.
Very disappointing, however I must compliment my Online Tutor on her tremendous help!

Review by Sally, May 18, 2010

Overall Rating 55555
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 55555
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement 55555
Facilities/Resources 55555

my experience with bridge was great! I took an online course, it was on sale so i thought it was a good value. They also had great resources to help me find a job. overall great experience and very helpful staff

Review by Brian, October 20, 2010

Overall Rating 44444
Course Content 55555
Practice Teaching 33333
Quality of Feedback 55555
Lesson Plan Guidance 55555
Instructor Competency 55555
Job Placement Not Rated
Facilities/Resources 44444

I completed the 120 hour TEFL course in about 6 months, while teaching part time in China. It really helped me become a better teacher very quick. I had no experiance teaching when I arrived in China in February 2010. With the help of this course I was able to make my classes run smoother, and with more control. I found that planning and execution is critical in being a good teacher. I stepped into my first classroom with no idea how to manage the kids or present a quality lesson. Well, it was just teaching Pre-Kindergarten abc’s, but that experiance, and the lessons in the Bridge TEFL course have accelerated me to a much higher level of teacher. Now I am teaching 3 to 12 year olds, plus some adults. I can’t say enough about the Bridge course, and Grammar advisor. Thanks A Bunch! Brian

Write a Review of BridgeTEFL | Visit Website »



I've read the submission guidelines (opens in new window).

Overall Rating
Course Content
Practice Teaching
Quality of Feedback
Lesson Plan Guidance
Instructor Competency
Job Placement
Facilities/Resources


To submit your review, please ensure that you have read the SUBMISSION GUIDELINES and have checked the confirmation checkbox above.